Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beaconsfield Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Beaconsfield Holiday Park Reviews

Beaconsfield Holiday Park
Upper Battlefield
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 4AA
Tel: 01939 210370
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 33 Reviews
                7/10 from 33 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Supersooty 19 reviews from this member

 A well laid out and maintained site. It is more expensive than other sites but we felt the facilities justify it. The toilet/shower rooms are kept to a high standard and are heated; the showers are the push-button type but, we had no problems with them.

There is a restaurant on site ‘The Bothy’ which has limited opening times, see the website. The food is of a very high standard and quality and well worth the expense, if you are having a special celebration whilst you are there.

It is a 20 minute walk to Hadnall where there is a convenience store/Post Office; selling top up items and alcohol! The pub, New Inn is very inviting and welcoming serving a good pub food with a menu to please most tastes.

We enjoyed our stay at this site and if we are in the area would certainly stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Herb1mar1e 1 review from this member

 Visited this site recently - well maintained site in lovely setting.

Only disappointment was allocation of pitches - we were not allowed one next to the fishing lake, where several were empty, but had been reserved for others still to arrive.

This also happened to our friends when they arrived at the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MerriWitch 2 reviews from this member

 We first stayed at this site back in 2009 when we were travelling in our motorhome for a year, and decided to go back again last week.

I obviously didn't remember what it was like all those years ago, because it was a let down.

The actual location is lovely, with trees and a fishing lake, but the facilities are poor.

The showers were those push button type, but the water took about five minutes to get any sort of heat in it, so you had to stand there, constantly pushing the button until any heat came through, and then it was only warm at best.

The toilets were in poor condition too. I tried five different ones while we were there, and not one of them flushed properly.

They have a restaurant but it's not open during the week, and while they claim to be dog friendly, although they have tables outside the restaurant, you cannot sit there with your dog.

Dogs are supposed to be kept on a lead, but while walking our greyhound around the site - she was on a short lead, and always is, even when not staying at campsites - a big black and white dog wasn't restrained, and came snarling, barking and growling at her. Its owner had to grab it by the scruff of the neck to stop it attacking our dog.

We would have stayed longer if it had been a good site, but with such poor facilities, and people with a vicious dog not on a lead, we only stayed the night. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 95 reviews from this member

 We received a friendly welcome on arrival and were given the choice of four electric-only pitches, despite asking (and paying) for a full-service pitch. However, as it was near the facilities block we didn't complain. Previous reviews have stated that the site is regimented, but we saw no obtrusive signs, merely asked to be aware of the 10mph speed restriction and one way system. Within minutes of pitching up I was nearly knocked over by one 'van travelling the wrong way and one caravanner tended to use the long straight as a drag strip driving at around 30mph down to his pitch. Rules eh?

The site is nice and airy with reasonable views all around and nicely planted with trees breaking up the vista.

My main disappointment was the shower facilities. The water was only lukewarm, took ages to come through and with the dreaded eight-second-long plunger system. So out of date I reckon.

Location-wise it is pretty good. We managed a couple of 30 mile cycle rides and once over the main roads the back lanes were really quiet.

I must recommend the café and farm shop at Battlefield 1403, (turn right at the first roundabout on the A49 heading to Shrewsbury). A wonderful lunch and fantastic tasty food in the farm shop. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jacasino 8 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend here to celebrate my partners' birthday, this is a large well maintained site, like most sites in the UK it is expensive but far cheaper than Caravan Club sites and with at least comparable facilities.

This is a very regimented site and unfortunately there are lots of signs telling you what you cannot do but no real information about what you can do - this may make it seem rather unwelcoming and as a result there is no real 'holiday atmosphere'.

I am often surprised at the poor design and layout of motorhome waste water dumps and this one is not great but the large stone 'bollard' designed to stop anybody reversing too far onto the dump here surprised me, something more forgiving would be far more suitable surely.

Very, very clean facilities but it takes at least three pushes to get any warm water from the shower heads during which time you are glad that the shower cubicles are quite large, I am not too bothered about having to press the button to keep the water flowing but I am fed up with the eco warrior nonsense, especially when I watch gallons of cold water swilling down the plughole as I squeeze into the corner waiting for the arrival of the warm water - this is not the way to save the planet.

We ate in the restaurant, not cheap but I firmly believe that you get what you pay for, the food was good and the service was too, compares very well with good pub food though Hungry Horse or Table Table would be cheaper I am sure if that's your thing.

We chose to go into Shrewsbury by bus on Saturday morning and I do feel that this exemplifies how Beaconsfield could improve, the directions we were given in reception were best described as sketchy (I'm not sure whether you turn left or right at the end of the footpath), the footpath we were directed down was not signposted, slippery, muddy and overgrown in places, we had to jump large boggy mud puddles frequently - luckily we guessed right and eventually arrived at the bus stop - quite a long walk. Signs or printed directions would have been welcome. We returned by taxi - enough said.

The pool had a problem with the liner coming away and so we were allowed to swim free of charge, again very clean and tidy facilities.

In short, we felt that Beaconsfield is very nicely put together but it feels like it puts the business first and the customer (certainly the touring customer) comes trailing along behind, it just doesn't give a warm, welcoming feeling and that is a shame for such a nice place. If we wanted to visit Shrewsbury (a lovely town) again we would stay here again though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Helenterry 11 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as a stay over travelling back to the Midlands from Wales. We totally agree with other users that the prices are extortionate, the site is very well kept but very regimental, on arriving we were. Told to reverse in as all doors had to face the same way!

Shower area is spotless but there is no bench to place your belongings. I would not return to this site again, we were chatting to another camper who said that it cost him a lot of money after booking with all the extras. Including water and awning per night.

Plus the pool was freezing although the receptionist said it was 28 degrees! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjmac 2 reviews from this member

 Very convenient for touring and visiting local places of interest. Beautiful site, immaculately kept. Very welcoming and accommodating. Lovely large, level pads with plenty of space between. Facilities great and well equipped. A great place to stay for a night or for a while. Clearly the owners take great pride in what they have. Love it. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KatherineWeaver 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our Easter break at Beaconsfield. Adult only is bliss!

Shocked to see negative reviews on here. Stayed on a fully serviced hard standing near the lake and it was idyllic!

The swimming pool and steam room was ideal as I am used to having my morning swim! It also meant that I could eat a guilt free pudding in the restaurant! The food there is excellent, my husband has travelled and eaten all over and said it was the best Fillet steak he had ever eaten. It isn't cheap. But with the quality of food and service it was more than worth it.

Used the free wi-fi in the coffee shop and found all the grounds and toilet block to be immaculate

There's a nice pub called the new inn in the village, worth popping in to.

We had a perfect break and I know that we will be becoming regulars, any excuse to return for a steak! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chispa 3 reviews from this member

 This site has left us very disappointed. As others have said, tourer's feel a bit exploited. One of the big considerations for booking was the 'heated' swimming pool and steamroom. The pool was £3. 00 and it was too cold. £6.00 per day is too expensive. We went in and I was surprised at the price but we paid. We where soon out when I couldn't feel my feet. We went to the steam room which hadn't been turned on. My husband had to walk round dripping wet to find someone, he did turn it on and said it would take 7 minuets to warm up so we should go back in the pool. ! Instead, in an attempt to get warm we stood under the shower.

The disabled shower room did not have any heating on. I asked if it could be on as my Mother has severe arthritis and could not get cold they said yes we agreed a time and it didn't happen. I had to rush an elderly disabled lady as it was too cold. The wash basin and the hand drier are opposite sides of the room. Impossible for a person in a wheelchair. Shower chair was ideal but no where l to hang the towel for when you get out

The restaurant seemed a bit too pricey so we didn't go in so we can't comment on that.

The New Inn pub a mile away is an old fashioned local but the Sunday Lunch was amazing.

The washing up room was locked on Monday morning and by 9am there was a queue of 4 bowls outside.

Overall we won't be going back 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ShaznCol 15 reviews from this member

 Had a three night stay at Beaconsfield in order to visit Shrewsbury and surroundings before moving down to another site near Ludlow.

We booked with an open mind, aware of some of the less than glowing reviews on UKCampsite.co.uk.

The site was clearly very well maintained, with a lot of open aspects to our fully serviced pitch.

We found ourselves quite a distance from the very plush toilet / shower block and lamented the fact that we hadn't brought our bicycles, when we noticed on the site rules that cycling was prohibited.

Also on the sheet, we noted that we had been charged a £2. 50 fee for using a credit card to pay the £48 balance on arrival, the keys to the toilet block were subject to a £2 deposit each, day visitors were charged £3, swimming pool use was charged at £3 per person, per use and extended departures to 5pm (if available) would be charged £5.

Sadly, but unavoidably, this gave the impression that touring visitors were to be exploited to the full.

As a consequence, I doubt we would be rushing back in the near future.

We did not visit the restaurant on site, as opening times aside, we were of an opinion that the prices were a little high.

There were no pubs within a reasonable walking distance, however we found the 'Two Henrys' off the A49 roundabout to be quite nice. Park and Ride close by with retail park next door.

Upper Battlefield visitor centre and Farm Shop worth a look around. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beaconsfield Holiday Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Does Beaconsfield Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beaconsfield Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Beaconsfield Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shrewsbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2610 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement