Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ivy Leaf Cottage Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Ivy Leaf Cottage Certificated Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Ivy Leaf Cottage Certificated Site
Ivyleaf Hill
Bush
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dad1uk 36 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for four nights in our Folding Camper.

We were on the upper pitches which are on a slope but this was from front to back so easily corrected by the jockey wheel, the lower pitches are pretty much level.

The toilets here are eco-friendly compost toilets, a bit unusual but do not cause a problem and they are kept spotless. A camping style chemical toilet is also available for youngsters or those not happy with the compost toilets.

Two toilets in the upper field and two toilets and two showers in the lower field.

There are two supermarkets a short drive away and about 15 minutes and you are in Bude town centre.

Stuart and Jackie are so welcoming and pleasant, you are greeted with tea or coffee on your arrival which was very welcome.

We will certainly go back if we are in the area! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JulianCh 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, which we have stayed at numerous times since Jackie & Stuart took it over, and it has been wonderful to watch the developments they have put in place. One of the best has been the installation of the eco- toilets and showers, although they are composting loos they are clean, well maintained and no pongs.

Have always stayed up on the higher pitches, which give a wonderful view across to Widemouth Bay. We love these pitches, as they are very peaceful and an ideal place to relax and watch the sunset, or a clear starry night as the case may be! Personally didnít have an issue with access and thatís with an 8m twin axle, just need to take it carefully as you would for any CL.

With three teenagers, itís important for us that there is plenty to keep them occupied and there is a lot to do in and around Bude. Weíve had surf-lessons in Bude, been body-boarding at Widemouth, walked the coast-path, visited Tintagel, Boscastle and Port Isaac (a must for fans of Doc Martin). Weíve also joined Jackie & Stuart at the weekly Parkruns at Tamar Lakes.

Will certainly be going again and already making plans for our 2018 visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 369 reviews from this member

 We liked this site; it's unusual in that there are 2 pitching areas, a lower and flattish one which is surrounded by trees and bushes and a higher non-level area which is where you get the view down the coast. We chose the latter and then needed all our chocks plus concrete blocks supplied by the site to level up, but it was worth it. It's the only part of the site where it is possible to obtain a Sky satellite signal.

Stuart the owner is a lovely chatty helpful man who has installed the facilities (looked good but we didn't use them as they were a bit far from our chosen pitch), and a small old caravan for children to play in.

The site is easy enough to find, the golf club is signed from the A39. Access is a bit tight for a large unit; swing out wide as it's at right angles to the entrance. I wonder if it would be possible to improve this? Do not be tempted to drive to the far end of the road which appears ok from the map; there is a gate which may or may not be locked. A pity, as it cuts off about 2 miles if going north.

Bude is a nice small town, has Morrisons and Lidl on the way in and lots of small shops and a Mountain Warehouse.

The best thing for us was the many beaches, but they are not suitable for swimming (there is a seawater swimming pool on Bude beach though). They are a geologist's dream and if you are a National Trust member then parking is free at most of them (but not Bude town), plus parking there is 70p an hour and then £2. 40 for 2 hours which is strange and annoying.

We would use this site again if in the area. £14 per night in September is good value. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jackie Butler 1 review from this member

 Ivyleaf Cottage was new when we stayed, and it was good to see the Natural feel of the Site.

It is very open and a feeling of close to nature.

The owners were very helpful, accommodating and very friendly. We found that we did not have all we needed and they were able to 'support us' at that time. Whilst we have not been back for a while, we are keen to return. I am a vegetarian and I was very impressed with the Vegetarian options available in Bude and some nice 'alternative' shops which gave such variety and was a pleasant surprise.

We are looking forward to returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note, since the reviews below were submitted, this site has been purchased by new owners, and it has now been significantly renovated and modified. It reopened in July 2014 and now operates as a Camping and Caravanning Club site under the name of Ivyleaf Cottage Holidays.

All pitches are serviced grass pitches usually with water supply and electric hook-up very close by, and there are many drinking water supply points around the site. The new facilities area comprises of two composting toilet huts and two shower huts arranged around a central decked area. There are also two basins for customers to use as required. The toilets are emptied and cleaned on a daily basis along with the showers to ensure a pleasant environment for guests.

A children's play area is planned for 2015.

If you have visited this site since the renovations we'd be very grateful if you could leave an up to date review. Many thanks indeed. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heatherl69 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this campsite having spent a week there.

It is probably the most basic of sites but as we have all facilities in our van we have no need to use site toilets / showers.

This campsite is run by a couple who will bend over backwards to help you out with anything. Very very friendly. The owner even towed our van up to the top field where we had the most beautiful views of Widemouth bay and Bude. We were the only people on this site which is just how we like it.

We didn't use the facilities and I think if you need to use them you need to be aware they are of the most basic nature. But if you have that all on board what more do you need for £16 a night all in?

There is however fresh water, pot washing sinks and an elsan point which is all we needed.

No rules no regulations no pressure so peaceful and totally unspoilt.

We took our bikes but to be honest it is very high up so where ever you go to remember you have to bike back up again!

The total seclusion may not suit some but we loved it and the fact we were alone on the site was perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crazycowcarole 3 reviews from this member

 This camp site has good views of the surrounding area and is very quiet. It is approx 10 minutes from Bude, so is ideally situated for the beach.

We had booked at the beginning of January and was quoted a price per night, I spoke to the owner 1 week before our holiday and he didn't mention an increase in the price quoted but when we arrived the price had been increased by £3 per night which I think is a lot over 2 weeks.

The shower/toilet room is situated in a wooden outbuilding, there were cobwebs all over and at night time there were snails climbing the walls, the shower and toilet was not cleaned properly / regularly and cost £1. When the money ran out all the lights went out and the shower went freezing, this was very unpleasant especially for my 6 year old son.

If you want a very basic campsite then this is okay 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sodbut 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this fine site many times over the years both in tents and of late in caravans.

We (my wife and I ) have always found the site to be tidy and the shower which is in a bathroom eith sink and toilet plus another toilet next door to it both clean and tidy and in good repair

The site owner is friendly and goes out his way to make your stay a happy one. 


Reviewer: Jessicapuppy 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
We stayed at the top of the campsite on top of the hill in our tent.
Views fantastic. Ground full of rock so difficult to pitch tent in places.
Very basic accomodation. No onsite facilities except 1 toilet and 1 shower room, which were housed in a wooden hut/shed and were damp, dirty and full of insects, the roof was falling in with the damp and you had to pay to use the shower. The light didn't work very well in the toilet and the natural light was so poor inside that you had to leave the toilet door open.
Near our tent in the field was a sink with a tap and some dustbins.
We left after 1 night, paying £7.50 for our pitch. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


63398 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement