Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of James Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Ruabon > James Caravan Park Reviews

James Caravan Park
Llangollen Road
Ruabon
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL14 6DW
Tel: 01978 820148
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

Stayed one night. 15 seemed reasonable, we could have had hook up with that, but didn't need it. The lady of the house was very helpful and welcoming, even though we rang late to find out the way (cos our sat nav is rubbish). The shower/toilets were very clean and showers were hot.

There was the constant hum of traffic all night, but this wasn't a problem for us. Hubby deaf and I found it lulled me off to sleep. I heard it throughout the night, not cos it kept me awake, I was awake cos our heater didn't work and I was rather cold. I would say a good site and well situated for Llangollen and surrounding area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Morus 2 reviews from this member

Very disappointed in our stay. First impression was a kind gentleman who said it was 20 for Motorhome, and only cash. It looked a nice little site, so we went to the nearby town of Ruabon for cash. On our return we felt most unwelcome by the lady owner who asked for more money, we said we only went for 20 and she said that would do. Toilets and facilities were not pointed out, we were told to go to the lower pitch, far away from everything because we had children. The toilets and showers were clean but dated. Will not be using this place again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 17 reviews from this member

I stayed for only 2 nights. A pleasant looking site, only drawback is other then initial entrance field the land is undulating and as others have indicated levelling blocks would be advantageous. Saying that I managed to find a spot where I managed to park pretty level. There is some road noise as others have indicated but personally this doesn't bother myself. The amenities block, though clean and showers are hot, is somewhat dated and could do with some TLC. Also dishwashing area is outside and not under cover. When I used this facility in the mornings there was not really any hot water. Site is ideally situated if you are a motorhome owner who doesn't wish to drive off site. It's only a short walk into Ruabon where you can catch a train to Shrewsbury, Wrexham or Chester if desired. I didn't look into it but I'm sure there must be a regular bus service to Llangollen. Though perhaps a couple of my comments may seem somewhat negative overall this site is excellent value for money and I will certainly use it again. I would also point out that currently there is some major sewer works being carried out in the area and they are using a field next to the site as construction site so more noise than usual and I had generator going in field next to van all night, though this doesn't bother me it may be to others.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Myboys38 2 reviews from this member

Booked into James Caravan Park for the Jubilee Weekend, arrived on site and received a lovely warm welcome.

We were told we could pitch anywhere on the site, we decided the first field as you enter the site as we thought it would be sheltered and away from the main road, it was fairly quiet during the day as the children were running around but when the time came to go to bed you realise just how close the road is. The noise is constant until about 2.30ish in the morning and then restarts at about 4am. I think next time we book here we will go further into the site to pitch up.

The site is lovely and very clean. The toilet and shower block we good too, the showers were lovely and hot.

I would definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam70 1 review from this member

Where do I begin - this site has been a god send, after my mother was suddenly taken ill and admitted to Wrexham hospital, we brought a caravan to help with family accommodation whilst she was there. The owners have allowed us to keep our caravan sited for a very reasonable amount each week and paying for hook up as and when we are there. I would like to say a very big thank you to them. The owners are pleasant, polite and helpful and are happy to leave you to your own devices. The site also has CCTV for added security.

The site is exceptionally clean and well maintained, showers and toilets (2 female and 2 male) are always hot even at peak times and this is included in your daily rate.

The site is mowed on a regular basis, there is no rubbish on site and there is a chemical disposal unit and dishing washing facilities. Theres also a small freezer to use for ice blocks. The site has excellent drainage and even during the worst of this years weather it has not been muddy or boggy (and boy does it rain up here). But when the sun shines, the site is like a little sun trap and there is loads of wildlife to be seen.

The site is very large and there are plenty of electric and water points around the site. The pitches are very well spaced and there is no overcrowding. There are large grassy areas, ideal for dog walking, kids playing ball games etc.

The site is ideally located for oswestry, welshpool, wrexham and chester and there are several small villages within 1 mile, providing shops, pubs, takeaways and a large caravan store for all those little bits you may need.

Overall an excellent site, would recommend to everyone.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony+kay 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here last weekend and loved it. It is a massive park area where you can pitch up anywhere you like as there are no marked out pitches. There was loads of room as it was a quiet weekend. There were rabbits hopping around the fields early in the mornings when we woke.

There are a few level pitches but it can be a bit uneven, although it isnt too bad but recommend you have your ramps handy.

It was a fifteen minute walk to the centre of the village where there were loads of pubs to choose from. The local chinese was highly recommended but we didn't have chance to try it out. The railway station is also there which provides easy access to Chester in about 30 mins.

The toilet/shower block was spotless all throughout our stay, the showers were lovely and powerful and hot!

We were able to leave the caravan on site a bit longer on the day we left while we went to a local event which was very handy.

We didn't take our kids this time but I am sure they would have had a great time running through the trees. We didn't see any play areas for them but there seems to be plenty of places to explore.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tophatter 23 reviews from this member

Very friendly owners, 15 a night with electric and awning.

Toilet block clean and tidy, electric showers and heated.

Most pitches are sloping, so you may need leveling gear, there are some level pitches as you enter the site, the owner let us park where we'd like.

There is some road noise, but it's not that bad.

Ruabon is a 10 minute walk away, Ruabon has good bus connections, if you want to go too llangollen use the number 5 service, doesn't run Sundays, there is also Ruabon station with connections to Chester, North Wales and Shrewsbury.

There is a cashpoint in Ruabon, and a Nisa store, also if your a real ale drinker like me, use the Bridge End.

We will definitely use this site again, as it's a perfect base to tour North Wales.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Banjobilly 2 reviews from this member

This is our sixth visit, we like the peace and quiet we find here,as it is the perfect place to relax with a good book and just watch the rabbits and the rest of the world go by.

The shower and toilet block is spotless and there is always hot water. Power points and drinking water points are scattered all around the site but you will need a good extension if it is busy.

There is a small flat site on the left as you approach the main building or you can pitch anywhere you want on the main site which undulates through mature trees and open grassed areas.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Poacher9599 9 reviews from this member

I echo all previous reviews stating that it is a gem of a site. We used it as a stopover on our way back from down South. Easy booking / check - in and lovely clean facilities. Beautiful grounds - some places would have required chocks as ground could be hilly - our spot luckily was a level one.

Would happily recommend the site for anyone to use - didn't visit any pubs or restaurants in the area but there were some within walking distance.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tom+Loz 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our second weekend this month at James'. A lovely, quiet site, with nice and clean (but basic) facilities. Unfortunately, there was a rally on in the field we were on last weekend, so we had to park on the hill by the windmill - at least we had TV reception this weekend!

One minor point, though, is the 6 Amp electricity, with a notice advising 'no Heaters'. Everything in our Motorhome worked, apart from our 'normal' kettle, which tripped the switch. Luckily, we carry a whistling gas kettle with us as back-up!

All in all, a nice relaxing break and a place we will return to again and again!

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ruabon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2793 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020