Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stonham Barns Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Stowmarket > Stonham Barns Caravan Park > Reviews

Stonham Barns Caravan Park
Pettaugh Road
Stonham Aspal
Stowmarket
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP14 6AT
Tel: 01449 711901
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/02/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 27 reviews from this member

 A good campsite with lovely big pitches, and actually very quiet and peaceful, although I would imagine it gets busy when they have events on but they have a rally field I think when it get really busy.

Just a couple of mins walk to the attractions, plenty to see and do there for eveyone.

Great wardens very helpful and friendly, loads of dog walking space, very dog friendly toilet.

Showers clean, thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would stay there again when we are in that area. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Debbe6 1 review from this member

 We arrived on Friday evening and our caravan was lovely and clean with lots of room and storage.

Beds were extremely comfortable and the showers were lovely, hot and powerful.

We were told that we needed to take our own towels but bedding and a t towel was provided.

The middle of the site has a lovely little shopping village where you can pick up essential items milk, bread etc, pet supplies, sweet shop and garden centre.

The site itself is very good top marks for cleanliness and friendly staff.

The two main food outlets provide tasty meals and excellent service. We had a delicious cooked breakfast served by very friendly staff.

There is a fantastic crazy golf, pirate 🏴‍☠️ themed which we thoroughly enjoyed and an owl sanctuary that was very interesting to see. The car boot sale ( on site) on Sunday ended our weekend by having a good rummage around the stalls and finishing with an ice cream.

On a whole a brilliant weekend had by all and would definitely stay here again.

Our family trip was with 4 people aged between 24- 76 years of age and a dog we all could find something for all our needs.

Well done Stonham Barns. Will definitely come back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aubrey 1 review from this member

 Nice friendly site. Good clean facilities.

One slight issue that was quickly resolved. Plenty do see and do if staying on site.

Would consider returning if back in Suffolk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Campermark71 17 reviews from this member

 Stonham Barns Park itself is very nice and offers many facilities such as Sunday Car Boot Sale, Lots of interesting shops and a kids funfair.

The site is also used for events and has an Owl Sanctuary on site.

The campsite itself is quite level and the pitches are kept tidy although when we were there we saw a very overloaded pick up truck going round emptying the bins which then did a donut in our field which resulted in a lot of rubbish falling off which thankfully they picked up.

The shower and toilet blocks near our pitch were very old and basic and looked like converted lorry containers! Considering this place is not the cheapest to stay at I would have expected better, however they were kept clean. I was told there were other toilet blocks a short walk away but I didn't go in them so cannot comment on how good or bad they were.

The staff we encountered all seemed friendly.

Summing up, the site is a nice base especially if you are attending one of the many events they have there. The toilet/shower blocks near our pitch could do with upgrading but they were clean.

On the whole a nice site for a weekend or longer break. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karen001 1 review from this member

 We have loved staying on this site. There is plenty to do and everybody is very friendly and welcoming.

As we have stayed in a caravan we have not had to use the shower facilities on site. There are now two blocks for toilets and showers. One is very old and is kept very well by the cleaners considering what they have to work with. (I believe there are plans to have these removed so a new block can be built in its place).

The second block is on the show ground site and is very bright and airy and new and again looked after beautifully by the staff on site.

The location of the site is good, it is on a main road but tucked away from it and we felt very safe and saw many children playing around the site as the main area is well away from the road. It makes for a good base for visiting the local area.

There are also beautiful walks both around the site and public footpaths. The Owl Sanctuary is an absolute must for visiting, as is the tea pot factory. You can watch tea pots being made and painted before going into the attached tea rooms for a lovely cup of tea and a piece of home made cake.

There is also a golf course, crazy golf and kick golf on site. Stonham Barns is also lucky to have a fantastic children's play barn "Tumbledown" offering a safe place for your small children to play while you sit with drinks and hot food cooked on site by the lovely Chrissi.

The Bistro currently stays open late on just a Friday and Saturday night, otherwise it closes at 4. 30pm. The menu is good, but very limited if like myself you are a vegetarian and I think maybe it would be very difficult if you were vegan - on the other hand Tumbledown do offer veggie and vegan food!

The issue with the on site store is the same as always - it closes at 4. 30pm everyday! Could do with being open considerably longer! But there are stores not to far away by car. We were here for the Gone to Earth Festival this year and so had friends come and camp during this time, a quote of their experience. ".

Special thanks to ALL OF YOU STAFF AT Stonham Barns - I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH WELL PROVIDED DISABILTY FRIENDLY HELP AT ANY FESTIVAL SITE (FACILTIES/ AWARENESS). " Needless to say we all had a wonderful time. Gone to Earth will be happening again next year. Bring it on!

There is usually something going on every weekend throughout the summer what ever your thing is. Well worth a visit I think. Loved it. Sorry to have to go home, but we will be back again for definite. Oh - I forgot to say they also have a theatre on site with shows and visiting performers visiting on a regular basis.

Look up their web site. You can also get a hair cut, have your nails done and have a reiki and or tarot reading while you are here. Or even an art class!

There is also a brilliant book shop were the staff are very friendly and helpful. You will never be bored. I'll probably think of something else after I have posted this. But this will have to do for now.

I totally recommend Stonham Barns because it was well worth the money spent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wombat12 3 reviews from this member

 Always happy to see you very polite and respectful.

Toilets clean and warm.

Lots to do for children and adults

Easy access to the site and good fishing. Car boot sale on Sundays and some shops 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Saxman 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival there was friendly welcome. We were shown to a pitch which we didn't like so was offered another one. They were hardstandings but being the time of year there was mud around edges. There was no explanation of where facilities were.

Toilet block was spotless. Once we had found the Elsan point we decided not to use it. It was the most disgusting we have ever seen. The grey water drain was also there. Having a motorhome we expected a service point but did not have one. We were unable to discharge grey water as it was through and behind a hedge. Doubt we will go again especially at 24 a night. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maggiedd 1 review from this member

 We booked last minute as the site we wanted to go to was closed. Stonham barns accommodated us in a lovely level field. We had electric, as did all of the pitches.

The toilets and shower block, although basic, were beautifully clean as was the washing up area which appeared to be new.

My teenagers really enjoyed the driving range and crazy golf on the site. The open field was relaxed and my children enjoyed a water fight and played football as there was so much space. I will definitely be returning for weekends with other family members in the future! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ZarZu 3 reviews from this member

 This is my fist time staying at this site for a weekend with an extra large tent (12man). There was no problem for the tent as I was pitched up on the Rally field and was located close to the facilities as I have a few disabled family members.

The facilities were very clean and well maintained at all times. They were even inspected a couple of times a day. Very spacious and a mop and bucket for the showers if there became a mess.

There is plenty to do on site, loads of mini shops, which was well stocked. The actually camp site shop could do with being open for longer as she didn't open till 10 am and shut at 4pm.

The only problem with the site is there is no dog poo bins, so I have to use the general rubbish waste at the reception, but this was no problem.

The staff were very friendly and was always available to help.

Would I go back? Definitely. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandynineteen66 1 review from this member

 We booked in at stonham barns for the weekend of the mid Suffolk show, we had electric set up and water. The site grass was kept nice and short, the toilet blocks were simple but very clean, no queuing even on this very busy weekend.

The complex has lots of shops to potter around and a stocked convenience shop, although I only needed milk and paracetamol, they were reasonably priced for an on site shop.

There were lots of attractions, golfing, livery stables, lovely shops, fishing, and the play area looked good fun and well kept. Staff were all very helpful and polite.

The only criticism I can say, was that I only found 1 dog poo bin, which was a little disappointing for such a big site. Many thanks stonham barns. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Stonham Barns Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stonham Barns Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stonham Barns Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stowmarket      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55991 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement