Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonham Barns Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket > Stonham Barns Caravan Park Reviews

Stonham Barns Caravan Park
Pettaugh Road
Stonham Aspal
Stowmarket
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP14 6AT
Tel: 01449 711901
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wombat12 2 reviews from this member

Always happy to see you very polite and respectful.

Toilets clean and warm.

Lots to do for children and adults

Easy access to the site and good fishing. Car boot sale on Sundays and some shops
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Saxman 2 reviews from this member

On arrival there was friendly welcome. We were shown to a pitch which we didn't like so was offered another one. They were hardstandings but being the time of year there was mud around edges. There was no explanation of where facilities were.

Toilet block was spotless. Once we had found the Elsan point we decided not to use it. It was the most disgusting we have ever seen. The grey water drain was also there. Having a motorhome we expected a service point but did not have one. We were unable to discharge grey water as it was through and behind a hedge. Doubt we will go again especially at 24 a night.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maggiedd 1 review from this member

We booked last minute as the site we wanted to go to was closed. Stonham barns accommodated us in a lovely level field. We had electric, as did all of the pitches.

The toilets and shower block, although basic, were beautifully clean as was the washing up area which appeared to be new.

My teenagers really enjoyed the driving range and crazy golf on the site. The open field was relaxed and my children enjoyed a water fight and played football as there was so much space. I will definitely be returning for weekends with other family members in the future!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ZarZu 3 reviews from this member

This is my fist time staying at this site for a weekend with an extra large tent (12man). There was no problem for the tent as I was pitched up on the Rally field and was located close to the facilities as I have a few disabled family members.

The facilities were very clean and well maintained at all times. They were even inspected a couple of times a day. Very spacious and a mop and bucket for the showers if there became a mess.

There is plenty to do on site, loads of mini shops, which was well stocked. The actually camp site shop could do with being open for longer as she didn't open till 10 am and shut at 4pm.

The only problem with the site is there is no dog poo bins, so I have to use the general rubbish waste at the reception, but this was no problem.

The staff were very friendly and was always available to help.

Would I go back? Definitely.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandynineteen66 1 review from this member

We booked in at stonham barns for the weekend of the mid Suffolk show, we had electric set up and water. The site grass was kept nice and short, the toilet blocks were simple but very clean, no queuing even on this very busy weekend.

The complex has lots of shops to potter around and a stocked convenience shop, although I only needed milk and paracetamol, they were reasonably priced for an on site shop.

There were lots of attractions, golfing, livery stables, lovely shops, fishing, and the play area looked good fun and well kept. Staff were all very helpful and polite.

The only criticism I can say, was that I only found 1 dog poo bin, which was a little disappointing for such a big site. Many thanks stonham barns.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cleddytan 3 reviews from this member

Just left this site this morning and I am appalled at how poor this site is. We arrived at 2. 0 pm yesterday and the reception was closed for the rest of the day. There was no warm welcome as advertised. A note on the door told us which pitch to use. The spacing of the pitches is quite cramped. The toilet and shower block is very shabby. There was no heating on at any time in the block.

When I complained at reception today, there was complete disinterest at what I was saying.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul12 5 reviews from this member

Just returned after the Easter weekend break. This site seems to have more seasonal pitches then from our previous visits, but there always seems a nice atmosphere on site.

Our only real downside has got to be the shower block which sadly hasn't been touched for a few years, but always hot water available. Hard standing are available, but in busy times are quite hard to get because of the seasonal campers, as we found out last time after setting up we had to move one pitch down really annoying.

Most Sundays they have a small boot sale. They have many shops on site including a restaurant, garden centre and a small shop selling papers milk and bread

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ljhurley 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend camping, had a fab time, the site was great, good level grassy pitch with plenty of space for our large 12 person tent as well as electric and water at the pitch. We were given the choice of pitch on arrival and opted for one on the tent field. This was perfect for us, quiet and not too far (or close) from the toilets. Whilst the toilet and shower block were not new, they were kept very clean which is the most important thing to us.

The shop seemed to stock everything we would have needed had we not already stocked up before we arrived, and the gentleman who booked us in was very helpful, even lending us a cable we had forgotten.

Miniature golf and the driving range were a big hit with my kids who didn't want to come home! The other great thing about this site was the price, was excellent value, very reasonable. We would definitely recommend this site and can't wait to return again next year!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Founts 2 reviews from this member

We were looking for a fairly last minute booking for two large tents with electric hook up and stumbled across stonham barns on ukcampsites. I phoned and spoke to a very friendly and helpful member of staff who made the booking process seem very easy and nothing was too much trouble.

On arrival we dealt with the same chap and although on his own due to staff sickness was just as helpful in the flesh. Once booked in we were shown to our pitches and left to it.

We were in the tent field which was a very quiet, flat and pleasing area.

I had read lots of reviews on the toilet/shower facilities so was a little apprehensive as to what we would find. Yes it was a portacabin type affair but it was clean and spotless in fact, no shortage of hot water and never busy.

Loads for the kids to do and it had the feeling of a very safe environment for the kids too.

A few reviews mention the lack of stock in the on site shop, there is however a new well stocked shop within the Stonham Barns retail complex. If that's not enough there is a large supermarket in Stowmarket (10-15 mins away).

We will be regular visitors to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Th14 1 review from this member

We stayed here over the weekend of 30th April to 2nd May (Bank Holiday Monday).

Although full the campsite was a quiet place to spend a few days.

Although the site is near a road it is well screened and we hardly heard a vehicle at all.

The toilets and showers were looking a little bit tired but everything worked perfectly well.

Had a nice pint in The 10 Bells in the village.

Visited Aldeburgh, Sizewell and Southwold which were all worth a look.

Also did a nice walk around the village picking up 5 geocaches.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019