Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonham Barns Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

Stonham Barns Caravan Park
Pettaugh Road
Stonham Aspal
Stowmarket
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP14 6AT
Tel: 01449 711901
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Saxman 2 reviews from this member

On arrival there was friendly welcome. We were shown to a pitch which we didn't like so was offered another one. They were hardstandings but being the time of year there was mud around edges. There was no explanation of where facilities were. Toilet block was spotless. Once we had found the Elsan point we decided not to use it. It was the most disgusting we have ever seen. The grey water drain was also there. Having a motorhome we expected a service point but did not have one. We were unable to discharge grey water as it was through and behind a hedge. Doubt we will go again especially at 24 a night.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maggiedd 1 review from this member

We booked last minute as the site we wanted to go to was closed. Stonham barns accommodated us in a lovely level field. We had electric, as did all of the pitches. The toilets and shower block, although basic, were beautifully clean as was the washing up area which appeared to be new. My teenagers really enjoyed the driving range and crazy golf on the site. The open field was relaxed and my children enjoyed a water fight and played football as there was so much space. I will definitely be returning for weekends with other family members in the future!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ZarZu 3 reviews from this member

This is my fist time staying at this site for a weekend with an extra large tent (12man). There was no problem for the tent as I was pitched up on the Rally field and was located close to the facilities as I have a few disabled family members.

The facilities were very clean and well maintained at all times. They were even inspected a couple of times a day. Very spacious and a mop and bucket for the showers if there became a mess.

There is plenty to do on site, loads of mini shops, which was well stocked. The actually camp site shop could do with being open for longer as she didn't open till 10 am and shut at 4pm.

The only problem with the site is there is no dog poo bins, so I have to use the general rubbish waste at the reception, but this was no problem.

The staff were very friendly and was always available to help.

Would I go back? Definitely.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandynineteen66 1 review from this member

We booked in at stonham barns for the weekend of the mid Suffolk show, we had electric set up and water. The site grass was kept nice and short, the toilet blocks were simple but very clean, no queuing even on this very busy weekend. The complex has lots of shops to potter around and a stocked convenience shop, although I only needed milk and paracetamol, they were reasonably priced for an on site shop. There were lots of attractions, golfing, livery stables, lovely shops, fishing, and the play area looked good fun and well kept. Staff were all very helpful and polite. The only criticism I can say, was that I only found 1 dog poo bin, which was a little disappointing for such a big site. Many thanks stonham barns.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cleddytan 3 reviews from this member

Just left this site this morning and I am appalled at how poor this site is. We arrived at 2. 0 pm yesterday and the reception was closed for the rest of the day. There was no warm welcome as advertised. A note on the door told us which pitch to use. The spacing of the pitches is quite cramped. The toilet and shower block is very shabby. There was no heating on at any time in the block.

When I complained at reception today, there was complete disinterest at what I was saying.

We will certainly not be returning to this site again.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul12 5 reviews from this member

Just returned after the Easter weekend break. This site seems to have more seasonal pitches then from our previous visits, but there always seems a nice atmosphere on site. Our only real downside has got to be the shower block which sadly hasn't been touched for a few years, but always hot water available. Hard standing are available, but in busy times are quite hard to get because of the seasonal campers, as we found out last time after setting up we had to move one pitch down really annoying. Most Sundays they have a small boot sale. They have many shops on site including a restaurant, garden centre and a small shop selling papers milk and bread

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Founts 2 reviews from this member

We were looking for a fairly last minute booking for two large tents with electric hook up and stumbled across stonham barns on ukcampsites. I phoned and spoke to a very friendly and helpful member of staff who made the booking process seem very easy and nothing was too much trouble.

On arrival we dealt with the same chap and although on his own due to staff sickness was just as helpful in the flesh. Once booked in we were shown to our pitches and left to it.

We were in the tent field which was a very quiet, flat and pleasing area.

I had read lots of reviews on the toilet/shower facilities so was a little apprehensive as to what we would find. Yes it was a portacabin type affair but it was clean and spotless in fact, no shortage of hot water and never busy.

Loads for the kids to do and it had the feeling of a very safe environment for the kids too.

A few reviews mention the lack of stock in the on site shop, there is however a new well stocked shop within the Stonham Barns retail complex. If that's not enough there is a large supermarket in Stowmarket (10-15 mins away).

We will be regular visitors to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Th14 1 review from this member

We stayed here over the weekend of 30th April to 2nd May (Bank Holiday Monday).

Although full the campsite was a quiet place to spend a few days.

Although the site is near a road it is well screened and we hardly heard a vehicle at all.

The toilets and showers were looking a little bit tired but everything worked perfectly well.

Had a nice pint in The 10 Bells in the village.

Visited Aldeburgh, Sizewell and Southwold which were all worth a look.

Also did a nice walk around the village picking up 5 geocaches.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donnylou72 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long (Easter) weekend at this site. We booked this site at the last minute, wanting to take full advantage of a rare heatwave!

The owner was very helpful from the word go and the atmosphere on the site was very relaxed - you didn't feel as though people were breathing down your neck, as with some other sites!

We were given a pitch on the Rally field which was, in my opinion, by far the better option as the other smaller areas looked slightly cramped and seemed to contain mostly 'seasonal' units. The rally field was great for our needs, with a wide open space in the middle for my 9yr old footie-mad son to play ball to his heart's content.

Each pitch had it's own electric and water supply and the grass was very well maintained. The toilet/shower facilities were in a portacabin type building which may sound a bit grim but they were spotlessly clean and I only queued once which isn't bad on a busy weekend.

The approach to the site is a bit off-putting (lots of business units and over-full skips!) but don't let this put you off. Stonham Barns itself is an interesting tourist attraction with a lovely Owl Sanctuary and lots of little interesting shops and a garden centre.

The nearest supermarket is quite a distance but the site has a lovely village stores which stocks a good range of things at very reasonable prices. Stonham Barns is in a very pretty part of Suffolk with some lovely quaint villages nearby.

Will definitely return to this site - although only if we can get a pitch on the Rally field. Didn't use the restaurant there as it was only open during the day but the menu looked good and reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: COBRAKING 1 review from this member

On our first visit to Stonham Barn we did not know what to expect, due to other reviews., but was pleasantly surprised. Toilets/showers were spotless as was the site. Onwer was most helpful and friendly and the other buildings in the area gave the whole place an air of olde world character. Camping & caravan centre on site run by real genuine nice guy. We found this site better than a lot of the larger more commercial sites. Restaurant gave 10% discount for site users, food was good and plenty of it. One we shall be going back to

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019