Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Seaview Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Seaview Holiday Park Reviews

Seaview Holiday Park
Sennan
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR19 7AD
Tel: 01736 871266
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 235
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 20 Reviews
                5/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ginge91 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night with our campervan, pitches were level and very spacious and very tidy, shower blocks were clean but weren't very powerful.

Childrens playground is really colourful, maintained and plenty to play on.

Lots of facilities in the reception building but as we were only staying one night didn't get in there.

Pub, shop and chippy only a short walk into the village.

Ideal stopover not far from Lands End or Sennen Cove

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Les and Sue 1 review from this member

After reading all the negative reviews Sue and I stayed at Seaview for three nights and found the campsite to be very nice.

Pitches, It is the first time we have been away in peak season and was very pleasantly surprised to find that there was a decent amount of space between us and our neighbours, we have been on some sites where you can open your window and shake hands you are so close.

There are two main camping areas, the terracing where you have hedges between you, or the wild camping field where you get large open pitches, both have electric and non electric pitches. We had an electric pitch in the wild camping.

The pitch was fairly level, but we did need to use the levellers as it fell away on one side. We had a lovely view out across fields to the sea beyond, so this more than made up for this.

Also, there is a lot of flowers, shrubs and bushes planted around the camping areas and the park as a whole, which gives a really pleasant feel to the site.

Facilities on site were

Swimming pool, open between 10am and 5 pm, it isn't heated, but on very hot days it is nice to cool off, and there were sunloungers around the side to top up the tan.

Toilet and showers, these are basic and a little dated, but apart from the obvious, what do you want to do in them. The showers were of the electric type and provided a nice hot shower. There is a sign warning that there may be a pressure flucuation between 8 and 10, this is because they also have a lot of static caravans and the mains water coming in to the site, and the toilets were clean, so no complaints there.

Bar, the bar was open and did food but we didn't use it, so can't comment but stuck our heads in and looked nice, as we preferred to walk up to the First and Last Inn, may be 100 yards up the road.

Childrens play area, this is placed very convienently in the park, for both campsite and statics, and looked really good. Think our Grandchildren would love to play in it if we return and bring them with us.

Shop, again we didn't use as we bought food with us, or ate out. There is a Costcutter at the opposite end of Sennen, on your way in.

Local shops

First and Last Inn, about 100 yards from Seaview, does really good food, good selection, but is best if you reserve a table as does get busy. We can whole heartedly recommend the Sunday roast, they say its the best on the coast, and they aren't lying. They also have a live band on Staurday nights at 9pm, for those that want entertainment.

Shops

There is a Costcutter on the way in to Sennen that does a very good selection of Frozen, tinned and fresh food and has a good variety of wines beers and ciders. Saves a 10 mile trip back to Penzance to go to Tesco!

Next door to Costcutter is a Fish and Chip shop, for those prefering a take away there is a fish and chip shop, which does very good fish and chips, and you get a large portion of chips, so be warned. They have a sign board up near Seaview saying 600 yards, but I think it is a bit further than that.

Out and about

Land's End is about a mile down the raod so you can either walk or drive down. It will cost you £5 to park, but if you take your ticket to the Visitor Centre they can give you a voucher to park for free for the next seven days. You have to ask, they won't tell you.

Minack Theatre, this is about 3 miles away, but is well worth a visit, especially if you can get booked up to see a play. It is a suntrap, so gets very warm, but when you look out the sea is so clear and blue you can be on a Greek Island, with the theatre back drop.

Beaches

The nearest beach is Sennen Cove, which is the one we used, it is walkable, but there is a very step hill to go down, and back up when you leave. Again the sea is very clear and the beach is lovely and sandy, but does get busy, but it is long enough to not feel cramped.

There are two car parks, beach and harbour, but they do get busy, so you have to park early, or go down in th eevening. Alternatively, there is the 300 bus which leaves outside of Seaview and goes Land's End, Sennen Cove and St Ives, for those not wanting to take their car or walk.

We had a very enjoyable time at Seaview and will definitely be returning, probably with the Grandkids so they can take advantage of the play area. It had everything that we needed to use and the toilets and showers were clean, that is why I have scored everything 10 out of 10, as I couldn't find anything to complain about

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Jenkins 2 reviews from this member

Where to start is the question?, Answer: STAY AT HOME, This has to be the worst holiday site I have ever staid at, I renamed the camp STARLAG 17, unfriendly to say the least, very poor facilities, a rule list of 25 that must be adhered too, unless you upgrade in the time given for get it, when you arrive you can ask until you are blue in the face it wont happen. Keep kids on a leash as they are not allowed to play out on there own, old dated caravan poor heating poor comfort sitting and sleeping, cooker just worked, no oven/grill its there just didn't work, gas fire lit but that was it no heat at all for that we had to use the cooker hobs to heat the place. You will be asked to pay a deposit of £20 when you arrive this comes with a form to ask if you wish to collect deposit back later in the day you depart or have a cheque posted what ever you go for you wont get it or only a part of it, we opted for cheque which arrived a week later and only for £17, contacted owners and got told 'you signed the form for post that's what you get', , , phone went dead. We booked through the SUN paper as funds are tight this year but kids and us needed a break for Easter school holidays, normally a great idea, not this time and I will be informing them the sun paper of the disappointment and disgust we had and have. By the way chippy is great but its not the stated 600yrds from the site its a lot further away, lands end will cost a fiver just to park so be warned on that as well. There are some fantastic sights all around and we are sure there are some far better caravan/campsites, in the area. You have been warned

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Baillie6 1 review from this member

I have just come back from Seaview Holiday Park with my family of four adults and two children. We were aware this is not a holiday camp but an activity centre, thought fine use as base to explore the area and the children can use all the facilities.

But alas the facilities were not open this was half term week, but although times were on the door of opening but those times which were up it was closed - the bar was never open.

We did have a good week but was disappointing we paid for passes which we could not use - also the upgrade in my opinion was not so.

This park could be great but needs a lot of updating and the facilities should be open when stated and perhaps for longer as the British climate the way it is the indoor area could be good for wet days.

Don't bother unless you like it very quiet and very old caravans which need updating.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happychaps 2 reviews from this member

The site has beautiful established gardens / flowers. The pitches are a little small but we had privacy. The bottom field entrance is on a corner with a very narrow gate which made entering with a caravan a spectator sport. There are three other camping fields which looked very nice.

There is a lovely children's play area, not that we have small children anymore. There are several shower blocks however, we had one key, £5 deposit. The showers did not work, the toilets overflowed and there was no hot water to wash up. It was also very difficult to get water from the outside drinking taps, no water pressure.

This is a lovely location, so close to Lands End, beautiful walks, beaches and villages, quiet and remote. There are local pubs, a shop and post office. This site could be great with a bit of work and care for customers from the owners.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayneyp 1 review from this member

After booking this site I then read the reviews and I was to be honest slightly worried. After an initial mix up with the booking that was eventually rectified over the telephone we arrived and checked in with no probs and were directed to our pitches that were right by the park as they suggested we did having six children with us.

The park was super for the kids and they really enjoyed it and used it a lot. We were also given our keys to the toilet blocks and as we were a large party with a lot of children we were given an additional key.

The toilets were always clean and stocked up. Showers are not roomy but plenty if hot water was always readily available. They have some private bathrooms in one of the blocks and they were great for using with the kids. They get grabbed early but worth the wait. The laundrette was useful but machines took a long time.

Handy fridge for those with no hook up in the laundry room and a freezer to make ice cubes for Pimms! The swimming pool was lovely. Proper little sun trap. Water cold though. Indoor play area was good but we didn't use it much. Neither did we use the bar or restaurant so can't comment other than to say it was quiet in there. Small shop on site that stocked necessities.

We did go and eat out one night at the first and last pub and would say not to bother. Overpriced and poor food and limited menu! Nothing to do with the campsite it is just the nearest pub.

Sennen is lovely. The beach is fantastic. Bit of a trek up and down to the car park but you need to get there early to get a space at the bottom.

The site is well laid out, very tidy and well landscaped. Where we were was quite well sheltered as well and we ha some fairly bad weather during our stay.

We enjoyed our stay and would def go back. Would recommend for families.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MR+KR 10 reviews from this member

We have just stayed for 6 nights at the Seaview Holiday Park, after much planning, and mulling over the many, many negative reports which I have seen on it. We were camping, and really just using the site as a base.

In planning, I emailed the site to clarify the cost, had an email response, rang them (verifying the costs) and then followed this up with another email. Then I sent off the booking form with the required £50 deposit.

After a very long drive to reach the site we went to book in and there was a (polite) issue over the site costs for us, and this revolved around the inclusion/exclusion of an awning. We had pre-checked that our total nightly cost was £22 (not cheap), that being x2 adults at £3 each, 1x child at £2 per night, a 4 man tent - which I believe to be medium sized tent - at £11 per night and £3 per night for the awning.

Upon arrival, we were told that it was £14 per tent per night, and then the awning on top of that, ie Another £18. That would be charging at the plaza rate for tents, but this is not correct for a four berth tent. A plaza tent is an 8/10 berth job (in my book). I had printed evidence from emails and showed it. We were allowed the original rate of £22 per night. This, I stress, was amicable.

The reason why I am explaining this in detail is because I guess there can be something lost in the 'translation' in the pricing structure, and when the booking form comes back it states in an attached note that final payment can be different. I quote: 'The quotes given are only approximate and for camping will be confirmed on the day due to size, additions and alterations. See camping price list enclosed' (there wasn't one).

It also states in the note that: 'Quotes given in writing or over the phone are only approximate and valid for the length of the call or date of the letter'. I think they need to sort out the distinction between an estimate, and a quotation.

As far as I am concerned, the price list on their website is quite clear, and it is this which we went by. The booking form I had sent back to them clearly stated our tent size and £11 per night,with awning separate at £3 per night, yet the one sent back to us by them had a tent rate of £14 per night (ie plaza rate)and nothing down for the awning. Now refer this back to the attached note, and its message.

Read into that what you will. It all seems remarkably 'flexible'. How many others has this happened to, who just paid the extra to carry on? Or was it just a cockup in the first place?

Also clearly in the booking form returned was the point about visitors and being charged £8 per person per day.That is simply scandalous! What are you paying for? The indoor amenities cost extra anyway.

The Site.

The site is in a fantastic location, being on the Lands End side of Sennen, and only a mile from Lands End. An easy walk. Clean, good showers / toilets and a good atmosphere. We saw no evidence of aggro as per many others reviews. There are multiple areas to camp: three tiers, plus others, including wild camping. There is a decent shop open till 5.00pm. Two shops in the village, one a Costcutter. Very expensive for drink. I heard gripes about the bar not being open, but the following was a much better attraction.

A few minutes walk from the campsite is the fantastic The First and the Last pub, which is a gem. Steeped in history, great range of real ale, child friendly all day. Plus good live music, and very friendly.

We missed the beer festival; what a pity.

We walked to Lands End, and along the s/w coast path to Portcurno. The views in good weather, are out of this world. We got stunning weather that day, fortunately. Saw peregrine falcons, buzzards (an eagle?), a seal, lizard and numerous others. Lookout for adders, apparently. No basking sharks this time but the walk gives a good elevated location to look down on them, when they are close in. Especially near Porthcurno.

The whole area is magical, and Mousehole with the Ship Inn and the Coastguard pubs/bars is essential. The Ship is idyllic, but pricy. Always busy. The Kings Arms at Paul is also a cracker, with good food. St Buryan ditto. The Lamorna Wink too. Good reports for the Cable Station in Porthcurno, and The Admiral Benbow, and The Turks Head in Penzance are fantastic. Avoid the Swordfish, and The Star in lower Newlyn. The latter did not serve us, anyway! The Red Lion and the Fishermans Arms in upper Newlyn are both terrific and friendly. Shocking for parking, though.

Would we go back to The Seaview? Yes, definitely, and were agreed on that. Some shocking weather did not put us off (it can get very windy). I also have no doubt that some have abused the site and its location. It isn't free, you know!

What - however - is needed: a complete overhaul of their camping prices, how they charge these, their booking system and the very authoritarian approach to rules and regulations they seem to adopt. The visitor rate is sheer ridiculous.

Cornwall seems to have adopted the attitude - of late - of grab every penny, in some ways. Parking is the huge one. Why should you have to pay a full days parking when you only want to park for an hour? Many car parks do this here. The main upper one at St Ives is a bad one: £3.50 to park all day, and that the only rate advertised. So people pay it. Only in this, next door/joined is the leisure centre car park. You can pay for an hour there, or 2 hours (for locals, principally). But these are valid in the main CP too, WITHOUT being advertised there. What a swindle!

The Seaview is a bit like this, in my view. It is unquestionably a great site and location, and they are wringing every last penny out of you because it is a unique 'selling brand', as there is no other campsite very close, and walkable to Lands End. But it can price itself out of the market, if not careful. When we went, there were very few camping there, and that was August.

People do read these reviews, as said The Hotel Inspector in the programme on TV.

It could be awesome. Pity the Wreckers pub opposite has closed.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Jones04 1 review from this member

We just come back after spending 5 days at this site. The caravan we stayed in was clean apart from the window latches were all rusted and the decor was green very much 80s so could do with being updated. They dropped off table and chairs the evening of our last night so did not get time to use them.

It has a lovely outside play area for children however you were not allowed to use the indoor play area unless you purchased food or drink from the bar, the bar was only open for a few hours in the evenings and only on a Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday the same rule applied to the bowling and also incurred extra cost of £4.50 something they forget to mention when you book.

Overall the site is well maintained and the only free facilities are the outside park and pool. We did enjoy the coastal walks and sennen beach is worth a visit. Was glad went with the sun holiday as it was not worth the prices they charge.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah French23 1 review from this member

On arriving at the site we, 8 families, were delighted as we were given 8 pitches together and right next to the play area. The children loved the play area and were happy to play there all day. The first night was great fun and apart from the shop being shut we had no real complaints.

The next morning we went to the pool, the gate was open when we got there so we all just walked into the pool area. The only signs displayed were telling us children had to be supervised. So out came the inflatables and as we had the pool to our selves a game of volleyball started. Shortly afterwards a lady asked if we had signed in and told us that no inflatables were allowed, even beach balls were banned as they could hurt! When a member of our party enquired as to why beach balls were not allowed she told them she did not have to explain herself and told them to leave the pool area!

The next morning the Ladies toilets were blocked so when a member of our party informed reception we were accused of putting nappies down them! There was limited hot water for washing up but luckily the showers worked well which was helpful as the farmer in the field behind constantly showered us with earth for a day!

On our second day 4 friends; 2 adults, a 4yr old and a baby wanted to visit us on the site, they were told they had to pay 32 pounds just have a coffee with us!

It is such a shame as the site is lovely and could give wonderful holidays if only the staff could be bothered! We did have a great weekend in spite of being made to feel very unwelcome, but it goes without saying that we will not be returning!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JUMPJET 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the Bank Holiday week.

We were a party of thirteen.

Was not impressed by this site, the welcome was non existent, shop was not stocked, we were lucky if you could get a loaf of bread or milk and this was bank holiday and the site was supposedly full.

The club house never seemed to be open pass 7.00pm, the children's games room was shut because it was end of season. The swimming pool was filthy it had worms in it.

Toilet block/showers were dirty (never saw a cleaner), took to cleaning them ourselves.

Washing up facilities were also dirty, took to washing up in a bucket (it was cleaner).

The outdoor play area was ok for the little ones, but nothing for the older children to do.

Everything that was advertised on the website was non existent which was a bit disappointing really.

Spent a lot of time off site and in the village of Sennen and Lands End which were lovely.

We did try and contact the manager of the site but had no joy, we even tried ringing and writing to air our disappointment.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3143 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019