Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brick Kiln Farm Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Brick Kiln Farm Caravan Park
Swaffham Road
Ashill
Thetford
Norfolk   (Browse area)
IP25 7BT
Tel: 01760 441300
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site in contrasting weather, in wet weather the ground drained well although it is mainly on a gradual slope. In the sunshine the site was fab the grass nicely cut with a lovely woodland walk and a large meadow for kite flying, games etc. A spacious site with plenty of trees.

The facilities were clean & tidy.

There is not much in terms of shops & eating places locally but lovely country walks.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P and L 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for two nights to try out our new tent. The site was chosen for its quiet location and facilies. We had reserved a pitch with a hook-up and on arrival were given a choice of a number of pitches all of which seemed well-drained but not all were level. We were the only tent on site and although there were many caravans present most seemed to be in storage while others appeared to be used to house contract workers with perhaps no more than 3 units being used for leisure purposes.

Overall this was a pleasant site and for the most part quiet but on our first night was on the flight path for one of the local airbases with aircraft passing over head every few minutes until around midnight. Facilities were clean but probably needed updating and could come under pressure if the site was busy - in the gents there were only two showers and three WCs.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fazandroy 1 review from this member

This site is a must its good value for money hot showers /toilets. There is a washing machine and dryer on coin operated machines again good value very friendly owners most helpful not pushy not a lot to do for the kids but there is a wooded part for them to play in and a field allocated as well. Dogs are allowed on this site which is good because mine came with us as they are our family they must be kept on leads at all times and cleaned up as soon as they foul but again there was one who didn't bother to pick up his dogs poop and he always went through the woods where the kids played needless to say I always ended up picking his dogs poop up before I let my kids play. This site is quite and relaxing and ample space with pot washing facilities as well as all the usual you expect. We didn't have any problems except the minor one as explained. Lots to do we went to the zoo and the seaside and a horse sanctuary all about a hours drive from the campsite again good value and will be returning

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carole4329 2 reviews from this member

Brick Kiln Farm site was very well maintained. Good facilities with a ready supply of hot water for both showers and washing up facilities and extremely good value. Site owners extremely friendly and very laid back. Would definitely recommend this site. Was in easy reach of Swaffham, Iceni village, and a lovely historic church, St Marys, that is currently being restored and has significant murals.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tonyee 6 reviews from this member

Just had two very enjoyable days at this site. Owner is very friendly and the site is good value for money (10 for caravan / 2 adults). Like a lot of other review only downside is it is a bit remote and a car is a 'must have' as there isn't anywhere to get the basics near by.

Facilities are very good. Toilets / showers are clean and well presented. Site in general is well looked after and re-cyling of your waste is well catered for (unlike some sites). There doesn't seem to be any play facilities for children although there is plenty of room for them to run around and play.

Being opened all year is a plus for us so in summery I would recommend this site to anyone looking for a quiet break but must have car or come prepared.

PS if using a 'sat nav' the postcode isn't exactly where the site is, it is in fact approx 1/2 mile closer to Swaffam.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy staples 1 review from this member

Just stayed at this camp for 3 days. This is our third year back there. Two adults, five kids and 1 tent at 16 a night for all of us, cheap.

Anne the owner is very welcoming and pretty much leaves you to get on with it. The small wood right next to our tent means the kids are in there element. building dens and tree climbing.

The toilets and showers were always clean and there was always plenty of hot water. All the days out are a car ride away. Not too much within walking distance.

We all enjoyed it thoroughly and definitely will be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel71 1 review from this member

Our first time camping, booking was dealt with by a very friendly owner over the phone. We pitched our tent and had a fantastic weekend, the showers and toilets were very clean, lovely walk into the village. Recommended to family and friends who have also since been and we plan to return again next weekend. Loads of space and room for the kids.The use of the washing machine and tumble drier were very handy. Can pick your pitch and no rush to leave, was told by the owner when he came to collect pitch money that we could leave whatever time we wanted, excellent customer service

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jackhowson 2 reviews from this member

A really nice 2 nights in terms of weather and pleased with the campsite too. Owners really friendly and helpful, and fellow campers were particularly generous - sharing food and matches with us.

The good: As everyone's said - the owners are really relaxed about what time you pitch, leave etc. Generous with facilities - unlimited showers, hot water, washing facilities. Nice wood, heard about the pond, but couldn't find it in the end.

The bad: It really is in the middle of nowhere - saying it's in Thetford is really an exaggeration. I suppose it's alright if you have a car - Thetford's only about 10 miles away, but for us, who were walking everywhere, it's not great - we didn't even make it to the forest, walking. And although it's not bad value (considering showers, pitch etc) at a fairly dead time it was a bit pricey.

In general, a really nice, secluded campsite, perfect if you have a car and want to camp close to the forest - maybe with kids/group of you.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flo+kirsty 6 reviews from this member

FANTASTIC place! Been back 2 years running with a large gorup - 12 - and have not been disappointed - kids loved the wood and we loved the space, very cheap compared to other not so good sites! Was spoiled by the bathrooms - always clean and plenty of hot water, may cue during busy times but hey ho you get chatting whilst you wait! Site well lit at night, great for taking the kids to the loo! Only downside that you have to drive everywhere as they are no attractions nearby - but we still had a great time and will go back next year!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DorEllCul 5 reviews from this member

THE GREAT: not being hassled to leave site by 12 or 1pm at the end of your stay - we didn't go till 5pm despite others turning up to pitch. Lots of us (3 adults, 10 kids, 1 dog) all being able to pitch as close together as we liked, No problem with visitors.

THE GOOD: Very cheap (13.50 per night for 4 people, caravan, awning and electric), Free hot showers, Very small, narrow wood to play in, Tiny lake to fish in.

THE BAD: Sloping site difficult (!) to pitch on, Showers roasting hot and you can't control the temperature (would be far too hot for tinies), Children not allowed to play anything anywhere except on the 'top' field where you can't see them (ours ranged from 8 to 14 in age so not too bad but would be very awkward with littlies wanting to play ball games, kites etc), No shop and the nearest ones are 5 miles in either direction (a real pain for milk and bread 1st thing), Fighter planes from several nearby airbases fly constantly day and night and this was really intrusive (to say the least), Wasps, wasps and more wasps (we have camped for 8 years and never known anything like it), Electric worked as long as only one thing plugged in - try the kettle and the toaster at the same time and you are done for, Quite a lot of rubbish (one of our boys found a blade!) laying about in the wood, One field had some 'dubious' looking units on it - although we didn't see anyone use them it was a bit off putting.

All in all we didn't have too much to complain about and the 'BAD' things listed aren't that bad really. A survey of all who went in our group drew the conclusion that nobody wants to go back! Would also say with kids you need to be on the 'top' field for peace of mind and freedom. BUT go and make your own minds up - you may well love it.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019