Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site
The Racecourse
Fakenham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR21 7NY
Tel: 01328 862388
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120 all with ehu/tv
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ken247 2 reviews from this member

Being a race course it has lots of signs for race visitors, eg £10 for permits £10 for parking etc. They are everywhere and it seems a bit too commercial for a holiday campsite. Toilets were adequate but I didn't use the showers as they looked as though they needed a good clean. Very quiet site with the birds singing each morning and a large field for the dog to run. The dog bins were full and were not emptied at any time during my stay. I have stayed on much better sites that cost less. I will not be re visiting this site. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M + M 6 reviews from this member

We have just spent 3 nights at this site, me, hubby and our dog. The site is peaceful, well-tended and has fairly spacious pitches. The wardens are friendly and have a very relaxed attitude. We had EHU and for the 3 nights it was £58.

Toilets and showers are clean and fairly modern, there are 2 blocks and each have 3 showers. Site was about half full and we did not have to queue. A fob is required to access the toilet block and this is issued on arrival for a returnable deposit of £5.

The site is approx. 15 min walk from Fakenham, which can be reduced to 10 mins if you take the signposted short-cut, which takes you on a pleasant walk along the river to the town.

In Fakenham there are several shops and take-away’s. There are a couple of pubs as you approach the town, the Bull has very friendly staff, serves excellent home cooked food and has a good selection of real ales. It is also dog friendly. The other pub is a Wetherspoon’s.

Wells-Next-The-Sea is only a 20 minute drive away and is well worth a visit, quaint seaside town with lots of shabby chic type shops selling unique items.

This is our 15th site in the last 4 years. Luckily we have not had a bad one yet and this site rates in the top half of the 15.

All in all a good site and we would return if in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BlackOscar4 1 review from this member

This is the cleanest, friendliest, quietist, best maintained site we have had the good fortune to stay at in our 30 years of Caravanning.

Fakenham is an interesting and charming small town (pop 8000), which is adequately provided for with a number of both private shops, supermarkets and a wonderful Thursday Market, all of which are within an easy and pleasant riverside walking distance from your pitch at the Racecourse.

Better not forget to mention, the excellent chocolate factory has now opened a 'mis-shapes' shop in town, with appropriate prices, yet another temptation!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madbrown 2 reviews from this member

Great for dog walking the river walk is great.

We love this site and the facilities are reflected in the price. They could charge more just for the welcome you receive on arrival.

The Bell pub at Hempton is within easy walking distance, seems to be the local watering hole and is very welcoming. The town is a short walk away always handy for campervans.

If you enjoy the beach Wells is a short drive away and the high Street in Wells is a must even if you hate shopping. 1£ 2£ shop is great.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sid spot 2 reviews from this member

We recently stayed for a few days on the Fakenham racecourse site. It is a pleasant enough site but both my wife and me found the toilets were in grubby and in need of a good clean. We booked wifi for three days only got about four hours although they did refund two days of the fee. We also went in to book an extra day only to be told they let our pitch go to some one else, even though the site was only about a quarter full with plenty of unused pitches. When we asked if they could be pitched somewhere else we were told no you will have to move because those people always had that pitch, and they were regular customers. As only about twenty of the eighty pitches were filled it would have been easier for them to pitch on one of the other pitches so I don't think I will be staying there again. It would have been nice if the wardens had have shown a little bit of common sense on the problem.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 213 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Follow signs to Fakenham Racecourse and camping signs. Site arrival time is from 2. 00pm.

The Racecourse and this campsite are situated on the outskirts of the Market Town of Fakenham. The site is open all year. When booking you seem to be allocated a pitch number, plan on website, although when we arrived we were told that if the pitch was not suitable to go back to reception to discuss an alternative. Fakenham Racecourse is a Caravan Club Affiliated campsite which gives members a small discount. All booking must be done direct to the Racecourse. There are around 200 pitches, most of which are on grass but there are some gravel and paved areas. Some will need to be levelled as there is a two slope, albeit only a gentle one. There are several pitching areas most enclosed with conifer hedges. At the far end of the site are two large fields used for tent camping and other units not requiring electrics. In the main areas electric hook-ups are handy to all pitches and are rated at 15 amps using CEE17 blue connectors. The bollards also have a co-ax television connector. Likewise water taps are dotted around the site. Grey waste water can only be disposed of at the three chemical toilet emptying points, all of these are situated near the front of the site which means a long haul from some pitches. There is a motorhome service point near to reception but the emptying point could be awkward, unless you have a drain hose, as the drain is quite small. There are three toilet blocks. The newest block is on the back the Prince of Wales Stand and is of a good standard. The other two blocks are older and have had makeovers to improve the look and feel of the facilities. Reception contains a small shop selling essentials and daily newspapers can be ordered, there is also a book exchange within reception. Next door is a small information room with information on attractions in the surrounding areas. Only two dogs are permitted per unit. WiFi is available on some pitches and costs £2 a day. There are no play facilities for children on site but away from the pitching areas are some large open areas (normally used for parking on race days) which can be used as kick about areas.

Important to note:- On race days all units have to be moved to the centre of the racecourse (no electricity) for the duration of the meeting and return to their normal pitch once the meeting is finished, Contact the Racecourse for more details of dates when this applies.

The town of Fakenham is about a 15/20 minute walk from the site. There are bus connections to Norwich, Kings Lynn, Cromer and Wells next to Sea for those that don’t have their own transport. In the town there are several pub style restaurants and a few cafes. There is a Tesco just a couple of minutes on foot out of the centre. Market Day is Thursday. Just before the entrance the site is a Sports Club which campers can use. It has a bar which also offers meals and on some days there is entertainment. Adjacent to the Sports Club are tennis courts and Fakenham Golf Course.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rthomas 4 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site late after being disappointed with the site we had booked. What a gem of a site, staff very friendly and helpful. The shower and toilet block was spotlessly clean and warm, the showers had plenty of room and there was hooks and a rack for your things very helpful. You could plug in your hair dryer if wanted. The wash up area was very nice, four big sinks with double drainers, also spotlessly clean. We stayed in the tent field which was very spacious with views over the countryside. Our friends stayed in the caravan field which was just as nice. You could walk to the club house in the sports centre, which had a bar and sold food. Or you could take a short walk into the town where there was a smashing wetherspoons pub and various restaurant's and cafes to eat in. We hardly needed the car.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hollybabes 2 reviews from this member

We love this site and the owner and team on reception are always so accommodating. This time they saved our bacon when our booking at a local CL site was denied us.

This is a quirky site with pitching areas all over the public part of Fakenham racecourse. Very free and easy but all facilities excellent. Very reasonable price, plenty to do. Please use the Social club for meals, they are very good. Walk into town very easy. Fakenham Garden centre ten mins walk and fantastic home made food and cakes. Wonderful dog walks around the course and river areas. We love it in the winter when there are only about 6 of us there.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angiecraig 1 review from this member

Me and my teenage daughter camped here for a fortnight, what a'gem'. The location is great you can explore in all directions from this site by car, or take a short lovely walk into Fakenham.

The toilet/shower blocks were lovely and clean, some had hairdryers. There was'clean' washing up rooms, with electric sockets if you wanted to charge anything, the laundry room had a iron and ironing board. In the Information room was a fridge freezer you could use (always handy). Reception sold basics like milk, ice creams and you could order your paper. They had a book swap scheme which my daughter loved.

The site is very clean and quiet( although on our first weekend it was bursting with a Harley Davidson rally but they were great!). It seemed quite strange at first camping at a racecourse, but it was certainly relaxing, with very friendly staff.

If you are a bird lover the Rooks come into roost in the evening, lovely sound.

My daughter has informed me, that we shall definitely return (best site !).

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

What a lovely site we had asked for a hard standing but once we arrived changed to grass one in a small hedged off area very pretty the toilets and showers were very clean and had plenty of hot water. Reception had one or two odds and ends you may need and you could order papers. There was a sports club on the side of the site which was very good did food and you could play golf, bowls and squash (if you were fit of course) there was a pleasent walk into the town across the fields took us wrinkles about 20 minutes plenty of shops pubs and cafes and a Tesco there was a market I think it was Friday and it was really good. We shall return I am sure.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1637 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!