Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fakenham > Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site
The Racecourse
Fakenham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR21 7NY
Tel: 01328 862388
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120 all with ehu/tv
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mick S. 31 reviews from this member

 We liked the calm of this site, despite it being quite busy. Our pitch was right on the course edge, but I would not have fancied some of the pitches in the middle area. Water taps are not in abundance, so this can be a trudge depending on where you are sited. Never used the washrooms, so cannot comment.

I would not have fancied being a tent camper though. As they had furthest to walk for everything. The staff were helpful enough, and the location and price acceptable for the time of year. Easy walk into Fakenham. Handy for exploring nearby towns.

One alarming snippet I found out after booking; was the fact that on race days, everyone has to decamp/up sticks for the day to elsewhere. I could have done with knowing this before booking. Ok, we didn't hit a race day, but even so. If its actually pointed out and made clear somewhere prior to booking, I didn't see it. So be warned! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tina Blanchard 3 reviews from this member

 We choose This campsite as they had strict covid guidelines and in the current situation, We felt their guidelines, would help to stop any anxieties about having some sort of holiday in the uk this year.

However the guidelines were not adhered to !

The pitches were supposed to be limited so there was adequate space between them and less people on site.

When we arrived on sat afternoon the field we were put it was very busy !

There were no guidelines on where on your pitch you had to actually pitch, people has spread out and we could not park our car next to our tent.

The “grass pitch “was hard rock underneath and we had trouble pitching-our tent, as we were not aware of this we would off bought differently pegs with us. Luckily we sourced some the next day and managed to finally put our tent up securely x

A caravan on the next pitch was pitched, literally inches from our tent.

There is supposed to be a £5 deposit for a fob to access the showers and toilets, but they had run out ! So we were not given one as they were unlocking all the toilets, surely this says how many people were being allowed to camp there ! Despite saying they were limiting numbers ! The next day we returned to find all the showers and toilets locked again, we had to contact the out of hours warden to Come and give us a fob.

We chose this site, also, as it said it picturesque and quiet but next to our pitch, 31, there was a large green metal building, where the grounds men kept all their equipment, every day at 8am we were woken by a noisy shutter opening the building, then heavy machinery being moved about ! One day this was earlier at 7 am !

The site Was ideal for visiting local areas and the outside areas were clean.

The on-site bar and Punjabi restaurant were good and welcoming and both had good systems in place to deal with the covid situation and social distancing.

However the toilets and shower blocks on are were only cleaned once a day ! I have never been to a site where the toilets are only cleaned once a day ! This was not enough especially in the current situation and the amount of people using them ! The showers were soo tiny as well with no where to put your toiletries.

No toilet brushes and the hair dyer did not work either

There were clearly groups of people meeting up on site despite this not being allowed !

Overall maybe we had a bad pitch, as there were much more spaced out, prettier and quieter pitches.

We were very disappointed at the lack of rules regarding covid despite the site saying they were very strict ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jimmc1 1 review from this member

 Stay here quite regularly over the last 10 Years, first with the kids then just the dog and have always enjoyed the place.

Nice and central for coast and site seeing 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ken247 2 reviews from this member

 Being a race course it has lots of signs for race visitors, eg £10 for permits £10 for parking etc. They are everywhere and it seems a bit too commercial for a holiday campsite. Toilets were adequate but I didn't use the showers as they looked as though they needed a good clean. Very quiet site with the birds singing each morning and a large field for the dog to run. The dog bins were full and were not emptied at any time during my stay. I have stayed on much better sites that cost less. I will not be re visiting this site. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M + M 6 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 3 nights at this site, me, hubby and our dog. The site is peaceful, well-tended and has fairly spacious pitches. The wardens are friendly and have a very relaxed attitude. We had EHU and for the 3 nights it was £58.

Toilets and showers are clean and fairly modern, there are 2 blocks and each have 3 showers. Site was about half full and we did not have to queue. A fob is required to access the toilet block and this is issued on arrival for a returnable deposit of £5.

The site is approx. 15 min walk from Fakenham, which can be reduced to 10 mins if you take the signposted short-cut, which takes you on a pleasant walk along the river to the town.

In Fakenham there are several shops and take-away’s. There are a couple of pubs as you approach the town, the Bull has very friendly staff, serves excellent home cooked food and has a good selection of real ales. It is also dog friendly. The other pub is a Wetherspoon’s.

Wells-Next-The-Sea is only a 20 minute drive away and is well worth a visit, quaint seaside town with lots of shabby chic type shops selling unique items.

This is our 15th site in the last 4 years. Luckily we have not had a bad one yet and this site rates in the top half of the 15.

All in all a good site and we would return if in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BlackOscar4 1 review from this member

 This is the cleanest, friendliest, quietist, best maintained site we have had the good fortune to stay at in our 30 years of Caravanning.

Fakenham is an interesting and charming small town (pop 8000), which is adequately provided for with a number of both private shops, supermarkets and a wonderful Thursday Market, all of which are within an easy and pleasant riverside walking distance from your pitch at the Racecourse.

Better not forget to mention, the excellent chocolate factory has now opened a 'mis-shapes' shop in town, with appropriate prices, yet another temptation! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Madbrown 2 reviews from this member

 Great for dog walking the river walk is great.

We love this site and the facilities are reflected in the price. They could charge more just for the welcome you receive on arrival.

The Bell pub at Hempton is within easy walking distance, seems to be the local watering hole and is very welcoming. The town is a short walk away always handy for campervans.

If you enjoy the beach Wells is a short drive away and the high Street in Wells is a must even if you hate shopping. 1£ 2£ shop is great. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sid spot 2 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed for a few days on the Fakenham racecourse site. It is a pleasant enough site but both my wife and me found the toilets were in grubby and in need of a good clean. We booked wifi for three days only got about four hours although they did refund two days of the fee. We also went in to book an extra day only to be told they let our pitch go to some one else, even though the site was only about a quarter full with plenty of unused pitches. When we asked if they could be pitched somewhere else we were told no you will have to move because those people always had that pitch, and they were regular customers. As only about twenty of the eighty pitches were filled it would have been easier for them to pitch on one of the other pitches so I don't think I will be staying there again. It would have been nice if the wardens had have shown a little bit of common sense on the problem. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Follow signs to Fakenham Racecourse and camping signs. Site arrival time is from 2. 00pm.

The Racecourse and this campsite are situated on the outskirts of the Market Town of Fakenham. The site is open all year. When booking you seem to be allocated a pitch number, plan on website, although when we arrived we were told that if the pitch was not suitable to go back to reception to discuss an alternative. Fakenham Racecourse is a Caravan Club Affiliated campsite which gives members a small discount. All booking must be done direct to the Racecourse. There are around 200 pitches, most of which are on grass but there are some gravel and paved areas. Some will need to be levelled as there is a two slope, albeit only a gentle one. There are several pitching areas most enclosed with conifer hedges. At the far end of the site are two large fields used for tent camping and other units not requiring electrics. In the main areas electric hook-ups are handy to all pitches and are rated at 15 amps using CEE17 blue connectors. The bollards also have a co-ax television connector. Likewise water taps are dotted around the site. Grey waste water can only be disposed of at the three chemical toilet emptying points, all of these are situated near the front of the site which means a long haul from some pitches. There is a motorhome service point near to reception but the emptying point could be awkward, unless you have a drain hose, as the drain is quite small. There are three toilet blocks. The newest block is on the back the Prince of Wales Stand and is of a good standard. The other two blocks are older and have had makeovers to improve the look and feel of the facilities. Reception contains a small shop selling essentials and daily newspapers can be ordered, there is also a book exchange within reception. Next door is a small information room with information on attractions in the surrounding areas. Only two dogs are permitted per unit. WiFi is available on some pitches and costs £2 a day. There are no play facilities for children on site but away from the pitching areas are some large open areas (normally used for parking on race days) which can be used as kick about areas.

Important to note:- On race days all units have to be moved to the centre of the racecourse (no electricity) for the duration of the meeting and return to their normal pitch once the meeting is finished, Contact the Racecourse for more details of dates when this applies.

The town of Fakenham is about a 15/20 minute walk from the site. There are bus connections to Norwich, Kings Lynn, Cromer and Wells next to Sea for those that don’t have their own transport. In the town there are several pub style restaurants and a few cafes. There is a Tesco just a couple of minutes on foot out of the centre. Market Day is Thursday. Just before the entrance the site is a Sports Club which campers can use. It has a bar which also offers meals and on some days there is entertainment. Adjacent to the Sports Club are tennis courts and Fakenham Golf Course. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rthomas 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site late after being disappointed with the site we had booked. What a gem of a site, staff very friendly and helpful. The shower and toilet block was spotlessly clean and warm, the showers had plenty of room and there was hooks and a rack for your things very helpful. You could plug in your hair dryer if wanted. The wash up area was very nice, four big sinks with double drainers, also spotlessly clean. We stayed in the tent field which was very spacious with views over the countryside. Our friends stayed in the caravan field which was just as nice. You could walk to the club house in the sports centre, which had a bar and sold food. Or you could take a short walk into the town where there was a smashing wetherspoons pub and various restaurant's and cafes to eat in. We hardly needed the car. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fakenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2788 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December