Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brokerswood Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Westbury > Brokerswood Country Park > Reviews

Brokerswood Country Park
Brokerswood
Westbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)

Tel: 01373 822238
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Now Only Lodges for Sale
Open: 22/03/2022 to 04/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 109 Reviews
                8/10 from 109 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rjs1984 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite.

We stayed on pitch 51 which offered shade at most times of day as it was surrounded by hedges.

Our pitch was allocated in advance but as it was quiet we were able to move to another we preferred the look of.

We visited midweek for three nights in June and it was very quiet but hear it was very busy at the weekend.

The shower/toilet block/washing up area was very clean and had everything you need.

There is a large lake and woodland which offers a 30 minute walk and a children's play area.

Lots of wildlife and outdoor activities which can be booked in advance.

There is a B road along one side of the site but this was not too busy day or night relatively but was noticeable.

All in all, a great out of town campsite with very little to do which was perfect for us.

My parents have a caravan and like to know what access is like. The last couple of miles are down some country lanes but there is enough room for two vehicles to pass slowly. 
Management response: Please note as of 2019 this site no longer has any touring or tenting facilities. It now has luxury holiday homes for sale only


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vicspy88 5 reviews from this member

 This is a well run site with good size pitches and good facilities. It is geared to families and children as there are lots of activities for them to do. Dog friendly too. We had a lovely couple of nights. Walks through the woods and around the lake in the morning and evening and walked to nice pub in Rudge.

Campsite shop is basic and small cafe does food takeaway fri and sat evenings. Fish and chips etc. We didn't try it but seemed quite popular. Everyone on the site seemed to stick to the quiet after 10. 30 pm and no noise after 11pm. Depending where your pitch is there is a bit of road noise (it runs down one side of the site) but it isn't a busy road. It didn't bother us at all. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Melandrew 11 reviews from this member

 Visited here Easter weekend. The staff were welcoming. Showers and toilets were very clean and lots of hot water. We had fish and chips in the on site cafe which was lovely. Well stocked shop. The country park was closed so site was quite quiet. Would stay again as great location for exploring the area and to visit Longleat 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelham99 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay at Brokerswood. Generally a nice clean site with good facilities. I think this is the quietest site we have ever stayed on, 10. 30pm minimal noise then 11pm deadly silence was adhered to.

Nice shop/cafe although we didn't eat in there so can't comment on food. Ladies toilets and showers were clean, but hubby said the gents were not so. They were cleaned daily however. I guess you get people anywhere who do not respect the facilities.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our children did the Tarzan Trail, canoeing and archery in one day. Can not commend the team highly enough for the way this is run. I believe the guy was called Scott, very friendly helpful and fun! Kids loved it well worth the money.

Adventure play trail is fun and the play area is good. Kids loved space near the tents with a little train and goals.

All in all I would recommend, lots to do in the area (Longleat is FAB, but beware of feeding the deers. They 'pawed' or 'hoofed' at our car leaving an obvious large scratch to my hubby's despair!) Bath, Caen Hill Locks at Devizes and Avesbury all well worth a visit. Avesbury is a cheaper (and less commercial) alternative to Stonehenge. You can actually touch the stones here too.

A good holiday was had by all - Thank you staff at Brokerswood! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kakadu3369 16 reviews from this member

 Great customer service when we arrived with the additional bonus of a fish and chip take away which was great due to us arriving late at 7pm. We could pre order them too however it was expensive for what you got.

The site was rather cramped and some of the smallest pitches we had ever seen however we managed to squeeze our camper, tarp shelter and small tent on. It was lucky that the pitch in the corner next to us was vacant all weekend.

We felt we were at the better end of the site, although the furthest away from the amenities because it was all grass and quieter whereas the hard standing had a small strip of grass behind the pitches and the main grass tent area seemed quite noisy at times.

The amenities were very clean and modern but slightly on the mean side as in not enough for the size of the site. There was another shower room at the back of the amenities block which wasn't as new but still very clean and it seemed that not many people knew of this when queuing for a shower in the new block.

Great reception with a well stocked shop and there was a great tourist information hut with plenty of information of what to do, where to go etc

We used the on site archery and high ropes which was well priced and the instructors were great fun as well as safety conscious. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Egbert 4 reviews from this member

 We had our maiden caravan trip here just this week and had a lovely time. The staff on site are really friendly and the cafe makes a fantastic breaky. When we had an issue with our heater they tried to work out what was wrong and then called a local caravan centre for advice. The woodland trail was great for the kids, who had a wonderful time getting stuck in the mud (it is October) and doing the high ropes. Facilities are fantastic and there was plenty of room for the kids to cycle around and meet other kids to play with. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Palmerfamily 6 reviews from this member

 We spent 10 days on this site and had a fab time. Nice clean facilities and very friendly helpful staff. Our children 2 boys aged 10 and 9 loved the activities and tried them all even hubby had a go on the high ropes. The woodlands were lovely for walks and the kids loved the play trail and the zip wire at the end. Had a ride on the train which was lovely but we preferred the nice walks in the woods. Was impressed with all the recycling bins as most sites just have the one bin, a well equipped laundry on site, £3. 50 to use the machine but it was big so got all the washing in. Unfortunately the local pub has closed but there are others quite close although we didn't visit them. There wasn't masses of room on camp site for children to play ball games but they made do and still played out each evening with other children there. The shop has the basics you need and isn't too overpriced. We did find using the country park during the day could get busy with day trippers but come 4/5pm it quietened down and the kids loved being able to play in the play areas without them being to crowded. Lovely local town of Trowbridge to explore with a good sized shopping centre. Would definitely recommend giving this site a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamiedebbie 3 reviews from this member

 The shower/toilet block was modern and clean as were the washing up facilities. The woodland walks and play areas for children are very good. Miniature railway takes you to the adventure playground. £1 for return journey. Train driver made it great fun for the kids. Pitch sizes are not over generous. Very secure site. Walks off site were hampered by not having pedestrian access, especially as local pub is only ten minute walk.

Road noise can be distracting as can the night trains.

Overall a good site for families. Kids loved the mud and puddles after the rain so don't forget the wellies. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cmpingcartwrights 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a monday in the middle of a thunderstorm and torrential rain. The roads leading to the site were covered with fast flowing water so we were expecting a rather soggy campsite. The welcome on arrival was helpful and we received an information pack with a map of the park. With cctv and electric gates the site felt safe.

The grass pitches were very wet but we only saw one which was waterlogged, the rest seemed to be well drained. Our pitch was in a little cul-de-sac and because it was quiet we had the whole area to ourselves. The pitches are well marked and of a generous size - more than enough room to pitch our 6 man tent, windbreak, bikes etc and park the car next to it.

There are 2 fabulous play areas for little and bigger children. There is also an adventure trail to an adventure park in the the woods with slides and climbing/ balancing and a zip wire. We didn’t use the picnic or BBQ areas near the lake – they were covered in flies and looked a bit shabby. The kids enjoyed cycling around the park.

The toilets were very clean and well maintained and there was plenty of hot water. There were mops readily available to mop up after your shower.

The site itself is near Longleat, Westbury Whitehorse and Stonehenge so there was plenty to do in the area.

Longleat safari park was our best day ever! We all loved it! It was a fantastic day out for all the family! There is a safari which you can drive around. Longleat had got Steve Batchall (of deadly 60 fame) to record a CD which you listen to on the way around the park – it was full of excellent information and perfect for the kids. We decided to go in to the monkey area and it was fab - luckily our car didn't get too damaged but we did lose all the stickers off our roof box and the monkeys had a good chew at our towbar bike carrier! The kids thought it was hilarious. Once you have done the safari park There are various sections where you can hold animals, watch shows, have a go on the assault course, and the maze.

We paid for the all in one 1 day pass we did it on line which worked out at £91 but you have to do this before midnight the day before you go. It sounds pricey but compared to some of the other places we visited in the area it was well worth the money! We arrived at 10. 30 and got back to the campsite at 6pm!

Stonehenge is worth a visit but they are upgrading the visitor centre so there were only portakabins in a field and it didn’t feel like good value for money. I am sure when the visitor centre opens next year it will be a lot better but I couldn’t help feeling a bit ripped off.

We had a lovely walk around the westbury white horse and there were loads of old earthworks from an ancient iron age hill fort for the kids to scramble around.

I have to agree with a previous review of the area and say that it is a shame that they seem to charge for absolutely everything in Wiltshire. We would have liked to be able to go and look at old ruins have a walk around them for free but here you seem to have to pay to see everything (except for the westbury white horse).

All in all We would definitely recommend this campsite to anyone looking for a great site to base yourself in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dancymru 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Brokerswood for 3 nights at the start of June as part of a big family gathering. The campsite offered everything we needed for an amazing and memorable weekend. The pitches were large but on the first night, after heavy rain for the previous week, there was a puddle on ours, but this did not effect us as the car was parked over it. (the rest of the weekend was hot so this cleared up very quickly). The washing facilities were great, although I'm unsure if they would be enough if the site was full. There was a bit of noise at times on the road behind where we were pitched but not enough to put you off. And the nature had woken me up long before traffic did.

The family (including 8 children) had an excellent time using the facilities such as the tree climbing, archery, kayaking and canoeing. The steam train was not running during our visit.

The nature walk was nice despite the mud, and the adventure playground was fun for the kids. My only disappointment was not being allowed to use our mountain bikes through the forest areas.

We didn't leave the site apart from to visit a near by supermarket, but having stayed int he area before I can recommend it as a good base for visiting the popular places in the county. 


Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brokerswood Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brokerswood Country Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brokerswood Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Westbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement