Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Quantock Orchard Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Taunton > Quantock Orchard Caravan Park Reviews

Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
Flaxpool
Crowcombe
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA4 4AW
Tel: 01984 618618
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geequi42473zzx 1 review from this member

Having made the decision to go away in our new motorhome for the New Year, we chose Quantock Orchard as we both come from West Somerset and we love to go on long walks in the area.

The booking process with the site was really easy and straightforward and we were given a lovely big pitch.

The facilities are good and we had everything we needed for our stay. We have stayed on numerous campsites over the years and we both felt this site was well placed for hikers in particular.

The shower block could do with an upgrade but it was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Staying on a site at this time of the year is a bit tricky as the weather can play a huge part in the success or otherwise of the stay.

I can imagine that this site is at its best in the spring and summer when the trees and shrubs are in bloom. We would certainly have no hesitation in staying here again.

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SJK131048 4 reviews from this member

Only the entrance and round reception area are as described on the website.

Rest of the site very run down, we had what appeared to be travellers on site which wasn't what we expected. Numerous vehicles kept appearing, scrap placed outside, washing thrown over hedges to dry.

Showers / toilets were very dilapidated. Water from other shower in ladies ran over your feet, dirty old bath mat in which to stand.
via mobile

Management response: This customer was totally incorrect in assuming that some of our guests were travelers, they were not, they were guests who booked, they had home a address which was checked, this turned out to be an address in an upmarket area in Cheltenham.

This reviewer was reported to have behaved badly towards certain customers including a report that a car mirror was broken off, they left early because of this reported behaviour, we hard to ask them to leave.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahlou342 1 review from this member

Great little site. Great facilities such as heated outdoor pool, shower room with baby bath then separate shower room with toilets and washroom, games room, lounge and bbq area. Was very tidy and well kept. Was also a microwave and freezer to use. We rang the number and the owner opened the shop too. Great park for kids too. Drinking water was a few steps away.

The only downside was the busy road to walk to the pub but wasn't on it long then it was a country road. Took us around 20 minutes to walk there and it was closed when we arrived. Some locals told us there was a fab pub around 2-3 miles away but was a hot day and had a pug so would have been best to drive.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Davidmann 10 reviews from this member

It is clear to see that the owners genuinely care about this campsite. The toilets were always clean and fully stocked, despite being dated.

The facilities on site are good, including a pleasant outdoor pool, games room. It costs 5 to use the small gym. /sauna. The shop isn't really a proper shop and whilst we were there was very expensive and didn't sell fresh goods such as bread and milk.

Lots to do nearby, but you do need a car as there are no footpaths close to site and the roads are busy to walk on.

A pleasant site, but pitches are incredibly small- so small we couldn't use our awning main door because it was pressed against a hedge. The site is also very shaded so even on a hot day your pitch may get no sun, as ours did.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BaldyBob 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here as a group of 5 families. We had a warm welcome and were walked to our pitch by the owner. We had a good sized pitches. After this all the issues became apparent. Parking was limited to say the least. We were told to park in long term caravan spaces as the owners won't be here this week. EHUs were extremely limited and not logically laid out. The pitch behind us had to run there cable through our pitch and over the hedge to the next.

The site is very compact and our kids had problems finding places to play. There is a small playpark but suitable for younger kids not the 11-13 year olds we had. The showers were clean and always had hot water. The dishwashing area had 3 sinks with plugs and a microwave and fridge.

The swimming pool was okay and heated to an acceptable temperature.

The biggest issue we had was the bins not being emptied all bank holiday weekend. We also saw rats running through the hedges (we understand it is the countryside but the over flowing bins won't have helped).

This has the potential to be a nice site but it is in need of a revamp. Just cleaning some of the long term caravans would help some were covered in slime' leaves and twigs.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glunar68 8 reviews from this member

Quite simply a fabulous site. Travelled over 400 miles to attend friends Wedding Wedding. Very warm welcome from the owners son who is a pleasant cheery young man. The owner and his wife don't mingle too much with the campers. But are always on hand when assistance is needed. Beautiful tendered gardens. Great shower facilities and plenty hot water. Good reasonable pitch fees and good sized pitches but other campers tend to walk through pitches. Not an issue for me but could be if you like privacy. On site shop with all the essentials available. Would definitely recommend this site. Great position for exploring the surrounding area. Fantastic outdoor heated pool and absolutely spotless. Only moan would be that booking process wasn't the smoothest with no service pitch available when I arrived despite booking 5 months in advance, paying deposit when require. That said the young man who greeted us on arrival offered me a choice of other available pitches and allocated me a lovely sunny spot. No problem with electric hookup despite site being busy. Well done Quantock Caravan park. Our stay was an absolute pleasure and we will definitely be back. Alistair

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lisalongmore 3 reviews from this member

~ Really friendly and helpful staff.

~ immaculately kept toilets and showers.

~ good sized pitch.

~ Fab heated pool.

~ games room is ideal for keeping teenagers entertained

with a pool table/table tennis.

~ good location for Somerset Coast and Taunton

~ A great price. -20 for campervan with electric with 2adults and 1 teenager.

A little bar/restaurant would be nice to save cooking. There was a fish and chip van there when we arrived ( about 6pm) but it left around 7pm. Not sure if the closest pub is walkable

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 22fe 2 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful small site in the midst of beautiful countryside. A steam railway line runs nearby and you can hear the steam train from the site which was a lovely sound. Facilities were excellent for a small site, although as we were out of season we did not sample the swimming pool. The site is very well maintained with friendly staff and spotless toilets/ shower facilities. There is a large games room with useful tourist brochures and a wealth of local places of interest to visit within 1/2-1 hour's drive, and good local pubs. The only criticism was that the wifi signal is not very strong and we could not get it even though our pitch was quite close to the source. Site was very peaceful and quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thorn6 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned after a couple of days camping here. The service and the people are lovely and were very helpful. The site was a lot smaller than I anticipated but was laid out very nicely. Toilets and shower area were okay but could do with a little updating as could the games room but still nice to have close by when it rains. The swimming pool was lovely and clean, water a little cold but very nice once in. We had hoped that there would be a little more space (felt a bit hemmed in) and felt even more so uncomfortable when on our second night new campers arrived near by and were very very loud. At a quarter to one in the morning we had to ask them to be quiet as we felt that laughing constantly at the top of your voice at that time was really not on. On top of that they allowed their children to play football outside our tent whilst we were eating even though space was limited and had a dog off of the lead (even though signs did state that all dogs should be on a lead). It was not pleasant to find dog mess around your tent and was concerned that the children would bring it in - especially at night when you couldn't see very well. They brought the dog into the shower room and the kitchen area. We spoke to the owner, who was very understanding and in turn spoke to them. Our next night was a lot quieter but we were still left with dog mess around the tent. The pub is not within a short walking distance and there are not any facilities that you can walk to outside the campsite. I understand that they can't help it if other campers are not very respectful but as the campsite is quite small then perhaps they should be more aware of pets wandering around (especially when they have been told) and deal with it. This is a nice site but probably better for couples with a caravan who visit outside school holidays.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aball005 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site, pool spot on, toilet s and showers were ok water always hot but do need updating soon, found ourselves on a inner pitch which was ok but for most of the day was in shade due to the tree canopies, would suggest thinning the trees out a little wasted all that lovely sun. Ideal for the west Somerset steam railway but quite expensive. About half hour to the sea nearest supermarket about 15 mins

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Taunton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3429 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020