Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Port Ban Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Tarbert > Port Ban Holiday Park Reviews

Port Ban Holiday Park
Kilberry
Tarbert
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6YD
Tel: 01880 770224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 42
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wiggletastic 7 reviews from this member

The campsite is in the most amazing location with fantastic views over the beach to Islay and Jura. The sunset over Jura was spectacular.

We had a lovely pitch with EHU in the grass camping area, away from the statics. The toilets and showers are very modern and well kept - they could do with some heating though!

The washing up area is excellent, with detergent provided. There is also a fridge, small clothes drying area, microwave, kettle and toaster.

The large play area is great for kids and they can ride freely around the site on bikes as there is a 10mph speed limit. We had lunch in the on-site cafe one day, soup and sandwich deal was very good and nice coffee too. The camp shop is well stocked and has all the essentials.

We mostly stayed on or near the site as there are great walks nearby to beautiful beaches. We did venture to the Isle of Gigha for a day trip which was well worthwhile. A lot of our time was spent jsut relaxing and soaking up the views. We had a bonfire on the beach most nights and toasted marshmallows.

We will definitely be back to Port Ban again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Macmacmac 1 review from this member

Hired a static caravan here for 2 nights. Although very expensive at £177 both my son (36) and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was an 18th birthday party in the games room on the first night (Saturday) with loud disco music but ended around 10. 15. Very peaceful 2 nights with absolutely stunning views over to the the sound of Jura and Islay. Don't bother with the shop or cafe its over priced and if you drive into tarbert you will find much much better food.

But all in all I would really recommend this site for touring vans the beach and views are stunning and I will be back soon.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Larry10 15 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights at £25 per night including EHU. - it was the Bank holiday Monday, reception had forgotten when we booked otherwise we would have been charged £27 per night!

It's a long drive through masses of static mobile homes to the camping area. Here is it fairly flat and you all get a view of Jura across the water. Showers & Loos great and clean, however we were told to just allow our 'grey' water to run into the grass and the CDP was a long drive back through the campsite following the signs. (They have said they plan to put a CDP nearer the camping ground in the future. )

Shop & cafe seemed expensive but it's a great place just to relax. We were very disappointed with shops in Tarbert local Co-Op had chiller problem and small local shops poor quality fruit & veg.

I used the laundry but again it's a long walk from camping ground.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 90 reviews from this member

We had driven for 525 miles to get here and the welcome we received was far from warm. The greeting was very matter of fact and indifferent to whether we stayed or not.

However, we requested a pitch without electric and were directed to a secluded grassy area right on the beach front, away from all other campers. For this we paid £21 for 2 adults and a tent. The view across to Jura was breath taking and the shower facilities were excellent, possibly some of the best showers around. The drinking water runs brown! Site wide wifi and a shop/café/games room at the entrance with several invites to regular worship opportunities! We declined and didn't use the café or shop.

Nearest shop was the Co-Op in Loch Gilphead, about 30 mins drive. There was a Michelin star restaurant just down the lane but you will need to book and you will be charged accordingly.

Otters swim up the coast in front of the tent and we sat all day just looking out to sea, watching the wildlife. Fantastic.

As a final note of warning, as soon as a Westerly picks up, there is little shelter at the front. So, despite the initial reception, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

Wonderful views and location. We stayed for two nights in May. The views of Jura and the sunsets were fantastic from our pitch on the waters edge. We did not use the shop or the café on site. We did eat at the Kilberry in on both nights. It is very good but quite small so you need to book.

The ladies shower facilities and washing up area on the main site need some tlc.

I would definitely go back but would opt for the camping field where the shower block was more fit for purpose.

We spotted lots of seals, dolphins and deer

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

Stayed her for 1 night in a motorhome. The site was chosen purely to allow us to eat in a local restaurant and I'm so glad I chose it! We had a fabulous pitch almost on the beach helped by the fact it was 22 degrees with pure blue skies and sunshine.

The facilities were fabulous with amazing showers and always clean. Site is huge but well spaced out and run by Christians with no sale of alcohol on site but you can bring your own.

There are no shops within about 12 miles so bring everything you need although in season there is a cafe that sells breakfast, lunch and dinner and a site shop although we didn't use either. And the reason for the visit was to eat at The Kilberry Inn which although a little expensive was well worth it but do book in advance as I had as fully booked on the night of our visit.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Murdochd 2 reviews from this member

Other than the site shop and cafe there are no shops etc within 15 miles so be prepared and have everything you need or make sure you know the opening and closing times of the shop and cafe when you check in. The kilberry inn looked very expensive so we didn't go.

I walked up to the cafe for a coffee and breakfast at 8:30 but it didn't open till 9:00, I didn't wait, we packed up and headed to Tarbert for a hearty breakfast but I would have preferred to spend my money on site and support the business. Also important to know you can only get a takeaway from 6pm, we didn't know this, we didn't bring plates etc but it was fine eating very good food from plastic containers.

The site, location, views, facilities are very good and well worth a visit. Three fridges and a microwave for campers to use in the wash up room, I didn't know this before I arrived.

This was my first attempt at camping and I chose the site for its previous reviews, facilities and location, I wasn't disappointed and the weather was a great bonus as we were right on the seafront on a perfect pitch.

I think the site has many regulars and I'm likely to become one.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lappins 1 review from this member

The site is in a beautiful beach location, looking over onto the Paps of Jura, a 2. 5hr drive from Glasgow (the drive alone is worth it). The last 30mins are on single-track roads.

The pitches are all a decent size, and all come with electric hook-up. The toilet/kitchen facilities are excellent (there is even a fridge for campers to use).

Music (radios, speakers etc. ) is banned on site, so there are no rowdy young campers. You are also permitted to build camp fires on the beach.

There are plenty of play areas and facilities to keep children entertained.

The owners are outwardly 'Christian', and organise a Sunday Service for those interested. They do not sell any alcohol on site, so make sure you bring it with you. The nearest shop is in Tarbert.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mumandboy 4 reviews from this member

Second stay on this beautiful, friendly, peaceful site. The views and sunsets from the tent field are just amazing and my son (7) spent hours pottering on the beach. We were also able to hire a bike for him and because the site is so quiet and friendly he was able to ride around on his own to visit the play area or shop. My partner and I swam in the sea at every opportunity from the bigger beach that is just a couple of minutes' stroll away.

Washing and washing up facilities are good: clean, well-lit, plenty of hot water. A problem with the boiler happened one morning but was fixed really quickly. The little shop on site is packed full of useful supplies and food basics and the cafe is great for meals right through from breakfast to fish and chip supper, or to just sit in with a cuppa if the weather is inclement.

The one drawback is also part of the appeal - the very long single-track road to reach the site has to be negotiated if you want a trip out somewhere. We did go out more this year than the previous one because the weather was more mixed and staying on site all day every day not such an attractive option. It is a tiring drive to maintain a reasonable speed but also stay alert to what might be coming round the next bend. However, we managed to visit Inverary, Crarae Gardens, Auchendrain Township, the Isle of Gigha and Kilmartin Glen without mishap. Gigha is really worth a visit - hire a bike when you get there and don't miss the Twin Beaches.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tammer 2 reviews from this member

This is a very nice campsite in a beautiful location. The campsite itself has good views over to the islands and the plots are well marked out and in good condition. The bathrooms and wash up facilities are probably the nicest you will find anywhere.

The elastic snapped in one of my tent poles on arrival and the man on reception was very helpful in lending me gear cable and parcel tape to allow me to rethread it.

Other reviews mention the single track road as being some sort of herculean challenge - it isn't actually all that arduous. Take a tip though and turn right out of the campsite when going to Tarbert, it is much closer that way!

It is permitted to have campfires on the beach - which sounds nice. This can backfire on you somewhat as they tend to be places where teenagers will congregate at night, with the smoke and chat blowing in the wind towards your sea-front tent. A pitch towards the back of the campground is probably a better bet.

All in all, a great place for a camping holiday and kids all loved it.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Tarbert      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019