Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sands Of Luce Sandhead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Sands Of Luce Sandhead Caravan Park > Reviews

Sands Of Luce Sandhead Caravan Park
Sandhead
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9JN
Tel: 01776 830456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Aldo1877 23 reviews from this member

 Another week at this great site which continues to grow. More static caravans have been added and a change to the beach road path.

Lots of planting adding to the site ambience.

Weather was good for the week in contrast to what we had been getting.

Paid one visit with the dogs to the Tigh na Mara in Sandhead, unfortunately it is becoming increasingly expensive so might have been our last visit and will instead solely use the on site bar. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aldo1877 23 reviews from this member

 As usual we had a great holiday on our annual go to site. Weather was kinder this year and we got to enjoy the local beach.

The site never stands still and have introduced even more statics and have additional touring pitches where once was a play area.

There is the addition of a gravel path, linking up with the beachside road into Sandhead village, avoiding the beach if you choose.

The bridge over the stream has been replaced, as this was damaged beyond use last season. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kmacdon 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived at the site 12. 30, had a very warm welcome from reception and told about facilities. We drove round the touring area and were lucky to get a pitch on the front row.

The pitches are very level and extremely large which allows you to put up an awning still leaving room to sit outside and room for your car. The ground was hard but with a good hammer it was easy to peg the awning.

The staff on site were very pleasant and extremely helpful, the site was kept clean and tidy at all times it was a pleasure not to have the normal from the big two clubs of kubotos passing by at 08 in the morning cutting grass and emptying bins. All rubbish went to a recycling area which was a great idea.

The site is a 5 minute walk from a brilliant beach which is seen fully at low tide and it is massive, the dogs loved and so did we, the views across the bay are magnificent.

We went round to the bar one night and had a couple drinks well worth a visit, this site is good value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aldo1877 23 reviews from this member

 Back to our go to place for a quiet break with a fantastic beach and sea view.

This will probably be our last trip if the season with the van.

Our next trip is to a cottage which was rescheduled due to Covid.

Finally celebrating my birthday almost a year late. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aldo1877 23 reviews from this member

 This is becoming a go to location for at least a week per year.

We were back and and right at the front for the stunning sea views. The weather was typical Scottish fare, but with the odd sunny day only spoiled by the wind which prevailed for the whole week. We had to resort to taking down the awning after 2 days or it would have become a kite.

Wind aside, it was another need and enjoyable break. Covid rules are in force for the toilet block, with a maximum of 4 at a time and a board with occupied\available sliders. It was closed for the whole of 2020, so this is an added benefit this year.

At the Lighthouse bar, there is an new outside area with covering which has been setup as a bar & Pizza\Burger restaurant. You need to book via Whatsapp or you can order takeaway. The Lighthouse bar\restaurant remained closed and this would have been helpful to have available with the weather conditions. No indication as to when or if it might be opened, visiting the Facebook page might shed some light for later in the season. There is the alternative of the Tigh Na Mara restaurant at the bar in Sandhead village, easy walking distance either by footpath or via the beach. The food is excellent.

Cost is 24. 50 per night (10 nights) for a fully serviced pitch. We booked for 10 but left on the 8th day for personal reasons 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 24 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Aldo1877 23 reviews from this member

 Having visited the site 2 years ago and with the Covid situation we decided to have an extended stay and allow our daughter and her family to spend a week on site.

The staff were extremely helpful with the booking process which changed from one week to the next due to government restrictions. The toilet block is out of use for this season due to Covid and other facilities are limited. The cost was reduced by 5 per night to compensate for this.

There have been some improvements made since our last visit with a new play barn. Still a great site to visit and especially so after being cooped up for months.

Many shops in the local towns remain closed, but there are sufficient facilities available. The most inconvenient issues is the lack of public toilet facilities which remain closed in some locations.

The weather has been a little unkind during our second spell here. Typically the fantastic weather during lockdown has disappeared since being able to get about. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aldo1877 23 reviews from this member

 Had 5 days on this site during the very good summer, which really added to the enjoyment. We were on one of the Dunes pitches which are all hardcore with personal water supply and drainage. The pitches are not equal in size, some are slightly narrower than others, but they are laid out so you get at least a partial sea view.

Facilities are very modern and there is a nice on site bar with a good selection of drinks. Reasonably priced for the area, although I felt the food prices were on the high side.

The location is great, with a huge sandy beach on the doorstep. You can walk along the beach to Sandhead, which has a small shop, tea room and pub. The staff and local people were all very friendly. IT is just a few miles drive to many attractions and larger towns. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Simply superb location with spotless facilities.

We had pitches facing the dunes, fully serviced with direct access to the Beach, and boy what a beach.

Walk up the beach and then return or the other way to the Tea rooms, the pub and a little shop plus walk further up to see Ostercatchers whizzing around. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chenders 1 review from this member

 Stayed here overnight while touring the area. Got to be the best site we have been on. Fab location parked at The Dunes part of the site overlooking the beach. Fantastic toilet, shower facilities. Great disposal area. Site was spotless. Will definitely be back. Thanks Chris & Ben Meldrum 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 57 reviews from this member

 The star of this site is the beach - literally miles of flat clean sand.

The site itself is mainly static vans but don't be put off from bringing your touring van or tent. Facilities are good and there is ongoing investment in the camping field as electric hook up are being added. Apparently next season will include designated pitches to ensure the most efficient use of the electric points. The field is level with some shelter from the surrounding trees and sand dunes but we felt rather exposed with a keen north wind blowing.

Welcome: friendly.

Facilities: modern & clean.

Clubhouse: modern with a good range of pizzas in the evenings. Saturday evening included a live blues band.

No shop on site but there is a decent store in the village - you can walk on the pavement or on the beach.

Wifi: free but very iffy on the camping field. Worked much better if you sat on the tables outside the clubhouse!

Playground: good for smaller children but the bins needed emptying.

We recommend a drive down to the Mull of Galloway for the amazing birds, lighthouse (open at weekends) and sea views. There is also a modern cafe and gift shop which blends in surprisingly well with the natural environment. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sands Of Luce Sandhead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sands Of Luce Sandhead Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Sands Of Luce Sandhead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1831 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement