Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sands Of Luce Sandhead Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Sands Of Luce Sandhead Caravan Park
Sandhead
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9JN
Tel: 01776 830456
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aldo1877 3 reviews from this member

Had 5 days on this site during the very good summer, which really added to the enjoyment. We were on one of the Dunes pitches which are all hardcore with personal water supply and drainage. The pitches are not equal in size, some are slightly narrower than others, but they are laid out so you get at least a partial sea view.

Facilities are very modern and there is a nice on site bar with a good selection of drinks. Reasonably priced for the area, although I felt the food prices were on the high side.

The location is great, with a huge sandy beach on the doorstep. You can walk along the beach to Sandhead, which has a small shop, tea room and pub. The staff and local people were all very friendly. IT is just a few miles drive to many attractions and larger towns.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 64 reviews from this member

Simply superb location with spotless facilities.

We had pitches facing the dunes, fully serviced with direct access to the Beach, and boy what a beach.

Walk up the beach and then return or the other way to the Tea rooms, the pub and a little shop plus walk further up to see Ostercatchers whizzing around.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chenders 1 review from this member

Stayed here overnight while touring the area. Got to be the best site we have been on. Fab location parked at The Dunes part of the site overlooking the beach. Fantastic toilet, shower facilities. Great disposal area. Site was spotless. Will definitely be back. Thanks Chris & Ben Meldrum

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 41 reviews from this member

The star of this site is the beach - literally miles of flat clean sand.

The site itself is mainly static vans but don't be put off from bringing your touring van or tent. Facilities are good and there is ongoing investment in the camping field as electric hook up are being added. Apparently next season will include designated pitches to ensure the most efficient use of the electric points. The field is level with some shelter from the surrounding trees and sand dunes but we felt rather exposed with a keen north wind blowing.

Welcome: friendly.

Facilities: modern & clean.

Clubhouse: modern with a good range of pizzas in the evenings. Saturday evening included a live blues band.

No shop on site but there is a decent store in the village - you can walk on the pavement or on the beach.

Wifi: free but very iffy on the camping field. Worked much better if you sat on the tables outside the clubhouse!

Playground: good for smaller children but the bins needed emptying.

We recommend a drive down to the Mull of Galloway for the amazing birds, lighthouse (open at weekends) and sea views. There is also a modern cafe and gift shop which blends in surprisingly well with the natural environment.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jay170 2 reviews from this member

Spent a beautiful weekend here. Newbies so didn't want to venture far. This site was ideal. Toilet and shower block was clean and felt fairly new. A bit dark at night though. Won't hesitate to come back though! May even spend our fortnight holiday here. So relaxing and peaceful. Breathtaking views. Wee site shop would make it even better.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SMEESH 4 reviews from this member

Was down on the Sands of Luce tale end of the summer last year and had a very peaceful and very enjoyable stay. Was pitched on the newly refurbished Dunes pitches. Lovely and flat with water, EHU and waste all pitch side. Had lovely panoramic shore line views with only a 2 minute walk to the beach and newly refurbished toilet block (to me) that was more than adequate and spotless. Behind the toilet block there was a small on site cafe that did a wonderful breakfast. Was only open at the weekend as it was the tail end of the season. Would imagine is open daily mid-season.

Although Sands of Luce is mainly a large static site you still get that small caravan pitch feeling as its well behind you. The site all over is well manicured and absolutely spotless with Clubhouse. Maybe on the tired side but serves a good pint with a friendly smile from the staff. There was a Games room with clothes washing facilities as you would find in any site this size. Definitely worth a visit but I think mid season could get a bit manic for a couple wishing a quiet break as the on site play areas are behind the pitches. Ideal if you have toddlers as they are in view of your van. Mull of Galloway has lots to offer. I was down at the Portpatrick Folk Festival during my stay. Sandhead village is a nice 20 minute stroll from the site along the shore with a well stocked grocery store and a delightful country hotel with bar and restaurant with some fantastic reviews.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Screwdriver32 2 reviews from this member

When we stayed here we were shown to an area that was for touring caravans to pitch, but as the only tent we had no complaints, as we explored the site we found the rest of the campers were next to the beach, at first we were a bit peeved at missing the view but as the night got on the winds blew in & we thanked our good luck to be in a sheltered area, The toilet blocks were a good 400 meter walk or more so don't hang on till YOU need to go!

They were clean enough inside but very cold as the windows were all held open, the water in the showers was brilliantly warm & very forceful, We did visit the bar & although everything looks like it fell out the 1970s right down to the guy in the jeans with matching jeans shirt & huge moustache, it was clean & very kid friendly,

If we had any complaint was the small gangs of kids that were staying in the caravans, they loved to push their luck, throwing sticks/stones at the tent, kicking balls at the tent & no they weren't playing in the same area, they would walk past shouting at all times & jumping about heading to a dead end do what they had to & run like hell away. Luckily I have a video camera in my car & at one point I caught one teenager sniffing around the tent trying to see if anyone was init, luckily we had left a radio on as we were at the shower block so he gave up & left but not before taking a bottle of fresh water which is freely available everywhere?

I would go back again but only caravaning, as I thing the tents are vulnerable to the light fingered, can you believe it! it felt safer to rough camp alone than be surrounded by people.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Briandouglashodson 2 reviews from this member

Six of us, all adult males, stayed there in two tents overnight on 12th August 2013. The tent field overlooked the beach and was immaculately groomed. The two toilet blocks available were dated but very clean with plenty of hot water. Altogether there were four toilets and four showers, quite adequate for the number of people camping. We were made most welcome. There was a children's playground with quite a few climbs and swings etc. The nearest supermarket is 14 miles away in Stranraer although there is a newsagents in one mile away in Sandhead. The site has it's own pub which has last orders at 11. 30pm so the site is quiet from midnight. We will be back next year. This is a great site to use as a centre for sea fishing and/or visiting nearby gardens open to the public. This is generally a quiet site and is good for peace and quiet. The site has it's own cafe which serves a hearty breakfast. We paid 18 per pitch per night with no facilities which we thought not too bad for the time of year.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: K0612 2 reviews from this member

The park is right on the most fantastic sandy beach!

If you like the beach you'll love it.

Stranraer and port patrick and short drives away and worth a visit.

We really enjoyed our stay.

We stayed in a static caravan but the camping facilities looked clean and the showers were free and powerful.

We had a picnic on the beach and had the most relaxing time.

The site was quiet and the caravan owners wee friendly. We are a group of female friends, enjoying a relaxing trip to the beach.

Would recommend for families, couples or anyone wanting to explore the coast.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Farmer 46 4 reviews from this member

This campsite is right on the beach and our pitch had a fantastic view of the bay. The owners were very friendly and keen to answer any questions.

The female showers were always clean although my husband regularly complained about the state of the male toilets. Also they were cleaned between 8pm and 9pm, which we found really inconvenient.

The play park was fantastic and was right next to the touring pitches which was handy, although in the evenings it became very noisy with a lot of children and teenagers hanging out in the park until late.

The beach is only a few minutes walk away and was always very quiet and great for walks.

There was no shop which was a shame considering the size of the site.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1450 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019