Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dornoch Firth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Tain Dornoch > Dornoch Firth Caravan Park Reviews

Dornoch Firth Caravan Park
Meikle Ferry South
Tain Dornoch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV19 1JX
Tel: 01862 892292
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Des1603 4 reviews from this member

 We planned a nights stop over en-route to John O Groats and stayed two nights. A beautiful site just outside of Tain and just away from the A9. It is neatly sandwiched between the A836 and a railway line, however both were quiet whilst we were there. Cost us £24 for the night camper van, two adults and EHU.

If you turn into Tain off the A9 from the south after a few hundred yards there is an ASDA with reasonably priced fuel, on the northen side of Tain there is a Lidl.

The site has a mixture of Mobile homes, on the rail track side of the site, on the opposite side are Hard stands with Water and waste points; grass down the bottom of the site nearest to the New Toilet/Shower/Laundry block (which I am sure is a contender for Toilet of the Year Award). This block is a brand new build with Three wet rooms, one with disabled access, in the Laundry/Pot wash room the double plug sockets have USB charging ports in them, there is a Washing Machine (2x£1 coins) and Dryer (£1 for 20mins)there are male and female toilets at the far end. The block is centrally heated, which cut on during our stay.

There is a large hedge surrounding most of the site, offering protection from the wind, however there are still stunning views of the surrounding mountains/ forests /sea views.

Although we didn't use any of these: it there is a lovely play area for the children.

Dog walking area is available, Gas is available on site. There is not a camp shop however Lidl is under a mile away.

The camp host is a very pleasant friendly person.

So impressed with the site we are planning on staying there again on our return from John O Groats and the Northern Tour. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TrevIOW 2 reviews from this member

 We are touring the entire UK in a 30ft motorhome. We pre-booked a pitch online and arrived to a warm welcome. Our satnav took us about 1 mile away and we had to call the park for further directions. Because of that, we found the nearest Lidl which was handy for us as we needed to stock up. Our pitch was just big enough, we had to reverse right up to the hedge to avoid overhanging the main path. All hardstanding pitches have taps on. We needed to chock the front up. In front of us was a train track, which for us was a bonus as we like trains, behind us the road, which quietens down in the evening and didn't bother us at all. They sell calor on site, although I didn't ask for a price. There is no shop, so go prepared. There is also a small dog walking area. The area for tents looked nice, although when I walked to the end of it I did notice a faint smell of sewage. However, this is a lovely little site, perfect for a nights stopover. The staff were lovely and friendly, and everything was clean and tidy. They have a new shower/laundry/toilet block which offers a few unisex wet rooms, I did use the shower which was nice, but they had the heating turned off which was not so nice as it was quite chilly. All in all though, a great site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 186 reviews from this member

 Stopped one night, doing the NC500. A very warm welcome; we were allocated one of about 5 fully serviced hardstands, the poshest pitch we had on the entire loop. As already noted, the wet rooms were impressive, like being in a hotel ensuite. All this, but the cost was no more than at other sites with fewer or older facilities, about £22 from memory. It's mainly a neat & tidy static site, sandwiched between a main road & a train line, but neither was noisy in the evening or overnight. Looking at a map, it would make a good base to radiate out from, inland and along the coast in both directions. We expected this to be a stop-gap site on our trip, but left expecting to return in future to stay longer. Not great for the dog, though she was welcome, but there are excellent walks in Tain Woods overlooking the town, at Skelbo Forest to the north and along the shore in Tain near Tesco (which has Wifi). 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bumblebea 1 review from this member

 My friends and I have just had the most amazing time at this beautiful small caravan park. The camping facilities are just wonderful, with lush green grass, trees and magnificent views! But the pièce de résistance must surely be the brand new, just completed toilet/shower facilities, conveniently situated right on the edge of the camping area. The building itself looks like a cricket pavilion, stunning, a lovely building constructed of larchwood with a verandah across the front. There's full disabled access, three unisex wet rooms wirh baby changing and disabled facilities. The showers are wonderful, great water pressure, just what we needed after a long days walking in the Tarlogie Woods nearby. All the facilities are free, including hairdryers! Within five minutes drive is the old and interesting Royal Burgh of Tain, with lots of attractions including more supermarkets than most large towns! Will definitely be coming here again! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shazzza7 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night as very convenient for our journey and wished we had stayed longer. What a lovely peaceful clean site, trains didn't bother us at all, great pitch with electric, water and TV hook up, owners very friendly and helpful. Only a couple of minutes drive from good shops and supermarkets in Tain. Good entrance from main road good wide entrances for tourers. The only thing that let this site down was the toilets, very tired and in need of updating, was also very surprised the showers cost 20p, walked all the way up to the shower with no money as didn't expect to have to pay, never have in any other site I stayed at. In my opinion the showers are the only thing that stop me scoring this site a 10. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gracol 5 reviews from this member

 Nice small site with good views, but certainly not a peaceful site, trains on one side noisy road on the other. That said it is a site that will visit again. Toilet block is old and could do with updating but was perfectly adequate. Site staff was very friendly and helpful. Great are to holiday lots to do great beaches with 5 miles, and a distillery to visit just up the road. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frederico 49 reviews from this member

 We had a one night stop here on a fully serviced pitch. It is easy to find and the entrance is off a main road so easy for towing caravans. Good welcome from the warden who gave us instructions and information. The toilets and showers were clean and tidy. There are TV cables beside the pitches, I did not ask but presume you can get plug in TV signal? There is a play area for children. We stocked up at a supermarket in Tain which is close. The countryside and views over Forths are very good. We were not bothered by the railway trains. Good for a stopover or longer. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 24tonvolvo 1 review from this member

 A really clean and tidy site and only a few minutes from Tain if you need supplies. A pub on the site does bar meals if you don't feel like cooking. The site owner is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for him.

The toilet block could do with being modernised but were very clean. The railway line is close to the site but the train is past in seconds and is no problem.

Will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petertowbar 33 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here in July and found the campsite to be of a good standard and very reasonable in fees. This was for a fully serviced caravan pitch Previous reviews have mentioned the nearby train line which we didn't find to be off putting. If I had to be critical I would say the shower blocks could do with updating. However they were always clean. The site has a pub at the end of the park which sold a limited choice of beers ect and did meals. The owner was very helpful and supplied details of local walks and attractions The surrounding area has lots to see and do, so you do need several days to explore the nearby coast and scenery. A site I would go back to 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucy41 1 review from this member

 We pitched our tent at Dornoch Firth Caravan Park, after having had a very warm welcome from the owner. We were staying 3 nights(also friends pitched opposite us with a touring caravan).

The toilet blocks were clean, although only 1 shower was working in the ladies and needed 20p (2x 10p). The children's park gave hours of fun to our boys.

Tain was the nearest town which had most facilities and luckily for us a 'Highland Gathering' on the Thursday of our stay.

The definite down side to this campsite was the train track and main road surrounding it! Have a look over the bush before you pitch up! The 1st train is 06:05 then 2 more before 7am, the tent was shaking and our dogs quivering.

I would also recommend taking a stack of 10p's because if you don't use them yourself late arrivals will be knocking on your awning asking for change!

The Pub nextdoor wasn't great and only sold 1 lager. As we were with great friends this all added to the entertainment but this campsite is not for the faint hearted. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dornoch Firth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dornoch Firth Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dornoch Firth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tain Dornoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4154 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - 12v / 240V Avtex Freeview Play Full HD TV with built-in satellite decoder worth £379!