Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Perran Sands Holiday Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Perranporth > Perran Sands Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Perran Sands Holiday Park (Haven Holidays)
Perran Sands
Perranporth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR60AQ
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chipmonk 15 reviews from this member

Arrived very easily. Long access road to site, and to pass other vehicles.

On arrival, the wardens office was shut. There was a white board in the window, showing your name and pitch number. The pitch that we had reserved was taken by someone else. We had booked an XL grass. Went to reception, a good walk, and asked as to what happens. They radioed a warden. I walked back to my vehicle. Was told by warden that another pitch was allocated. A normal grass. Said no. I went to walk around the site and found an empty XL pitch. Was told this was OK, and set up.

30 minutes later, another couple had arrived and said that we were on their pitch! They were very good about it and went off and made good somewhere else.

There were plenty of wardens around, but didn't seem to take responsibility as to allocations, unless via the reception.

All the wardens were very friendly, and went about their work efficiently.

The site itself is very large, and I would not want to go when it is very full at peak times. As with most sites, there is very little room to park and pitch. The facilities were kept very clean. It's a shame that the younger clientele that were on site, didn't appreciated it.

There were plenty of things to do on site. As the weather was good, an outside bar was opened. There are 2 bars, a club/amusement area and a restaurant. Pool with slide and outside lazy river. Access to a beach and dunes to walk the dog. There is an area in the restaurant where dogs are allowed as well. The food was good, apart from the steaks, always overcooked, no matter what you ask for!

We would stay again out of season.

Good place to get around the whole of Cornwall.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macarw 17 reviews from this member

Booked this site for the bargain price of 89 for 7 nights for a family of 4 and a dog. - First week of our holidays, but some places still at school. Tried to book a hard standing but we were told our van was too long so opted for an extra large grass pitch. Very easy access, road to site wide enough to get a caravan down easily. A large late arrivals area, and we saw a car and caravan parked there one day - presumably having moved off the pitch by 10am but still using the site facilities for the day. There didn't seem to be any security barrier for the touring site - anyone could drive in and out although there was a reception building which I assume would be manned during high season.

We arrived in the pouring rain, no one there to check us in, but a board with a list of names and pitch numbers. Drove down to the pitch but it was waterlogged. The site warden appeared and we asked if we could move to a hard standing as there were plenty empty, offering to pay the extra. He offered us a choice of two pitches with hard standing for caravan and grass for awning, no extra charge. We chose HS2 It also had piped water. Despite not being able to book one of these pitches in advance our van fitted on it perfectly. We had to walk to the reception in the complex to pick up our welcome pack. Unfortunately as it turned out due to the persistent rain it wasn't the best pitch, we ended up with a huge muddy puddle in the awning right outside the caravan door most days that was difficult to drain despite the helpful warden trying to do so with a garden fork. We had to make a 'leap of faith' out of the caravan most days to avoid the mud, and had to roll the awning carpet back off it.

The site was a mix of camping, caravans, motorhomes, and the site's own supertents, safari tents and geodomes - handy if groups of friends want to holiday together if not everyone has a caravan. There was a playpark in one corner of the site, and lots of children were enjoying playing in the dunes behind the touring area.

There were 3 shower blocks, but only one was open - I would say the site was only about 1/4 full, if that. The nearest block to us had a disabled toilet available to use, and the next nearest block was open fully. The toilets were immaculately clean, fresh smelling and the showers were hot (if maybe a little too hot). I never had to queue. Unfortunately there was nowhere dry to change once you had been in the shower - no seating at all anywhere or any changing space. I ended up showering and then using the family bathroom (toilet sink and bath with shower head) to change in as the floor was dry. There was a row of sinks all arranged with walls between them for privacy.

For those with dogs, they were welcome anywhere outside on leads on the park but not inside anywhere. There was plenty of outdoor seating areas where you could eat if required. The dog walking area was amazing - a huge expanse of dunes where they could run free. Also the beach was the park's private beach and dogs are allowed on it all year round. There were signs up saying poo bags were available from reception, I went in and asked for a couple and was given a full packet.

The complex and facilities were about a 10 min walk from the touring area, and the beach was a further 10-15 min walk beyond the complex and entailed a very steep walk down a zig-zag concrete path set into the cliff. The beach was beautiful. In season there is a shop/cafe on the beach, but there was nothing there when we were there.

Our boys really enjoyed surfing lessons on the beach but having to carry the boards down to the beach and back was a pain - I can only assume that during the busy season the equipment would be there already. Also when they got back to the 'hub' after surfing there was nowhere for them to have a hot shower - they had to trek all the way back to the touring area, wet and cold.

There were a few different places to eat and drink - often Haven sites just have the one bar area. Can't comment on the food except the fish and chips which were delicious. The shop was well stocked with a variety of food and also there was a bakery for fresh croissants and bacon baps etc, and a gift shop. As to be expected things were a little pricey. There was a launderette on site - which we found handy when we ran out of clothes due to the rain and mud!

There were lots of things do to nearby, lots of them dog friendly. Our boys liked the Holywell Bay amusement park - free entry and free parking, but you pay for each activity, and we liked the Cyder farm - where dogs were welcome even inside the cafe.

We would definitely return here, all the staff were pleasant and friendly. We loved the beach (despite the walk!) and the dog walking area was brilliant!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Centreno13 10 reviews from this member

Had our main holiday here and stayed for a week. Unfortunately its a haven site so the company is too big to care if you're not happy. First impressions were good at check in where the girl that checked us in was happy smiley and friendly, but when we drove around to our pitch our opinion hit rock bottom, our 'pitch' if you can call it that was the poorest pitch I've seen in 15 years of camping and caravanning, full of holes and bumps which would be a nightmare to pitch on. Some of the rises and holes were approx. 20cm high and deep with everybody crammed in to bursting point, we weren't the only ones unhappy, 2 other people came over to have a moan about the condition of the pitches on seeing us looking at the ground and shaking our heads. One chap had paid over 1000 for 2 weeks, he wasn't happy, we had paid over 500 for the week, it wasn't worth 70! A warden came over to see if there was a problem and said basically that that's what you get, the others are the same. I asked for the manager who came round on cart, after lengthy discussion and wrangling, he said he might have a Euro pitch available but my van might not fit on (its 8m long), we went to look and it fitted on fine. The Euro pitches are nice, on the smaller side of most pitches but what I would expect for the price we paid. Toilets were ok, had to queue most mornings, showers were adequate, water hot, then cold then hot then freezing all in the space of one visit. Showers had a fixed head and you had to hug the wall to get under the water, when the pressure was ok, impossible when it just dribbled out. As you'd expect from a self contained site the shop was well stocked and not too pricey. The main restaurant was rubbish, took 15 minutes to get a drink, 1 person serving 3 to 4 others wandering behind the bar ignoring people then going elsewhere, food choice terrible and over priced. The other bars were fine to get a drink at. Perran sands just a 0. 8 mile walk, fantastic beach with a pub on. Would we come again, maybe not.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

Got a really good late season deal which makes this site superb value. The communication before our visit was excellent and the site itself was easy to find and the check in efficient. We had a standard hard standing with electric and water so it did everything we needed. The facilities on the site were clean and tidy. There are superb walks direct from the site. It is a pleasant walk along the cliff into Perranporth - under 2 miles and a bit up and down but easy enough. For a longer walk, which we did, get the local bus into Newquay and follow the coast path back to the site. We would certainly book here again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KDowner 2 reviews from this member

On arriving onto the site, you are met with a great and really inviting scenery, which is very exciting and feels like your in another country.

When going to the main reception (as checking in on Sunday, the tent reception isn't open) but the lady that checked us in, was a really pleasant person and really friendly. So off to a very good start.

The campsite itself is a large space at the front of the camp, near to the main gates, but far enough to not hear a single car from the main road. It's nicely nestled into the dunes, which is an absolute amazing space for walking and our dog loves it to bits. Also a fair bit of history to be found in the dunes, such as St Piran, which is an amazing site. We must have walked 9miles, just around the dunes, so when I say it's big, that's not an underestimate.

The facilities on the site are also great, 3 shower blocks which we used 2 off. The ones we used were both clean and very easy to use. Heated floor all the way through and heated with solar energy, so very ecological and clean. The toilet block is also open 24hrs and does have security that walks the area all the time, so you feel very safe at al times. Also lots of lightning everywhere so you can navigate well.

The rest of the site is also great, as there's a Spar shop, which isn't that expensive either. Restaurants, bars and even a pizzeria that delivers to your site space. Lots of activities for adults and children, which is great (but we didn't use it)

To conclude, we will definitely be going to this site again and again, as it's just a wonderful place to be.

Thanks

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Drdeath 5 reviews from this member

We have stayed here many times. It is a large site and some of the touring pitches can be quite a distance from the clubhouse, bars, restaurants and swimming pools etc. The site has most of what you would expect at a typical Haven. If you like these kind of sites I'm sure you will enjoy it. We stay on a lot of basic sites without entertainment or pools etc but when we are looking for a site with more to do we enjoy this one. It can be very expensive during high season so didn't go this year but will definitely return in the future. Has a good sandy beach close by but a steep walk back up. Most facilities have generally been very clean apart from once finding dirty nappies under sun loungers by the pool. This is more due to the type of visitors that would leave such a thing there. The staff have always been friendly and helpful and check in has been quick despite being very busy.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Anitacraig 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week in a chalet. What a great site. Had everything on you would need. Very clean and all the staff, from bar staff - activity staff, everyone was so friendly and helpful. You could walk to the beach down some very steep steps. We went to Newquay zoo. Which is worth a visit. We also went to The blue reef, didn't think it was value for money. The children (11 and 7 years) did Archery, Aqua jets, Aqua gliding, roller disco and how to make fire with the ranger and they loved it all. We ate in the surf bay and the food was really nice.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thegrinch 16 reviews from this member

Booked as our preferred choice up the road was closed. Checking in so easy, great pitch, showers and facilities. Pitch included use of the Haven facilities which pleased our 4 year old but it is an acquired taste. But the location on the dunes is wonderful, and so close to possibly the best beach ever. So if you want to stay in Perranporth at a site with stuff to do when it rains but also a great touring and tent site this is for you.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wildcatz 1 review from this member

Stayed for 7 days arriving on Monday, was met by friendly staff and as I am a wheelchair user found the staff willing to help out erecting our tent. Good facilities, nice clean toilet/shower. Was good to see that wardens patrolled the camping area several times a day. Entertainment was plenty, shops and eateries were good but have to make sure you got there early to avoid long wait. Perranporth lovely small seaside town, would highly recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hevnste 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 7 nights on a euro pitch. We really enjoyed it and couldn't find any faults. The toilet blocks are modern with heated floors and where always kept clean. We were on a euro pitch which was great, I personally wouldn't stay on the grass pitches as most of the caravans where pitched closely together with no real order to them. The complex has all the usual facilities found on the haven sites. We used the chip shop and papa John's which although a little expensive was really good.

Whilst there we visited crealy adventure park which is great for the kids and adults, our 3 year old loved it. We also visited lappa valley steam railway which we all enjoyed. Perranporth beach is lovely which can be accessed from the park ( down a steep walkway) or via Perranporth itself which has a car park right next to the beech.

Just a note to anyone who is going on a euro pitch. Most of the water taps are a fair way away from the caravan. I needed to use my 10m and 5m lengths of hose

Overall we had a brilliant time and will most definitely be returning

Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Perranporth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8057 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019