Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moffat Manor Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat > Moffat Manor Country Park Reviews

Moffat Manor Country Park
Beattock
Moffat
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG10 9RE
Tel: 03333 700 555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: N/A
Open: 06/02/2021 to 02/11/2021
           06/02/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 28 Reviews
                6/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site no longer has any touring, motorhome or camping pitches. It now has holiday homes and caravans for hire or for sale only. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EMZV 1 review from this member

 First time visiting. Would def go back. All staff and guests (many of who are there every weekend) are extremely friendly and welcoming. The local families can also use the park, much to the delight of my kids who made some new friends. The park is clean and well kept. The walks around the lake are lovely in the morning. The bar/restaurant area is clean and the food was great. The kids play park is a great size. In the hot days they put on activities for the kids, including bouncy castles. Dogs are permitted, everywhere on the park. My 1 yr old pup loved all the attention in the bar. The site is in Beatock, not Moffat, which confused us when trying to locate it. However, it is only a 10 minute drive from Moffat, which is a beautiful little town with nice shops and a big boating lake and park. 


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Les doll 1 review from this member

 Just back from spending new year at this site. Not at all like the previous reviews say. Firstly this site is under

New management. Very friendly staff. Warm welcome. Was able to pick own pitch shown were to go. Muddy but that was the weather not the sites fault. Toilets block clean but need modernisation. Showers warm. Good shop. Fantastic club on site. Friendly and welcoming. Food in restaurant excellent. Management and staff done everything to help. Park is in the process of a major upgrade. Can't wait to go back and see the difference. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tipplers 5 reviews from this member

 As previously mentioned in other reviews it is now called 'Moffat Manor Country Park' sounds idyllic doesn't it? but believe me it is far from that.

The whole place, apart from the newly built clubhouse, is absolutely disgusting and same said clubhouse is just packed with anyone who is willing to pay, full of slot machines etc etc and music so loud you cannot hear yourself think.

The site is a mixture of touring units, static private homes, tents, dogs running loose and just about anything else you can think of.

On arrival we were told 'It's 20 quid and park where you like' and boy do people do just that, it is chaos.

There is no management to speak of and what there is has no idea, the office is a shambles with a lottery as to if it is open or not.

Anyone and anything just rolls up, pays the buck and parks, we had the displeasure of a 4 strong teenage weekend roll up with a tent and made a teenage weekend of it with loud music, blasting out all day, on the booze 24 hours and appalling behaviour which no one did anything about. Dogs running loose, dog poo everywhere etc etc.

The facilities on site for toilets, shower etc should be condemned, they are appalling, filthy, falling apart and seemingly years old with no maintenance whatsoever. The block which is adjacent to rubbish disposal really is bad and a genuine health hazard with bins overflowing with weeks worth of rubbish, wash area just overgrown with fungus, weeds, faceas and other unmentionables, the showers etc are as bad, fungus, falling apart, mould etc etc I think you have the picture by now.  


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MCGIVERN 2 reviews from this member

 Avoid this site, at least for a few years. The photographs are miss-leading. First of all it was not Called Beattock Country Park but 'Moffat Manor Park' which was confusing. We were warned that the clubhouse would not be open (which was fine) but not told that much of the site is under construction. Upon arrival were not given a map nor told the whereabouts of the facilities. In the toilet block there are signs to mop the floor after using the showers however there was no mop and bucket!

On the second night there was no electricity for approximately 2 hours, there was no one on site and the two numbers provided both went to voicemail. Eventually managed to contact the relief manager. The following morning we couldn't find the waste disposal (because it was overgrown with weeds) and when I went to reception no one in reception knew where it was. This could be a nice site once it is finished and they employ staff who actually know how to run it properly, more attention should be paid to the basic running of the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Annemck3 1 review from this member

 Just spent 4 excellent nights at this caravan site. The reviews I have read have painted an unjust picture of the site. The site is a well run with friendly and helpful staff. The toilet/shower block is very clean and well situated in a central position for ease of access. This is an fantastic base for visiting the Dumfries area. The staff have also taken on board the comments regards the picnic tables around loch address this. Although the main train line is near, as is the M74. There is some noise but this is to be expected given the rural location and tranquillity of the area. The camp site is geared towards family fun. There is a lovely play park, games room and a park restaurant and bar. This is very reasonably price with a good selection of food to sit in or take away. The loch is very tranquil with a beautiful carpet of different coloured water Lillies upon it. On the whole the site was the right location, the weather was good and we managed to find a pitch which was just right, . 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BELLA1011 1 review from this member

 We took our 2 grandkids here for the Easter weekend. the manager couldn't have done enough for the kids children's entertainer, buffet then disco on Saturday plus entertainment for adults, Sunday a egghunt and games our 2 loved it did'nt cost you any extra they loved the playpark met lots of friends.

The staff on site were all very friendly and helpful the toilet block is being upgraded which was badly needed looks lovely, the lake has been upgraded with lovely walks round it and been well restocked with fish.

We will certainly be visiting the park again thank all staff for a lovely weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DAVYFIREBALLMCNAIL 1 review from this member

 Me and girlfriend went here a wee camping trip and Slept in friends caravan first night waiting for them to arrive the next day then we slept in our tent next night. We both thought toilets is bit out dated but very clean. Trains went past but not the sites fault we hardly heard them once we had a few drinks :). Staff and bar staff very friendly could not ask for better staff. Site fees we heard for caravan was amazing could not be beaten was told it is 120 for a month with electricity, we are even thinking of buying another caravan to put it here :). The night in the bar was great everyone was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We will be using this site from now on. Bar prices was good not what we expected as camp sites are usually very expensive. Thumbs up all the way :)( x 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Annebuttercup 3 reviews from this member

 Spent four nights at the country park with our daughter. Beautiful caravan - courtesy of the Briggs family in beautiful surroundings. Site very quiet although there are regular trains running on the main line close to the site which would be quite noisy in tents. On site there is a bar/diner (all food made on site!) with a small playpark outside and a small shop stocking the essentials.

There is loads to do around Beattock and we enjoyed a day out at Dalscone Farm park, which was great for younger children. Would definitely return to this site! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nedsram 21 reviews from this member

 We originally intended to overnight at the CCC club site in Moffat, but this was fully booked, and we were directed here instead.

This is a large camping park, mostly static units but with a reasonably sized area for tourers. This is very undulating, and only a small proportion of pitches were sufficiently level to be considered. The nearby toilet block is not as bad as some reviewers have suggested, although we have seen better, and at 20 a night for an uneven grass pitch with electric hookup, it's not the cheapest site around. We tried without success to get digital TV reception, as the signal was too weak. A strategically placed tree also messed up our satellite reception, so it was a tv-free evening for once!

There is a bar and games room next to reception, and they do meals, which is as well as there is nothing worth mentioning in the small village.

On the site there is a lake, but access is via rough tracks and there are no facilities such as picnic tables there, which is a pity.

For us though, the main downside was the noise. This has to be the noisiest site we have visited for some time. It's only 100 yards from the west coast main line - with trains rumbling by every few minutes - and the busy M74 is not much further away. It is also a site where people seem to consider it acceptable to have their radio on outside blaring out pop music. So if it's peace and quite you want, give this one a miss. However it's probably not bad for families. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moffat Manor Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moffat Manor Country Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Moffat Manor Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Moffat      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3628 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement