Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Galloway Point Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick > Galloway Point Holiday Park Reviews

Galloway Point Holiday Park
Galloway Point
Portpatrick
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9AA
Tel: 01776 810561
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Razamataz 6 reviews from this member

Very welcoming, to a wonderfully open picturesque site.

Great views from our pitch. Very nice walk along coastal path to the town which has good eateries and bars.

The site grounds reminded me of hobbit land! Some pitches were elevated and some were low level.

Tha whole place was well manicured with short grass, and plenty of plants and flowers.

Will be back.

Oh!

The wardens very friendly!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gruinard 3 reviews from this member

Excellent well maintained site. Facilities first class though not sure about the piped music. We were on a hard standing mostly because the grass pitches were very wet. Plenty of room between pitches and a superb cliff top walk into Portpatrick. Staff very friendly and helpful. Originally booked for three nights but extended to a fourth. No criticism but a couple of observations. Could do with a shelf or a stool in the shower cubicles and the motor home waste water point could be better orientated to avoid blocking the road when emptying.

Would definitely recommend and will no doubt return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laurelli 1 review from this member

We bought our caravan back in December and decide we would have a 'try it out' weekend. We came to the Galloway point. The owners were very welcoming, very pleasant and helpful.

The shower block was very clean and tidy. The kids loved the park. There is a games room too but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use it. Lovely little pub across the road too for meals. I also noticed they offer a breakfast munchie box!' Sounds lovely but we didn't try.

Beautiful location. Our first experience has way exceeded my expectations. I can't wait to return.

Thank you for making our first caravan experience a pleasant one to remember.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ticky 4 reviews from this member

Cant disagree with the other reviews, an excellent site and location and toilets far better than the toilets in castle bay. Nice clifftop walk to portpatrick where you can enjoy a meal or a drink among friendly locals. Lydl shop not to far of if some shopping required. Wont be long till I get back down to galloway point. Personally I cant fault it at all and worth a visit if touring scotland, don't forget your camera!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wulster 17 reviews from this member

Spent a couple of nights here. On arrival, a very pleasant welcome at reception and everything that needed explained was done. Easy to find, just turn left as you enter the village, just past the big village map. Go up the hill and about a half mile ahead. There are another couple of sites up there as well.

This is a big site, with mostly static mobile homes. The pitches for the tourers / motorhomes etc are at the far end, near to the cliff top. So a pretty good place to be.

A nice cliff top stroll down into the village. Also, a good walk along the cliff top, in the other direction. Really good for dog walks.

There is a play area for kids, as well as a small games room next to the toilet block.

Had a mixture of weather, so when it was raining, no choice, but to get wet. But when the sun was shining, this was fabulous location.

There is a good toilet block, which needs a key to access. Get that key at reception, for 5 deposit, which you get back when returning the key.

Only minor issue is the location of the toilet / shower block in relation to the touring pitches. A little bit of a walk, so could be an issue if mobility problems.

Portpatrick is a lovely village, so enough to do if you don't intend to drive anywhere.

All in all a pretty god site in a great location, with very friendly and helpful staff.

Would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bettyburke 4 reviews from this member

A better location would be difficult to find.

This site is perched on the cliffs above the lively and pretty little town of Port Patrick.

We were a party of 4 adults in 2 small motorhomes. Initially, we could not have adjacent pitches as the touring pitches were booked up due to it being Port Patrick's lifeboat weekend.

The owners were such friendly helpful people. Nothing was too much trouble. They were happy for us to move our pitch when one became free next to our friends. They personally escorted all tourers to their pitches and were on hand if the office was closed.

The shower block was immaculate at all times and I loved the Radio 2 playing in there.

Add in an amazing view from the cliff path, the proximity to Port Patrick, very quiet roads for cycling and you have the perfect Scottish holiday destination.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Eileen Devine 7 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site with stunning views over the sea. We used this site years ago with a tent, but tents are no longer allowed. We have a camper van and this place is ideal. The lady in charge was very accomodating when we decided to stay an extra night. The facilities are good and have been updated, but there is not as much space. 2 toilets are not enough for the size of site, but we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alanawayfromhome 17 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site with spectacular views.

We stayed here at the end of August, 2 glorious days followed by monsoon, pretty much summing up this Summer

The site is mainly statics but tourers are well catered for with a modern, very clean and warm toilet and shower block with abundant supply of hot water. Radio 2 playing is a nice touch.

Motorhome service point with Chemical disposal and waste water point near the site entrance.

The site has some of the hardest working owners we've come across, always on the go and so friendly and welcoming.

The touring sites with the fantastic views are not hardstanding and are a bit away from the showerblock, but its only a few hundred yards and the compensation of the outlook is well worth it.

Water is available at several points and there are plenty of electric hook ups.

There are hard standings close to the shower block but they don't have the views, your choice.

Portpatrick is a smashing wee town and there is a clifftop walk, I think at least part of which is the Soutern Upland Way, well maintained but decent walking shoes advisable, from the site into the town, say 10/15 minutes if you can resist stopping to admire the views over to Ireland.

There is a good selection of eateries, post office grocery stores and newsagents.

The RNLI station has a small exhibition and shop at the picturesque harbour. Dunskey Gardens are just outside the town, this is one of 5 superb gardens in the area, well worth visiting not least for its coffee shop.

Galloway is an relatively undiscovered area so pretty quiet but well rewarding

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Walker Dan 9 reviews from this member

We don't normally leave reviews unless a site is spectacularly good or bad, in this case the site was excellent. We had the choice of 9 or 10 flat grass pitches with views over the remains of Dunskey Castle to the sea. Port Patrick was a short 15 minute walk along a lovely coast path. The grassed area we were on could be a bit crowded if all pitches taken but we were the only ones on over a warm and sunny weekend so doesn't seem to get too busy. Toilets and showers were spotless with piped music but were a couple of hundred yards away. Only downside was the chemical disposal point that was 300 yards away so necessitated taking the van down which we did on the way out when we left so not a real issue for us. Very quiet site with a number of statics which were nicely spaced and laid out so no feeling of being hemmed in.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Opticmar 2 reviews from this member

Very clean, quiet and well maintained site. Owners were really helpful and obliging. We got the choice of pitch beside toilets or about a 2-3 minute walk away up on hill overlooking the Irish sea, which we chose. Toilet block was immaculate and piping hot water. Shortcut down to Portpatrick was easy to walk and the twon itself was great. Would recommend this site happily. Thank you for a great long weekend.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Portpatrick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6585 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019