Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandylands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Saltcoats > Sandylands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Sandylands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
James Miller Crescent
Auchenharvie Park
Saltcoats
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA21 5JN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 112
Open: 22/03/2024 to 28/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 22 Reviews
                6/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: THM1 1 review from this member

 On arrival you have to pass under a large sewage pipe that also runs the lenth of the camp site. It is unsightly and very smelly when the wind blows south. Reception and entertainment building looks nice and staff here on arrival were to were nice and helpful.

Our caravan was clean and looked ok. As time went on we found and reported broken shower door an window blind chain. These we temp repaired ourselves for the camp fitter to see to once we left.

5 days into our holiday we tried to use the oven only to find all the heat escaping from the door. The seal had been cut away leaving the oven unusable. No wifi available. Double bed has large frame and small matress. Legs and feet sore from hitting frame not covered.

Shop on site best to be avoided, overpriced. Fish and Chip shop, we ordered two large fish and two standard potions of chips. Well above normal chippy prices. Fish presented was half the size our fish back home, chips about the same. The colour looked odd as if were mixed in dark brown food colouring. Batter and chips so soggy that chips just crushed under fork and batter just rolled off fish. In short it was disgusting. We found it best to eat out of camp. Tried the bar, ordering two pint lager shandies. £10. 56. Bottled beers around £5 plus.

Wife found a pile of rusty stanley blades lying at the side of our caravan. Handed into reception. Wouldnt like to think what if, a child had picked them up. Nearest bridge over railway lines to the beach closed off. It looked unsafe.

Our holiday was by far made much better as we could leave the camp every day having no children on toe. The towns and villages offered up great food, entertainment, drink and spectacular veiws for photographs. We also spent a whole day in Glasgow which became our holiday highlight.

Would we return to this camp site? NO. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mcniv 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights and I must say I was surprised when I read some of the reviews, this site is excellent

Pitches are of a decent size, we managed van and full awning

Toilets were clean and checked regularly

Entertainment complex does exactly what its meant to

Swimming pool was good

Food in the restaurant was very good

Only thing we found wrong with the site was it must be the worst fish and chip shop we have ever eaten from

The bridge to the beach is closed but that's an on going problem 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Talkin 1 review from this member

 Not an experience I would be keen to do again. Apart from some massive issues with road closures, I was able to find my pitch easily coming in.

However the electric post was full meaning I couldn't hook up.

We went to the entertainment centre, and no-one was wearing masks indoors. We sat down in the restaurant where the tables were sticky.

The app wasn't working and despite four staff talking to each other at the till, no-one seemed able to help. When we eventually ordered the food was extremely overpriced and not great quality.

We returned to our campervan where there were people shouting at one another.

We wanted to go for a walk and the bridge to the beach was shut.

The bathrooms weren't too bad, but the shower block in the gents was clean.

The shop shut at 7 which wasn't helpful when just wanted to get in a few items later on.

I wouldn't return here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dexterdog123 1 review from this member

 Traveled down from Skye and the highlands for a two night stop before home with the promise of beach access and a clean spacious site, not the case,

Access to the beach was closed ( bridge over the railway track) had a good walk to get to it,

Site was not the cleanest, toilet x shower block dirty and no toilet paper in either stall,

Over all not the best over priced for the touring pitch, pretty grim end to week off 😩 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Louise Surtees 1 review from this member

 My husband and I spent 4 nights at Sandylands, Thursday to Monday, in our touring caravan. We had a great time from Start to finish. The 4 nights cost us £86.

Check in was done online prior to arrival and we picked up our welcome pack when we arrived.

The touring pitches were fine for our needs, hardstanding with electric hook up. There was a tap to collect water and a huge sink should you need it. We parked the car right next to our caravan on the gravel space, if you have a caravan awning I think you'd be disappointed as it's not really suitable for that. When we went it was sunny the whole time, if it had rained I think the area the touring pitches were on could become a bit muddy.

The shower/toilet block was very clean and a member of staff was checking them often.

The restaurant and showbar were great, they had a good atmosphere and drinks were reasonably priced. The shop was well stocked with everything we needed. The arcades were a lot of fun and kept us entertained for an hour or 2.

The beach was a 10 minute walk away and we spent the day there, it's over a railway bridge so be prepared to climb the steps.

Saltcoats itself has a small town centre, by car it's 5 minutes away or a 15 minute walk. It had plenty of shops and a nice seafront.

All staff we spoke to were friendly and nice to talk to.

The holiday was full of positives, I really don't have anything negative to say and I would definitely go back to Sandylands. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Georgerhys17 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent stay!

We stayed at lot 20 so it wasnít too close to the toilet/shower facilities or too far away. Very easy to get into and manoeuvre the caravan, considering it being our first time.

Staff were very energetic and friendly - the facilities attendant was especially great who could hold a decent conversation; kept the toilets and shower rooms spotless.

Not expensive at all - £19. 00 for us two & the 3 dogs for a hard-standing, electric hookup per night.

It is less than a 10 minute walk to the beautiful Saltcoats beach - we found there was a lot of walkers about so we kept dogs on a leash. If you get there early enough (say 7am) there isnít another person in sight and the dogs can run riot. If you leave your windows open at night you can fall asleep to the waves.

We didnít feel the need to use the on-site launderette, Nisa newsagents, restaurant or amusements, however canít wait to try the chip shop and eat in the sunshine.

Will stay again :)

G&R 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spud32 1 review from this member

 Only stayed 2 nights but was nice site

Great location

Facilities good

Nice walks and 2 towns within 20 minute walk along beach or track

Locals all very friendly

Will probably go back again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Aussie2020 1 review from this member

 Awful! Score-2

Good points- beach is close by, food was good.

Bad points- caravan dirty (during covid!), activities sub par, restaurant overcharged and git every order wrong, bar was dirty (tables sticky), staff were sometimes nice, sometimes rude. Fire on site, no guidance on evacuation etc, right beside meat packers- ars blocking entry to park.

NEVER GOING BACK! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FreeBird007 1 review from this member

 Spent 4 nights on the touring site with my campervan after reading a lot of negative reviews I was understandably nervous the site was very quiet when I was there the chip shop is closed during the week open only at weekends I was there from monday- friday the train line is right behind the touring pitches but I did not find that to be a problem the shower block and toilets are right next to the touring pitches which is handy and they were clean enough I found the site to suit my needs it was really cheap to pitch down for a few days the only negative thing I'd say about the site is there overpriced food the chip shop was closed so I was told to go next door for a meal ordered a burger the price went up at the till when I questioned it the woman said by the time you add extras cheese etc I laughed at her paid the bill the burger was good but never worth what I paid for it eat elsewhere after that at the local chip shop in stevenston all in all I was fairly happy with what I got from the campsite it suited my needs and would go back again the staff were all friendly and helpful too. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mitch5659 2 reviews from this member

 Went easter weekend and in my opion this camp is not fit for purpose for toures as the touring pitch 10 til 12 is all rutted and have no chance of pitching without a motormover and to my horror both fresh water taps not working so you had a choice of buying water in bottles or filling water from dishwashing sinks or filling up water barrel fro water pipe next to the elsan and waste water disposal point using the same hose whicj is disgusting as I seen user clean out the elsan with the hose inside the elasn waste spoke to manager but didn't seem to be interested 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sandylands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Sandylands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandylands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandylands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saltcoats      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2902 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement