Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Crown At Mickleton Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > The Crown At Mickleton Certificated Location > Reviews

The Crown At Mickleton Certificated Location
Mickleton
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0JZ
Tel: 01833 640381
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ALH1 34 reviews from this member

 The pitches are really large but not enough grass really to pitch up awnings. They are reasonably flat.

My first ‘Gripe’ is not allowed in until 2pm even though previous campers need to leave by 11am.

The tv reception was practically non existent if you have a ‘normal’ tv (not sky etc).

No WiFi.

There is just one toilet which is in the shower room which did cause an issue in the morning when people were showering which I did bring up with owners and they did say they would look at it but said it hadn’t been brought up as an issue previously.

Didn’t bother us but the pub isn’t open most days.

It was a peaceful stay and there are walks locally (of railway path is just 5 mins away).

Nice enough I guess but wouldn’t rate it as 5* and £30 per night! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gryrrd 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, just 5 pitches nestled in a backdrop facing rolling countryside.

Warm welcome and information supplied by the host, superb shower room and within a mile or so of the picturesque town of Middleton with nice cafes, pubs and shops.

Well recommended for peace and quiet, wish we were staying longer. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yvonne 1 review from this member

 We liked everything about this site. We went straight to it from picking our new caravan up!

Loved it so much we went back again and loved that too. We tried to get booked for Christmas, but was already booked up. And would more than likely be cancelled with covid.

BUT! We can't wait to come for our next visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sj1963 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site - large pitches and very quiet with scenic views. Excellent food and hospitality at The Crown itself.

Only criticism is that the shower was temperamental- hot one minute - freezing cold the next. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Phishing 26 reviews from this member

 Superb site. Access from wide road, all roads gravel and in good order. Site has 5 huge hardcore pitches all with water and hookup. Pitches would take any type of unit, plus awning and a couple of vehicles.

Site is behind beer garden with views over the surrounding hills. Walking/cycling opportunities are endless with trails tracks and roads. The roads are astonishingly quiet.

Facilities (toilet and shower) were on the back of the pub and were of high quality and always clean. The pub is open Thur to Sun and serves excellent food with a good selection of beers. The bar is dog friendly. There is another pub over the road, did not try this one.

Shops and services, chippy, and restaurants a few miles away in Middleton-in-Teesdale. Many places to visit, beautiful area, like the lake district but no crowds!

Warm friendly staff, very enjoyable stay, no hesitation in recommending. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Broko 4 reviews from this member

 Update. Having previously posted a review on here I thought I should update. Site is still the same but the pub was closed the full time we were here. Was on the website but tucked away in the small print. The sign outside still says open all day every day. Site seems to be a bit neglected from the last visit. Bins overflowing from day we came to when we left. Weeds coming through the gravel.

Price now £25.

Still a great location for walking and there is another pub in the village.

Just looks a bit tired. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 36 reviews from this member

 We normally stay at Teesdale Barnard Castle club site but we had to go up in the closed season, so we needed to find an alternative close by. We booked this site after reading other reviews and weren't disappointed.

The Crown was closed on the two nights we stayed, (we we knew it would be ahead of time), but they emailed us the location and shower code details ahead of time so we felt well looked after. It was very peaceful.

As others have said, the pitches are really big and there's fresh water at each pitch.

The site is in a lovely spot - even on a miserable November day the walking round about for the dog was great, and the views in good weather must be fantastic.

The shower/WC was spotless and very warm in the evening too, which was a nice surprise given how cold it was outside.

For those who don't like to park the motorhome up in town there's a bus service between Middleton in Tees and Barnard Castle which stops on the main road very close to the site - some buses to Barnard Castle go to Middleton first and then to Barny by a different route, so it is worth checking before you go or you might think you are going the wrong way. I'm told the other route is just 10 minutes longer. We might just make it our preferred site all year round now! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Broko 4 reviews from this member

 Everyone seems to have covered all the main plus points of this site and it was due to these reviews that we booked. I can say it is probably the best CL I have stayed at.

Pitches are massive (we were going on to Scotland with our motorhome towing a Smart car and did not have to unhitch it!), beautifully presented, there is nice walks around the area (reservoirs and High and Low force).

Pub serves great food and has great beer.

Great views, great walks, very helpful and very friendly.

Was £20 per night but is better than a club site, therefore I feel real value for money.

The playground next door looks to be the village playground. We were next to it but it was hardly used.

Will return. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ymac 13 reviews from this member

 What a find! We arrived here on the off chance after another booked site was too dirty to stay at. Glad we moved. Pitches are huge, we went on sideways to get best of the views. Own water and electricity on each. Shared toilet/shower between the 5 pitches. Spotless and a sign on gate to let others know when the bathroom is occupied. The food, atmosphere and service in the Crown were all great. Walk along old railway line get you to Middleton On Tees where you can get shops and pubs. Mickleton is lovely and views all around are stunning. We stayed two nights and will certainly go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bluebell17 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed at this CL and the first thing you notice is the massive pitches. You could easily fit a caravan, awning and a car and still have space to sit out. There is also a tap on each pitch.

There is a pub next to the site which serves excellent food and according to my husband good beer as well.

It is just behind the Teesdale Railway Walk which we cycled to Middleton on Teesdale along. Very pleasant.

There is one shower and toilet combined - very clean and plenty of room for all your stuff.

The only downside is that it is right next to a children's play area. Along with all the normal swings etc. There is some kind of zip wire ride which had the kids screaming for a few hours. Not what you expect when you book adults only for peace and quiet. But if that doesn't bother you then this really is a very nice site. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Crown At Mickleton Certificated Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Crown At Mickleton Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Crown At Mickleton Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49656 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement