Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of North Dyke Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > North Dyke Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

North Dyke Farm Certificated Site
Great Salkeld
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 9ND
Tel: 01768 898352
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Teenoso 8 reviews from this member

 Great site, sheltered, level and great value for money. No hardstandings but the owner assured us that it was rarely a problem unless it was extremely wet, when he would happily pull you off with the tractor.

The shower/toilet block is adequate, maybe in need of a little TLC.

A great centre for the Lakes etc, we went e-biking up and down the beautiful Eden Valley and had a great time, plenty of pub stops 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ratherbeinapplecros 1 review from this member

 Just back from this site me and swmbo had three lovely nights here. As other reviewers have said it is a slightly sloping site. But we had no problems getting level. Owners were very pleasant but never intrusive.

We had a day at Penrith. Only about ten minutes in the car. Also another day at Keswick about 35 mins.

Found the views from the site very pleasant and nice quiet roads for a walk.

Lots of space between units I loved this as there was none of that crammed in feeling.

The owners have tried really hard to have everything you need from clothes washing facilities to TV connection points and leads. Also they have welcome packs telling you about things in the local area. We found this a very nice touch.

The only slight point I would say was the men's toilet/shower room floor was very muddy understandable it will get mud in it when it was as wet as it was but did not seem to get cleaned up the whole time we were there. That said though we would use this site again for sure.

Found the price very reasonable also.

Was our first time on a certified site and we had a really good time 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Akcinkjet 1 review from this member

 Spent a very pleasant 9 nights in this slightly sloping field overlooking the Cumbrian hills, with a number of family members. It's actually a CS and we had all 5 pitches plus the static van that is available for hire.

The site is located a few miles from Penrith so it's handy for what you want from a small town, and right on the edge of the Lake Distict. We also spent a couple of hours on the train to Settle, boarding at Langwathby a few miles away. Not much in the way of local pubs that we saw but had an excellent meal at th Horse and Farrier, Threlkeld just off the A66.

The site itself is basic. A slightly sloping field with lovely views. Entrance into the field was a little tight with our twin axle van but once in there was plenty of room to manouvre. Plenty of space available between vans.

There's hook-ups available so we felt at 10. 00 a night we were getting value for money. The amenities block is in an adjoing field and is small but comfortable with one toilet and shower for each sex. There's an additional (outdoor, but secluded) urinal in the corner of the nain field.

There are also washing up and laundry facilities and the site owners rely on the honesty of campers to pay for what they use and for that they provide a pricing guide. There's a supply of books available to read. TV requires a lead to a satellite dish and these are also supplied although we were that busy the TV never came out of it's box. Site owners were friendly when we saw them and happy to talk but were never intrusive.

Excellent. Wouldn't have any qualms about using this site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandypete 4 reviews from this member

 What a turn around, the toilet block is wonderful there are toilets, showers, hand basin and hair drier on wall, a really 'up grade'.

Phillip and Liz are just wonderfully friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The welcome is very warm and Peter and I would just like to wish the family all our best wishes for the pending wedding of their daughter July 2011.

The site is worth a visit, quiet,clean and friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanne Robson 1 review from this member

 We love this site, it is small and doesn't have a lot but it is one of our regular visits during the season.

The toilets have recently been renewed and are great, in the ladies there is one shower and two toilets and in the gents one shower and one toilet. There is also a washing machine and tumble dryer.

The owners operate a honesty box when using either the showers or the washing machine / tumble dryer.

The place itself is very quiet and the owners are really nice, the field is really safe for kids as it is not next to any main roads and there is plenty of space for them to play games.

The surrounding area is great with plenty to do, lakes nearby, Penrith is lovely and we have used the swimming baths several times with great ease.

I would highly recommend this site to either caravanners or campers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Penelope pitstop 1 review from this member

 I love this site. Yes it only has 1 shower and its tiny but it's hot and cheap! toilet is a bit poor but what do you expect for such a cheap site? I grew up in this village and it was lovely to be able to camp here after moving away 11 years ago.

We were in the big field and we were the only people in it for a day. It was my birthday and philip and his wife let me have a bbq party in the top corner of the field, fantastic weekend had by all.

Lovely local pub within walking distance ( highland drove) with award winning beers and meals. Bit pricy but worth it. Lots to do nearby with Penrith just up the road. It has supermarkets, swimming pool, castle ruins and a camping shop in case you need anything like we did!

The lakes are nearby also. Lazonby is just a short distance by car but also walkable. This has a coop with cash machine, 2 pubs and in summer it has the open air swimming pool.

The river is nearby for those nice evening walks. This is a GREAT site! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Morkie 8 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for one night en route to Scotland. It was not very well signposted but we did find it eventually! We were in the smaller level field. We thought it was nice and relaxed and very cheap 5 for the night (an extra for EHU). We chose our space and the farmer popped around later.

There was plenty of room in the middle of the field for a game of rounders and cricket.

The facilities are in an rather tatty outbuilding. There is one toilet and one shower for the whole sight and I have to admit that no-one in our group was brave enough to use the shower!

The washing machine and telephone use honesty boxes and there was a box of books if you wanted something to read.

We enjoyed our stay - it was very quiet and rural but I'm not sure that I would have wanted to stay for longer due to the shower. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smax68 2 reviews from this member

 We picked this site as the reviews seemed favourable, we wanted a quiet less commercial site and many sites in the area were full for the bank holiday weekend. We camped on the smaller of the two fields which was well kept with short grass, water and hook ups if required.

However, this site is not really suitable for tents, there is only one toilet and the wash basin does not have any hot water. That means boiling a kettle to wash up!

There is also a very basic shower. While we were staying there, there was no evidence of either of these facilities being cleaned, I cleaned the wash basin myself!

There was a 'rally' in the big field next door and we were kept awake by loud rock music emanating from there on the Sunday night. There was also a group of caravans on our field which were regulars to the site and they held a couple of drinking sessions well into the night. I was still listening to their belching competition at 1 a. M! And the language! It was a good job our two young children were asleep!

The nearest shop to the site is in Lazonby 1 3/4 miles along the road and this had everything you could want including a cash machine and post office.

While we were here we visited Lake Ullswater, Penrith, Hadrian's wall ( about 20 miles away) and Eden Ostrich World which the kids loved! We also discovered the lovely Shepherds Inn in Langwathby. The food was really nice and the landlord, Mark, was really friendly, plus there is a playground right nextdoor to the pub for the children to play on

The views and the quiet countryside around North Dyke farm are delightful and had the site been quieter we could have made do with the facilities for the sake of peace and quiet. However we were no better off than if we had stayed at a larger more commercial site with folk spilling out of the bar at all hours! 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 100acrewood 20 reviews from this member

 A lovely area. Great views but limited on facilities - one toilet and shower per site which on a bank holiday is a bit awkward.

However, lovely meals at the Joiners arms in Lazonby (turn right at the junction with the Midland hotel on ur left and the coop on ur right and its on ur left).

Would go back again should there be more toilets and showers but for a lovely quiet get away from everything its a great site and the cows??? theyre just nosey but sweet 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

 What a great site if you want to appreciate the surrounding views and countryside. We spent 6 nights with family in tent also and had a lovely time. We were pitched on the 'rally' field as the smaller field was full but had EHU and water/waste close by.

The bigger field is on a gentle slope but did not cause us any problems. Philip, the owner and his son were very friendly and helpful bringing ice packs to the campers each morning.

Other facilities include a toilet/shower block with a washing machine/tumble dryer with honesty box (20p shower/50p washer - a bargain). There are also books for borrowing.

We took 2 dogs which were inside van/tent or on leashes and had no problems. We will certainly go back again for the scenery, the friendliness of the owners etc. Well recommended if you need a chill out site. Lazonby 1. 5 nearest village has shop, cash point, petrol, train link to Settle-Carlisle railway, couple of nice pubs. Best pub locally is Crown Inn, Kirkoswald. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is North Dyke Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to North Dyke Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is North Dyke Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2815 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement