Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Tourer Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Hesket Newmarket > Riverside Tourer Park Reviews

Riverside Tourer Park
Rose Garth
Millhouse
Hesket Newmarket
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 8HR
Tel: 016974 78571
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 25 reviews from this member

 CL adjoining a slightly larger area for none CMC members – in my opinion, the CL is far better: more room between outfits and lovely outlook over the river but pitches narrow, if you have an awning you will need to park your car at the back of the van and partly on the roadway.

Toilet and shower closed. Owner regularly walks the site to feed the birds in the many feeders. Access easy, just one small pinch point in the village but we managed fine.

Many notices around the site saying what you can and cannot do, but it did not detract from the overall ambience.

Lovely café and pub in nearby Caldbeck. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Georgie10 6 reviews from this member

 We had 8 nights here and absolutely loved it.

Its a great base for exploring the northern lakes. There's a little dog walk area down by the stream, it is small, but fine for early morning and night time doggy do do's. :) we drove to Caldbeck Common 10 mins away for our dog to have a run.

I honestly don't know how anyone could complain about this place. John is always around, keeping the site neat and tidy.

If you can find the toilet, you can find the shower, they are 1 foot apart!

The pitches are well spaced out.

Loved it here, we are going there next year.

I highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Colleenhclark 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely, peaceful location. The site is excellently maintained and pitches are well spaced and south facing over the river. As new relatively new to caravanning, John was only too happy to help by reversing our caravan into place, much to the relief of my husband.

We were lucky enough to be blessed with sunshine for the whole of our stay and were sad to leave. We will definitely be back during the summer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bjames839 15 reviews from this member

 Once again, lovely peaceful stay at Riverside. Top marks to John and Dawn for making such a peaceful little haven. We stayed over Xmas and virtually had the CL to ourselves, which was lovely, and even though there were other units on site everybody respects each others boundaries and peace and quiet.

Forget the previous negative review, uneven site? The pitches are lovely, with plenty of space between. Scrap laying round? Nonsense, the owner, John has gone to great lengths to ensure that this is a special little place, and that includes not having scrap lying around. I honestly don't know what another reviewer was thinking. The wi-fi is indeed a bit ropey, but it's free, and I got very good internet using my own phone's allowance, but hey. If you're looking for peace and tranquillity and 'get away from it all', . Wi-fi, . Really? Can't do without that? WOW. For what it's worth by the way, TV reception is also excellent, as good as it is at home. The ablutions are unique, but we used them in the frost and snow and they were perfectly warm.

I shouldn't be saying this as I want to keep this place a secret, but please come and try this site. This area of the Northern Lakes is much quieter than places like Windermere and it is very tranquil, and if it's peace and quiet you're after you won't find a better site than Riverside. My personal favourite site now, thanks out to John and Dawn. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gazdebpas 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this little gem of a site. Beautiful maintained good pitches and peace and quiet. The toilet and shower were very quaint but served the purpose. The site has a beautiful stream running through it and is so relaxing. Excellent recycling bins for everything and so clean and tidy.

The warden was so helpful and friendly and had great knowledge of surrounding area. We walked tongue little village of heskit Newmarket which had a lovely pub called the crown which served nice meals at good prices.

This cl site is excellent value for moneyed stayed on the millrace side, and we will be going again in the very near future. Ideal location for walking in the lakes or just to switch off and chill in these beautiful surroundings 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bjames839 15 reviews from this member

 This was our third stay at this beautiful little site, top marks to John and Dawn for keeping it so immaculate. I never saw any scrap metal or garden waste anywhere, the grounds are actually beautifully maintained. Quite how a previous reviewer didn't find the shower is beyond me as they are right next to the toilet, which he apparently did find.

It only has 10 pitches which are spread in two areas of the site, but it's certainly not big enough to require a map! And to say there's nothing to do?! We climbed Carrock Fell and other nearby peaks, rowed across Derwent Water, and visited the nearby town of Keswick, and the villages of Hesket New Market and Caldbeck, both of which are picture postcard perfect by the way. There's plenty of things to do.

The site is so tranquil, and we were able to sit out most evenings reading and hearing nothing but bird song, bliss! The red squirrels put in plenty of appearances for us as well.

We're off up to Durness in the Highlands in the summer, but we can't wait until we can visit this little gem of a site again, 10 out of 10 from us, thank you! 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Transformer 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another relaxing stay on the riverbank, at Riverside. Thanks again John & Dawn for providing such a well kept site.

The previous reviewer must have been reviewing another site, as we never saw any garden waste or scrap metal any where, and all the site is laid out perfectly with smooth walking surfaces. Also the shower, (which has a big sign on it) that he never found, is just 3ft away from the toilet.

We found the WiFi very useful. Ok, it is a bit slower than we are used to, but it is a very rural area. You've got to admit, at only a £1 a day its well worth it.

Apparently the two recently constructed phone masts on top top the nearby hills go live in April, and 4G from most of the networks will be available on site, which will be an added bonus for our next visit in May.

We just love the quietness of the area. There are such variety of gentle gradiant walks on the nearby Northern Fells which we enjoy, with the bonus of the unrivalled scenery, which is completely uncommercialized.

Keep up the good work John & Dawn.

You've got the mix spot-on. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Georg Johannes 28 reviews from this member

 Great location right by small river. Lovely sound. Reasonable access roads to site for vans.

All facilities fine. Sweet little 'shed' for toilet. Never found shower but didn't need to.

Could have done with map of site for those unable to walk around it too far, and to aid orientation, although it is very small.

Disabled toilet but no other facilities for disabled, such as decent path for walking/ being pushed/riding round site. Wouldn't take much to make a few proper pathways.

All very uneven and whole site extremely untidy with garden/general waste and scrap metal.

'Riverside dog walk' about 12 feet long and made potentially lethal, as another camper put it, by tree roots. Really not a functional dog walk at all. A serious accident waiting to happen.

However, it is ok to walk dogs around site itself.

I got no Vodafone signal on site at all.

Would not have seen owner at all had I not gone to house, however, very pleasant re booking and times.

Money to be posted in envelope by toilets.

Leaflets re local places to visit were in toilet, along with a book swop.

Many were damp and stuck together. Bit unpleasant.

Wifi - advertised as available for daily charge. Paid charge but never got any connection. Only £1 a day but should have been possible if advertised. Tried with laptop and iPad and moved away from van.

Perhaps this should be verified if it is to be advertised.

Didn't find a lot to do in this area c/w other sites around the country.

Also, some roads unsuitable for units wider than 2 metres which can cause problems. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NorthJim 1 review from this member

 A fantastic idyllic site with plenty of space. Owners were very helpful. The toilets and showers although they look like sheds are in fact tardis's in disguise, you have got to see to believe. A good week was had despite the weather. Mobile phone signal absent so it's well worth the very small fee for wi-fi. Will visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barwise1 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit and it won't be our last. The site is immaculate, well laid-out and a credit to John and Dawn. It is in a quiet backwater, but that's the attraction for us - Drive around Caldbeck Commons and drink in the beauty of the countryside! Get out of the car and walk and it gets better. Highly recommended for total relaxation and good access to the parts of Cumbria that the masses don't bother with. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Tourer Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Tourer Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Riverside Tourer Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hesket Newmarket      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1755 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement