Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moat Vale Caravan Site And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Moat Vale Caravan Site And Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Moat Vale Caravan Site And Campsite
Kirkandrews Moat
( Gretna Green 7 Miles )
Longtown
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed From 2017

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claridges 1 review from this member

Very tidy, intimate campsite. Piped classical music from Classic FM playing in the ablution block. A great touch.

They have books to swap(personal favourite)

You can have campfires, seating is provided. It is a nice bike ride into Longtown where the Grahan Arms has the locals seated, having a chat! Get your wifi here

Overall, a great experience and would highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Threlkeld 1 review from this member

Excellent small quiet site with easy access. Nice little musical washroom with books and magazines to read. A seat in the shower room would have been helpful. The ramshackle housing for the hookup sockets would benefit from an update.

Management response: Many thanks for the positive review David, you correctly identify that the electrics are due for an upgrade. They do have a current safety certificate , but happy to say that an upgrade is planned before we open again next season.

We'll also see what we can do about a seat in the shower room

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Betsy Innes 1 review from this member

Had a great time. Was made very welcome when we arrived. It's a small site and very quiet which we loved.

They did not mind when we asked to move our tent. They had leaflets to let us know what we can visit locally.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Rikkirobo 3 reviews from this member

Welcome note left for us on arrival giving us information on our pitch and things to do in the area. Lovely well kept site, small and peaceful. Toilets and shower warm and clean with no queues.

We stayed for 2 nights and had our 2 dogs with us. Some lovely walks in the surrounding areas, many more than managed this time - lots more to explore on subsequent visits.

Love the fire circle, although did not get to use it this time, I do intend to on my next stay which is already booked.

Although we did not have any children with us, this is a child friendly site, with a small play area away from the unit pitches meaning kids can play and not disturb anyone relaxing around their units.

Very friendly, helpful owners, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Honestbrokerman 4 reviews from this member

Site owner has really gone out of his way to provide good facilities including recent drainage work. I am not sure how well it works, but the hot water provision at the end of the field via solar water panels is a sight to be marvelled at!

Although we did not have any, it would be a great place for kids and for camping.

The surrounding area is very interesting, helped by the excellent map and guide sheet supplied on arrival.

A very honest and friendly owner who has obviously worked hard to provide a good for money site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fredcoyne 1 review from this member

We spent three enjoyable nights here in May this year. It is a pleasant site with enough room for youngsters to play football in an adjacent field with small goalposts and a trampoline in another close-by area.

The site owners are friendly and helpful. They lit a bonfire on the Saturday evening and invited anyone interested to join in. Very enjoyable.

The two toilets, one of which has the shower, are kept very clean and I can't see any reason to criticise them for being close to the farmhouse, as said by the previous reviewer.

There were plenty of sheep in a smallish field, which ate grass right up to a fence about five feet from our caravan. If kids like to see animals, they were close by.

We had a very nice meal at the local pub - about three miles away, so transport is desirable.

There are quite a few places of interest and good walks in the area but, of course, transport is very helpful to get about. The owner loaned us OS maps to use during our stay.

We paid 15 per night - just a little dearer than some, perhaps.

We certainly like to go back there again, if the opportunity arises.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireCr 1 review from this member

Just returned from our third visit to this site. It is a beautiful place to have a relaxing break. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. The site is very well maintained and all facilities are spotless. Children are well catered for with a play area and football pitch. Our children enjoyed playing with the owners children and biking around the area. We especially enjoy the friendship circle where we can chat around the campfire whilst having a few drinks and the children can toast marshmallows. We will certainly be back again soon and can thoroughly recommend the site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Man on the Move 13 reviews from this member

A well priced, although a somewhat isolated site offering well tended and level tent pitches.

Very friendly owners who clearly offer this modest site as an addition to running their farm.

Facilities are basic but adequate, clean and reasonably well maintained.

Visitors should be prepared to stock provisions before arrival at the site otherwise it will necessitate a drive into the local village a few miles away, unless you fancy a longish walk.

There is also provision for a sheltered barbecue should it be required.

Overall, a well recommended site, possibly more suited to the through traveller or anyone looking for a little peace and quiet more readily found on smaller sites.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ddlkc 22 reviews from this member

We decided on this site going off reviews on here but we were disappointed. The only thing that we found good was the owner was friendly. This site is no longer a working farm so has no animals. We felt we were pitched in the owners back garden in the middle of what used to be fields for the animals with no views except the housing estate across the field. On arriving through the yard the scene is not welcoming as there is two really old run down caravans along side a large run down barn. As for the facilities the toilet and shower are based in a very cold outhouse literally in front of the owners back door which we felt a bit uncomfortable and there is no hot water for washing dishes unless the sun has been out for a long time. You need transport if you want to go anywhere for supplies

Management response: I cant help but feel that this of our wee site was a bit uncharitable. On the working farm front I would never have gone as far as calling us a working farm, we are just a wee 12 acre small holding. It is true that we sold off all the sheep back in late 2012, however the land is still grazed during the spring and summer by a neighbours sheep from up the road, save for one field that we have planted as woodland. We also still have our ducks and chickens with eggs usually available for campers and still make hay every year from the meadow.

The pitching area is to the side of fields, photos can be seen on our website and the 'housing estate' is the metropolis of Kirkandrews Moat Village and the 14 houses that make it up :). The caravans in the yard that are mentioned are a static that gets used when we have family and friends to stay as an overflow from the house, its perfectly serviceable if a bit dated in appearance (20 years old). The tourer in the yard is my 75 year old fathers 2 berth tourer and yes maybe its time it went, but its difficult to persuade him that its past it's best.

The barn is a classic black tin barn dating bak to the early 1900's. A watertight and windproof workshop for the small holding. Its my favourite place.

Yes the toilets are down near the house, and are unheated, but they were refurbished last year and are always kept clean and tidy with free hot water and free hot showers. The washing up shed in the campsite itself does have solar powered hot water and that doesn't get more than luke warm on overcast days, but a gets well toasty pretty quickly when the sun is out.

The shops are three miles away, which is part of the reason that we are generally quiet and peaceful out here in the sticks.

Anyway I hope that the review doesn't put too many of you off coming to see us. Do have a look at our website where there are plenty photos and have a look at google earth so you can see our general situation.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2783 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019