Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Mablethorpe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe > Mablethorpe Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Mablethorpe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Highfield
120 Church Lane
Mablethorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN12 2NU
Tel: 01507 472374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: 01/04 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Saraandjamie 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Excellent shower block & toilet facilities.

Lovely views over the fields & 20 to 30 minute walk ( depending on how fast you go) to shops & beach.

Friendly & helpful staff. Shame the weather wasn't better!

Will visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Babyfish 11 reviews from this member

 Great Club site, we were very impressed. We stayed on a grass pitch with an awning and a Pup tent and there was plenty of room. The pitches all felt really spaced out. The wardens were friendly and welcoming especially Paul.

The dog walk was more than adequate despite reviews I read to the contrary. We only used it for morning and bedtime wees as the dogs were out and about all day at the beach but there was plenty of room for them to amble about and do what they needed to do off the lead.

Lovely shower block. Nicest one I've used at a club site. Makes you realise how much some others are in need of an upgrade.

My only bugbear was that the reception shop didnít take cards. I was desperate for blue and pink toilet fluid so they lost a good sale. I guess there are cost implications but I would have bought lots of provisions there (they are really well stocked and also order papers for you which I think is great) rather than walking 20 minutes to the nearest Lidl and Coop if they had taken cards.

The walk into Mablethorpe took about half an hour which was not a problem as we are good walkers but might not suit everyone. Good straight route and easy to find your way. Mablethorpe beach was fantastic. Dog friendly to the North and South.

The dog friendly bits were quieter and we did lots of sunbathing. Lots of arcades etc to amuse the two 14 year olds and a couple of ok pubs for us. The food at The Dunes was surprisingly really good and the bar staff were all lovely. Fish and Chips in abundance everywhere and none of it disappointed.

The walk to Sutton on Sea is slightly longer but totally worth it. The dogs adored all the space on the beach and we found a nice pub garden at The Bacchus Hotel.

We are going to go again next year, great relaxing, friendly site and great holiday location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: M fisher 1 review from this member

 What an excellent site. Really spacious so you did not feel like your neighbour was too close. Beautifully kept grass and grounds. We extended our stay because we were really impressed.

Clean toilets and showers. Close enough to drive into Mablethorpe, Sutton on Sea or Skegness. The staff were very friendly.

Be aware that they do not let you onto the site until 1pm as the staff clean the site and showers etc from 11. 30 - 1pm.

We would highly recommend and will be back. Mablethorpe is beautiful with many miles of golden, clean beaches and well kept gardens.

There is a little shop at reception where you can purchase milk, newspapers etc. Nice little play area for the children. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sjf167 6 reviews from this member

 Firstly, a fantastic site, well maintained and the grass is kept manicured. A nice touch is that when the grass is cut it is also collected so you donít end up with loads of grass in your unit.

On arrival I was greeted by name even before I said hello! (first time weíve been here). Attention to details was brilliant and the team were very friendly and helpful (even enjoyed a bit of banter about lorry drivers and reversing lol).

The office contains a small selection of bits and pieces you may need and seem reasonably priced from what I understood. We didnít use it as the boss brings virtually the whole contents of the house with us.

We were escorted to a pitch of our choice which was hard-standing, level, covered in something like pea-gravel and big enough to put my awning up within the pitch base (more on pitches later) and shown where the loos, bins, water and electric were and then pretty much left to ourselves.

If you have a dog, ask where the dog walk area is as we didnít find out about it until the third day. The team were always around but not intrusive, a nod and good afternoon and passing the time about the weather etc. So, not intrusive but firm when needed, our neighbours put up a large windbreak covering virtually the whole of the pitch, close to my car and well within the separation distance rules. A passing warden very politely but firmly asked them to íadjustí it.

Now for the downside, and absolutely none of this is a fault of the team:

If you have hay fever, donít go in May as the site is surrounded by fields of Rapeseed on three sides.

Close by are some larger static holiday caravan parks and Iím not sure if they had entertainment on or it was just that the wind was in the right direction for us to hear the beach front fairground rides but it was like having an open air disco nearby that you had to raise your voice to be heard over in the evenings Ė fair play though, it did stop at about 10. 30.

Pitches, not a complaint but a surprise: When I booked the pitch I booked a grass pitch with ehu but a couple of days before we were due to arrive I had a phone call asking if we would mind being put on a hard-standing as there had been a lot of rain recently and my heavy twin-axle may sink in (and/or damage the grass).

Now, I fully understand this as no one wants a gert big groove or damaged grass at the start of the season. What surprised me was that when we arrived I had to pay extra for the hard-standing that I was put on (not by choice) it was only a couple of quid and didnít ruin the holiday in any way. However, had we been staying for more than just a couple of nightsÖÖ. !

Access, the site guide suggests that larger units go down Alford road and turn right along Victoria Road and turn right up Seaholme road. At the top of Seaholme road is a 90 deg right bend but you go straight ahead into the site entrance.

Now, personally, trying to get a large unit and car around the main roads of the town, near the seafront with tourists wandering all over the road and queues of traffic was a nightmare and, even though it is a bit of a tight turn if you approach the site from Alford road/ Seaholme road it was better than the suggested route IMHO but look at it on a map. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spyder27 11 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here for one night as we had a weekend in the area and we wanted to visit Mablethorpe for a trip down memory lane but will definitely be back.

The site and facilities were spotless and from what we saw everywhere looked the same. The wardens were super friendly and welcoming.

Lovely quiet area to relax in but nice and flat so could easily cycle to Mablethorpe

Will definitely be back for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SwiftNick 5 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site! I am there right now, sitting in our tent enjoying a coffee on a wonderful evening.

The site is excellent with very good sized pitches & is always kept in an immaculate condition. The 'toilet block's is 1st class with a never ending source of hot water & is cleaned constantly. The pitches are generally flat, electric hook ups are close by & there are many water points & bins around.

It is a quiet site without any entertainment or a clubhouse but it is quite close to Mablethorpe centre if you want that sort of thing! There are other, larger, seaside places only a short drive away like Ingoldmells or Skegness or a range of different things to do more inland.

There is a very small shop with the basics of food on site plus a few goodies like ice cream but a large Lidl is less than 5mins away in a car. The staff are very friendly & helpful & are always on the go doing something around the site.

This is, in my own opinion, an excellent site & well recommended! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coalhog 11 reviews from this member

 Well stayed on this lovely site for 5 nights. Its made lovely by the staff clean. Oh very clean well kept site. Was busy at weekend, not as though you would notice, but very quiet after bank holiday weekend.

I would say about a twenty minute walk into Mablethorpe. Good pub to visit is The beck for carvery. Also walked to Sutton on sea, lovely fish chips. But for any member well worth a visit. The staff put lots of effort into this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catfood 9 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed this site, well laid out, lots of room, extremely clean and tidy, plenty of showers but unlike previous comments did not find showers to hot. Nice dog walk, big enough for your dog to run up and down in with dog bin at the side. No ball games allowed but designated area to play games in which was great for the children. Was amazed how quiet this site was. Very close to sutton on sea which is well worth a visit. Very friendly well Laid out site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judgedredd 4 reviews from this member

 Just joined the Caravan and Camping Club again, as a single person with a dog, the club provides a great deal. It cost just £43 for 3 nights in August, hard standing with electric and a dog. Have been to this site a few years ago, but the standard this time was much better. Lovely clean toilet / shower block, only downside was the hot shower temperature. The site was extremely clean and tidy and well managed. Be careful on the road to Mablethorpe when walking, as no footpath on the direct route. Grass well kept, It could do with another water point. Will be booking again for September. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Transpenniner 3 reviews from this member

 As I write, I'm here on this site, nearing the end of a week's holiday. I could not have wished for a more peaceful retreat from the hurly burly of city living. The site is run by an efficient and fully-engaged team, lead by Sue who is retiring at the end of this season; it's just what you would wish for - clean loos and showers (yes, slightly too warm for summer! - see some earlier comments), neatly cropped grass pitches, NO anti-social behaviour from fellow campers ie noise! Everyone seems considerate of the wants and needs of others!

The site can be a tad windswept, so peg your tent/awning securely; more trees would probably obviate the issue, but Lincs is reknowned for strong winds sweeping across the flat land.

The site is isolated from the town's amenities - there is no hiding this fact - but down Seaholme Rd is a shop on the Mermaid Static Site and further on, a mini-market on the righthand site. Neither more than 10 minutes walk from the site's entrance. If you want a dog-friendly beach, walk down Seaholme Rd with your hound - about a 25 minute leisurely walk.

If you want a more centrally located site near the amenities, amusements etc, perhaps this is one is not for you, but if you want one offering complete rest, relaxation under the wide high skies of Lincolnshire, then this is for you.

PS The wifi is brilliant!

PPS Hope you enjoy your retirement, Sue! 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mablethorpe Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Mablethorpe Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mablethorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020