Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lowther Hill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Lancaster > Lowther Hill Caravan Park Reviews

Lowther Hill Caravan Park
High Bentham
Lancaster
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA2 7AN
Tel: 01524 261657
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 9
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tufty29 2 reviews from this member

As previous reviews loo & shower facilities still haven't changed and very dated. The price was £16. 50 with electric hook-up. We had a hard standing which was vital in the inclement weather as grass was very wet. The owner was very friendly and the views lovely. The owner's cat was lovely, well named 'Lady Diana'! In better weather it would have been a nice pleasant walk down to High Bentham. Had lunch in Coach House, very nice.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We came across this looking for a one night stop over. Site takes 9 units - only 1 other occupied the night we were there. Charges £16.50 with electric but as we didn't need this charged us £12.50.

A fairly basic CL with one toilet and 1 shower, both of which are dated - but clean and more than adequate.

Views from the site are spectacular - hills all around. Fairly close to the road but no traffic noise bothered us at all.

As all have said before owner extremely friendly and helpful. The site is kept very clean and tidy, grass cut etc. There is a rally field but not in use when we stayed.

Miles from anywhere so take provisions with you. We visited Settle just down the road, more than worth a visit with lovely coffee shops and shops.

If you are looking for somewhere peaceful and quiet this is fabulous site for a few days - or as a stop over heading North / South as only15 miles from the M6.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naomi rox 1 review from this member

This camp site is in beautiful surroundings overlooking the peaks of the Yorkshire Dales. The site is very high up (there is a signal mast very near so you can imagine) so if the forecast is for wind you might want to give this site a miss. The lady who single handedly runs the place is friendly and helpful and clearly loves meeting the people who stay.

The facilities are very basic, one loo and sink and a separate shower, in its own little room strangely placed in one end of a garage / outhouse. The basics are kept clean, the sink appeared to be cleaned every day and a hand towel changed but nothing else looks to have been cleaned for a very long time (cob webs and dead flies on the windowsills etc).

We had a lovely time here though. There is loads to see nearby. The site is small and not cramped, peaceful and a real getaway. We had my husbands two boys with us (9 and 11) who loved the chance to run about and play and we loved the views.

The grass is well cut and very tidy and easy to get pegs into.

We would return to this site for the peace and views. Dont go if you want luxurious facilities, that is not what this site is all about.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TONI T 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site away from hustles and bustles of every day life great if that's what you want.Izzy the owner was brilliant and my granddaughter [3]loved it. There is nothing near it ie pubs, shops and you do need transport, it suited us and it was cheap. Izzy is a very pleasant lady who couldn't do enough for us.

We would and will go again we enjoyed our stay

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mephsy 5 reviews from this member

Peaceful site with easy access. Pitches too close together for my liking. Enjoyed a lovely weekend there but I agree with previous review that the facilities are basic and that it lives on its past glory. I would also add that I did not find it too clean and for 16.50 per night (single person with no dog and no awning) it was not good value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maybarker 3 reviews from this member

A nicely placed site which is has well kept, even grounds. The owner is a delightful lady who is always willing to help. However this site is living on past glory as best CL 1998, and I suspect hasn't been updated since then.

There is only one toilet on the site which also contains the only hand wash basin, the only shower is located in what looked like the garage and without directions is almost impossible to find.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful but there is no nearby walking as the site is completely surrounded by farms and the road outside is narrow, busy and has no pavement, so you have to drive to find the footpaths. It's an outstandingly lovely area though and Izzy the owner is a charming lady.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobalong 3 reviews from this member

What makes this site so special can be expressed in one word, Izzy, a wonderful lady running round trying to do everything to help everyone. The farm is within easy reach of so many places to visit,Yorkshire, Cumbria and Lancashire tourist attractions are less than an hour away. Facilities are adequate for size of the site and are kept spotless.I only tried one pub in High Bentham, The Coach House, That was very nice and it was also dog friendly so we did'nt have to sit outside.The chippy was well worth a visit. People we met on site seemed to return year after year and were extremely friendly to us first timers to Lowther Hill.Of all the sites we have stayed on, this one has moved up to the top of our favourites list and is down for return visit at the first opportunity,some of Izzys free range brown eggs will be first on the menu for breakfast.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JLH_W.Yorks 1 review from this member

A lovely site in a great location. Easy access to the Three peaks and the Trough of Bowland. The nearby road is pretty quiet, so no probs sleeping. Fairly basic facilities, but certainly adequate, and great value at £5 pppn, no extras for cars, tents etc.
The owner is very friendly and helpful. I plan to return here soon. The camping field is level and easy to pitch on. The pubs in High Bentham are good also, although a bit far to walk after a long day's walking.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Our_mums_r_mad 29 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site except lovely, great, special, brillant etc. etc.
The views from this site were breathtaking from all angles and if you want peace and quiet then this is for you.
Only 1 toilet and shower but there aren't very many pitches for this site which makes it the way it is, the owner Izzy is lovely and very accommodating to everybody who turns up.
Shops in the village 2 miles away which include Co op, fish and chip shop, sweet shop and pubs great after a 3 mile walk around the countryside.
Been once and it will be on our list for future meets to come in 2008.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billie 15 reviews from this member

We spent the weekend here on a ukcs meet. It's a lovely site, quiet and peaceful. The owner is a really nice woman who does anything she can to help. There is a barn on site which she rents out for functions - thank goodness, the weather was atrocious while we were there. Facilities are adequate. It is in a beautiful part of the country with Ingleton and Settle within half an hour. Would definitely go again - preferably when the weather is better!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4653 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019