Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gallaber Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Carnforth > Gallaber Farm Reviews

Gallaber Farm
Burton In Lonsdale
Carnforth
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3LU
Tel: 01524 261361
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P90tac 14 reviews from this member

Lovely little site very quiet, clean facilities 2 toilets and 1 shower never queued only thing missing for me is a washing up area, but as only a 2 night get away cant complain! Will return again. Small park area and sand pit and field for ball games free roaming chickens that aren't shy!

If you intend to visit here in the next 9 weeks check route as road works started for 10 weeks with diversions. We got lost as followed diversion and came to dead end, but we rang up the site and she told us the best way to get to site. We had to turn around at the school in the village, but was easy enough and found them straight away. Traffic in and out of the site was quiet and never met any other car going in and out of site, but I guess at busy times wouldn't be a problem either as there is a passing place.

Met some lovely people who had never been before all who intend to return.

The owner was lovely and you didn't see them about much but knew they were there should you need

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vmccar 23 reviews from this member

We loved this site. Neither too big nor too small. About 20 pitches in a nicely kept field with a loo block with 2 loos and 1 shower. It felt informal and relaxed.

There were chickens from the farm pecking about near us and you could buy free range eggs from an honesty box. To get to the village is no more than half a mile if you use the public footpath over the fields where there is a pub (open from 6pm ).

The views are nice and the surrounding villages lovely. Will definitely go back again. If you do have children there is a field with a goal they can kick a ball about in.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lou Mid 8 reviews from this member

Arrived after a very heavy downpour & ground was very wet, car just kept sliding, so they got the tractor out to pitch us and the ground soon dried up. There are 2 unisex toilets & 1 unisex shower, I would think if the site was busy you would have to wait for the shower. However the shower is in a full room, lots of hot water & pressure with a couple of chairs & plenty of hooks so your clothes stayed dry.

The lane down to the site is quite rough so take it easy. Its only a 5-10min walk to the nearest pub & shop. Lot of walks about & very relaxing.

Great value for money.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Retrokirsty 1 review from this member

I have just returned from this site after visiting it for the weekend with my extended family (the group consisted of a camper, 3 caravans, 7 adults and 6 children) and all of us have really enjoyed it.
It was a good site for families who want a basic, quiet campsite. The toilet block was nearby (I don't have a toilet inside my camper so this is always important to me).

The children absolutely loved the swings and the sandpit and played happily all weekend with them. The children also loved the fact that it is a small farm so there were chickens roaming about and sheep (and lambs) in one field and cows in the next. Eggs are available to buy and after sampling them, I can recommend them.

The owners were happy to let you get on yourself and only collected payment after we had been there a day. Our pitches were clearly marked by signs and we had lots of room between pitches. A nice touch is that once you have plugged your van into the hook up, at night a gentle light glows from the hook up unit which stops the kids (and you) from tripping over the unit and wires during the night when making trips to the toilet.

The site is quite a few miles from any attractions making it feel quite remote but we went on a walk and found a big river, an old castle mound (the kids loved climbing up this and sliding down it on their bums) and a pub which was about a mile away. However a short drive in a car would get you nearer to attractions. It is only a few miles off the A65 and easy to find.

The road down to the campsite is quite bumpy but it is what you would expect from a country dirt track. Just take it slowly and you will be fine. All in all, my family enjoyed this site and would visit it again. When we go camping we don't want a fancy site with lots of extras. We just want a quiet site where the children can play safely and we can sit back and relax.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thomas34 1 review from this member

A very good basic site. Shower block and toilets clean, Very quite location and close to lake district which has some wonderful scenery. A really relaxing time had. Sheep on one side cows on the other but they are not noisy. Nightly rates are very good. Will be going back in the future. Road to site is a bit bumpy but should be OK if you go slowly. Village shop about one mile away and has all the basic supplies.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catty500 7 reviews from this member

I think a reviewer below - Lesmason - has the wrong Gallaber caravan site as there is another one with the same name in Long Preston nearer Skipton as this Gallaber didn't have any traffic noise and it was definitely not between 2 roads and near a railway line! In fact, it's a lovely, secluded, relaxing site. The owners are friendly and laidback which goes for the rest of the site. It's only small and is back to basics which I love. Its accessed via a rickety sort of country lane and the site is next to the farmhouse and in between fields of sheep and cattle. There are also some friendly chickens roaming around and you can buy their eggs which are very nice. There were also 2 very friendly lambs in another field when we were there.

There are 2 toilets and a shower, some swings for children and a field for ball games where the sheep live. Id recommend this site to anyone wanting some peace and quiet, and to get off the beaten track. It's not one of these all-singing, all-dancing sites and that's personally why I liked it so much.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Linsee 14 reviews from this member

Peaceful open site outside the village with friendly helpful owners. 1 shower and 2 toilets, adequate,water hot, but could be cleaner. Small play area for children and ball games allowed on adjoining field(occupied also by sheep). Pitches are slightly sloping. Last time we visited it had been a wet week previously and we needed help from a fellow camper to get off as it was boggy - all pitches are grass and you have to drive across the field to get to your pitch.

There are a few seasonal pitches, leaving about 5 available for tourers plus 2 statics and a holiday cottage further up the lane for rent.

The site is accessed from a narrow country lane onto the farm track, which was in quite a bad state when we visited, potholes etc., but ok if you drive with extra care.

The village is about a 10 to 15 minute walk away, but there is only a small shop, community run when we visited, minimum opening hours, but sells most things you would need, including wine!and a pub which does food.

You definitly need your car, I would not recommend it for motorhomes unless you are happy to unhook and explore, or just stay and chill.

We will most likely go back but consider this a fair weather site

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bez65 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a four night stay at this site over Easter weekend. Despite the weather the site was fabulous. The site was quite level although there were some pitches which were on quite an incline. There was a play area for the kids which comprised of a couple of swings and a sandpit fully equipped with buckets, spades and Tonka toys. There was also a ball playing area in the field adjacent. The owners were friendly and you could choose your own pitch, despite being in the middle of lambing, they were always on hand to help with any queries. The shower block was small with one shower/ toilet per gender but they were clean and tidy at all times. On the whole it was a great site to which I will be returning in the near future.

Reviewer: Lesmason 1 review from this member

June 2005
Fairly new site, half set aside for mobile homes and hard standing and grass areas for tourers and tents. Single newly built toilet block, clean and efficient. Three shower cubicles in each unit. Plenty of hot water. Wide grassy area for touring vans with electric hook ups. Site is located betwen two busy roads and a railway so there is some traffic noise. Access is good. No shop (local council will not grant permission). No facilities for teenagers so its a site for adults and families.

Reviewer: Tom,n,Gill 23 reviews from this member

Easter 2004
Pleasant farm caravan, about 50% level the rest got a bit of a slope. 1 toilet and 1 shower for each sex.
There is a small play area for the kids. No sheep on caravan site its self, but site is next to a field full of 'em. If you like your tv don't go on the higher number pitchs (10 to 15) as these are behind a hill and reception suffers. Charged £20 pounds for 3 nights Easter Weekend, which we thought was cheap.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4552 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019