Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Humble Bee Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Humble Bee Farm Reviews

Humble Bee Farm
Flixton
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3UJ
Tel: 01723 890437
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Wigwams, pitches, bell tents, Yurts
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kittyw 3 reviews from this member

This is my favorite site and have been visiting it for the last five years. It is just so lovely and quaint.

The facilities are spotless and the play area is great for the little ones. The site run activities such as bat safari's which the kiddies love. The children love to interact with the farm animals and look for chicken eggs. The goat has got a character about her too lol.

You can get a fire pit delivered to you in an evening for keeping warm (for a charge). This is another a lovely idea that sets the site out from others.

The site is very peaceful for those looking to relax and unwind. No phone signals. You can purchase wifi for a charge.

There is a great pub at the end of the road. It sells the most amazing food, the sizes are huge. Never attempted to walk there I'm usually to stuffed to move lol.

The lovely town of Filey is a short drive away. Its great.

We usually camp on the site with electric hook up however we have just changed to a caravan. The site is situated at the top of a steep hill and would not like to attempt it towing. Although that aside I have seen the odd caravan on the site.

This will not stop me visiting though. The glamping pods look amazing and will be booking one so I can return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angels77 2 reviews from this member

Where can I start about this little site, myself husband son 13 daughter 8, have just visited this site for the 6th time, this site is great plenty of animals to see and play with, daughter enjoyed meeting mr bumble the new sheep dog, she is now wanting a sheep dog!.

The site has a small playground and was always very well used, and all the children got on really well and so very friendly with each other, its great to hear kids as they should be and that is playing and having a good time. There is also a little shop on the site that has the basics for you, the pitches are of very good sizes, fire pits can be hired on site ( don't forget marshmallows).

The facility's are spotless on site and the showers are so nice and hot.

John and Julia take great pride in their site and it shows with how tidy and clean it is. If you are looking for a small family site that is quiet peaceful and relaxing this is the place for you.

John and Julia make you feel so welcome and nothing is never too much trouble for them. My son I did manage to stop from sheep knapping and also daughter from pinching the new puppy.

All in all this lovely little site is a hidden gem.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lollypop69 1 review from this member

We have had a really amazing time at humble bee farm. We took our 7 year old son with us who loved the activities, getting up early to go get a freshly laid egg from the hens. The site was very clean and the facilities very clean also. The little wooden playground was really good. The owners were very helpful and friendly if you needed anything. Humble Bee is set off from the hustle and bustle so is very relaxing. The pitch we stayed on was very spacious and not like other sites where you felt liked sardines in a can. You are not very far from anywhere. Filey, Scarborough, Bridlington, Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay are not far away. We visied these plus about 40 miles away you could visit The Deep. We will definitely be going back to this very friendly site.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MCavan75 20 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a wonderful weekend at Humble Bee Farm, with a 3 nights for the price of 2 offer we were able to make the most of the full weekend which was advertised as a 'lambing and calving' weekend. This site is beautifully situated in the wolds with great walks all round, we had a whole area of the campsite to ourselves and sat out around a firepit one night toasting marshmallows. There are animals all around and you truly are part of a working farm which we loved, this does mean you wake up when the first of these creatures stirs - which is early, but what better alarm?! The highlight for us were the lambs - our two daughters regularly visited the barn to watch the lams and we were given the chance to hold and feed the lambs. We missed seeing one being born by just a few seconds. On the sunday the girls completed a treasure hunt around the farm which we all enjoyed. This really is a fantastic campsite, a far cry from the commercial sites closer to the coast. The staff are so friendly and welcome you getting involved with the animals. We shall certainly return and highly recommend to animal loving families! Thanks to Farmer Percy in particular who allowed us to spend so much time with the lambs.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meha32 1 review from this member

Just returned from my second visit to this fantastic little camp site (last time I stayed in a wigwam)

If you're like me and camping is about sitting around a camp fire on a peaceful evening and getting away from it all and not having to put up with a dodgy entertainer trying to keep kids happy in an overpriced club house then you will love this site.

The staff are very friendly and the site is very clean. There's a great little park for the kids which closes at 9pm so you don't have kids running around all night. The kids also love the chickens and goats. Some people my have a problem that they cant get a phone signal but for me this was a bonus.

There is a slight gradient on the pitches but nothing major. Ideally situated to visit Filey and Scarborough and only a 10 minute drive from morrisons for your supplies. Will definitely return again

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DavidWade 1 review from this member

Just returned from a wonderful 4 day 3 night visit with my wife and 8 year old daughter. From the moment we arrived to the day we left we were delighted with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and fellow campers. We had the very best weather imaginable and as it was only our second ever camping adventure (last one was 1 night only in Robin Hoods Bay)we were not very well equipped for it. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities were pristine - even my wife was satisfied and she is very fussy. We visited Scarborough, Filey and on the last day Flamborough Head which was my personal favourite day out.

There is a shop on the site selling the basics so don't worry if you have forgotten breakfast. The pub at the bottom of the road has food available each day and the portions are enormous. We didn't try the fish and chip shop a couple of miles away but it does have a good reputation. Feeding the ducks, chicks, hens and two pregnant goats provided entertainment for our 8 year old and me and of course having the facility for camp fires each night was hugely popular.

We cant wait to go back but next time we will have a bigger car and remember to bring chairs, table, camping gaz, enough tent pegs, extra ground sheets, blow up mattresses that don't deflate during the night, barbecue and wine cooler!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hannahem 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent a lovely weekend at Humble Bee Farm. The location is great, tucked away in a little valley away from roads and civilisation (no phone reception!). The campsite is friendly and great for kids, very safe with a lovely little playground which kept them entertained while we were on site.

The staff are lovely, very helpful and the facilities were kept very clean, even though the site seemed to be pretty much full.

Nice fish and chip shop 10 mins down the road just off the A64 which came in handy on the first night when we needed a quick tea.

Only slight problem was that some of the pitches are on a bit of a slope so we found ourselves sliding down our sleeping bags during the night but its not a major issue at all.

Overall a lovely little site and one that we will be revisiting.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rabble 15 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at this site. It was well kept and clean, the farm setting with the chickens running free and the goats hanging around all fun for the children. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

There were activities organised throughout Saturday for halloween, which was all good fun for the children and might have been better if the weather hadn't been as bad.

The only negative I would say about this site was that it was expensive (£32 a night, low season) for the facilities it has, which I think would be stretched when the campsite is full. The location is good for a weekend get away but you would need transport to go exploring.

Management response: Many thanks for the positive feedback in your review of Humble Bee Farm on UKCampsite.co.uk

We appreciate your comment about the tariff for the Halloween Weekend event, which included a family nature event with a professional ecologist, Halloween themed competitions, traditional Halloween games, hot dogs, story time and more, as well as your pitch, up to four guests, one car, electric hook-up and small awning.

Our campsite facilities are good – two shower blocks giving a total of six showers, nine toilets, four washing up sinks, baby change and more – and although we were busy over Halloween, we weren’t at capacity. Our facilities cater for a full site, which can be up to approx. 50 families.

You are right that you need transport to explore the area; as with most farm locations, we are a short drive from the nearest village, and this is one of the reasons why some of our regulars come here, to enjoy the peace and quiet of a rural location.

We do hope you will join us again as we have lots lined up for 2013, including our regular Halloween celebration.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simontipler 7 reviews from this member

Stopped on this site for 3 nights ehu, cost about £66. 00, first thoughts on arrival that the staff could not do more for you. 10/10 for effort.

Camping area is on a bit of a slope on both sides of the road/dirt track that runs through the site did no pose a problem though.

Toilets are always clean and tidy but how on earth they cope in the high season with one main toilet block is beyond me two toilets and one shower for the mens, washing pot area has got a fridge freezer and a microwave.

Fire pits are great they get delivered to your tent cost about £8. 00 per night.

I've been to a lot better campsites for views I would not say they are great but ok its a working farm after all.

As people have said there is a steep hill getting to humble bee farm so be careful caravan owners.

There is a small kids play area to keep them happy, I would also say this is a young family site not a couples or mature persons site.

Management response: Many thanks for taking the time to put a review on UKCampsite.co.uk, and for all your positive comments.

Your comment about the lack of shower facilities is a bit mysterious, though. We have no less than two shower blocks on the site. We have one behind Reception, which includes three showers, two toilets, two hairdryers, a wash up area and laundry.

Our main shower block, which is near the children’s play area, has a three wash up sinks, a microwave and fridge/freezer facility (during busy times); a disabled access family shower including baby change, loo, hand basin, shower; the gents have two toilets, hand basins, urinals, shower, while the ladies has two lavatories, two make-up cubicles, two wash basins, and a shower. The block also includes a chemical disposal unit and is run in part by solar panels, helping make it as green as possible.

Therefore all we can assume is that you maybe found one shower block and used it, and were perhaps unaware of the second? We do hand out an info sheet to all guests on arrival, which clearly states we have two shower blocks on site. And we do say to people on arrival there are two shower blocks on site.

Regarding your comments about the views and the steep hill. We are in the Yorkshire Wolds and if you had a chance to partake in any of the farm walks, you would certainly have seen the views at their best. If the customer tells us they are bringing a tourer and an alternative route is asked for, we certainly advise of an alternative route.

Finally, your comment about it being a young family site is also a bit misleading. Although our target audience is families, we have numerous couples and mature visitors who come both out of season and in peak times, thereby indicating that we cater for most tastes, providing you are wanting a peaceful rural location that’s not too far from the coast.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Illy Clan 2 reviews from this member

We booked a WigWam for two nights with our 7 year old Daughter, her friend and our dog Derek.

We had absolutely no problems on our arrival and yes there were rules within the site but they by no means had a negative effect on our stay.

What a brilliant, friendly, immaculate and fun place to stay. Our only complaint would be that we didn't stay longer!

I also was undecided as to whether or not I should leave a review as don't want to find the place fully booked next year!

A special thank you to Molly the Jack Russell who was an absolute delight and made Derek a very happy little puppy when she visited him each day

We would recommend the WigWams to everyone - warm & cosy with everything you need -

We usually camp with the tent but this was a real treat and the extras available like fairy lights, bunting and fire pit made the stay just that little bit more special for our Daughter.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful memory

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019