Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lathkill Dale Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Lathkill Dale Camp Site
Rowson House Farm
Monyash
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1JH
Tel: 01629 813521
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: March - December

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 111 Reviews
                8/10 from 111 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cookiekid 31 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site. First impressions were very good.

We received a somewhat strange greeting on arrival.

The pitch we were allocated was pitch 12, very uneven and next to the bins. This meant we were pestered with lots of wasps.

The toilet /shower facilities were adequate.

Pot wash areas very good; nicely lit up at night.

After a further inspection on site we found some amazing pitches higher up on the site. We felt, after seeing these we were short changed.

If you book this site ask for a pitch up on top of site. Beautiful views.

Would I come again? Maybe on a pitch on top of site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Taffy5 8 reviews from this member

The campsite is set on the slope of a hill with level camping bays (or gardens really) set out along a meandering track, so no chocks needed. At the top of the track there are a a few more sheltered areas enclosed by mature wild hedges and a larger, more open camping field. There are a few hook-ups spread out across the site, although some hook up areas are only accessible by foot. There is a car parking area at the top of the hill for anyone camping in an area inaccessible to cars.

The best bits:- Easy to find a private area or you can choose to be more sociable in the large field. If the site is not too busy you choose where to camp. Grass is kept short and fires off the ground are allowed (you can hire firebaskets). Toilet block is nicely decorated. The site is a 10 minute walk from the Bull's Head in Moneyash which serves great food (there is a cafe as well but it isn't aways open in the week). We did rwo 10 mile round walks, to Bakewell & Youlgreave, visiting some small villages en route.

Things that could be tweaked for improvement:- Not enough showers (often mentioned in other reviews). Poor fire safety information - I couldn't find any fire equipment apart from two cylinders near reception, and we were a long way from there. There didn't seem to be an assembly point either. Quite a long walk from the top field to the toilet block. OK in the daytime but not at night. Two nights out of three a group people were playing football & laughing & calling till nearly midnight (it was nearly the longest day). We didn't mind but it's supposed to be a quiet site so worth mentioning it if you are a light sleeper.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J + J 16 reviews from this member

Just come back from a quick overnight camping trip, the first on this site for a while. The camping field was good and reasonably flat with longish grass, the facility's are good and clean with plenty of hot water, however there was only one shower available out of two in the facility's block down by the caravans the ladies was the same apparently. No recycling available.

The village was a short walk with a good pub and cafe cant comment on any food as we did not eat. A walk in the opposite direction will take you to the top end of Lathkill Dale. Obviously there is Bakewell and Chatsworth not far away

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rustyarrow 9 reviews from this member

Stopped here for two nights as working in the area, very easy to book and very accommodating to my requirements. I stayed in a 'top field' which was fine but I think could get windy maybe, site was very clean and tidy shower was clean and hot. Local pub was very good nice food and beer- takes about 15-20 minutes walk. The Cafe next to the pub did not open in time for breakfast unless you were up late!

Would I stay again- yes I would no complaints.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ramman 2 reviews from this member

Very friendly place on arrival. Andrea showed us to our pitch which was very spacious neat and tidy. Showers toilets all clean. Very peaceful site. Would go back again, in fact will be there again next year.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Its raining again 13 reviews from this member

We (my husband, my self and our 17 year old) stayed on this beautiful campsite for 6 nights over the summer half term week. We have a large 4 birth tent that fitted snugly into the pitch. Most of the pitches at the lower end of the campsite have hook up and are separated from each other by plants acting as hedges.

There are two toilet blocks with showers that are always spotless.

There is a freezer that is available at no charge to put your cool blocks in and a covered washing up station, hot water is always available.

Our 17 year old paid 10 for a weeks wifi which worked really well.

The owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, they couldn't have been more helpful.

The only thing I would change would be recycling, there wasn't any!

We walked from the site to Lathkill Dale, checked out the bakewell puddings at Bakewell and cycled around Carsington water and along the Monsal Trail. We also went down Speedwell Cavern but wouldn't recommend it, there are more interesting caves in the area! Oh and note to self, when you visit Buxton, take a container to collect some of the spring water, it was delicious!

We had one meal at the local pub and although not that cheap, they make the best chips I've had in ages.

It is a beautiful and peaceful campsite which I would love to return to.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights Fri 31/3 to Sun 2/4

2x Adults + Tent + Car + EHU = 19pn.

Mixed feelings on this one.

We were part of a 3 tent family group, two couples each in a 4 berth tent, and a family of 3 plus 2 dogs in a large 6 berth. Two tents were none-ehu, one tent (us) were with EHU.

All were charged the same weekend rate. 38 (19 per night). Not sure how they worked that out, but as it was us who had the EHU, I'm not complaining!.

We were put in a little camping area together, perfectly sized for our group (would have comfortably taken 6 hikers tents, if not a couple more). It was very private, very secluded in amongst the trees. It did mean, however, that the cars were parked about 25-30m away, so all gear had to be carried (and one trailer was manually wheeled) through the trees. Ok as the weather was good. Wouldn't have been chuffed setting up or packing away in the rain! Certainly not manicured lawns, with lots of twigs and small branches to clear from the camp ground first, before setting up, but very 'rural'. The EHU post for this little area had only just recently been installed, and the main cable had only been buried across the pathway. Still visible elsewhere for now, but obviously they have plans to bury the lot. There were 4 sockets on the one post. You'd just about get 4 x family tents in there, but it could be tight. A bit of a slope and a bit bumpy. You could hear the road traffic through the tree's, but certainly not enough to bother us. All in all, I really liked this setting, and I'd only be put off camping there again if the weather was bad as we carried gear.

The rest of the site included a couple of other open areas, again with a short walk from car to pitch, but possibly more level and sunnier. Large top field for DofE.

Lower on site, nearest to the road, are a good number of hedged, individual pitches. Ranging in size from just about big enough for a campervan, to plenty of room for large family tent and car. More neighbourly though, and less secluded. There are caravans on site, but all presumably seasonal. No touring caravans are accepted, presumably as access to the pitches are a little too tight?

The site was reasonably busy for the time of year. Group(s) of DofE, a few campers, and a few campervans/motorhomes, as well as the seasonal 'vans. All of a similar ilk, and thus a nice atmosphere around the place.

There was one facilities block over near the road. Never used it.

The newer blocks were more central and nearer to the seasonal 'vans. Apparently quite recently built (And the footings are dug out for yet another block to be built) but already showing signs of mis-use. One wc in the gents was literally covered in urine! Bowl, seat, and lid! No man is that bad an aim! Poor show, gents! (Can't blame the site for that!) There doesn't seem to have been a reason to be in there anyway, as there were also 3 x urinals.

2/3 loos had broken seats. 2/3 loos had doors that couldn't be bolted shut. 2 shower cubicles, but only one had a shower in it. The other has been tiled out ready, but shower not yet fitted. Excellent shower though. On a hose so rinsing out the cubicle is possible. Temperature control, and no push button. Fairly roomy, and 3 hooks on the door. Also a folding seat for those that need one.

There was also a ladies of course, and in addition, a row of additional unisex loos (external access) and a separate block that included fridge, freezer, washing up area and a couple of larger 'family showers', as well as the usual leaflets/info board.

Location is top notch. (Deduct 0. 5 marks for the close proximity to the road, but it is only a B road, so nothing too intrusive). Right in the heart of glorious Derbyshire countryside, just yards from the entrance to Lathkill Dale itself. A 5 minute stroll takes you to the village green, where there is an excellent foody pub and cafe. I'd recommend both. No shop on site or in the village. Not a con for us, as we don't rely on one.

The other side of the village (10 mins from campsite) is the Limestone Way. I'm no expert, but I reckon this is a Hiker's paradise! We went Cafe>Limestone Way>River>Over Haddon>Pub Lunch>Double back along river>Continue through Lathkill Dale to B road by the campsite. 9 miles give or take, 8 of it in early spring sunshine! Result!

All in all, this site gets a thumbs up, but it does need little finishing touches finishing off!. Loo doors should bolt. Loo seats should not fall off. Shower cubicles should have a shower in them. EHU cables should be buried. And we do have to remind the odd guest to clean up after themselves, unfortunately.

It's not top of our favourites list, but would have no problem returning. The Pro's definitely outnumber the Con's.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shineorrain 1 review from this member

A lovely stay at a lovely site. We've been visiting the area to camp for a few years but recently upgraded our equipment and now require a hook up in our old age for heaters etc, so we opted for this site. We love the privacy the hedges around the pitch offer, and yet they are close enough to socialise with fellow campers. Toilets and showers are very clean and for someone who hates spiders, they are kept well under control. I have visited many sites with 'spiderville' loos and it really does put a downer on my trip- not a problem here at all, especially if you go to the newer block- although I did meet a rather large toad in the older toilet block one night! Owners are lovely and are about each day if you need them. We were able to choose our pitch but I expect in busier times you would be allocated. We were in pitch 6- we think. Roadside is loud but it drops off at night and isn't a problem at all. The roadside pitches are very flat, the quieter pitches further back are sloped so it's a gamble on what you prefer! We slept fine and my husband is a light sleeper so he would have been the first to note the noise if it was a problem. The local pub is great, very friendly staff, didn't eat there but there plates we saw coming out looked fab. A very short walk away from the entrance to Lathkill Dale. Take your walking boots as it is craggy in places and can be slippy. A bit of spray to keep the flies away is advisable as well. Bakewell and Buxton are a very short drive for all your shopping needs and the little ice cream shop by the pub sells a small selection of groceries. Wifi is available if you want to watch films etc at night. We had our laptop and enjoyed a good few episodes of Bottom before bed each night with no streaming issues. Wifi is charged at 2 per day- very reasonable. No complaints at all- if I had to say anything, and I'm nitpicking here, the fuse in the hook up couldn't cope with our fan heater. If it were colder outside this may have been an issue. Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karin Williams 3 reviews from this member

Very nice clean site but so frustrating that you have to deal with arrivals by mobile phone and impossible to get a signal! They request you phone when half and hour away but when you get to site you have to phone again! Possibly owners could confirm pitch location by email prior to arrival day? Had to drive over a mile out of site to get a signal then it went to answerphone.

That said, it is a nice location with a good pub a short walk away and a good starting point for many trips out around the Peak District.

I would use the site again even with the worry of the phoning up problem.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: TetleyT 1 review from this member

Just got back from a quick one night stay and we are incredibly pleased and will be returning for a longer one soon.

Took the campervan out on a spur of the moment thing and while driving through Monyash, as the site is a little close to the road, we saw this great looking, well laid out, tidy campsite and thought we'd see if they had space. They were very pleasant and fit us in without a fuss. Pitches are divided by hedge rows which makes it feel really snug and although close to the road the minimal traffic stops by the evening anyway.

Facilities clean, simple and fully functional and stocked. The Bulls Head pub, just 3 or 4 mins down the road, was welcoming to us, our dog and our muddy boots with great ale and food.

All in all a very pleasant stay.

Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3313 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019