Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bron Y Wendon Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Colwyn Bay > Bron Y Wendon Touring Park Reviews

Bron Y Wendon Touring Park
Wern Road
Llanddulas
Colwyn Bay
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL22 8HG
Tel: 01492 512903
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (5)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wumps 2 reviews from this member

Once again I cant fault this site I arrived 45 mins early the staff were very very helpful indeed

They showed me to a place I could unhook and wait why the cut the grass ect before I could pitch didn't take them long. Then they kindly took the van with there tractor and put it on pitch for us again

Toilets and showers spotless and good security

Very quiet site. Some folks moan about the road noise from the A55 personally its hardly noticeable, we can live with and the railway the trains aint noisy and one an hr in the day if your lucky and none at night

Short walk to the beach and town and easy access to anywhere in north wales

Our 5th visit to this site and will be back again a few more times this year

10 out of 10 from us

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wumps 2 reviews from this member

First time at this venue and overall very impressed. Toilets and showers very clean and well kept, as are the grounds.

Noise from the road and railway is very marginal and didn't bother us one bit.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, as was the site cat Bela lol. Will be returning again to this place.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Williams Family 7 reviews from this member

We recently booked at this site, let me start with the positives

The site was clean and tidy

The facilities were cleaned regularity and the staff were very helpful

The site is a 5 min walk from the beach which was excellent for our aging labrador

The site is newly located near to Abergele, Rhyl and Llandudno

Now the constructives

The site has Wi-Fi which, even though we did of a Wi-Fi repeater, I could not get to connect to my wife's IPAD. I considered the Wi-Fi quite expensive at £10 for the week for just one device.

The A55 is very close to the site and is very noisy due to being constantly busy, even through the night. We managed to subconsciously block out some of the noise during the day, but I found the night's awful and was unable to sleep despite very good earplugs!

If you can deal with the traffic noise I would highly recommend the site, it was just not for me

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 11 reviews from this member

We visited Bron-Y-Wendon for a one night stay.

We had a lovely sea view plot, the site is in a lovely location and is extremely clean and well maintained. The shower block and toilets are very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this site and we would visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The mutts nuts 4 reviews from this member

Booked double h/stand & super pitch, gave caravan size & awning for 7 nights on arrival shown to pitch which was not wide enough for our outfit. When voiced our concern got a frosty response we insisted we were not using this pitch as there were plenty of other larger empty ones. We were then told it could be a long wait.

We were eventually shown to a double hard standing at the front of the site pitched up and fitted fine. We feel it is a badly laid out site, not enough showers for the amount of people on site. The road noise from the very busy A55 is constant Day & Night HGV's to and from Holyhead we had had enough after 5 nights of very little sleep !

No Dog Walk ! Watched other dog owners looking for any grass between caravans for their dogs to do what they need to ! I also have a dog but walked mine off site ! So left 2 nights early and lost £64. 00 ! Would definitely NOT recommend !

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 33 reviews from this member

Mature couple 7. 4 m single axle caravan, no children or dogs with us.

Stayed 2 nights on fully serviced pitch nicely situated in a cul. De Sac of about 8units. Well spaced out- variety of pitches to suit everyone-ours had plenty of space for van and awning plus large patch of grass for sitting out.

Right by the railway line with sea view-not a mainline so no big multi carriage trains passing. As has been said before the road noise is constant, but you do tune it out after a while.

Toilets plentiful 3 ladies showers in the block nearest to us-the water pressure is high so be aware-rinses hair beautifully but a bit painful on tender areas!

Easy to walk path from the beach car park to Abergele /Colwyn Bay-half a mile in the direction of Abergele is a pub and cafe bistro associated with the beach static caravan park-dogs welcome outside seating under cover. Tasty food. Hot drinks welcoming staff. We didn't enjoy visiting Rhyl but found a lovely cafe in the town centre so not a wasted journey. Friday night meal at the Station pub in Colwyn Bay a real surprise-well worth a visit.

Staff at the park escort you to your pitch and if you don't have a mover-your unit will be sited for you if you wish-a really nice touch.

Overall a clean welcoming park in easy reach of a variety of attractions-well spaced pitches-plenty of SAN facilities -it doesn't have a shop but there's a big Asda down the road on the way to Rhyl. We wouldn't hesitate to return

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dibble4176 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, massive pitch for camper van and awning. We had a grass pitch with hook up. Great views. Albeit next to the train track We didn't really notice the noise.

Great for Route 5 National Cycle Network which runs along side the camp site. Definitely one to visit again one downside is that there are no ball games however there is a play park at the entrance of the site.

A great site which I will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Michaelmorris 17 reviews from this member

This is a difficult site to review, but here goes.

First the pluses.

This is a clean tidy site overlooking the sea and only a couple of hundred metres from a beach. The facilities were clean and the staff were courteous and always had a smile. Access was excellent and it's situated within very easy reach of Conwy, Anglesey and Snowdonia. Chester is just a few miles down the road.

If I stopped the review there it would be an easy 9/10 to 10/10. However, a combination of geography and management conspire to dull this otherwise seemingly excellent site.

The minuses

Firstly, this site is never going to get 10/10 because it is right next to the A55. The noise is constant, but we didn't find it intrusive and we zoned it out very quickly. However, we visited in November, so we didn't sit outside or have the windows open.

Pricing. Whilst I appreciate that all pitches were fully serviced, £24 a night in November is still a bit steep, especially given the location right next to the A55. Now we could live with that because there are few sites open at this time of year, so choice is limited. What I found difficult to swallow was that we wanted to arrive on the pitch at around 12:00 to 12:30. We were told that would be an extra £5. Now I don't know about you, but I think charging £5 for arriving 2 hours early on an empty concrete pitch that isn't occupied leaves a bitter taste in the mouth. (We visited a nearby attraction instead of arriving early).

Facilities. As others have commented the positioning of the Elsan point right next to the washing area is unsanitary. The sinks and drying areas in the washing up facilities are way too small and too low. As others have also commented, the lack of any sort of shop on the site or any information leaflets about the site or local facilities or attractions are glaring omissions. There is also no motor home point.

Site. Whilst the site is clean and well laid out, it is all a bit soulless. The site lacks any real character, which is a shame. By character, I don't mean garden windmills and gnomes (heaven forbid). I'm taking more about soft landscaping such as pools, wild areas, trees and hedges.

So in summary, a good base for a couple of nights exploring north Wales, but not really a destination in itself.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeanddeb 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first touring caravan trip. Stayed at 2 sites, Bron-Y-Wendon being our 2nd location from 5th August to 10th August. Checked in, ladies on reception made us feel very welcome.

Caravan was parked on our pitch by the staff, then was given instructions as to location of facilities. Its a lovely site, with lovely views out to sea, the staff kept the site very clean, and very well maintained.

There is an amazing walk along the beach, left to Colwyn Bay, right to Rhyl. Very relaxing holiday, would definitely go again in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Anneparker 7 reviews from this member

Very disappointing, it's fairly expensive so we were expecting more. Friendly enough welcome, but no information leaflet about the site or the local area available. No shop, not even basics. No recycling. The site was beautifully kept, but just rows of pitches, few trees or hedges to soften the landscape. Showers etc clean and tidy.

Chemical toilet emptying point right next to the washing up sinks. Major problem (obviously out of the site's control) was the noise from the A55 expressway at the top of the site and the railway at the bottom. The site is a fairly narrow strip and I don't think pitch position would make much difference.

There is a good bus service from the village but you have to cross some busy roads to get there.

The walk along the cycle path to 'Tides' tea shop was well worth it, even the steep road back up to the campsite. We were in the area to visit a friend but wouldn't have stayed otherwise and won't be back.

Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4973 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019