Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gaer Hyfryd Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen > Gaer Hyfryd Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated) Reviews

Gaer Hyfryd Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated)
Gaer Hyfryd
Corwen
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL21 0EW
Tel: 01490 412189
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 35
Open: 18/03 To 26/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleya5949 1 review from this member

Just stayed at gaer hyfryd for 4 days, we wish we could of stayed for longer. What a lovely site. Really nice and quiet. Jonny and nerys are both lovely, really helpful. We got to pick our own plot. The site is really clean. The toilets and showers were kept really clean. We took our dog with us, lovely little closed off dog walk. We had a problem getting a signal with our television but jonny borrowed us a television and ariel so we managed to watch the tv. There is plenty of places to visit like corwen, mand, llangollen. We also went to betys y coad. There is an organic farm shop and cafe. Rhug estate which was nice. Would definitely go back to this site again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CindyLM 5 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights here and if peace, tranquillity and beautiful views is what you want then this site is the place. Wardens are friendly and really helpful and maintain the site to a high standard. The shower block is spotlessly clean. It's proximity to the A5 means lots more of Wales is easily accessible and the walking is endless also. Corwen is a quaint village but steeped in history so should not be bypassed. Really enjoyed our stay and came home feeling thoroughly relaxed. We'll definitely go again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ledburyred 4 reviews from this member

Very easy to access and once there beautiful views over the rolling hills with the nearby fields full of sheep and young lambs.

Site was fairly full but facilities were fine and immaculately clean. Internet access very good.

Being on A5 easy to access all of North Wales, whether towns such as Ruthin and Bala or the mountains. Lake Vyrnwy is beautiful. Nice canal walk at Llangollen.

Preferred farm shop at Bodnant to Rhug. Dogs only let in gardens at former on Weds after 5.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geraldinerocks 16 reviews from this member

Lovely site, easy to find - just off to A5 behind the Rhug estate. Simple enough to access down a wide lane with plenty of passing points. Owners very friendly and helpful and will pitch your caravan for you. You choose your own pitch which all have lovely views and are kept immaculately. Ladies bathroom has 2 showers and 3 toilets. I was there August bank holiday and the site was quite full but I never had to wait for a shower. Showers are free and plenty of hot water. There is even a free hairdryer for you to use. Plenty of bins, water points and waste disposal facility. The worst thing was having to leave to come home :(

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahsop 8 reviews from this member

What a little Gem of a site! we stayed for 9 nights and had mixed weather during our stay. The pitch drained well and were perfectly happy on grass.

The site is just off the A5 and although the lane to site is a little narrow our Twin axel monster had no trouble making it to site!

On arrival we were greeted like old friends by Nerys and Jonny, the owners who couldn't do enough for us, both on arrival and during our stay. They even pitched the caravan for us using their little tractor.

The views from site were just spectacular, you could choose your own pitch. The children (10&11) played football on the sites little play area and there was also a small dog walk area should you need it.

The shower block was dated but immaculately kept. No push button showers here! And the lay out was idea for those with less mobility as the shower and dressing area was spacious and had it's own little seat.

The laundry had a modern Miele washing machine and drier. Both worked well, the washer left clothes well spun. Washing machine was £3 and the drier £1 for half an hour, both coin operated. They both did a good job, in fact the drier only took half an hour to dry a load of towels, better than my own at home!

Just down the lane is the Rhug Estate, organic farm. It has it's own little grill where you can buy burgers, coffee, ice cream etc and possibly the best farm shop I have ever visited! It's pricy but we had Bison burgers (which the boys loved) and their own meat which was excellent quality. It is possible to take a walk around the farm should you wish.

During our stay we visited Valle crusis Abby, we climbed up to a castle on the hill (Dinas Bran) we took a trip on a steam railway (Ffestiniog to Portmadog) we visited two waterfalls, one at Lake vrynwy and the spectacular Pistyll Rhaedr, the tallest waterfall in wales and the largest single drop in the uk. We went on lots of walks. The local area just has so much to do we will have to come back!

There is a wedding venue close to the site which does make some noise but it didn't bother us at all.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We stayed on a wet weekend, even though pitches are on grass it was firm enough without fear of getting bogged down. There are two gravel pitches by the reception if you don't want the grass.

Lovely views from the pitches, all have ehu but there isn't a motorhome disposal. Plenty of water taps dotted around the site. Toilets / showers are old but very clean, warm and plenty of hot water and no push buttons on showers, brilliant.

Several nice walks from site, warden gave us great instructions for a 7 mile walk to Cynwydd and Corwen and back via the Rhug farm shop which was lovely.

There is a wedding venue next door which has music some nights, we heard it faintly but didn't disturb us at all. No traffic noise as you are a fair way off the A5 but its only a 10 minute walk back down to Rhug Farm shop and the cafe.

This is a really good site for peace and quiet, plenty of walks including the Berwyn Trail and Brenig Trail which both pass nearby.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Squiffy1 5 reviews from this member

A small rural site on a narrow lane off the A5 outside Corwen.

Facilities were clean and tidy with ample hot water. The warden was friendly and was ready and waiting for us when we arrived.

We were only staying for one night so did not have chance to visit any local attractions although there was a well- stocked info shed.

We did walk to the nearby Rhug Organic Farm Shop which had been officially opened the previous day by Prince Charles. This is well worth a visit and includes a restaurant and up market takeaway.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cestrian 7 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site! Just back from 3 glorious nights at this site, everything was just right including the weather!

The site is quiet, well kept, clean and the wardens are absolutely lovely, keep the place spotless and will do anything for anyone!

Not much facilities immediately near to the site, its a 10 minute walk to Rhug Farm Shop, which sells excellent meat and a few touristy things. Site pleasantly situated by surrounding fields and quite easy to get to the local tourist sites at Bala, Llangollen and Betwys y Coed.

If you want solitude, peace and quiet and a well kept location this is it, if you don't please keep away. We will be back soon!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Snow1 3 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site. Relaxing, welcoming and quiet. It is how caravan sites should be.

The toilet facilities are are very very clean and there is plenty of room in the shower units.

The grass is excellently maintained and the wardens are extremely welcoming and helpful.

We spent a lovely week at Gaer Hyfryd, walking, cycling and quiet reading - many many thanks to the wardens. Diolch yn fawr.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tom.louie.s 1 review from this member

We are two very happy boys who come here with our mum and dad and we love this site lots! Nerys and Jonny who run the site are very very nice and friendly.

The park is great and our two dogs love to have a run around in the dogs field! We go to lots of sites but this is one of our favourites! Bala isnt far and that's really nice, loads to do around the lake.

There is a farmshop, just at the bottom of the lane, it sells the best burgers ever !

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Denbighshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4352 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019