Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness By Dumfries > Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Southerness
Southerness By Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG2 8AZ
Tel: 0844 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 239
Open: 18/03/2020 to 06/10/2020
           18/03/2021 to 06/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 28 Reviews
                7/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Miss baritone 14 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site. Facilities were spotless and staff went out their way to be helpful.

Toilets were immaculate and regularly cleaned. Lovely hot powerful showers although the water does drain over the floor so make sure you hang everything dry up on the provided hooks.

Pool was closed due to corona virus but plenty of sports and art and crafts activities available for the kids. My little nephew loved running round shooting nerf guns and staff were brilliant with them.

Onsite restaurant was lovely and participated in the half price eat out scheme.

Beach is ok for walking dogs, collecting shells etc but if you want golden sand to play in you’re better off driving about 20 mins up the coast.

We ended up on this site by accident after a mix up with our holiday dates (our fault not the sites) and this was the only site in a reasonable travelling distance that had availability. Not only did the company agree to transfer us but we also got a refund as this site was cheaper. My sister decided to join us for a couple of nights in her tent and was only charged £20 a night with electric hookup. (Cheaper than most basic sites at the moment).

We were very impressed and plan on returning again in the future when all the facilities are open 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulmold 66 reviews from this member

 Did intend to stay 3 nights here as website showed price of £39 for pitch with electric for 3 nights. Upon arrival it was obvious to us that this was not our type of site so decided to only stay one night for which we were charged £16. Luckily it was out of season and the touring areas were almost empty. The toilet block although clean did not include one single washbasin that had a plug. How are you expected to wash if you can't fill a basin. This simply reflects the type of customer and not the efforts of the staff to maintain a decent standard. As said, not our type of site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ktqcumber 11 reviews from this member

 This is a holiday park therefore limited space as the park was full. Swimming pool with flume was a 'splash' for us all. Staff worked hard to keep it clean but unfortunately others worked harder at making a mess! Entertainment block is good. Toilets and showers were new and looked lovely, though water was cold. We found it better to shower at the swimming pool. If you are after a holiday park this is good, but maybe not for the more traditional camper 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MobilMan 4 reviews from this member

 We went for 3 nights in our campervan, 2 adults + our old dog,

Picked this site as we were visiting friends in the area, booked online no problem on arrival we were given our paperwork and site map and directed to our pitch, also toilet key (£3. 00 returnable deposit) unfortunately we were pitched right next to the children's play area, we are both in our 60's so asked to be given another pitch nearer the toilets, this they did and actually upgraded us to a serviced pitch with water tap next to power point. Although the site was not full there were a lot of children around ( Scottish school holidays), but it was ok. The toilets were spotless with free showers and were very warm. We never got to use our free passes to the club on site as we were out and about with our friends. Overall it was ok, and we will go again when visiting our friends, but would say it is more suited to families with children. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Touran 09 5 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from 10days at southerness. Fantastic can't fault the site at all. Arrived and checked in very quickly. Excellent pitch. Toilets very clean. Showers take time to get hot but can't fault it. Could do with some windows to get rid of steam etc.

Swimming was fabulous with lots of life guards and staff. Pub on site great and free wifi. Check out offers on meals two steaks and a bottle of wine £30.

Some great walks around and golf. Patchy mobile phone signal. Nisa shop on site. Nearest supermarket is a 20min drive away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Missarahmlee@hotmai 21 reviews from this member

 TOURING CARAVAN - paid £120 for 5 nights in English half term. This was for a hard standing serviced pitch. No complaints at all with regards to access, pitch, services, cleaning, play area, other campers or their dogs and kids.

Nisa shop on site well stocked-especially if you like ham - and has bags of fabulous fresh bread rolls daily.

Pool on site is a boon, as not a great deal to do in the area without driving miles - but is not freely available all day as there are paid activities running too. So don't expect to be out all day and then have a relaxing evening swim. The restaurants amusements etc are all located in one area and if its not your thing you need never even see them. Beach very nice for a potter or kite flying but take binoculars to see the sea - its an estuary

NIT PICKS - Shower block dark and not very spacious. The shower heads are placed directly above the stalls - recommend you hide behind the shower curtain in the 'dry area' reach through with your hand and push the button till it runs warm. The water drains across the floor of your 'dry area' so don't leave anything on the floor unless you wanted to wash your pants at the same time.

No phone signal

Free wifi - never managed to get on it

Costa coffe machine had been turned off for cleaning every time we wanted one

I cant recommend driving all the way from Staffordshire to visit this site or area but if you are more local its absolutely fine. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AhgdP 8 reviews from this member

 On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, agreeing to move our pitch having concurred that it was rather unpleasant to be located directly next to the toilet block! A meander through the site after we checked in confirmed that this wasn't perhaps the kind of site that really suited our family so our review will clearly reflect this. Our alarm at being told that we would require ID cards in order to get past the security guards at the 'family' restaurant confirmed our fears! Having fought our way past the multitude of families busily feeding change into the slot machines, the food really wasn't too bad at all. We left well before we had to experience any of the entertainment!

The staff cannot be held responsible for the poor behaviour of other users of the site, both children and adults. The washrooms had been left in a bad state by residents who clearly had not been instructed in basic hygiene procedures. Noise, shouting, swearing etc continued well into the night. The site is surrounded by a collection of holiday homes in various states of decrepitude and we had to instruct our children to watch carefully where they walked as people were clearly as disinclined to clear up their dogs' mess as that of their own.

The pool itself was clean and well maintained and run by efficient, vigilant staff. This was a very pleasant surprise.

Soaring above the site, although clearly not visited by the many of the residents who seemed to sit outside their caravans drinking all day, was the summit of Criffel which could be seen for miles around. Although we would not stay at Southerness again we will certainly revisit the area to take on a hike up this beautiful peak which took on the reflected colours of the sky as the light continued well into the evening.

The location is a good access point for mountain biking in the D & G forests, particularly Mabie which is a short drive away. We had a fantastic day here and there is a great play area (not frequented by rude, abusive children, as at Southerness). 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Melvi 5 reviews from this member

 We booked this site through the sun £9.50 holidays. We always use our touring caravan but on this long weekend seven of us were going(5 adults 2 kids). On arrival we were greeted with a very friendly welcome at reception. Once settled in we then had a visit from housekeeping to make sure everything was fine which there were no complaints from us as everything was spotless. All the staff throughout the whole park are friendly and very helpful. The pool is one of the cleanest I have used in a holiday park as was the entertainment complex. Cant comment on the showbar as we didn't use it. Food looked good at reasonable prices. I would go back again with my tourer as the touring area looks good but couldn't see inside the toilet block as this was a security code. Going by the rest of the site I think the toilet block will be a high standard 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bec_xx 8 reviews from this member

 A fantastic welcome when we arrived! The best I've ever had from a holiday park company such as park dean.

We found our pitch easily and set up with no fuss. Ground is soft and pegs sometimes worked there way out of the ground. Pitches were evenly spaced on fairly even ground.

Toilets and showers were clean and adequate for the site. A park on the camping field kept the kids amused and allowed them to make friends whilst being in view. Washing up facilities are good, though no plugs in sinks so travel plug or bowl is required.

Pool was lovely and clean. Beware it is timed slots of use. You are given a band and only have 50 minutes to get in and splash about before you have to get out. Has a viewing area so if kids are over 9 years you can watch them without having to get in.

Restaurant with lovely food and not to badly priced. Drinks in the clubhouse are the usual holiday park prices. Entertainment was good and kept the kids amused for a while in the evening.

Shop and launderette were useful to the site as a half hour drive to dumfries had to be driven before anything else was close by. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiltoony 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from camping at this site. The toilet facilities were ok the toilet block was broken so you had to use the wash rooms to do the toilet and where always spotless thanks to the warden. Entertainment was good with the Troupers giving it there all and the swimming pool with the flume kept the Grandkids happy. Only bad point was the wind this is the second time we been there and it always the same it puts you off coming. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southerness By Dumfries      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1362 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement