Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness By Dumfries > Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Southerness
Southerness By Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG2 8AZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 239
Open: 18/03/2024 to 06/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 47 Reviews
                7/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Miss baritone 20 reviews from this member

 We ended up on this site by accident 2 years ago and weíre impressed so decided once coronavirus restrictions were lifted we would return. We werenít disappointed.

The site was lovely. Big field and beach to walk the dogs. Loads of facilities for kids including clubhouse, amusement arcade, swimming pool, playgrounds.

It was clean showers and toilets were good but you do need to hang clothes up or the water will run over them.

Swimming pool was great and no problem getting in. My nephews loved it all. There were plenty of activities for both ages. We visited the show bar on an evening for kids club.

Drinks were a little pricey but you expect that on a holiday camp site. I would say this site is aimed at family entertainment and thatís what you get.

Donít bother if you are looking for an adult quiet break. We had a whale of a time and will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jo Treby 30 reviews from this member

 Where to start: The good points: The Staff were all very helpful, the pitch had EHU, fresh water and drainage, there was a free pass to the entertainment complex, and you could walk to the beach.

The negative points: No choice of pitch without paying an extra fee to change, despite there being plenty of empty pitches. Dated toilet facilities and honestly not that clean.

The family/baby changing area was in the disabled toilet/shower room and the door was always propped open. The water in the showers ran through the entire cubicle and the neighbouring ones out into the common area before it got to a drain.

Our pitch was very close to the neighbouring pitches although within the legal limit. Worse than that however was the cleaners station/hut opposite the pitch.

The cleaners used the empty pitches to park their cars on, there was loud talking, music from cars and worst of all the opening and closing of van doors when they came and went all day long. Not the restful break we had hoped for.

We were also very near the children's play ground and although not a problem this time because it was not school holidays or a weekend. I can imagine that it would be very noisy at those times.

The park is old and dated and could do with a full refurb of the common areas. Park Dean could do with being more flexible outside of peak times so that people could choose their pitch on arrival. The staff on site have no say whatsoever in the pitch choice.

Out of Park Deans control is the weather, it is very windy there at Southerness and it was like that for the whole of our stay. If you like the entertainment that is on offer then you will probably not mind that there is very little to do in the area.

Finally I would not recommend this resort and will never be going to a Park Dean resort every again. Not for us. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Maggie 1 review from this member

 Loved this site.

Was very clean, facilities were adequate and beautiful surroundings.

Close to Ben Nevis visitor centre. Also not too far to walk into the centre of Glen Nevis where you can pick up the great glen way and walk to Neptunes staircase.

I would definitely recommend this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Angela Litke 1 review from this member

 So I booked this for end of may bank holiday, when I booked I was aware that I had to book pool activities, which I did, only to be told they did not have my booking. Eventually 2 out of our party of 4 were fitted in to a slot, so then later on thought we'd ask for a Costa takeaway coffee which I was told needed to be done via an app which I had no Wifi or Mobile Signal to obtain the drinks,

Then I thought we'd take our passes to the bar only to be told again we needed to book, luckily a fab pub, called the Paul Jones was a short walk away and provided us with drinks with no fuss or stupid Apps and booking,

Overall, nice park, clean toilets, but waste of time obtaining unusable entertainment or children's passes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheenzy 1 review from this member

 Here for the May weekend but no swimming slots left as owners getting priority.

The bar courtyard has only 4 umbrellas and NO other cover to protect from rain. Surely you could have had a marquee or gazebo for cover.

Toilets and campsite spotless but thereís nothing to do! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Miss baritone 20 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site. Facilities were spotless and staff went out their way to be helpful.

Toilets were immaculate and regularly cleaned. Lovely hot powerful showers although the water does drain over the floor so make sure you hang everything dry up on the provided hooks.

Pool was closed due to corona virus but plenty of sports and art and crafts activities available for the kids. My little nephew loved running round shooting nerf guns and staff were brilliant with them.

Onsite restaurant was lovely and participated in the half price eat out scheme.

Beach is ok for walking dogs, collecting shells etc but if you want golden sand to play in youíre better off driving about 20 mins up the coast.

We ended up on this site by accident after a mix up with our holiday dates (our fault not the sites) and this was the only site in a reasonable travelling distance that had availability. Not only did the company agree to transfer us but we also got a refund as this site was cheaper. My sister decided to join us for a couple of nights in her tent and was only charged £20 a night with electric hookup. (Cheaper than most basic sites at the moment).

We were very impressed and plan on returning again in the future when all the facilities are open 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulmold 98 reviews from this member

 Did intend to stay 3 nights here as website showed price of £39 for pitch with electric for 3 nights. Upon arrival it was obvious to us that this was not our type of site so decided to only stay one night for which we were charged £16. Luckily it was out of season and the touring areas were almost empty. The toilet block although clean did not include one single washbasin that had a plug. How are you expected to wash if you can't fill a basin. This simply reflects the type of customer and not the efforts of the staff to maintain a decent standard. As said, not our type of site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ktqcumber 11 reviews from this member

 This is a holiday park therefore limited space as the park was full. Swimming pool with flume was a 'splash' for us all. Staff worked hard to keep it clean but unfortunately others worked harder at making a mess! Entertainment block is good. Toilets and showers were new and looked lovely, though water was cold. We found it better to shower at the swimming pool. If you are after a holiday park this is good, but maybe not for the more traditional camper 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MobilMan 4 reviews from this member

 We went for 3 nights in our campervan, 2 adults + our old dog,

Picked this site as we were visiting friends in the area, booked online no problem on arrival we were given our paperwork and site map and directed to our pitch, also toilet key (£3. 00 returnable deposit) unfortunately we were pitched right next to the children's play area, we are both in our 60's so asked to be given another pitch nearer the toilets, this they did and actually upgraded us to a serviced pitch with water tap next to power point. Although the site was not full there were a lot of children around ( Scottish school holidays), but it was ok. The toilets were spotless with free showers and were very warm. We never got to use our free passes to the club on site as we were out and about with our friends. Overall it was ok, and we will go again when visiting our friends, but would say it is more suited to families with children. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Touran 09 5 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from 10days at southerness. Fantastic can't fault the site at all. Arrived and checked in very quickly. Excellent pitch. Toilets very clean. Showers take time to get hot but can't fault it. Could do with some windows to get rid of steam etc.

Swimming was fabulous with lots of life guards and staff. Pub on site great and free wifi. Check out offers on meals two steaks and a bottle of wine £30.

Some great walks around and golf. Patchy mobile phone signal. Nisa shop on site. Nearest supermarket is a 20min drive away. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southerness By Dumfries      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement