Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness By Dumfries > Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Southerness Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Southerness
Southerness By Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG2 8AZ
Tel: 0844 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 41 Reviews
                7/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmold 49 reviews from this member

Did intend to stay 3 nights here as website showed price of £39 for pitch with electric for 3 nights. Upon arrival it was obvious to us that this was not our type of site so decided to only stay one night for which we were charged £16. Luckily it was out of season and the touring areas were almost empty. The toilet block although clean did not include one single washbasin that had a plug. How are you expected to wash if you can't fill a basin. This simply reflects the type of customer and not the efforts of the staff to maintain a decent standard. As said, not our type of site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ktqcumber 11 reviews from this member

This is a holiday park therefore limited space as the park was full. Swimming pool with flume was a 'splash' for us all. Staff worked hard to keep it clean but unfortunately others worked harder at making a mess! Entertainment block is good. Toilets and showers were new and looked lovely, though water was cold. We found it better to shower at the swimming pool. If you are after a holiday park this is good, but maybe not for the more traditional camper

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MobilMan 4 reviews from this member

We went for 3 nights in our campervan, 2 adults + our old dog,

Picked this site as we were visiting friends in the area, booked online no problem on arrival we were given our paperwork and site map and directed to our pitch, also toilet key (£3. 00 returnable deposit) unfortunately we were pitched right next to the children's play area, we are both in our 60's so asked to be given another pitch nearer the toilets, this they did and actually upgraded us to a serviced pitch with water tap next to power point. Although the site was not full there were a lot of children around ( Scottish school holidays), but it was ok. The toilets were spotless with free showers and were very warm. We never got to use our free passes to the club on site as we were out and about with our friends. Overall it was ok, and we will go again when visiting our friends, but would say it is more suited to families with children.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Touran 09 5 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from 10days at southerness. Fantastic can't fault the site at all. Arrived and checked in very quickly. Excellent pitch. Toilets very clean. Showers take time to get hot but can't fault it. Could do with some windows to get rid of steam etc.

Swimming was fabulous with lots of life guards and staff. Pub on site great and free wifi. Check out offers on meals two steaks and a bottle of wine £30.

Some great walks around and golf. Patchy mobile phone signal. Nisa shop on site. Nearest supermarket is a 20min drive away.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missarahmlee@hotmai 21 reviews from this member

TOURING CARAVAN - paid £120 for 5 nights in English half term. This was for a hard standing serviced pitch. No complaints at all with regards to access, pitch, services, cleaning, play area, other campers or their dogs and kids.

Nisa shop on site well stocked-especially if you like ham - and has bags of fabulous fresh bread rolls daily.

Pool on site is a boon, as not a great deal to do in the area without driving miles - but is not freely available all day as there are paid activities running too. So don't expect to be out all day and then have a relaxing evening swim. The restaurants amusements etc are all located in one area and if its not your thing you need never even see them. Beach very nice for a potter or kite flying but take binoculars to see the sea - its an estuary

NIT PICKS - Shower block dark and not very spacious. The shower heads are placed directly above the stalls - recommend you hide behind the shower curtain in the 'dry area' reach through with your hand and push the button till it runs warm. The water drains across the floor of your 'dry area' so don't leave anything on the floor unless you wanted to wash your pants at the same time.

No phone signal

Free wifi - never managed to get on it

Costa coffe machine had been turned off for cleaning every time we wanted one

I cant recommend driving all the way from Staffordshire to visit this site or area but if you are more local its absolutely fine.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AhgdP 8 reviews from this member

On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, agreeing to move our pitch having concurred that it was rather unpleasant to be located directly next to the toilet block! A meander through the site after we checked in confirmed that this wasn't perhaps the kind of site that really suited our family so our review will clearly reflect this. Our alarm at being told that we would require ID cards in order to get past the security guards at the 'family' restaurant confirmed our fears! Having fought our way past the multitude of families busily feeding change into the slot machines, the food really wasn't too bad at all. We left well before we had to experience any of the entertainment!

The staff cannot be held responsible for the poor behaviour of other users of the site, both children and adults. The washrooms had been left in a bad state by residents who clearly had not been instructed in basic hygiene procedures. Noise, shouting, swearing etc continued well into the night. The site is surrounded by a collection of holiday homes in various states of decrepitude and we had to instruct our children to watch carefully where they walked as people were clearly as disinclined to clear up their dogs' mess as that of their own.

The pool itself was clean and well maintained and run by efficient, vigilant staff. This was a very pleasant surprise.

Soaring above the site, although clearly not visited by the many of the residents who seemed to sit outside their caravans drinking all day, was the summit of Criffel which could be seen for miles around. Although we would not stay at Southerness again we will certainly revisit the area to take on a hike up this beautiful peak which took on the reflected colours of the sky as the light continued well into the evening.

The location is a good access point for mountain biking in the D & G forests, particularly Mabie which is a short drive away. We had a fantastic day here and there is a great play area (not frequented by rude, abusive children, as at Southerness).

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Melvi 5 reviews from this member

We booked this site through the sun £9.50 holidays. We always use our touring caravan but on this long weekend seven of us were going(5 adults 2 kids). On arrival we were greeted with a very friendly welcome at reception. Once settled in we then had a visit from housekeeping to make sure everything was fine which there were no complaints from us as everything was spotless. All the staff throughout the whole park are friendly and very helpful. The pool is one of the cleanest I have used in a holiday park as was the entertainment complex. Cant comment on the showbar as we didn't use it. Food looked good at reasonable prices. I would go back again with my tourer as the touring area looks good but couldn't see inside the toilet block as this was a security code. Going by the rest of the site I think the toilet block will be a high standard

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bec_xx 8 reviews from this member

A fantastic welcome when we arrived! The best I've ever had from a holiday park company such as park dean.

We found our pitch easily and set up with no fuss. Ground is soft and pegs sometimes worked there way out of the ground. Pitches were evenly spaced on fairly even ground.

Toilets and showers were clean and adequate for the site. A park on the camping field kept the kids amused and allowed them to make friends whilst being in view. Washing up facilities are good, though no plugs in sinks so travel plug or bowl is required.

Pool was lovely and clean. Beware it is timed slots of use. You are given a band and only have 50 minutes to get in and splash about before you have to get out. Has a viewing area so if kids are over 9 years you can watch them without having to get in.

Restaurant with lovely food and not to badly priced. Drinks in the clubhouse are the usual holiday park prices. Entertainment was good and kept the kids amused for a while in the evening.

Shop and launderette were useful to the site as a half hour drive to dumfries had to be driven before anything else was close by.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kiltoony 4 reviews from this member

Just back from camping at this site. The toilet facilities were ok the toilet block was broken so you had to use the wash rooms to do the toilet and where always spotless thanks to the warden. Entertainment was good with the Troupers giving it there all and the swimming pool with the flume kept the Grandkids happy. Only bad point was the wind this is the second time we been there and it always the same it puts you off coming.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Raftguid1977 6 reviews from this member

This has been the best time in a static in a long time, 4 nights midweek the caravan was really clean, the entertainment staff where a bit well not quite bigger park, but dam if they didn't give it 110% even though their where maybe 50 people in the club, the drinks are not to over priced (on average 3 quid cheaper than haven sites).

The food court well the mixed grill was mighty fine we ate their 3 nights and not one complaint the food is really good and well prepared.

I must say the dark skies car parks spotted about Galloway Forrest are worth that late night trip.

Dalbeattie is 12 miles away (cheap fuel than most areas) and some small shops and cash machine (site charges 1. 75 for use of cash machine) plus the love heart stone is here.

Dumfries is 15 miles away with better shops.

But the trip to dalbeattie is well worth the drive. Be careful of a night I've never had to brake and dodge so many animals.

Well worth the trip and we have already booked for next may.

We didn't use the pool but it seemed pretty big with a slide for the kids.

Laggan Outdoor is a must for the more adrenaline type we did the longest uk zip wire (15 quid 10 quid if you want a repeat) and dam if I didn't go back up a second time. I could go on but the area is studded with things for everyone to go and see or do.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019