Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blaen Cefn Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Blaen Cefn Leisure Park Reviews

Blaen Cefn Leisure Park
Park Road
Penrhyndeudraeth
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL48 6NA
Tel: 01766 770014
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 45
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RESTLESS 16 reviews from this member

Quite a large site, well spaced pitches, reliable EHU & water taps on each pitch as well as a TV aerial (didn't use this so can't comment). Each pitch is flat, has a slate chipping area to park on and a piece of grass alongside. Enough space for an awning and to be comfortable.

The toilets & showers are ok, could do with updating and a more in depth daily clean to remove hair, soap etc. I am fussy but I think most women are. No problem with availability of hot water. The washing machines seemed popular, the pot washing are was clean and tidy.

Grey water has to be taken in buckets, a way away. The chemical toilet disposal needs a sign but does its job.

The man at reception is a wealth of knowledge about the area and a really friendly guy as well, nothing too much trouble for him.

The cycle routes in the area are well signed, the route into Porthmadog being especially enjoyable and well thought out.

There is a fishing lake on site. The children have a nice play area and the grounds are quite child friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MMC1973 4 reviews from this member

Came on site in June as a seasonal tourer was greeted by the owner, we were able to come and view the site previously. The site is well kept with very good space between tourers. We chose a pitch and hooked up. Toilets we found very clean and available, can't comment on showers because we always used our own in the caravan, but laundry room was lovely and airy and I really liked the information area with brochures on places to visit. The fishing lake was a lovely bonus although we aren't fishers we often spoke to people fishing there. The owner is a great asset to this site as we often saw him helping people any time of the day. There's a village just up the road which has a couple of pubs, takeaways and spar so everything was close by, Porthmadog was a few mile away with the lovely harbour where crabbing is a great activity, but the best was black rock sands beach where you can drive on with the car, this we found handy with our jetski. All in all a lovely site would stay again and recommend to friends.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GJ50 1 review from this member

Having read the last review my family and I were also at the site on the August Bank Holiday weekend in question and like everyone else on site that day were invited to the owners eldest sons 18th birthday party free of charge, free food, free drink & free entertainment all at the owners expense, everyone who attended had a very enjoyable night and totally unexpected, this is the hospitality shown by the site owners and staff no one is left out and nothing is to much trouble for them, would I return? already booked for next year, TWICE !

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

First impressions of this site were good, the warden offered a friendly welcome and directed us to our pitch on the bottom field.

The weather on the first night was awful, torrential rain and thunder storms. Site coped ok with this though it did mean the kids play area was waterlogged for the next few days.

Price for caravan, EHU, awning, two adults, two kids and dog was a bargain at £20 per night.

Facilities were pretty basic. The toilets, washroom and showers really needed updating but were adequate.

There is some noise from the main road but this dies down at night.

The only major criticism from me is, on our final night the owners held a birthday party, fair enough. However extremely loud music was played until the early hours of the morning keeping all of us awake. I'm pretty sure that if we'd have played music late at night, the warden would have told us off and rightly so.

I feel that we should have been told about this party when we booked, then we could have chosen to go elsewhere

A bad ending to a good stay.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sharonwyn 8 reviews from this member

As a 2nd year seasonal holder at Blaen Cefn Park there have been many improvements to the site from last year. Extra shower facilities for family and ladies are a great improvement, large washing facilities for pots and pans too.

Basically the old games room has been turned to be used for campers to wash clothes with two washing machines, 2 tumble dryers and 3 large kitchen sink areas for washing pots and pans with plenty of room.

The showers in the ladies have included a large walk in shower room with electric showers which are warm and roomy with shampoo holders on the wall. Other comments about heating in the shower rooms obviously depends on the weather outside, but generally I find that after the warm shower, you don't need to hang around there, and more than ever there is a need to open the windows to allow fresh air into the room. This year the shower fees have been taken off completely, so the showers are FREE of charge. Huge improvement to the routing around the handbag for a £1 coin!

The building which houses the above facilities is a stone built building, which is very inkeeping with the area of the National Snowdonia Park, which is a stunning building with well maintained gardens surrounding it.

In the area surrounding there is access to many facilities, taxis (recommending B & M), public transport, local pub in the village The Griffin is very friendly with pool table, darts board and you can also join in the local events that are held there too. Brondanw Arms or The Ring is a fabulous place to eat, with excellent children facilities - highly recommended, or The Oakley Arms is also recommended.

The camp site in general is well maintained, with the park warden being helpful and full of information. The garden areas are well kept and some lovely rockery and flowered areas have been introduced this year along with some chickens, hens, ducks and pigs also for the kids to feed and watch.

The camp site is definitely one to try if wanting to tour/holiday in North Wales area with Porthmadog being only 3 miles away for beaches, shopping and some excellent fishing and water sports in the areas too. Lidl, Aldi, Spar and Tescos as well as bakeries, butchers, greengrocers, fish shop, betting shop, factory shops, off licences. Everything you need to make your trip to the area easy.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We came across site by chance and wanted a one night stopover.

First impressions a very well kept site - everything is immaculate and very well looked after. We were given a good sized hardstanding pitch with water nearby and ehu. Our tv lead plugged into the connection on the ehu bollard - perfect.

The site is being developed and would guess there is nearer 60 odd pitches now. The shower / toilet block is old but clean and functional. No charge for showers but we found the water freezing or too hot to stand under - very low pressure. Block isnt heated so very cold. Only 3 showers in ladies. Warden advised new block not yet approved but really does need an upgrade to current facilities. Site next to a fairly busy road but no real traffic noise at night. A fishing lake on site which is being extended and a large children's play area which looked well kept with plenty to keep smaller people amused.

Nearby village is lovely - everything you could need and an easy 15 minute walk.

Staff on site very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Seems to be a large number of seasonals on site but again all vans were immaculate and no signs on old vans that have been left for years.

Overall its a lovely site which is kept amazingly well. We paid £20 per night for 2 adults with ehu - would still recommend a visit there as it really is a lovely looking site with great warden and the area is gorgeous.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carllovely 2 reviews from this member

Had a seasonal pitch at Blaen Cefn for four or five years, how time flies.

Was like a fish out of water when we first pitched, Stuart who was a seasonal pitcher at the time gave us an unbelievable help in what went were and how things worked in the van, how patient he was.

Our pitch was huge, hardstanding all round, water electric and an aerial. Our neighbours, Stuart Phil Kev and Garreth, the owner, chewed on the fat most weekends

Blaen is in a great spot, for beaches Borth y Gest, Black Rock, and for the adventurous, Hells Mouth for Kiting and surfing.

Will miss Blaen Cefn, couldn't fault it, you can pick faults at the most prestigious establishments anywhere, but you cant fault the people who go there.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caseyjones 3 reviews from this member

Great site, nice friendly fellow caravanners - many of whom have been staying for many a year. Campers are also well catered for with new park area complete with several water points, electric hook up, and low-level lighting.

Stuart - the extremely efficient Park Manager, greated us, showed us to one of the few vacant pitches, hooked up our outfit - and even made up a special long-length television lead, as 'our' bollard only had power and water. And there was no tv-lead charge, nor deposit requested.

I couldn't understand the last review comment - this is incorrect when referring to the caravan pitches = 'PS, you will need a satellite system for TV reception as normal aerials will not work' - Thanks to Stuart's tv leads, the system gives excellent reception.

Looking forward to staying for longer in 2012!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ron.hancock 2 reviews from this member

Well just went away to this site for the third time and every time we come back totally relaxed.

To start with you arrive at site to a lovely greeting by site manager Stuart.

He tries way and beyond to site your caravan to your needs (i am Disabled0

The site is so clean grass it kept lovely the majority of pitches are hard standing on nice slate power point next to each pitch.

On each piller for Electric their is a place to plug into their tv ariel so perfect telly.

Toilets and showers are cleaned sevral times a day very clean.

Their is no shop or club house on site but village shops are short drive away.

Their is a great fishing lake I am a novice but still cought 18 fish in 4 hours largest being over 5 lb the lake is full of fish mirror and common carp Bream Tench and others I did not know.

If you want to go for a real nice relaxing break away from all the bussle and hastle then I can really recommend this site.

It has lovely veiws of really nice hills country side woods and in the distant you hear the steam railway. We went for short break but stayed 8 days and wish we where still their.

Lot of the caravans stay all season they go as me for short break but find it so amazing they just decide to leave their touring caravans their all year.

They are all so friendly and very helpful suprised to get invited by them to join their Bar B Q as I say a very friendly comfortable site with great people.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sambomonkee 4 reviews from this member

Well we have just got back from a week staying here, and really didn't want to leave. In fact we liked it so much we have booked another week here later in August.

The site is fantastic, all the pitches have electric and water connections and are all hard standing (bring your rock pegs)

The children's play area is just right for kids, I would say up to 12 years old, and the site is safe to let them run around on their own.

The site is beautifully landscaped and is kept/maintained to the highest order.

Yes the shows and toilets are a little small, but with the new shower blocked planned this will not be much of a problem for too long.

The site manager Stuart is a real character and a person that you just need to have a chat we, as his knowledge of the area is very detailed.

PS, you will need a satellite system for TV reception as normal aerials will not work, although Stuart did say they did play to put TV connections into each pitch at some point.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019