Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Over The Farmers Gate Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes > Over The Farmers Gate Campsite Reviews

Over The Farmers Gate Campsite
Glangwy Farm
Llangurig
Llanidloes
Powys   (Browse area)
SY18 6RS
Tel: 07890083630
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cyclemark 1 review from this member

This was the day two stop on the Trans Cambrian off road cycling trail for me. A warm welcome with the offer of cake because I looked so exhausted was a great start.

I was looking to set up my wet tent with my dehydrated food and stay wet. No problem for the owner who offered, because of my pathetic state, a small hut. What a find! A room with a view. I had space to spread, was dry and was very grateful.

Facilities are more than enough for roughty tufty cyclists and walkers.

And only fiver. Thanks so much!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadics 1 review from this member

My Husband and I have stayed here many times and enjoy each stay. Sue and family are always welcoming and helpful making you feel they care about the comfort, safety and enjoyment of everyone staying with them. It's a get away from it all place where you can connect with nature, from the farms own animals and surroundings, to watching the wild life and looking at a variety of plants and trees. The area around about has lovely scenery with undulating hills pleasing to look at either from the comfort of your seat or getting your walking boots on to wonder up through them. There are places of interest either to do a walk, get a bus or drive to. Less than an hour's drive to the coast of Aberystwyth. Tea shop post office and pub in near by llangurig. If you are some one who needs a retail fix! Newtown has shops restaurants cafes and markets if you can't come away and leave it behind for a few days! This is a place to leave all modern life behind and come and enjoy finding yourself and being able to think clearly.

There are two toilets in block bottom of site with cold running water(no hot water) these are cleaned daily with fresh hand towels toilet rolls kept well supplied. Washing up sink at end of block(cold running water).

Next to the house there is a toilet with shower unit and sink, £1 coin needed for shower(don't worry if you run out of pound coins! Sue always keeps some handy, you just need to ask!) Shower is lovely and hot. ENJOY YOUR STAY.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FJay 1 review from this member

Warm welcome, warm weather, warm shower - what else could one ask for?! Meant to stay 4 nights, were still there a week later.

Basic but clean facilities, fresh eggs from the farm for breakfast, peace, tranquillity and great views. Flexible, accommodating owners, lots of space, reasonable prices, friendly 'neighbours'.

A very good base for exploring Mid Wales - walks, pony trekking, kite spotting (and feeding) or just skimming stones with the kids on the river Wye and toasting marshmallows over the campfire.

Would love to return.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jibbajabba649 8 reviews from this member

Firstly the unit we were in was the roof tent on our 110 defender county station wagon, so a tent, but on a vehicle!

Secondly, this site allowed us as a land rover group, to stay local to the activities that we had planned, so a massive thank you to the, from what I gathered, friendly staff! (i didn't actually speak to them!)

There were 8 land rovers in our group, we were self contained apart from toilets, for which the basic site facilities were more than adequate.

The ground drained well, we were in a separate field and hopefully didn't disturb anyone else and the setting was amazing.

Even though the site has basic facilities, they were clean and tidy, and it still amazed us that we only paid £6 for a pitch, ie a vehicle, per night!

Our dogs loved it and we would definitely return if visiting that part of Wales again!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The chemist 1 review from this member

What a brilliant find. Area great and owner Sue and her father, who farm close by the site, are really great people.

Site offers shower and toilets. Some electric hook ups. Plenty of nearby walks. Small village inc post office, pubs and tea rooms within 5 monute drive

This is what it's all about

Many Thanks

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chriswoat22 1 review from this member

The owners were friendly and only happy to help before booking. The site was nice and quiet in the evening, having all the essential facilities, an ideal base for me after a long days walk. Situated a short walk from the River Wye there are great walks on your door step, or for the more adventurous a walk into the hills to find the source of the Wye and River Severn. Hope to revisit Glangwy Farm again soon to explore the area more

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Effnboots 15 reviews from this member

Location great with lovely views and owners from farm friendly. Hardstanding pitch which was just as well as we had ice, snow and then loads of rain during our stay. Loads of Red kites around.

I think if I used the facilities in my van I wouldn't mind this site, but we tend to use the toilets, showers and washing up facilities when on site. The facilities here were very basic and not exactly welcoming on a cold morning or evening! The toilet was down a wooded path whilst the shower at a £1 a go was in the opposite direction attached to the farm bungalow. The washing up basin was outside with no cover, light or hot water.

We didn't manage to find the exact secure dog areas that we read about, the farmer said we could use any of fields. They weren't exactly fully secure and unfortunately were very wet!

Dogs loved it though! Would come back if wanted to explore the area but only if using own facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sally080457 1 review from this member

We stayed for a week, the site was exactly as described, in fact better, the surrounding countryside was simply breathtaking, the facilities were basic but worked, the water was beautiful spring water, , the owner could not have been more helpful, but the icing on the cake was absolute tranquillity, and acres of meadows all fenced in for two mad boxer dogs to have freedom to run and run and run! The red kites at gigrin farm were simply stunning and not to be missed, as were the cambrian mountains we will be going back. Thank you Sue for a wonderful experience.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bathamsmild 3 reviews from this member

Second visit to site, first with a tourer.

Beautiful location. Had some lovely walks along the river Wye, watching Red Kites.

The facilities are basic, but adequate and well looked after.

The hard standing pitch was flat with plenty of room around to manoeuvre - which was useful as this was our first time with a caravan.

It was a little chilly a night, so the EHU was most welcome.

Site staff friendly and helpful, even in the middle of lambing!

Very quiet, which is just how we like it!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Auraura 6 reviews from this member

If you want beautiful countryside, peace and quiet and lovely walks this is the site for you. Basic facilities but as in van, no problem. Site owners great, non interfering and helpful. Great walk up into hills as well as along valley.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2357 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019