Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cwmdu Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Crickhowell > Cwmdu Campsite Reviews

Cwmdu Campsite
Cwmdu
Crickhowell
Crickhowell
Powys   (Browse area)
NP81RU
Tel: 01874730741  or  07545193419
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 27th March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 11/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaka 1 review from this member

 The campsite Cwmdu Crickhowell was wonderful just wish we could have stayed longer.

The children loved it.

We will be back to stay for longer next time.

Would have liked the shop to be closer unless I missed it I just needed a few tinnies.

There were a lot of dogs on the site we donít have one but all ok.

Please follow the exact instructions to the site they make sense. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Malakym 1 review from this member

 Good quiet site, even though its close to a road on the bottom field.

Site is typically not level, and whilst there is terracing the amount is a pain if you're using a tent and cannot level.

Holds up well to wet weather, no bad wet spots and lots of hard tracks around the edge.

The womens toilet block is new, but the mens are old (have been year 8 years ago). The mens block is rather grim, and the showers are the usual electric overworked and struggling. There are 2 showers (male) that open straight out into the open, skip these and go into the block behind it.

It would be MUCH better if the men had similar facilities to the women's.

There are a lot of owls around, which is nice, sadly not enough to keep the rat population under control, which ate their way into our tent a few times and chewed into the storage cubby then into some packets of food, lovely.

There is a shop but the opening times are limited.

Except for the pub, there isn't much near by. If you like walking there is one a big hill behind the site which is walkable from the site, and a smaller one across the road. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 78 reviews from this member

 Smashing site in a nice quiet location, barely any road noise was heard.

A useful shop is on site and a fine pub a 10 minute stroll along with a Cafe, but that's it.

Some great walks are nearby as many public footpaths are all around the site.

The site is on a big slope so hard standings are needed for motorhomes and many are way out of level it should be noted.

Showers etc could not be faulted, clean and modern with no extra charge.

Site wifi is free and not to bad, super fast er no. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul.f 2 reviews from this member

 First time we have been to Cwmdu and I have to say that Andy and Jane are doing a great job. They were always there if you needed them and their hospitality is second to none.

Andy was kind enough to let me into his home to watch football. I have camped all over the country and never have I received such nice managers. Great job guys. See you soon.

Ps the food in the Farmers just down the road was nice but a very ltd menu.

Will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Goulding 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from three days over the late May bank holiday with our daughter, son in law and grandson who were in a tent. This is the second bank holiday we have camped here.

It is in a lovely position for walking, relaxing and the Brecon and Monmouthshire canal is near by. The site owners are very friendly.

Only advice we could give is to avoid the peak periods as the site is very popular and the bottom field is mostly taken up with groups, scouts etc which seems to overload the facilities available.

We were nearly always waiting for showers, toilets and even some of the drinking water taps ran dry at peak times. Also the water heater in the washing up room stopped supplying hot water as the tank could not fill up quick enough due to low pressure.

We also felt that to charge three year olds £6. 50 per night was a bit much. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thorgrim 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed Here For 3 nights 3rd - 6th August. For a Family trip out. 7 adults 2 Grand kids.

Facilities Ladies was Great so I was told.

Gents a little dated But works and very clean.

Staff. Fantastic.

Shop had Everything for the Basics.

Phone Signal. Dodgy at best & the wifi was on and off. But I'm away camping don't really need them.

Would go back a great site for touring the Area. 10/10 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grietje 2 reviews from this member

 Very fine, site, at the slope of a hill. Fast wifi, and we enjoyed the friendly owners. There is a new toilet building for women and a little shop on the site. You can make fine walks leaving directly from the campsite. Crickhowel is a lovely village nearby, good for shopping. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 17 reviews from this member

 The true test of any campsite is when its really busy. We went to Cwmdu for late spring bank holiday weekend so were able to put it to the test, which it passed with flying colours. It was fully booked, although a few people didn't turn up, presumably because the weather forecast didn't live up to its early promise.

This is a lovely little site which has a really nice feel. There have been some changes and improvements since we last visited a few years ago. There is a new ladies shower and toilet block with four cubicles of each. I'm not an early riser so probably not the best judge of whether this was sufficient, but never had to queue. Showers are warm and free with good sized cubicles and kept clean.

The bottom field which used to be completely open, now has marked pitches and some EHU which makes it more useable but without losing any of its charm. If you can get a pitch either near the top of the site or in the bottom field there are some stunning views down the valley.

Most of the pitches are of a generous size so it never felt cramped. I think the wardens take some care with placing people so try to avoid putting two huge tents next to each other for example. Although the site is sloping, many of the pitches have been levelled.

Its a great location for walking and an easy drive into the lovely small town of Crickhowell, but well placed for visits in all directions. We drove up to Hay as the literary festival was on and within easy reach.

There is a village pub within 10 mins walk. Its currently up for sale so I hope future reviewers will report on progress. Possibly as a result, our visit was a bit disappointing. Only one real ale available and very mediocre food which is a shame as it could be a lovely little country pub.

My only negative point about this site is that the shop/office is only open for a couple of hours each day (9-10 and 6-7) which is a nuisance if you have a problem (like the ladies hairdryer taking my money but not working!) as there is no-one to ask for help. However that's not enough to put us off and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Foxyrox 1 review from this member

 Visited the site over the August Bank holiday, so was busy and with only four showers and toilets, didn't think this was adequate. Having said that the site is surrounded by lovely countryside and you can walk to the canal and into Crickhowell, takes about ten minutes. The Bridge End pub has a lovely beer garden overlooking the river, food excellent but a little pricey for pub food. Within 30 mins drive to Brecon and the four waterfalls walk, which is a must do. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purplebean 19 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week at Cwmdu and had a wonderful time. This was probably helped by the good weather on all but one morning :)

The campsite is on the side of a valley and therefore slopes, there are a couple of flat areas but we opted for slope as it was in the sun and I would rather have the evening sun to sit in than a flatter ptich. The slope wasn't too bad, yes we slipped down our beds a bit but it didn't really affect sleeping (the rooks and owls did that)

The site is fairly quiet although there are a few lorries on the bottom road but the noisiest thing at night is the wildlife and as we go camping for this then it does not bother me, well unless it is in our tent!

The facilities are old but kept spotlessly clean and I did not have to wait for a shower at all. In the gents my son gave up one night and showered the next morning instead. But on the whole the facilities are fine for the size of site.

We stayed Monday - Monday and it was so quiet until Friday then the site busied up for the weekend and was a little noiser but still pretty quiet.

The Wifi was excellent until Friday then could not cope. By Sunday morning it was fine again. We were surprised that in August it was so quiet during the week but it suited us fine.

We had electric which worked well.

We did not manage to do all of the things on our list so will be visiting the area again and we will stay at this site as it provided everything we wanted at a reasonable price. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwmdu Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwmdu Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cwmdu Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crickhowell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020