Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwmdu Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Crickhowell > Cwmdu Campsite Reviews

Cwmdu Campsite
Cwmdu
Crickhowell
Crickhowell
Powys   (Browse area)
NP81RU
Tel: 01874730741  or  07545193419
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 27/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           25/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Susi Sunflower 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely location away from it all with lots of walks not only in the Breacons but directly from the campsite.

They have walks on their website and you can also borrow route maps at reception. Staff are nice and helpful too.

Toilet and shower block is clean and modern (at least the ladies). There are several areas within the site, some with marked pitches, some big, some small and some unmarked.

The only weird thing is that all rubbish goes in the same bin.

Would definitely recommend the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Skivoogle 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 fantastic days camping at this wonderful campsite tucked away in the Brecon Beacons. It is a very peaceful campsite and the only noise to be heard after 10pm is the hooting of the owls and the baa baa-ing of the sheep punctuated by screaming foxes, moos and whinnies. A truly efficacious experience.

The washing and toilet facilities are spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water to wash. There is a quirky pay area which the children enjoyed and a short walk along a well paved road (which is never really busy) brings you to the village of Cwmdu where you will find the Farmers Arms pub and a cafe.

The Farmers Arms is a real treasure. It is a community run pub and the staff there are friendly and welcoming - the menu offers something for everyone and the food is delicious.

From the campsite there are footpaths leading in every direction. I would recommend climbing the nearby mountain Pen Allt Mawr SO 207241. Myself, my wife and two children aged 5 and 8 managed to reach the summit. It took us about 3 and a half hours to get to the top and 2 hours down.

The views are stunning, Tretower castle is really worth visiting - you can walk there by following footpaths and bridleways from the campsite (there are maps available at the campsite shop for loan).

We would like to thank friendly staff at Cwmdu Campsite for helping to make our stay at the campsite a wonderful experience. We have taken away some wonderful memories.

We hope to be back sometime soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kakiac 2 reviews from this member

 Shower, toilet & washing up facilities regularly cleaned. Staff friendly & helpful.

Local Maps of interest laminated & provided for a £2 deposit preventing wastage.

Areas of interest include waterfalls and hill walking in the Brecon.

Will stay again if the weather as good as this week. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Alantherock 3 reviews from this member

 The campsite is spacious, well maintained and quiet. There are nice facilities. The ladies washroom is brand new and looks lovely.

The men's washroom is an older building housing 4 toilets, 2 urinals, 2 showers and 6 sinks. It is kept clean and is fine, although the owners are hoping to replace it sooner than later.

There is a small shop on site and 2 additional unisex showers. The pitches are a good size and the young couple running the place do an excellent job, are very friendly and helpful.

There is a pub opposite the cafe, looked nice and had good reviews but was closed. Plenty of nice places and shops down the road in Crickhowell and lots of nice walks in the area.

I will definitely stay again. The cafe on over the road is worth a visit, good price for the all day breakfasts and was nice.

We paid £14 per person per night for EHU on tent pitches, happy with this. We didn't have any with us but other campers did and they were happy, there are toys for children and the owners are child friendly. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Rowe53 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed the stay

Quiet campsite with beautiful views.

The owners daughter was really friendly and told us a walk in to Crickhowell that we really enjoyed and was very pretty. Not far away we walked the black mountains and enjoyed. Lots routes to follow and loads to explore.

We had a really nice big pitch to suit our motorhome and not far up the road is a nice Cafe for breakfast if feeling lazy one morning

♥️♥️Thanks for our stay. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Thecha 1 review from this member

 All of the staff were lovely, check in was easy,

There were great views,

It is a nice and quiet campsite,

Great facilities,

Close to main road to get about,

Close to a pub,

Lots of access to drinking water 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaka 1 review from this member

 The campsite Cwmdu Crickhowell was wonderful just wish we could have stayed longer.

The children loved it.

We will be back to stay for longer next time.

Would have liked the shop to be closer unless I missed it I just needed a few tinnies.

There were a lot of dogs on the site we donít have one but all ok.

Please follow the exact instructions to the site they make sense. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Malakym 1 review from this member

 Good quiet site, even though its close to a road on the bottom field.

Site is typically not level, and whilst there is terracing the amount is a pain if you're using a tent and cannot level.

Holds up well to wet weather, no bad wet spots and lots of hard tracks around the edge.

The womens toilet block is new, but the mens are old (have been year 8 years ago). The mens block is rather grim, and the showers are the usual electric overworked and struggling. There are 2 showers (male) that open straight out into the open, skip these and go into the block behind it.

It would be MUCH better if the men had similar facilities to the women's.

There are a lot of owls around, which is nice, sadly not enough to keep the rat population under control, which ate their way into our tent a few times and chewed into the storage cubby then into some packets of food, lovely.

There is a shop but the opening times are limited.

Except for the pub, there isn't much near by. If you like walking there is one a big hill behind the site which is walkable from the site, and a smaller one across the road. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Smashing site in a nice quiet location, barely any road noise was heard.

A useful shop is on site and a fine pub a 10 minute stroll along with a Cafe, but that's it.

Some great walks are nearby as many public footpaths are all around the site.

The site is on a big slope so hard standings are needed for motorhomes and many are way out of level it should be noted.

Showers etc could not be faulted, clean and modern with no extra charge.

Site wifi is free and not to bad, super fast er no. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul.f 2 reviews from this member

 First time we have been to Cwmdu and I have to say that Andy and Jane are doing a great job. They were always there if you needed them and their hospitality is second to none.

Andy was kind enough to let me into his home to watch football. I have camped all over the country and never have I received such nice managers. Great job guys. See you soon.

Ps the food in the Farmers just down the road was nice but a very ltd menu.

Will be back. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwmdu Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwmdu Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cwmdu Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crickhowell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3151 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder