Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ty Gardd Llangattock

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Ty Gardd Llangattock
Ty Gardd
Crickhowell
Crickhowell
Crickhowell
Powys   (Browse area)
np81ph
Tel: 01873811085
    Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 29th March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Socon6 5 reviews from this member

We found this to be a beautifully located site within easy driving distance of Abergavenny, and with plenty to see around and about. Watch for the right turn on to the road leading to the site! There are walks directly from the site, and a great pub just a short walk away. It is sloping and terraced although our pitch at the top was not too bad, not needing extra levelling. It was a bit awkward to get on to for amateur reversers like us! As others have commented, the facilities are a bit dated, but clean and more than adequate. The tent pitches look lovely and in a pretty spot at the bottom of the site. We didn't need to use the shop but it's handy to have it there. We enjoyed our stay, but the slope of the site would put us off visiting again. The owners are not on site and perhaps that's why the barrier is locked at night.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 61 reviews from this member

Smashing site in a nice quiet location, barely any road noise was heard.

A useful shop is on site and a fine pub a 10 minute stroll along with a Cafe, but that's it.

Some great walks are nearby as many public footpaths are all around the site.

The site is on a big slope so hard standings are needed for motorhomes and many are way out of level it should be noted.

Showers etc could not be faulted, clean and modern with no extra charge.

Site wifi is free and not to bad, super fast er no.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul.f 2 reviews from this member

First time we have been to Cwmdu and I have to say that Andy and Jane are doing a great job. They were always there if you needed them and their hospitality is second to none. Andy was kind enough to let me into his home to watch football. I have camped all over the country and never have I received such nice managers. Great job guys. See you soon.

Ps the food in the Farmers just down the road was nice but a very ltd menu.

Will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Goulding 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from three days over the late May bank holiday with our daughter, son in law and grandson who were in a tent. This is the second bank holiday we have camped here.

It is in a lovely position for walking, relaxing and the Brecon and Monmouthshire canal is near by. The site owners are very friendly.

Only advice we could give is to avoid the peak periods as the site is very popular and the bottom field is mostly taken up with groups, scouts etc which seems to overload the facilities available. We were nearly always waiting for showers, toilets and even some of the drinking water taps ran dry at peak times. Also the water heater in the washing up room stopped supplying hot water as the tank could not fill up quick enough due to low pressure.

We also felt that to charge three year olds 6. 50 per night was a bit much.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thorgrim 3 reviews from this member

Stayed Here For 3 nights 3rd - 6th August. For a Family trip out. 7 adults 2 Grand kids.

Facilities Ladies was Great so I was told.

Gents a little dated But works and very clean.

Staff. Fantastic.

Shop had Everything for the Basics.

Phone Signal. Dodgy at best & the wifi was on and off. But I'm away camping don't really need them.

Would go back a great site for touring the Area. 10/10

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grietje 2 reviews from this member

Very fine, site, at the slope of a hill. Fast wifi, and we enjoyed the friendly owners. There is a new toilet building for women and a little shop on the site. You can make fine walks leaving directly from the campsite. Crickhowel is a lovely village nearby, good for shopping.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 16 reviews from this member

The true test of any campsite is when its really busy. We went to Cwmdu for late spring bank holiday weekend so were able to put it to the test, which it passed with flying colours. It was fully booked, although a few people didn't turn up, presumably because the weather forecast didn't live up to its early promise.

This is a lovely little site which has a really nice feel. There have been some changes and improvements since we last visited a few years ago. There is a new ladies shower and toilet block with four cubicles of each. I'm not an early riser so probably not the best judge of whether this was sufficient, but never had to queue. Showers are warm and free with good sized cubicles and kept clean.

The bottom field which used to be completely open, now has marked pitches and some EHU which makes it more useable but without losing any of its charm. If you can get a pitch either near the top of the site or in the bottom field there are some stunning views down the valley.

Most of the pitches are of a generous size so it never felt cramped. I think the wardens take some care with placing people so try to avoid putting two huge tents next to each other for example. Although the site is sloping, many of the pitches have been levelled.

Its a great location for walking and an easy drive into the lovely small town of Crickhowell, but well placed for visits in all directions. We drove up to Hay as the literary festival was on and within easy reach.

There is a village pub within 10 mins walk. Its currently up for sale so I hope future reviewers will report on progress. Possibly as a result, our visit was a bit disappointing. Only one real ale available and very mediocre food which is a shame as it could be a lovely little country pub.

My only negative point about this site is that the shop/office is only open for a couple of hours each day (9-10 and 6-7) which is a nuisance if you have a problem (like the ladies hairdryer taking my money but not working!) as there is no-one to ask for help. However that's not enough to put us off and we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Foxyrox 1 review from this member

Visited the site over the August Bank holiday, so was busy and with only four showers and toilets, didn't think this was adequate. Having said that the site is surrounded by lovely countryside and you can walk to the canal and into Crickhowell, takes about ten minutes. The Bridge End pub has a lovely beer garden overlooking the river, food excellent but a little pricey for pub food. Within 30 mins drive to Brecon and the four waterfalls walk, which is a must do.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebean 19 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week at Cwmdu and had a wonderful time. This was probably helped by the good weather on all but one morning :)

The campsite is on the side of a valley and therefore slopes, there are a couple of flat areas but we opted for slope as it was in the sun and I would rather have the evening sun to sit in than a flatter ptich. The slope wasn't too bad, yes we slipped down our beds a bit but it didn't really affect sleeping (the rooks and owls did that)

The site is fairly quiet although there are a few lorries on the bottom road but the noisiest thing at night is the wildlife and as we go camping for this then it does not bother me, well unless it is in our tent!

The facilities are old but kept spotlessly clean and I did not have to wait for a shower at all. In the gents my son gave up one night and showered the next morning instead. But on the whole the facilities are fine for the size of site.

We stayed Monday - Monday and it was so quiet until Friday then the site busied up for the weekend and was a little noiser but still pretty quiet.

The Wifi was excellent until Friday then could not cope. By Sunday morning it was fine again. We were surprised that in August it was so quiet during the week but it suited us fine.

We had electric which worked well.

We did not manage to do all of the things on our list so will be visiting the area again and we will stay at this site as it provided everything we wanted at a reasonable price.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Flamingo 13 reviews from this member

Hated it. Booked two nights but only stayed for one and to their credit, they did not make a fuss when we curtailed our stay. We were sited on an ugly rough patch of hardcore with people in tents immediately to the rear above us looking into our kitchen window; tents and caravans immediately to the front looking into our dinette window; a campervan to the right of us looking into our cab windows and the main site road and site facilities immediately to the left looking into our bedroom windows. People milling everywhere whether that be in their dressing gowns to the shower block; walking their dogs across other people's pitches; playing football on empty pitches or throwing balls for their dog to run and catch. When we arrived, another camper was using our bit of hardcore as additional parking which confused matters. When we parked equidistant between them and the other pitch, the warden arrived to complain we were not central in our pitch (the trespasser having now removed their vehicle) and we had to re-position the motorhome. No mobile connection and the Wifi provided by the campsite was flaky. Shower block was disgraceful quality considering a 'Caravan Club' style price tag of 25 a night - old tiling with a gap over the door to the outside (incredible given the widespread use of mobile phone cameras) and our motorhome shower had more power. Not motorhome-friendly as needed to block main site road to fill up with water; there was no MH waste water point. On a more positive note, the site is surrounded by beautiful scenery; the grass pitches looked well-maintained, and we were treated to a lovely sunset but that could not make up for the failings elsewhere.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019