Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of King Robert The Bruces Cave

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > King Robert The Bruces Cave > Reviews

King Robert The Bruces Cave
Cove Estate
Kirkpatrick Flemming
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 3AT
Tel: 01461 800285
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Danny2021 1 review from this member

 Great site, ground staff and shop staff

Only one problem when we were there , my son and 2 grandchildren were fishing down at pond and a lady approach the 2 grandchildren and quizzed them about a £3 permit to fish which my son had purchased

The lady went the total wrong way about asking the kids she should have spoken to my son first. The kids were upset with the way this lady spoke to them. This lady was in fact the manager of the site so I think she should enroll in a customer service course

Apart from that the site is clean tidy.

We personally would not go back due to the issue for £3 by the manager 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve bradley 9 reviews from this member

 Staff were friendly and welcoming, well stocked shop, toilets and showers were clean and tidy

Nice walk to the river and Bruce’s cave

Great restaurant - the Station - within walking distance from the site which serves great food at reasonable prices

Site also provides fridge freezer and washing machine and dryer.

All in all a great site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathy76 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved our 8 day camping trip. The staff are so friendly, along with other residents.

The shower cubicles and toilets were cleaned daily, to a very high standard.

The whole site, was very clean and tidy.

We will definitely be going again. We absolutely loved every minute.

The shop was well stocked and the prices were extremely reasonable.

There are 2 playgrounds, which are well equipped and very clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentinator 1 review from this member

 Overall, not too bad a holiday. Rather than waffle on about the stay, I thought it best to simply put it into bullet points.

Good:

- Reasonably busy campsite

- Great value for money

- Easy to find location (although I've only gave 4/10 because it's in a ghost town with no decent shops or fuel stations!)

- Easy access to main roads

- Open spaces for kids to play

- Play park is OK

- Fair amount of attractions nearby

Not so good:

- Shop seemed to open/close at random and unpredictable times

- Launderette is poor. Clothes smelled worse after they were washed!

- Majority of the site is on a slight slope, which is not great for

tents. Some of my residents complained about an uncomfortable sleeping position and 'rolling' whilst trying to sleep

- The advertised football pitch is nothing of the sort. No goals, no markings and it's also far too small, no lighting either

- Children's games room consisted of an old air hockey table that only takes old £1 coins!

- Advertised 'Natural river swimming' isn't advised either. It's brown and doesn't look clean at all

- Nearest shop that sells beers/wines is 4 miles away 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sunset2 7 reviews from this member

 Went here for a weekend break and a bit of peace and quiet. Nice site but nothing to write home about. Friendly staff, clean toilets and showers. Park well kept and some nice friendly residents. Shop was well stocked and not overpriced. Down to earth site and great for a couple of days away. Thank you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heldav 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights. The campsite facilities are lovely spotless toilets. Staff are very friendly. The site is lovely very pretty. The shop is amazing well stocked and some lovely gifts at reasonable prices, however it is based more for long staying touring caravans which to be honest are in need of tidy up. We parked beside main field only to be kept awake by very loud music and noise until late into night early hours, this was a shame but there seemed to be no regulations adhered to or followed up on, this could have been dealt with. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lenandlou 11 reviews from this member

 Two night stop en route for Orkney.

The site was entirely adequate and the walk to Bruce's cave was short and sweet. Dippers active on the river.

The level crossing was a little unreliable (staying closed) but helpful locals showed us an alternative route (probably involving trespass) that added to the fun.

We visited Caelaverock castle, (moated and stunning), and Threave Gardens. Excellent.

Convenient for motorway. Would use again. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Haz053 6 reviews from this member

 As others have said, this site needs an overhaul. There are a lot of old static vans on site and the few hard standing ehu pitches were very muddy. Facilities have potential but again they need a good clean.

Not a site I would return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Danabhadri 10 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights on this site. Newly built toilet block was clean and well equipped (no privacy cubicles but plenty of loos basins and nice showers). Site was tidy and well organised, Worst point was 6 amp electricity supply (amps x volts = watts so 6 x 230 = 1380 watts so you can't run additional equipment like fan heaters. Children's play area looks to have been recently refurbished and apart from the play equipment there is loads of room to run about. There are a lot of seasonal pitches so the choice of pitch for the casual tourer is a bit limited but adequate. We were there Sunday to Tuesday and the site was quiet and peaceful. There are good dog walks both on site and just beyond the site entrance via a lane down to the Kirtle water and over a footbridge to a nature reserve. There is a very well stocked shop considering the small size of the site. There are notices around the site reminding dog owners to keep their dogs on a lead and signs in the toilets warning that vandalism will not be tolerated suggesting there have been problems in the past which have now been addressed. There is a rather untidy area with statics and old caravans just outside the gates of cove farm but this is out within the site and doesn't affect the ambiance of the site. At £17. 00 incl electricity a night it is good value. This seems to be a site that had been a bit rough and ready in the past but is now on the up. It has a 3 star rating from the Scottish Tourist board. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mustang75 22 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the site for 3 nights in order to attend a friend's wedding at a nearby hotel.

The welcome was warm and friendly and the site appeared fairly well maintained with plenty of hook up and water points. The shop was well stocked and the toilets and showers were adequate for the number of campers on the site when we arrived.

Our pitch was at the bottom of the site next to the woodland walk to Bruce's cave (which was really lovely. Wish it had been a longer walk!). On arrival we found it difficult to park level without being half on the roadway. Had we gone any further forward we would have got stuck as the pitch fell away sharply. Nevertheless, we did manage to park level. The only downside was a large pile of dog mess on our pitch (we noticed further dog mess around the site unfortunately. However, this is more to do with the campers than the staff of course)

We arrived the Thursday before the Bank Holiday weekend. By the time it had got to Saturday, the campsite was packed full of happy people, kids and dogs. At this point, the 2 showers in the ladies block were rendered dirty and inadequate. The loos were filled with ripped up tissue and the floors were wet with urine. Again, this is the fault of the campers, not the owners, but the loo block could have done with a daily clean. The sinks however, were immaculate!

The play area looked awesome - I bet the kids loved it!

It suited our needs for the weekend but I would say it could do with a bit of an overhaul, particularly the hard standing pitches. I doubt I will be back, not because of the niggles, just because we rarely travel that far North 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is King Robert The Bruces Cave child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to King Robert The Bruces Cave?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is King Robert The Bruces Cave dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement