Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - King Robert The Bruces Cave

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > King Robert The Bruces Cave Reviews

King Robert The Bruces Cave
Cove Estate
Kirkpatrick Flemming
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 3AT
Tel: 01461 800285
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 30
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy76 1 review from this member

We absolutely loved our 8 day camping trip. The staff are so friendly, along with other residents.

The shower cubicles and toilets were cleaned daily, to a very high standard.

The whole site, was very clean and tidy.

We will definitely be going again. We absolutely loved every minute.

The shop was well stocked and the prices were extremely reasonable.

There are 2 playgrounds, which are well equipped and very clean.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentinator 1 review from this member

Overall, not too bad a holiday. Rather than waffle on about the stay, I thought it best to simply put it into bullet points.

Good:

- Reasonably busy campsite

- Great value for money

- Easy to find location (although I've only gave 4/10 because it's in a ghost town with no decent shops or fuel stations!)

- Easy access to main roads

- Open spaces for kids to play

- Play park is OK

- Fair amount of attractions nearby

Not so good:

- Shop seemed to open/close at random and unpredictable times

- Launderette is poor. Clothes smelled worse after they were washed!

- Majority of the site is on a slight slope, which is not great for

tents. Some of my residents complained about an uncomfortable sleeping position and 'rolling' whilst trying to sleep

- The advertised football pitch is nothing of the sort. No goals, no markings and it's also far too small, no lighting either

- Children's games room consisted of an old air hockey table that only takes old 1 coins!

- Advertised 'Natural river swimming' isn't advised either. It's brown and doesn't look clean at all

- Nearest shop that sells beers/wines is 4 miles away

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunset2 7 reviews from this member

Went here for a weekend break and a bit of peace and quiet. Nice site but nothing to write home about. Friendly staff, clean toilets and showers. Park well kept and some nice friendly residents. Shop was well stocked and not overpriced. Down to earth site and great for a couple of days away. Thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heldav 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights. The campsite facilities are lovely spotless toilets. Staff are very friendly. The site is lovely very pretty. The shop is amazing well stocked and some lovely gifts at reasonable prices, however it is based more for long staying touring caravans which to be honest are in need of tidy up. We parked beside main field only to be kept awake by very loud music and noise until late into night early hours, this was a shame but there seemed to be no regulations adhered to or followed up on, this could have been dealt with.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lenandlou 10 reviews from this member

Two night stop en route for Orkney.

The site was entirely adequate and the walk to Bruce's cave was short and sweet. Dippers active on the river.

The level crossing was a little unreliable (staying closed) but helpful locals showed us an alternative route (probably involving trespass) that added to the fun.

We visited Caelaverock castle, (moated and stunning), and Threave Gardens. Excellent.

Convenient for motorway. Would use again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Haz053 5 reviews from this member

As others have said, this site needs an overhaul. There are a lot of old static vans on site and the few hard standing ehu pitches were very muddy. Facilities have potential but again they need a good clean.

Not a site I would return to.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Danabhadri 9 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights on this site. Newly built toilet block was clean and well equipped (no privacy cubicles but plenty of loos basins and nice showers). Site was tidy and well organised, Worst point was 6 amp electricity supply (amps x volts = watts so 6 x 230 = 1380 watts so you can't run additional equipment like fan heaters. Children's play area looks to have been recently refurbished and apart from the play equipment there is loads of room to run about. There are a lot of seasonal pitches so the choice of pitch for the casual tourer is a bit limited but adequate. We were there Sunday to Tuesday and the site was quiet and peaceful. There are good dog walks both on site and just beyond the site entrance via a lane down to the Kirtle water and over a footbridge to a nature reserve. There is a very well stocked shop considering the small size of the site. There are notices around the site reminding dog owners to keep their dogs on a lead and signs in the toilets warning that vandalism will not be tolerated suggesting there have been problems in the past which have now been addressed. There is a rather untidy area with statics and old caravans just outside the gates of cove farm but this is out within the site and doesn't affect the ambiance of the site. At 17. 00 incl electricity a night it is good value. This seems to be a site that had been a bit rough and ready in the past but is now on the up. It has a 3 star rating from the Scottish Tourist board.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mustang75 22 reviews from this member

We stayed at the site for 3 nights in order to attend a friend's wedding at a nearby hotel.

The welcome was warm and friendly and the site appeared fairly well maintained with plenty of hook up and water points. The shop was well stocked and the toilets and showers were adequate for the number of campers on the site when we arrived.

Our pitch was at the bottom of the site next to the woodland walk to Bruce's cave (which was really lovely. Wish it had been a longer walk!). On arrival we found it difficult to park level without being half on the roadway. Had we gone any further forward we would have got stuck as the pitch fell away sharply. Nevertheless, we did manage to park level. The only downside was a large pile of dog mess on our pitch (we noticed further dog mess around the site unfortunately. However, this is more to do with the campers than the staff of course)

We arrived the Thursday before the Bank Holiday weekend. By the time it had got to Saturday, the campsite was packed full of happy people, kids and dogs. At this point, the 2 showers in the ladies block were rendered dirty and inadequate. The loos were filled with ripped up tissue and the floors were wet with urine. Again, this is the fault of the campers, not the owners, but the loo block could have done with a daily clean. The sinks however, were immaculate!

The play area looked awesome - I bet the kids loved it!

It suited our needs for the weekend but I would say it could do with a bit of an overhaul, particularly the hard standing pitches. I doubt I will be back, not because of the niggles, just because we rarely travel that far North

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suerey 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first visit to this site. We wouldn't usually travel this early in the season but we couldn't wait to try out our new van. As previous reviews have stated there is a lot of seasonal vans on the site and as such we had to pitch at the bottom of the site. Now this wouldn't usually be an issue but given that all the water was off with the exception of one tap at the top of the site as were the facilities we had some trekking to do.

The facilities themselves weren't great with the main toilet blocks being closed. This meant there was only a unisex bathroom to use which was also the only shower. Far from ideal given that site was very muddy and consequently the floors were filthy. Therefore very happy children who didn't shower the whole weekend!

The pitch itself was at the bottom of the hill and an absolute bog, this was especially an issue as the electric supply is very very weak and as such we were constantly having to go out to the fuse box. There were other pitches to chose from but as others have said they're very untidy.

On a positive note the wardens were friendly and the site is in a great location. The potential the site has is great, it just needs an overhaul. There's a great kids park but it looks dated and needs a tidy up too.

Couldn't comment on the reception/shop/games room as they weren't open

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carriebr 4 reviews from this member

Totally happy with our stay at this wonderfully located and historical site.

Lots to explore and great stopover for those heading further up the British Isle.

Facilities and friendly staff ticked every box as far as we're concerned.

Will definitely visit again. Thank you!

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5991 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019