Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hill Top Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Thrussington > Hill Top Caravan Park Reviews

Hill Top Caravan Park
67 Old Gate Road
Thrussington
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE7 4TL
Tel: 01664 424357
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ladypop 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 weeks as we wanted a quiet child free site, and it lived up to our expectations. Don't come here if you want an all singing all dancing site, you'll be disappointed. This gives you peace and tranquillity and time to charge your batteries without being too far away from the hustle and bustle of larger towns. The only facilities on site are toilet emptying point, water and electric hook up. The local village has one small shop and 2 pubs, heaven. Mick the owner is never far away if you have any queries but doesn't intrude, electric cost us approx. 1 per day. The other 'vanners' were really friendly and most had been coming here for quite a few years. Thanks for a great relaxing holiday.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waffler 1 review from this member

An interesting site! We arrived on possibly the wettest day of the year and drove passed the entrance. (The entrance is not signed and we noticed the caravans as we went by. ) Impossible to turn without unhitching and motor moving round. When we turned into the drive we did see a sign. So as you leave the village the houses stop and you have fields on the right. See a small copse of trees on the right. The entrance is immediately before that. Once weather brightened up appreciated the site= open with views. Adults only and quiet. There were 7 other vans on site most of which seemed occupied by ghosts as we never saw anyone. Electric consumption reasonable- we had van warm and used about 7 a day. Good position for Leicester etc. Will return

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mo Lee 2 reviews from this member

This site is all shale hard standing with electric hook-up and you just pay for the power you use. We paid 9 a night and we used about 2. 50 a day on elec.

It did go down to -1 degrees one night and the water tap was frozen the next day - bit disappointing really as if you run an all year round site surely you should put some effort into lagging and protecting the pipes. A portaloo was also advertised but this was locked - there were no showers and no nice views from the pitches. However the surrounding countryside is lovely and Thrussington is a nice village about 10 mins walk away and both pubs looked nice and did food.

Anyway the site was basically ok and with the bonus of being only a couple of miles from Brooksby Equestrian Centre where I was attending a puppy agility training course. It was not a site we would choose to stay at for just camping but served its purpose to attend the course.

The main big downside for us was that there was nowhere to exercise the dogs and no footpaths leading off the site. We were told we could use the small road beside the campsite!

This was long and straight and you could see vehicles coming but did not exactly suit our needs.

However my partner came too and looked after one of my dogs while I was busy with the puppy and there are several walks and public footpaths from the Equestrian Centre so all worked out ok for us.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hitchandgo 3 reviews from this member

Lovely little campsite, owners very friendly, approachable and relaxed.

Village member very welcoming, lovely views.

We have stayed here on 3 occasions and will definitely be going back yearly at least.

Secure site with key coded gate makes you feel very safe day and night.

Just what you need for a chill out weekend.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tipplers 5 reviews from this member

THIS IS ONE LITTLE GEM, we have used this site 4 times now and it always pleases.

It is hidden away and offers all you could want if you are looking for peace and quiet, limited spaces but all good, the owners is a very jolly chap who will pop in and talk to you at any time and nothing is too much trouble, great privacy and gated security. No showers but hey ho, the modern caravan has good facilities on board.

EHU's you only pay for what you use with purchased cards which I think is a very fair way of doing things.

All manor of goodies available including fishing and other outdoor pursuits.

Just a short walk away are 2 great pubs with excellent food etc.

A very short drive to Melton Mowbray sees you stock up with your Pork Pie's too.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Norfycamper 3 reviews from this member

Lovely area, good views and location. Warden on site is friendly and helpful, he even fetched us an extension for the electrical hook up! Electric is by meter, we used around 10 over 3 days and had the heater on in the van for most of that time, it got down to minus 6 one night! No WC or shower on site, think there was a portaloo but this had frozen. Lovely deli in the village and the people are so friendly in the blue star (food nice too). 6 miles to Asda, about 8 to Leicester. Nice walk to Hoby and a lovely pub once there. If you are looking for a basic clean site for a quiet weekend away then this is for you.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Canarycamper 4 reviews from this member

I stayed in this site for one night. The Wardens were very nice and helpful both on the phone and on site. I needed the toilettes and they left the Portable loo available for my use. It was clean and just what I needed. I will definitely will stay there again when I go to visit my friend at Loughborough. The countryside views are lovely, and it is definitely quiet. I can't comment on anything else since I wasn't there long.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hitchandgo 3 reviews from this member

Great site, but do need rock pegs for awning as hardstanding is stoney. Drainage on site good, elson point and refuse points new looking and clean.

No facilities, so need to use your own wc, unless tenting. Electric cards are used if you want to use electric hookup, collected of site manager.

Owners are great and helpful, local pubs (only two) within fifteen mins of site but very nice and friendly. Great views from the campsite and perfect for a weekend break.

We will be going back again this year, perfect for a chilling weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Deeruth 5 reviews from this member

The previous review covers all the aspects of this small site very well.

However, we were advised by other people staying there not to use the on site toilet as it was 'unpleasant'. I also felt that the pitches were very close together, only just room for the car at the side of the unit and in order not to inconvenience our neighbours we parked our vehicle in front of the caravan. The hardstanding is very uncomfortable to walk across to access the waste facilities. When we booked, we were told the price was 9 a night but it was in fact 10.

On the plus side, the site is very quiet and peaceful, there are beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and it is very conveniently placed for visiting Melton Mowbray, Loughborough and Leicester. We visited Bradgate Park, a lovely country park with long walks on grass or paths. We also visited Loughborough and had an excellent lunch in the Queen's Park cafe and climbed to the top of the carillion.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 88 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a long weekend - 3 nights at end of March.

Site is about 1/2 mile from Thrussington village on a quiet country lane. Entrance is two large metal gates, but these are electrically operated by a code which the owners give you when you book. They do give a real sense of security.

The site itself is just a large area of crushed stone and clinker, with pitches marked by coloured polls. Each of the 18 pitches has an electric hook up. These are operated by prepaid cards which are obtainable from the owners. You do tend to watch the meter so as not to run out!

The owners were friendly although we only saw Mick once. If they don't see you there are arrangements for paying shown on each hook-up. There is a mobile phone number available if you need to contact them.

Facilities are virtually non-existent. There is one portable loo, but it had been out of order for a while according to one of the long term residents. Otherwise there are three water taps and an elsan disposal point.

Thrussington village is a pleasant stroll away with two pubs and a general store. The latter includes a coffee shop. It is closed on Mondays. Both pubs serve meals. The Star's prices were ridiculous; we ate at the Blue Lion - two x two course meals for just under 20. (They only take cash - no cards). It is a justifiably popular place.

There is an hourly bus service to Melton Mowbray and Leicester through the village. (No buses on Sundays or Bank Holidays).

The site is convenient for Leicester city, Charnwood Forest, Great Central Railway, Loughborough (and its university), and close enough to Belvoir. There is some local walking available. We walked across the fields to Hoby - about 2 miles - and had a pleasant break at the Blue Bell Inn there. You can return via Rearsby if you feel energetic.

At 9 a night plus electricity, it is not the world's best value, but we would have no hesitation in going back.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Thrussington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5390 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019