Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hill Top Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Thrussington > Hill Top Caravan Park Reviews

Hill Top Caravan Park
67 Old Gate Road
Thrussington
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE7 4TL
Tel: 01664 424357
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Musicm 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here, 10min walk to village, two pub's serving meals, tea shop/deli. Other shops a short drive away.

Owners very friendly, to be honest I can't wait to go back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Stephe 1 review from this member

 Site was very easy to find with the post code in google maps and a great location with great views. Access was easy with plenty of room to move about and pitch up.

I will be visiting again soon. Great value for the price 👍 thanks to the staff 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bigcol 1 review from this member

 Perfectly acceptable quiet site. A little difficult to find, a better signpost at entrance would help.

A substantial lid on the grey / black waste disposal which did not have any handle, meaning had to grip the edges to remove 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janeep 1 review from this member

 Contact with the site was easy and reply received quickly with owner remembering us from previous visit.

A pleasant site with easy access to the site. A very quiet spot with easy walking access to the village and itís amenities.

Camp site very basic with some caravans that look as they are long term.

Friendly owner came to collect the money and have a chat.

Have stayed here before and very happy to stay again 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RCD Ltd 2 reviews from this member

 Though we live local we always enjoy our trips to Mick & Sandra's at Thrussington. Always a welcome to our pitch on a very clean well kept site.

Views and walks from site are lovely, local pubs, and shop are within walking distance down the quiet country lane.

Mick does also have a Clay Pigeon shoot away from the site and for an Hour on some afternoons ( not all )the distraction is hardly noticeable.

It's a very good back to basics site with the choice of hard standing or grass when weather permits, ( Mick does like to keep it nice ). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Margar 2 reviews from this member

 Surprised to get booked up last minute for a bank holiday so booked for 4 nights instead of 3.

I liked that we were in shade for most of the day as it's been in the 30s

That's all I liked though.

It has been like having a pitch in a car park.

The ground is like hardcore and very uncomfortable. I went over on my ankle twice so it is good that I wear flat shoes.

The electricity is by meter and that's not a problem.

The entrance is not signposted and as we arrived from a different direction than instructed we missed it and had to reverse up a narrow country lane.

We actually broke rock pegs trying to erect the awning!

When pitched we noticed some lovely wooden huts but they were locked as they were for wardens use only

He had his friends over for a clay pigeon shoot and the noise disturbed the peace and quiet.

The warden arrived the next day for his money and he never even introduced himself.

The grass to the EHU and water was very long and had dog mess in it.

The grass to the Elsan point was also long until the warden cut it on the Monday of a bank holiday. He did, however, cut the grass where he shoots on the Sunday morning. And the Sunday evening!

If it was my site I would have had it all spruced up for the weekend, not during the weekend.

There was only s handful of caravans there and they looked like they might be seasonal.

Some were covered in lichen and looked like they had been there years.

One in particular felt they had a right to do anything as they had a seasonal pitch. They had yappy dogs that they would walk behind our caravan late at night and argue at the top of their voices.

I feel as if the caravans support his shooting hobby and that's fine if he gives the site as much love and care as his gun range.

It is also quite noisy with road noise from A46 on a nightime and lots of night flights 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ladypop 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 weeks as we wanted a quiet child free site, and it lived up to our expectations.

Don't come here if you want an all singing all dancing site, you'll be disappointed. This gives you peace and tranquillity and time to charge your batteries without being too far away from the hustle and bustle of larger towns. The only facilities on site are toilet emptying point, water and electric hook up.

The local village has one small shop and 2 pubs, heaven. Mick the owner is never far away if you have any queries but doesn't intrude, electric cost us approx. £1 per day.

The other 'vanners' were really friendly and most had been coming here for quite a few years.

Thanks for a great relaxing holiday. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Waffler 1 review from this member

 An interesting site! We arrived on possibly the wettest day of the year and drove passed the entrance. (The entrance is not signed and we noticed the caravans as we went by. ) Impossible to turn without unhitching and motor moving round.

When we turned into the drive we did see a sign. So as you leave the village the houses stop and you have fields on the right. See a small copse of trees on the right.

The entrance is immediately before that. Once weather brightened up appreciated the site= open with views. Adults only and quiet.

There were 7 other vans on site most of which seemed occupied by ghosts as we never saw anyone. Electric consumption reasonable- we had van warm and used about £7 a day.

Good position for Leicester etc.

Will return 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mo Lee 2 reviews from this member

 This site is all shale hard standing with electric hook-up and you just pay for the power you use. We paid £9 a night and we used about £2. 50 a day on elec.

It did go down to -1 degrees one night and the water tap was frozen the next day - bit disappointing really as if you run an all year round site surely you should put some effort into lagging and protecting the pipes. A portaloo was also advertised but this was locked - there were no showers and no nice views from the pitches. However the surrounding countryside is lovely and Thrussington is a nice village about 10 mins walk away and both pubs looked nice and did food.

Anyway the site was basically ok and with the bonus of being only a couple of miles from Brooksby Equestrian Centre where I was attending a puppy agility training course. It was not a site we would choose to stay at for just camping but served its purpose to attend the course.

The main big downside for us was that there was nowhere to exercise the dogs and no footpaths leading off the site. We were told we could use the small road beside the campsite!

This was long and straight and you could see vehicles coming but did not exactly suit our needs.

However my partner came too and looked after one of my dogs while I was busy with the puppy and there are several walks and public footpaths from the Equestrian Centre so all worked out ok for us. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hitchandgo 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely little campsite, owners very friendly, approachable and relaxed.

Village member very welcoming, lovely views.

We have stayed here on 3 occasions and will definitely be going back yearly at least.

Secure site with key coded gate makes you feel very safe day and night.

Just what you need for a chill out weekend. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hill Top Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hill Top Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hill Top Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thrussington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2189 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement