Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Whatoff Lodge Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Loughborough > Whatoff Lodge Farm Reviews

Whatoff Lodge Farm
Woodhouse Road
Quorn
Loughborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE12 8AL
Tel: 01509 412127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Njnjw29285jjf 1 review from this member

Rough Diamond.

We arrived in grim weather for a reunion/birthday bash nearby. We were met by the owners, who gave us a warm welcome and tour of facilities.

Freedom to pick your spot to set up. Plenty of power points.

Facilities perfectly adequate and very clean, situated in old farm buildings - with the occasional spiderweb. Good hot power shower.

Nice pub, steam train rides and lovely cafe for breakfast all in walking distance.

Rustic, rural, with a bumpy access lane. Peace and quiet. We loved it. We will be back.

Only negative, field could do with a cut, or at least mowed pathways.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rodders416 2 reviews from this member

Nice rustic site. Power, water and loos on a working farm. Handy for Quorn and the steam railway.

Friendly owner and lots of space.

If your looking for a no frills pitch then this is it.

Thanks!
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GJEFFS 1 review from this member

Very quiet site, very friendly / funny / helpful owners.

Near to nice pub, near to steam train, near to lovely town.

This is our second visit and we would go back again, very close to home but far enough away to feel you are having a break.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BBernie 2 reviews from this member

Nice location near steam railway and our favourite Woodhouse Eaves (great for pubs). The field was nice and next to some sheep and horses which our son loved. The biggest drawback was the state of the facilities, they were very dirty and obviously or been cleaned in a LONG time! It could be an amazing place with a little care and attention

It was quiet so we had hot water in the showers but it only lasted for 3 of us!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bowerdave 1 review from this member

2 night stay at Whatoff Lodge Farm in my VW Camper was chilled; good things were the location, staff, electric hookup, WiFi, showers, washup area, not so good things, well. Not a lot really, bearing in mind this is a busy working farm. Be careful and take it slowly if you have a low camper because the lane up from the main road and the field are a little uneven. This site provides a great base for visiting the Steam Railway nearby (10 mins walk). There is a nice dog friendly pub near the railway station, but shops are a bit further away in Quorn. I'll definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smcelduff 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4nights over Easter. We were initially disappointed that we were put into hard standing area outside the camping field. But, then, the rain came! And continued for the whole weekend! Good job we were on hard standing as every field for miles was waterlogged or worse flooded! Looking at previous reviews the field is an old furrowed field. It's really green and well kept and lots of electric points but the furrows are quite big. But you just have work your outfit around them. There is plenty of space.

The owners Alison and her husband were really friendly and attentive.

The facilities are clean, but basically are situated in a converted barn and outhouse. Spidery? a little. It is after all a fully working farm and the caravans are right in the middle of the farm buildings! You have to be ready for tractors and quad bikes going about their business.

The site is ideally located for Leicestershire. Quorn is a lovely village, well blessed with pubs! We visited Leicester to see the university for my daughter and I was really taken at how nice it is, recently invested in and developing. Not at all what I was expecting, but we will be returning!

I would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spiderchimp 2 reviews from this member

** email sent

Field was wet so parked on hardstanding outside field. Unfortunately this is the thoroughfare for farm traffic and the business units traffic/wood cutting lorries. Also on the site are many caravans housing semi-permanent road workers/lorry drivers etc. Our view was 2 12 wheeler Tarmac lorries. Not sure when the showers were last cleaned, but the water pressure was excellent. Male toilet is not one for arachnophobes. Perhaps the most shocking thing was the waste disposal. This was across the field and under a large manhole cover. Once lifted, this revealed a large tank which one could easily fall into - such an easy thing to solve. I guess this is also reflected in the price, but I have stayed in better sites for the same money.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Linda buller 1 review from this member

Spent one night on my way back from Huddersfield visiting family, found it on the internet, rang and was booked in. Showers/kitchen etc could do with a bit of TCL. But the water was hot and plentiful. No hardstanding that I could see, so be careful in wet weather as you are parking in a field. Owners very friendly and helpful, lovely peaceful setting, watching horses/sheep/cows doing what they do.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 41 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay here [fri & sat]. We last visited here in 2007, and a few improvements have been done since then.

Being only a small CL site, it was'nt too busy, the grass was neatly cut, the toilets, whilst being a little dated are clean & functional, the owners are friendly too.

The showers are free and hot and the cubicles are large enough to get changed in without all your clothes getting wet [they are also situated in their own 'booth'. A nice touch].

There was a little noise from the combine harvester working in the surrounding fields, and a few tractors up & down the lane but this is a working farm, so only to be expected.

The site is handy for the Great Central Railway, and we took a ride on the train for the whole length of the line. Wifey spent a couple of hours 'shopping' in Loughborough, whils I just sat on the Station watching the [steam] trains.

We were joined on Saturday night by friends & enjoyed a few beers and burnt [BBQ'd] sausages

One downside to the weekend was that the friendly owner was [quite rightly] upset that some-one in a Motor Home turned up, spent Saturday night there and sneaked off early sunday morning without paying. Totally despicable, especially from some-one who can actually afford 20k's worth of motor-home [we were in our 1000 Trailer Tent. And 15 for a night is pretty reasonable by my standards]

Will we go back???. Yes, and hopefully it will not be in another 9 years like it was this time.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marramc48 15 reviews from this member

The owners were not in when we arrived. A very pleasant young lady who was tending her horse told us to site our caravan wherever we wished in the camping field. We entered the camping field without any problem by turning our unit in the yard where we had parked to seek directions and driving through the entrance gate with ease. Being the only unit on site at that time, we sited our unit midway along the long fence adjacent to the buildings and went to visit relatives for the evening.

When we returned about 10pm we encountered an elderly couple with a brand new 4x4 and caravan blocking the entrance. There was also a small motorhome sited in one corner approximately 20 meters away from our our van. After entering the field the elderly gentleman proceeded to site his unit using his motor mover. When we looked outside the following morning, his unit was less than 3 meters from our unit and approximately 15 meters from the motorhome (so much for the convenience of motor movers, they are obviously only as good as the operator)!.

As for the toilets and showers being cheap and cheerful, so are the site fees. I cannot understand people using 5 van sites and expecting 5 star facilities, these can be found (and paid for) at the more commercially developed sites. I would certainly use this well located, quiet and peaceful site in the future. It is also well within walking distance of the Great Central Railway station at Quorn.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Loughborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1375 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019