Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shrublands Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Shrublands Farm
Northrepps
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 0AA
Tel: 01263 579297
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 28 Reviews
                7/10 from 28 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ElfuegoGrande 2 reviews from this member

I booked this site (and to my shame persuaded a group of friends to do the same - sorry guys!) on the basis of the lovely pictures of the site on their website. It looks like an idyllic tree lined quiet and peaceful haven. However - and it's certainly not clear from the website, nor does the owner mention this when you book - this is two sites. The idyllic tree lined one (the one that all bar one of the photos on their website show) is for Camping and Caravan Club members only. Next to this is a large open hill, with a row of houses overlooking one side of it. This is where everyone else gets put. There's only one picture of this on the website, and it carefully avoids the houses, and somehow manages to make the field look level, which it really is not.

Level areas are limited so if you are in a van you are at the top or bottom of the hill - even so take your chocks. Campers had problems and we twice saw tents begin to go up, before the campers realised how steep the ground was and moved.

You will be made to go to the owners house in Northrepps to check in - the roads are narrow - there is just space for one medium sized car and caravan to park over the front of her driveway - there are several signs telling you not to park in the driveway. We were lucky - nobody else was attempting to check in at the same time - I'm not sure what would have happened if they were.

The owner was not in - there was a note on her door telling us to go to the site and that she would see us there later. We had contacted her in advance to ask if we could go straight to the site, as we have a four year old and a dog, both of whom get fractious after a long journey - but no - you have to go to her home on the off chance that she is in.

We were part of a group of four caravans - all of whom went to the owners house first, all of them found her to be out.

The owner did arrive in the evening - to collect her money. We did not have cash so agreed to return to her home the next day to pay. I got the distinct impression that she thought we were going to do a runner without paying - if we had been on our own I think we would certainly have considered trying to find somewhere else to stay - we would however have settled up first!

The site had been mowed, however the cuttings had not been collected - so in a short space of time our caravan floor was covered in dried grass.

Being overlooked by a row of houses was far from ideal - there appeared to be some regular and rather loud domestic issues at the closest house, and two doors up from that went on their holidays at 5. 00am one morning - quite loudly - and it took them quite some time to go.

There are two ladies and two gents toilets. There are two showers. The facilities were kept clean, and there is enough loo roll in each toilet to last some time.

The chemical waste disposal point is in the nice bit - it's quite a hike so we took our waste home and emptied it there.

If you turn left out of the entrance about 100 yards down the road there is a footpath with some nice walks - you can walk to Overstrand, although we spent our beach days at Mundsley, which is a 20 minute or so drive away.

The owner appeared again on our leave day to ask me if we were leaving - we had packed away and hitched our caravan up so yes - we were leaving - however I did feel as if I was being escorted off the premises.

So if you are a Camping and Caravaning Club member - this looks a lovely site - if you are not - it's OK - but do not book based on the pictures on the website

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ron jacobs 3 reviews from this member

Great small site, a bit difficult to find with sat nav. Locals in village very friendly and helpful. Nice pitch slight slope. Facilities good. Pub in walking distance, also very friendly, good food. Would go back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

The site is 1/4 mile from where you check in. Readers will see that, from other reviews, access is an interesting challenge. Thankfully, Elmo was up to it. Beware of early morning bus drivers who are obviously paid to keep to the timetable.

The site is split into 2 fields. The top field is open to the elements and is the subject of the steep access mentioned in other reviews. The lower field is more sheltered. However, some of it was cordoned off due to previous heavy rain. Elmo certainly struggled to 'get a grip of himself' on the wet grass.

The loos and showers are basic. Cosy but not bijou. Thankfully there were only 2 vans on site. Heavens knows how long the 'queue for the loo' would be in the height of the season.

Washing dishes 'al fresco' with no shelter resulted in the washing up bowl filling up faster than I could empty it!

I have the T-shirt but the site is not on my list of 'must see again'.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skinnyjakki 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site for a long weekend at the end of July & as it was the height of the summer & only a short break booked non-electric. When booking it was made clear that they predominantly expect electric hook up although they could 'fit us in'. When we arrived at the farmhouse to check in we had to park on the main road through the village which was ok if you were the only people waiting to check in but caused a lot of problems if more (especially if there was a caravan). Once checked in we were given directions to the site a short distance away. The site was nice a quiet but rather sloping however we found a nice spot and set up. The toilet and shower facilities were kept exceptionally clean and had hot water, toilet paper and soap at all times (these were in a portakabin along with the showers). The washing up area was the only real let down. One sink outside with no hot water, no cover and situated under trees. You couldn't really used this area as it was constantly covered in bird droppings and fallen leaves - this could be easily resolved with some overhead shelter and hot running water connected.

We were subjected to the worst weather this season - thunder storms and heavy rain! The following morning the owner came round and checked everyone was okay.

We will certainly visit the site again as good location for the north norfolk coast with a very good local pub serving good food and both child and dog friendly.

Sort out the washing up facilities and we would give a better rating!

One other comment - the electric hook-up at 6 per night seems rather a lot and more than we have ever paid in the 12 years + we have been camping.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dixter 25 reviews from this member

Arrived 'on spec' as was touring the area. The lady owner gave us a choice of 3 pitches however only one was truly accessible as the other 2 were up a very steep incline. Be aware if you are towing a caravan that the approach road is very narrow and very busy (esp with the speeding bus drivers!), also you might want to choose a pitch in the lower field unless you have a 4x4 with a good clutch.

The site is pleasant with electric provided. As others have already said, the toilet facilities are inadequate although very clean and well stocked with soap and paper. They are also up a very steep incline so totally unsuitable for anyone not too good on their feet.

I don't think we will be revisiting as the charge per night was 17 plus 1 per dog. A bit expensive really for the standard of the site, and facilities available. I am sure there are other sites in the area that have better access and facilities at a comparable price.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samstevenson 10 reviews from this member

Arrived on a Monday afternoon during Hurricane Bertha and was met by a very concerned owner who was keen to get us set up in the camping field. What a lovely lady.

We pitched up in the worst wind possible and then skipped off to the local pub for a fantastic meal and good local ale.

What we liked about this site was the friendly owner who checked on us everyday to ensure we were ok, the quiet nature of the site and the location. We were able to walk to Overstrand for breakfast at the Cliff Top Cafe, great food here, then on to Cromer all along the beautiful coast.

We would definitely visit again.

Negatives are the toilets and showers, only 2 of each and they are in a portakabin. Even so they are clean and always loaded with toilet paper and soap. Only a field for children to play in but never the less safe from traffic.

A lovely place to be for a summer holiday and our dog was very welcome too!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Threebeards 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights midweek. Good location with lovely walks and friendly people in the local pub.

One men's & one ladies toilet, two shower cubicles but with no sink so brushed teeth in the ladies, there was a mirror but it was awkwardly placed alongside the toilet. Be cautious with the hot water it is VERY hot.

There was no hot water for the washing up area and the area was not under cover.

The facilities were a bit limited considering the size of the site.

The welcome was not very friendly and we won't be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazinessex 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to a great little campsite. We stayed at a busy weekend and although there are only 2 showers and 3 toilets (1 is a portaloo) we never had to queue. The washing up sink is outside and only has cold water but you can fetch hot from the basins in the loos if necessary. Washing up liquid, toilet paper and paper towels are all provided and the facilities were clean.

Camping in the main field (I think the lower area next to the woods may be reserved for Caravan Club members) is only around the edges, so there is plenty of room in the middle for ball games etc.

There is a decent pub in Northrepps village just 5 mins walk from the site - we didn't eat there this time, but food was good on our previous visit.

There is a very pleasant 40 minute walk through the woods and across fields to Overstrand, a lovely village with several places to eat and drink. If you fancy a longer walk, you can get to Cromer either along the cliff top or the beach.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EVANS FAMILY X3 3 reviews from this member

A typical Certificated Site, basic and quiet. Grass mown and very spacious pitches (mostly all with electric hook up) One toilet/shower block - One male and one female toilet & basin plus two shower rooms, all have electric fan heaters and are spacious. Facilities are basic but clean with hot water, paper towels and plenty of loo roll. We were there over Whit and they were cleaned twice daily.

We enjoyed the woodland walks which were ideal for the kids & dog. The local pub was very welcoming.

We would use site again, but would need to be in lower field as very steep slope up into top field - for towing a 4X4 is really required.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AMC123 1 review from this member

Had a great long weekend at this site.

The camping field was perfect for our family with large pitches, plenty of room for the kids to play and the adjoining woods made the perfect kids play area. The site was well kept and the toilets and showers clean. Although there are only two toilets and showers this was never a problem.

It was very quiet at night with only some muted conversations heard after 11pm.

The beach at Overstrand was fantastic, large flat sandy areas once the tide was out and not crowded at all despite the rare sunny weather.

The local pub was just a short walk, but very busy, it may be worth booking, although we did manage to get a table in the small garden.

We will be returning for a longer stay.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2751 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019