Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Water Meadow Certified Location

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Great Cressingham > Water Meadow Certified Location > Reviews

Water Meadow Certified Location
Water End
Great Cressingham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
IP25 6NN
Tel: 01760 756232
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 C&MC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only. It also has a separate area for tents, non members welcome.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Campermark71 17 reviews from this member

 We hiked along Peddars Way and Norfolk Coast Path and this was our first stopover.

You can stay here in a tent as a non member in return for a small donation in their charity box.

The place where the tents are located is basically wild camping but its quiet and level so we had a good nights sleep.

The CC part of the site looked clean and tidy and had all the basics that you need.

The best part of this campsite is the amazing food that you can get at the adjacent pub, The Olde Windmill Inn, which is very reasonably priced with plenty of choice. They also do breakfast for campers and residents of the rooms they have there.

All in all a very nice place to spend the night. Swaffham is only a short drive away and peddars way is 2 miles away in Little Cressingham 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gitta 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this lovely site after attending a wedding near Norwich. We camped in the Water Meadow area with initially only two other caravans. Well kept site with mowed grass, fresh water tap, rubbish bins, and chemical disposal. A free shower and toilet for use by the campers are located across the road by the pub. Plenty of hot water and, as a nice touch, a clean bathmat! Food in the pub was good and plentiful and the Adnams Broadside excellent. Staff were attentive and friendly. There is a small playground attached to the pub. Don't be put off by the fact that there is a small road between the CL and the pub: this is very quiet. A bargain at £10. 50 a night including hook-up! Would stay there more often if we lived a bit closer but can certainly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Francophowl 4 reviews from this member

 The Windmill Inn is one of our favorite sites and we keep coming back time after time, we have family in Norfolk and this site is very convenient for us. Don't be put off by the 'Water Meadow' bit, it's not at all boggy and is easily accessible.

There is a shower and toilet opposite the site next to the pub but this is locked when the pub closes but open again very early as this is a very busy hotel/pub and staff begin work early. The owners and staff are always very helpful.

The pub is very 'Olde Worlde' has a great atmosphere with excellent real ale. The food is a bit mass produced but if you stick to steaks and the like you can't go wrong and there's plenty of it. Very good value at £10 per night including electric HU 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 29 reviews from this member

 A nice enough site though no facilities other than waste disposal, electric hookup and water points on this site. However there very good facilities inc. WC and showers across the road beside the pub but we weren't sure whether we were supposed to use them or not. We used the site twice in 2012 and were not challenged when we used them. The pub supplies good food if you can't be bothered to cook.

The site is listed as a CL site though the information says it's a 10 pitch site and on one visit there were 6 caravans on site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clanconn 1 review from this member

 We stayed here wanting a quiet site and that's exactly what we got. Initially we weren't sure how long we'd stay as the site is very basic and there is just one toilet and one shower for 10 pitches. Actually this wasn't a problem and we stayed for a full week, mainly because of the exceptional service offered and the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere.

Most nights we ate in the pub as the food is absolutely delicious and plentiful - at first glance you may feel it is pricey for what essentially s a pub meal but it really is worth every penny. My husband was very impressed with how they 'kept their beer' !

I can not speak highly enough about the staff in the pub.

We used the site as a base and visited so many lovely places whilst we were there and went on some lovely walks and bike rides.

Total per night for two people and a dog in a caravan with electric £9. 50 - bargain! If we lived nearer we would be regular visitors.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mr2allotments 5 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a short 'tour of Norfolk' and spent one night at this lovely, little CL site.

It's in a very quiet location not far from Thetford forest and the two camping areas are either behind the pub (the paddock) or just in front of it (the water meadow). The pub itself, the Old Windmill Inn, is a fantastic rural inn which was very welcoming and had a busy but pleasant atmosphere. We didn't arrive until just after 10pm but they still managed to provide us with a jacket potato and bacon & cheese hoagie - both were really tasty and very much appreciated so late in the evening. There was a good selection of beers and we shall certainly return soon for a proper meal there.

We stayed on the water meadow site just in front of the pub and amazingly we shared this large area with just one other unit - despite it being a Friday in mid-August! We parked up close to the river under a row of poplar trees and it was a perfect spot - peaceful, relaxing and lots of birds around us the next morning.

The pub now has a single toilet and shower for campers to use, we had electric hook-up and the nights stay for 2 of us was only £9.

We shall certainly return to this quiet, well maintained site which has an excellent pub on its doorstep and is great value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: VickiMeldrew 4 reviews from this member

 This is a great Caravan Club CL. 
 
We spent 2 nights at this CL and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
 
The site is owned by the Old Windmill Inn which is situated on the opposite side of the road so a great place for those who want to have a drink and something nice to eat (We didn't eat there but our caravanning neighbour who is a regular to the site stated the food was very good, the portions very large and excellent value for money). The pub looked very classy.
 
The pub also has another CL located behind the pub "The Paddock" this is smaller but does benefit from the use of the pub loo when they are open and is ideal for those who want to be closer to the pub at closing time!
 
Water Meadow is very spacious site and you have the choice of having electric or not, £7 with £4.50 without.
 
The site itself was very well maintained with closely mown grass and excellent fresh/waste/chemical facilites. Although open and sunny the site has character with attractive shrubs and trees screening it from the little used road.
 
If you've got a dog there is room to walk your dog and there are lots of walking opportunities from the site along public footpaths if you have an explorer map including Great Cressingham wood giving you a 2 hour walk.
 
The van didn't move from its pitch all weekend.  The site was full on the Saturday night and its not hard to see why.
 
An extremely peaceful and relaxing weekend we definitely will be back 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Water Meadow Certified Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Water Meadow Certified Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Cressingham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54567 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement