Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Crowden Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Glossop > Crowden Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Crowden Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crowden
Woodhead Road
Glossop
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK13 1HZ
Tel: 01457 866057
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/04 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 25 reviews from this member

 No car walking in and out

Stayed here part of pennine way walk. There are a number of small huts with heating for rent.

Wash rooms modern and clean. Laundry with washer and dryer change available at office reasonable price. Plenty hot water in showers Small essentials shop on site.

Phone signal 02 and Vodaphone not any others. Two chaps Graham and Roy run this site really friendly and helpful.

Be aware if walking The Bull Heads is some distance away walking and very dangerous if you walk along main road. Cabs seem reluctant to come out to campsite JRS cabs did come out.

Excellent site nice and quite. There are NO buses. Only bus stop is National Express which has to booked by phone or internet no signal remember. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lloyd227 1 review from this member

 Great location as easy to access nice walks and good pub just down the road in Tintwistle. The road is very busy and you can hear it just slightly at night but not enough to put you off.

The staff are really helpful and friendly. There is no tv coverage but you can either hire sat box or connect to the dishes dotted around the site.

Mobile coverage is practically non existent but that can be a good thing and internet is also non existent.

Apart fro the phone and tv things this is a great little site. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Blinxter 11 reviews from this member

 Cracking little caravan club site (campers don't be put off)

If you are walking the pennine way you will almost definitely be staying here after the first full days hiking and you will be glad of it.

Shop and reception are open until 6pm (later if busy) but if you miss it and are hiking through you can pitch up opposite the shop close to the picnic tables and pay in the morning.

Don't forget too that being a camping and caravanning club site you get a discounted rate if you turn up under your own steam (so on foot, push bike or canoe [maybe on the wetter days])

It has a well stocked shop and the toilet block is exceptional.

There's no phone signal in the valley here but there is a payphone on the toilet block wall if you need to check in at all :)

The site is immaculately kept, picturesque and peaceful. It was a pleasure to be woken up by the sound of a cuckoo calling from the surrounding trees.

This is my second visit and it never fails to be a wonderful welcome at the end of a days walking. You can even treat yourself to a Magnum from the freezer if you arrive before the shop closes - what better motivation to push on and finish early ;) 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Transpenniner 3 reviews from this member

 Living in Salford, Crowden is really local for us. We came here to "test drive" a new awning. But what a discovery!

Nestling in a wooded hollow, its location is like being in the middle of woods. Wish we had come before - it's the ideal place for peace and quiet, a chance to recharge one's own batteries and get some "our time" away from the distractions of life - no TV (but satellite boxes available to rent, as well as DVDs to rent for a 1), limited mobile reception, read some books and paint. I cant remember the last time I felt so relaxed!

Add to this the wonderfully professional, knowledgeable helpful and friendly attentive staff who keep the site well kempt, who could want anything else for the ideal short relaxing break.

Cant comment on child friendliness, as didn't take any and there were none on the site when we visited.

There is a small basic stocked shop on site for essentials so if you don't plan driving a few miles to the local shops, take your luxuries with you 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely clean site with really helpful staff. One of the wardens is an ex chef, and he makes and sells great curries and pizzas etc. The site is quiet but we could hear road noise, especially motorbikes.

The showers and facilities are kept very clean.

Their is no tv signal, but they rent out sky boxes and leads so you can watch tv.

Great area for walking or trudging, I wouldn't take kids here as there is nothing for them.

A group of about 12 teens turned up with their teachers, they were quiet, but maybe the teachers should tell them to read stuff :)

Door clearly marked laundry, huge notice over the sink 'No Dishwashing' what were they doing? Yep, washing up. I sent them to the other door marked 'dishwashing' another couple were trying to wash up at the fresh water tap. Another boy was fascinated by the elsan point and spent ages with the hose flushing it. Bet he didn't realise what it was. LOL.

Overall a nice site, but not for kids. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimthewalker 4 reviews from this member

 Couldn't have been more welcoming - backpacking on the Pennine Way, we turned up without booking, got a flat pitch with immaculate toilet block and free hot showers. We were also offered the use of a socket to charge our phones.

The (new?) manager is a former chef and offers home made pizzas (the dough smelled good whilst proving) and curries - a fairly mild but very flavourful Chicken Jalfrezi with rice and naan for 6.

Well worth it, and far nicer than our fallback of trangia cooking. We didn't even need to go to the hut to get the curry - he delivered it to our tents! That level of pricing extended to the camp shop too. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Basecampion 1 review from this member

 Just back from our first visit to Crowden. We've been to many campsites and this is now definitely one of our top few.

We felt well looked after, superb facilities- great care and attention clearly given. A nice sized site with relaxed and respectful atmosphere.

The rope swing in the woods was a huge hit with the children. And the choice of walks on the doorstep was a huge hit with me. We'll definitely be back as soon as possible.

The wardens are doing a brilliant job. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonk 20 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here as a base for walking and going to a concert in Manchester. Excellent place for walking and exploring in the hills. There is a good disused railway track for walking or cycling. Being a railway track there aren't many hills on it!

Once on the track you can walk to Hadfield where there are shops, a bakery and tea rooms for refreshment before walking back. The other way takes you to the entrance of a disused tunnel, there is a board there with its history.

It was quite wet when we visited so grass was a bit muddy but that is only to be expected at that time of year. The facilities were despite this, kept immaculate. Knowledgeable, helpful and friendly wardens. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely site.

I think I paid 9. 45 for one person backpacking. Cheaper than booking through main CCC website.

Lovely facilities. Flat site.

On Pennine Way but off main path and away from elements.

Staff were lovely. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coldnwet 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite to use when walking the Pennine Way. After a long walk on the first leg this campsite was perfect, it had great facilities and was very clean and quiet.

The shop on site also makes food so you can order a meal and there is a drying room and tumble dryer which we needed as the weather was atrocious and we had cold, wet and hungry teenagers.

Very friendly staff and because this site was so good we have become members of the caravan and camping club as seeing their logo now means an assurance of a good camping experience. Thanks again to all at the Crowden campsite. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crowden Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Crowden Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glossop      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4612 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements