Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crowden Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Crowden Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crowden
Woodhead Road
Glossop
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK13 1HZ
Tel: 01457 866057
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

This is a lovely clean site with really helpful staff. One of the wardens is an ex chef, and he makes and sells great curries and pizzas etc. The site is quiet but we could hear road noise, especially motorbikes.

The showers and facilities are kept very clean.

Their is no tv signal, but they rent out sky boxes and leads so you can watch tv.

Great area for walking or trudging, I wouldn't take kids here as there is nothing for them.

A group of about 12 teens turned up with their teachers, they were quiet, but maybe the teachers should tell them to read stuff :)

Door clearly marked laundry, huge notice over the sink 'No Dishwashing' what were they doing? Yep, washing up. I sent them to the other door marked 'dishwashing' another couple were trying to wash up at the fresh water tap. Another boy was fascinated by the elsan point and spent ages with the hose flushing it. Bet he didn't realise what it was. LOL.

Overall a nice site, but not for kids.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimthewalker 3 reviews from this member

Couldn't have been more welcoming - backpacking on the Pennine Way, we turned up without booking, got a flat pitch with immaculate toilet block and free hot showers. We were also offered the use of a socket to charge our phones.

The (new?) manager is a former chef and offers home made pizzas (the dough smelled good whilst proving) and curries - a fairly mild but very flavourful Chicken Jalfrezi with rice and naan for 6. Well worth it, and far nicer than our fallback of trangia cooking. We didn't even need to go to the hut to get the curry - he delivered it to our tents! That level of pricing extended to the camp shop too.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Basecampion 1 review from this member

Just back from our first visit to Crowden. We've been to many campsites and this is now definitely one of our top few. We felt well looked after, superb facilities- great care and attention clearly given. A nice sized site with relaxed and respectful atmosphere. The rope swing in the woods was a huge hit with the children. And the choice of walks on the doorstep was a huge hit with me. We'll definitely be back as soon as possible. The wardens are doing a brilliant job.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonk 18 reviews from this member

Spent a week here as a base for walking and going to a concert in Manchester. Excellent place for walking and exploring in the hills. There is a good disused railway track for walking or cycling. Being a railway track there aren't many hills on it! Once on the track you can walk to Hadfield where there are shops, a bakery and tea rooms for refreshment before walking back. The other way takes you to the entrance of a disused tunnel, there is a board there with its history.

It was quite wet when we visited so grass was a bit muddy but that is only to be expected at that time of year. The facilities were despite this, kept immaculate. Knowledgeable, helpful and friendly wardens.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

Lovely site.

I think I paid 9. 45 for one person backpacking. Cheaper than booking through main CCC website.

Lovely facilities. Flat site.

On Pennine Way but off main path and away from elements.

Staff were lovely.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coldnwet 2 reviews from this member

This is a great campsite to use when walking the Pennine Way. After a long walk on the first leg this campsite was perfect, it had great facilities and was very clean and quiet. The shop on site also makes food so you can order a meal and there is a drying room and tumble dryer which we needed as the weather was atrocious and we had cold, wet and hungry teenagers. Very friendly staff and because this site was so good we have become members of the caravan and camping club as seeing their logo now means an assurance of a good camping experience. Thanks again to all at the Crowden campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coffee maker 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic camp site. We were greeted with a menu of hot food and hot showers. With breakfast baps available in the morning who could ask for more. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Like most of the Camping and Caravanning Club sites it was a very well managed site; however Crowden does it with a relaxed style that I hadn't experienced at their other sites. Definitely would return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Littletwitch 2 reviews from this member

This site has had new managers this year after last years abissmal episode with a manager who thought

She was too good for the site. Looking forward the new mamnager has made a fantastic improvement. I go to this site every other week and can say the walks are tremendous being on the Pennine Way. The toilets are old but very clean, and may be due for upgrading. The shops will need transport to get to and various good eating pubs will also. Just got back but looking forward to returning week after next.

I would like to add there is a well stocked shop on site as well as a very good food menue, pizza's, burgers, and curries are popular as well as all day breakfasts all at good prices.

You will not get a warmer welcome at any other site.

Well done to Steve, Paula, and Richard.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mudkip90 1 review from this member

This is a lovely little club site that has recently come under new management. They've put a lot of effort into renovating the site and you can really tell.

The toilets and showers are immaculate and the shop is well stocked. It's a great place to stop for Pennine Wayfarers (they really look after walkers and backpackers here) and also a perfect base for exploring the Peak District National Park.

I'll definitely go back the next time I'm in the area!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Flamingteacher 11 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site!

The grounds and facilities are beautifully presented and maintained. The site staff are friendly, relaxed and meticulous.

The site is level, the pitches and hard standings are generous size.

Pizzas that were cooked on site, were good, made & delivered by Steve-the warden himself.

We walked to Tintwhistle for a pint, by the side of the reservoirs. It was an easy but, rather lengthy walk fand took us around an hour and a quarter. The Bulls Head is a friendly pub, but not really worthy of the hike. Didn't seem geared up for food, but may be wrong. It welcomes dogs and is very relaxed. We got a taxi back to the site, which cost 10 including the dogs.

The walking is simply fantastic from this site, straight onto the Pennine Way within yards.

Spring sunshine made our stay all the better.

Paid 19:10 for motorhome, 2 adults ( club members), 2 dogs and electricity.

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3095 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!