Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brongwyn Touring Caravan And Camping Park And Cottages

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Brongwyn Touring Caravan And Camping Park And Cottages Reviews

Brongwyn Touring Caravan And Camping Park And Cottages
Brongwyn Mawr
Penparc
Cardigan
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA43 1SA
Tel: 01239 613644
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 18/05/2021 to 08/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 88 reviews from this member

 We would never normally choose a family-centred site in August but came across this when we tried to book their CL, which was full.

They mentioned they had the touring park also, which was occupied by 16 other units.

After a very friendly welcome, we were pleasantly surprised by the site: mostly tents around the perimeter, with hard standings placed centrally.

The shower/toilet block was exceptionally clean, so too the laundry, washing up room.

There were plenty of kids using the excellent play area and also cycling up and down the roadway, but I have to say they were the most well-behaved children we have encountered on any site and it was a pleasure to see them enjoying themselves.

We didn't use the swimming pool or games room but what great facilities for a family holiday.

We just had to two nights there, as we wanted a short break after having our 'van serviced locally, but we'd certainly consider revisiting. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathasle 9 reviews from this member

 Spent a great week at this lovely site. The owners were really friendly and very helpful. Lovely play area suitable for young and old children. Games room with toys for younger children as well as a snooker and football table. Lovely swimming pool (chargeable). The facilities were always clean, freezer to use for ice blocks, washing machines and tumbler dryers. Nice quiet site we didn't hear any noise after 10pm even over the bank holiday weekend. Tesco, Aldi and B&M 10 minutes away. Ideal location to explore this beautiful part of the country. I would definitely recommend this site and would visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pipparodgers 2 reviews from this member

 Our stay at Brongwyn campsite was superb, Arrived at reception & greeted by two lovely people, presume they were the owners, Very friendly and helpful, Arrived at the pitch which was brilliant, electric hook up, Perfect plot no. 6, lovely site everything you need, excellent play area for the kids, Which is right next to everything showers laundry washing up area which are all excellent, So kids can play while you wash etc :), The pool is gorgeous and we had it all to ourselves one day, its a really well maintained campsite, We were very impressed and will definitely be going again, The surrounding area is great, shop just at the top of the road for the few essentials or just up the road a tesco and a bit further Aldi's, Cardigan town 10 mins away is a lovely town everything you need x & Mwnt beach just down the road is the most stunning beach, perfect, We went on a boat trip with a Bay to remember in Gwbert literally 10 mins away, Amazing, There's a hotel there called The Rock it does gorgeous food and has a glass balcony looking over the bay, beautiful xxx 4* we will give this campsite :) Xxx 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Galaxygirl 1 review from this member

 We loved this small charming campsite. The facilities were spottlessley clean, adequate, central and easily accessible. The showers were hot and clean. Free hairdryers, indoor washing up with a good supply of hot water, freezer for ice packs and 2 washers 2 dryers. Having had a bad experience with partying all night neighbours at a campsite last year we read the reviews before booking and true to its word this campsite was very quiet at night. There are two play areas and a grassy area for kids to play. The swimming pool was expensive at 5 but we were very glad of it on wet days. The deal of swimming, sauna, steam room and gym fo 10 was a good offer. The games room has a small pool table 50p and table football plus some toys and a play kitchen for younger kids. The woodland walk was over rated and no more than a poor path boredered by nettles through a few trees. The pitches were bigger than average well drained and the grass short and neat. Plenty of trees and shrubs border the pitches but we did have a few windy nights. Tescos and Aldis are a short drive away in Cardigan. The theatre in Cardigan doubles up as a cinema. There are two petrol stations nearby and a premier at the end of the lane. On arrival the owners gave us a list of types of beaches and recommended eating places which was a useful extra. If I was going to come back to this part of Wales again I would quite happily stay at this site again. It was ideal. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mac2 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights. In summary we would visit the area again most definitely but probably not this site.

Pros

Clean showers and clean site

Pool (expensive )

Reasonable facilities

Great surrounding area for beaches

Friendly welcome

Good play area for kids

Cons

Felt a little like pitching in a car park. There were 3 pitches with a view of a field which looked better, but no EHU on these (even Bear Gryls has hook up these days)

Reception only seemed to be open When we were at the beach. Only saw staff when booking in and then on last day when we had to ask for our electric toothbrush back which they had confiscated because it was charging in the bathrooms.

Push buttons showers were useless. Clean but possibly because no one could be bothered with them. I'd rather pay 30p and get a reasonable shower.

Not really a site for tents, maybe more a tourer, hence the car park feeling. Suggest providing hook up to the 3 nicer pitches if possible? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 23 reviews from this member

 Third time we've stayed at Brongwyn, lovely little site in a great part of Wales. Facilities are cleaned daily, push button showers, and lights on a timer - caught out our daughter once whilst showering - she was left in darkness, (perhaps due to low occupancy of site she was the only person in the block and nobody else 'motioned' the sensor). Two mornings out of the eight we were there the showers had only cold water though - although this wasn't for everybody in our group - my OH and I visited on separate occasions and we both had one cold shower each. Although I informed Graham and he said he'd get straight onto it and fix it. Push buttons showers could do with staying on for longer.

Lovely swimming pool with sauna and steam room. A great facility for wet and cold days. Recycling available on site, although the bins weren't emptied in the time we were there and were overflowing by the time we left.

Great pitch for our van though, enough hard-standing for car, van and full sized awning, which was perhaps a good job as the grass was very soggy due to the amount of poor weather we had. Dried out by the end of the week though.

Some bad points this year though, disappointingly, we had a couple of noisy nights, with (we think), children who were staying at the cottages making much noise in the play park passed reasonable camping quiet times, (9:30pm one night throwing boulders down a slide on

The park, and 10:30pm properly screaming etc whilst playing on the park). Can only presume as they were staying in the cottages they weren't well trained in camping noise etiquette. We heard them from our pitch which is as far as you can

Get from the park as you can get. One of our group went to quieten them down, would have been nice to see the owners do this though as they must have been able to hear the noise also.

Plenty of bird life around the site, although the rabbits weren't as noticeable this year. Saw a woodpecker on the driveway one morning, which was a lovely site. An abundance of red kites in the local area too.

Tesco's is just a five minute drive away. Although there is a small shop at the local petrol station which has a good stock of food.

Mwnt beach is gorgeous, although a bit of a hike from the car park via some steps. Saw a seal there and two dolphins also made a visit

Which the whole beach enjoyed watching. Aberarron (sp?) worth a walk around the shops and harbour. Cardigan has some nice shops and an indoor market. Can recommend the chippy at Aberporth, gorgeous fish and chips - saw a seal there too.

Newquay also worth a visit, lovely little seaside town. Went on a four hour fishing trip, but only caught one small guarnard and several small whiting.

Very small lane approaching the site, fortunately only met one car on leaving and he didn't mind been faced with a van coming the other way and moved out of my way onto a driveway.

We'll happily stop there again, but due to the noise, and the cold water showers we might just look elsewhere to see if we can find any where else in the local area, but to be fair, I doubt there is anything better around the Cardigan area than this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EvsNorthWales 3 reviews from this member

 Just a quick note to confirm and support all Mizzteets has said. This is an excellent little site that is really safe if you have young kids (ours are 5 & 6) as they can entertain themselves and make friends at the play areas.

The shop up the road is in easy walking distance (15mins) if you need supplies or fancy stretching your legs. Everyone seems to be mentioning Tesco's when Cardigan has much more to offer! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sguise 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site!

Stayed here with my husband & 2 young children (3&4) for a week in August.

A single track, windy road (Not for the feignt hearted!) leads down to the most wonderful site.

A small site with 2 fantastic playgrounds for children of differing ages, an immaculately kept swimming pool, a lovely woodland walk & an indoor room for teens - a fantastic location for exploring mid Wales.

The owners could not have done more for us. I felt a little cut off from the outside world - no phone signal whatsoever but the owners allowed us to use their phone to order a takeaway which was much appreciated.

We took recommendations from the owners as to where to go & visited some fantastic beaches - Mwnt is spectacular & is free parking if you're in the NT. They also recommended Folly Farm when I was raining - A brilliant day out was had by all.

Negatives - the showers although clean are terrible. They operate on a push button system which lasts at the most 2 minutes before they go off. More than once I found myself, eyes covered in shampoo aimlessly trying to locate the push button to turn the water on again - Easily rectified although others on here have made the same comments & nothing has been done.

The pool was very expensive to use 7 per adult & 4 per child - it was however clean.

Don't let either of the above put you off - a beautiful spot in an equally beautiful location! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mizzteets 1 review from this member

 Brongwyn Touring and Camping park is a really lovely site. It is very small in comparison to other sites I have visited but this adds to its charm. The facilities are excellent, the toilet and shower blocks are spotlessly clean and within a good distance from the pitches.

The showers were free which is always a bonus however they did only run for a short length of time before you had to press the on button again which was slightly annoying. The washing up room was equiped with two sinks, two washing machines and two tumble dryers which was a real bonus as due to the bad weather we had a lot of muddy clothes to wash.

There is a small games room there but no clubhouse. The website is very clear about having no clubhouse there but we thought we would try it out anyway as it looked so lovely there. In hindsight though we did miss having somewhere to go in the evenings and there are no pubs close enough to the site to be able to go for a drink in the evening. Despite this it made for a very quiet site and suitable for people who want peace and quiet and a relaxing break.

There are two lovely playgrounds there which kept the children entertained for hours, one play area is suitable for smaller children with small plastic play equipment perfect for toddlers. The other play area has larger wooden equipment which the older children loved.

The pool, sauna and gym facilities are top notch for such a small site and despite the extra charge are well worth the money. The only gripe we had was that when we went to reception with any queries we never found anybody on duty.

There is a Tesco 5 minutes drive away from the site which is very handy and Cardigan town centre is a 10 minute drive away.

All in all I would recommend this site to other people but I would say that the lack of a clubhouse could be a problem for people who prefer a more lively atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: K.murphy 10 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights at this lovely site, the owners obligingly juggling the pitches to fit me in despite suffering a little water logged ground on a few pitches. Other wise no complaints.

The pool and sauna/ steam room was an added luxury which most sites do not have, worth the 7 half day session fee. The showers and toilet area were clean although showers lacked a bit of pressure.

A nice play area for the younger children on site. A car is needed to visit the local beaches and small coves which inevitably are down narrow windy lanes with parking a premium when you get there.

Cardigan is a short cycle away with a cycle track along the river to a wetlands centre. The owners are happy to advice where to go along the coastal path to hopefully spot the local family of dolphins.

However all we saw were 2 swimmers in wet suits swimming from Aberport to Tresaith which at first we thought were dolphins !

Lots to do in the area and we plan on returning to explore further. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brongwyn Touring Caravan And Camping Park And Cottages child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Brongwyn Touring Caravan And Camping Park And Cottages have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brongwyn Touring Caravan And Camping Park And Cottages?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Brongwyn Touring Caravan And Camping Park And Cottages dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cardigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8045 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement