Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cuckoos Corner Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Cuckoos Corner Camp Site
Moreton On Lugg
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR4 8AH
Tel: 01432 760234
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 25th January To 5th December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alimaggs 3 reviews from this member

Located just off the busy A49, 4 miles outside Hereford. Bus stops outside for Hereford or Leominster. Small clean campsite, surrounded by trees which help dampen the traffic noise.

Excellent facilities, spotless heated showers and toilets. Good wifi and an iPad in reception for guests use. Laundry additional cost £2. Excellent fish and chips from the Village Chippy. Local shop for essential groceries. We walked to local pub for lunch, mostly flat 2. 6 mile walk each way to The Golden Cross. A warm welcome from Adrian and lots of local information.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 238 reviews from this member

A nice site, somewhat marred by road noise, but that is hardly the fault of the owner, who is very helpful and pleasant. We couldn't get Sky tv on our allocated pitch (not quite sure why we were given that one, as I enquired when I booked); he allowed us to move the following day.

Access is easy, directly off the A49 so it's easy to get to everywhere.

There is a caravan sales/accessory shop at Dinmore, a few miles north on the main road and also a garage here. There is a convenience store where you can also withdraw cash (ask the shopkeeper, no cash machine) at Moreton on Lugg. The 'best fish and chip shop in Herefordshire 2007', also in Moreton, has obviously gone downhill since then, cheap huge portions of greasy chips and rubbery fish.

Facilities are good, and there is also a washing machine, £3 will do a normal wash, also a drier if needed and rotary washing lines.

Plenty of local walks, try Lugg Meadows for doggy river swimming.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heavymetalpirate 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights during a very hot spell in May. A cracking little site, just off the main A road (so there is some noise, but as we live in a busy and vibrant city, it did not disturb us). Our pitch was allocated on the notice board as we drove onto the site and easy to find. Pitch sizes are incredibly generous with EHU, water and aerial to each pitch. Pitches are flat, making pegging out a breeze. We made use of one of the wooden picnic tables as we were camping with our Mum and partner in their motorhome. Facilities are clean, warm and spacious. The showers are great, plenty of hot water, but are a little slippy if unsteady underfoot. Washing up facilities are covered, with a washing machine and dryer should you need it. A bit of a shocker while we were there, a lady from a caravan was washing her smalls in the sink that everyone else was doing their dishes in, not appropriate, but I guess it takes all sorts. Adrian is a delight, really welcoming and full of information, he is clearly very proud of his little site, and who can blame him. There is a lovely relaxed vibe. We do recommend the Village Chip shop, the portions are indeed enormous, and there is a GF option too. Very reasonable cost (both for the fish and chip supper and that of the stay at the site)

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 20 reviews from this member

Excellent, well maintained, equipped and cared for little site. Good, private and warm facilities. Free wifi. Good value for money. Just off main road but noise not excessive and on regular bus route into Hereford. Short walking distance to local shop and takeaway. Footpaths nearby. Friendly, informative owner.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Turner2 51 reviews from this member

Good value for money stay on this well equipped campsite just 20 minutes from Hereford centre. We stayed for 7 nights on the added value offer. Although in the depths of Winter everything was fine with two new immaculate heated shower rooms, great WiFi and very pleasant owners - what more could you want?

Easy walk to village - tried the fish shop but wasn’t impressed. We also made full use of the bus service which stops at the site entrance-we visited Leominster and Hereford on a couple of occasions with the hourly bus service.

Will definitely use this site again

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5448 32 reviews from this member

Had a lovely four night stay here. Although very wet in Herefordshire the pitches are hard standings so no problem. The facilities were spotlessly clean to - no mean feat with the weather. We were met by Adrian who gave us a quick guide on the area and warned us that the fish and chip portions from the ship 5 mins walk away were large. They certainly were! We also had a Chinese delivered to our pitch and it was superb. There are numerous walks straight from the site. Yes, there’s road noise but no other noise at all. We look forward to returning.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richardssecurity 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely site adults only, not expensive either £17 a night with electric hook up tv airial and water all in. Free showers best welcome ever and so laid back. Near best chippy fish chips and peas £6. 40 but fed the two of us with one portion, only get there early as the queue gets out of the door and down the street. Noise from road a bit of a nuisance but got quiet as the evening came in will go back and try to see more of the area around

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andie74 18 reviews from this member

Just returned from cuckoo's corner stopped on cl site. Easy to find off A49 access to cl side a bit narrow.

Got nice welcome off owner very good facility with info room with books dvd and iPad, also washing machine and dryer. Our dog liked the dog walk that went on for ever.

Handy for places to visit crofft castle and Berrington hall, bus to Hereford and Leinster.

Not far from good chippy and post office/ shop.

Only slight problem was line caravan up very close to pea shingle as you park up on concrete.

Also people must have gone in shower will shoes on as they where covered in mud.

Very good site especially for price. £112 for week.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 29 reviews from this member

A very well kept site, close to the city of Hereford, located just off the main road between Hereford and Lemininster.

Booked via email- no deposit required.

Access to the site is very easy off the main road, greeted on arrival by a notice identifying which pitch we were allocated to.

A small site with 2 main sections with adjoining path to access to toilet blocks(sheds). One block with 1 male and 1 female toilet with sink. Ample space and kept clean at all times. Another unisex shed with a 'reception' room housing books and tourist information with a door bell on the wall outside in case you needed any assistance from Adrian (Owner). Two Unisex bathrooms were joined on to this building each contained toilet, shower and sink. The facilities were kept in excellent order, however I found it very off-putting that each time you visited the facilities, felt like you were being watched by other guests who were sat outside their units. I found this very uncomfortable at times, particularly so as the toilets though were very well presented 'sheds' were in very near proximity to several pitches, who must have had an amusing experience for obvious reasons.

Pitches were a good size with a water connection at each pitch as far as I could see. Waste water drained into hedgerows(a great way to use grey water) tv connection point also on the pitch which was great as satellite reception was virtually impossible. WIFI was excellent - the best I have ever used on a site and even better than being at home.

Dog walks were great - a public bridleway adjoins the site and walks with the dogs took us through a bamboo field and an orchard. Clearly marked pathways to go beyond that if needed, but provided a more than satisfactory area to walk the dogs. There were no dog bins and some owners obviously could not be bothered to clean up after their dogs - such a shame.

The city of Hereford was very easy to get to. Only a short drive away supermarkets and shops plentiful. Across the road from the site in the village itself is a well stocked post office/general stores and an excellent fish and chip shop. Chinese take aways can be ordered if needed and delivered directly to your pitch.

Wasn't impressed with Leminster thought is was very run down - but that is my personal view others may find it pleasant. A little further afield was Ludlow which we found to be a very pleasant and friendly place - Very 'oldy worldy' and quaint.

Overall a very nice site. It was just a shame that the toilets were not a little more private. There is some road noise but that is unavoidable and didn't really cause any problems. Would have given this site 10/10 but for the toilets - perhaps a fence surrounding them would have given a little more privacy? Excellent value for money!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CEW3A 22 reviews from this member

This site is a little gem. I emailed Adrian to enquire about vacancies beforehand, and was able to book by email, no deposit required, just pay in full by cheque on arrival. We were not given a list of rules, departure time etc as is common on some sites, but there were various notices posted with instructions about shutting doors, how to operate the showers etc. The site is kept clean & Adrian always seemed to be in his overalls & keeping the site well maintained, including cutting the grass. In addition to the 1 male & 1 female toilet & sink rooms, there are 2 unisex showers - more like bathrooms at home really, with a toilet & sink in each as well as the shower. The water in the showers is hot but the pressure isn't brilliant, but it's ok. There is a metal garden shed containing the washing up sink & a table for putting the dishes on as well as the sink drainer. The water at this sink could do with being a bit hotter for my liking, but it's ok. The shed also contains a domestic washing machine & a dryer (with instructions on working both!) & both are operated by putting £1 coins in a meter - please note, it takes the NEW £1 coins. £3 for most washes & £1 or £2 to use the dryer, but only 1 machine can be operated at a time. There is also an ironing board there (didn't use it myself) & a tub of clothes pegs to use with the 2 rotary dryers on the paved area nearby. There are a selection of bins including for recycling & a very useful information room with books to borrow (we swapped a couple for some we had brought with us & finished reading!) & a microwave & fridge freezer for use by campers, though we didn't need to do so.

The site is quite sheltered & our pitch was by some conifers. We were helped into position by some other campers who told us they have come twice every year for the past 18 years! There were 2 Shetland ponies in the paddock behind the trees & we saw rabbits, and were thrilled to see a goldfinch one morning - first time we had ever seen one! I had to google what it was using the free wifi - a real bonus!

Generally a lovely quiet site, adults only. There was some traffic noise from the A49 which is closer than I had imagined! This didn't really disturb us though, but at the start of our second week the A49 was closed between 8pm & 6am for resurfacing - though it didn't actually need resurfacing!The workmen worked through the night at various points on the road & some nights were VERY noisy! This was not Adrian's fault though, and the close proximity of the A49 will not prevent us from returning at some time in the future.

Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2703 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019