Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Eels Foot Inn Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Leiston > The Eels Foot Inn Certificated Location > Reviews

The Eels Foot Inn Certificated Location
Eastbridge
Leiston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4SN
Tel: 01728 830154
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony Burton 42 reviews from this member

 Location, Location, Location.

I see I last reviewed this site 6 years ago.

If you want a site with wonderful views of wildlife, this is for you.

Not only is it overlooking RSPB Minsmere. There is also an amazing variety of birds in the adjacent hedgerows and fields. You may have to replenish the bird feeders on site to see them all. Swallows nest on the site in early summer and a Barn Owl hunts morning and evening right outside the caravan window. Marsh Harriers and Herons fly by. There are a number of walks direct from the site, either to the sea or through the woods and across Dunwich Heath. The Suffolk Coastal Path and the Sandlings Way both pass by.

The Eels Foot Inn and B&B is ancient, quirky and unique. Food is good, serving breakfasts, lunches and dinners. On a Thursday evening local musicians arrive for an ad hoc skit night. We love to go there. It’s typically Suffolk.

However, if you’re looking for a pristine site with manicured lawns and level ground, then perhaps you should try elsewhere. The long narrow lane with passing places could put some caravaners off as could the occasional whiff from what I assume is a cess pit. However the toilets in the rear of the pub are kept immaculately clean. We’ll be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ptaylor5 1 review from this member

 Not a bad small site but lacked TLC, grass needed cutting as even the water supply tap was overgrown. We stayed two nights in wonderful weather, I would not like to stay on this site in bad weather. Pub food was average typical pub grub. Excellent location for Minsmere but there are narrow access roads from Eastbridge. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HarryB 18 reviews from this member

 Just enjoyed 7 nights at this super quiet location and would agree with the last 2 reviews of the site and what it offers after it has reopened.

We originally booked for 5 as the site was fully booked over the weekend. However the windy/wet weather resulted in 3 cancellations so we stayed over. Constant rain over the weekend didn't affect the field which is sandy based and drains into the nearby ditch. The grass is rough meadow turf and slopes very gently but the pitches around the perimeter should present no problems to levelling and the ditch has been protected by a basic wooden fence along its length. The septic tank does not pose any problems either and is screened from view by tall weed like plants. There are ehu's on either side of the field but one pitch, near the entrance, does require a long lead. The landlord can help out here.

If approaching from Yoxford go through Theberton and ignore roads on the left to Eastbridge until you see the Eelsfoot pub sign opposite a layby, turn left here. The approach road is narrow but with plenty of passing places shouldn't present a problem. There was plenty of birds spotted whilst we were there, a marsh harrier took off from the field next to our van and two egrets paid a visit. We didn't see any deer but we could certainly hear them at night as it was rutting season. Not something you see or hear in city life.

Overall a nice cl in a very central location for this area of Suffolk. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony Burton 42 reviews from this member

 This site has now reopened as a Caravan Club cl.

We had an idyllic 12 days here. The highlights were the views across the fields towards the RSPB Minsmere Reserve. From our caravan we spotted Marsh harriers, Barn owls, a stoat and many other birds and wildlife. There was a swallow’s nest at the rear of the inn.

There is a footpath from the village down to the sea about one and a half miles away. Other paths lead up through the woods and alongside the rivers and streams. See how many deer you can spot on the walk to Dunwich Heath. We also cycled many miles along the quiet Suffolk lanes.

The inn provides reasonably priced meals and on Thursday night the locals bring their instruments for a folk music evening.

There are 5 members only touring pitches on a fairly well kept grass area next to the Inn car park.

Toilets were available when the pub was open.

There is a well constructed point for grey water and chemical waste.

This is a peaceful place. Very little noise from the customers at the inn. There is a children's play area at the far side of the grounds.

We will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Visited the Eel’s Foot earlier today, and am pleased to advise that the site has been reinstated as a Caravan Club C. L.

Had a chat with the owners who let me look around. They advised me that the site will open officially at Easter, and that the price is £12. 50 / night including EHU. Booking telephone number is 01728 830154.

The site is next to the pub car park, and is pretty level. On one side of the pitching area there is a steep bank of about 3m going down to a water course, presumably this is why children under 12 are not accepted, also that the pitching area contains a large septic tank which is set into the ground.

Campers can use the pub toilet facilities during opening hours.

The site is dog friendly but they must be kept on lead. There are very nice dog walks on the footpaths next to the site. Might be useful to note that dogs are not allowed in the nearby RSBB Minsmere reserve.

The Eel’s Foot pub itself is a very cozy country pub with a real open fire and serving Adnams beers. Hot food is served every day and a main course costs around £10.

The Eel’s Foot also owns and operates Eastbridge Cycle Hire from the same location.

Bed and Breakfast accommodation is also available from a purpose built block at the rear of the pub.

To sum up: A nice, ‘attached to a pub’ C. L. But I hope the septic tank will not be a problem. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: 

 Campsite has now closed 


Reviewer: Denyse Lillisto 1 review from this member

 July 2004
This is a fantastic site if you want peace and quiet. Perfect for walking on heath and shore. We have visited a few times, and will continue to return. The food in the pub in fabulous, and good value for money. The welcome from Corrine and Simon, and the locals is second to none. The "Squit" night - every Thursday - is not to be missed. We haven't enjoyed a night out as much for a long time!

A word of warning - beware of drinking local cider at lunchtime! Spent more than one afternoon sleeping it off in my sleeping bag!! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Eels Foot Inn Certificated Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Eels Foot Inn Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Eels Foot Inn Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leiston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2804 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement