Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Willows Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Mildenhall > The Willows Campsite > Reviews

The Willows Campsite
Hurdle Drove
West Row
Mildenhall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP28 8RB
Tel: 07775 725006
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julieb 1 review from this member

 Campsite was clean, facilities were clean, nice friendly people.

Child friendly if your kids like noisy planes.

Loved it, would certainly recommend it and would definitely go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pamnmart 2 reviews from this member

 Nice small site on the end of RAF Lakenheath runway. If you're not into jet noise, its not for you.

The site facilities are basic, but acceptable, and clean. The showers are coin operated. 50p for 5 minutes.

There is no shop on site, so don't forget anything.

Nothing for children to do unless they like the aircraft, and the nearest town is quite a drive away.

Will we go back. Definitely. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Silverfox52 1 review from this member

 This was my 3rd visit to the Willows.

I was very pleased that Lee gave me the pitch closest to the viewing platform as I am disabled.

As for the rest of the site, I couldn't fault it.

All the amenities were what you would expect, all working and kept clean.

I would recommend the Willows camp site highly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site. Very friendly. Lovely welcome.

And is great for seeing the planes and osprey going overhead. And a great viewing platform overlooking mildenhall raf base.

This was a return visit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Steven781 5 reviews from this member

 I have recently returned from a comfortable and relaxing stay at The Willows.

It really is the site to visit if you like airplanes, I saw such a wide variety of airframes just in my first day.

The site is small but manageable and Lee was available to assist when required.

Ice block freezing is available and make sure you bring a stash of 50p coins for the shower. Showers were spacious and hot, and the meter provides plenty of time.

Facilities are basic, but were kept clean at all times. Only two cubicles in the gents and two unisex shower rooms but I never had to queue despite the site being quite full.

I would suggest visiting Monday - Thursday for catching planes and weekends if you want somewhat of a more quieter stay.

Ideally located for places like Duxford, Ickworth House and Oxburgh Hall.

Thank you Lee for a wonderful stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jgrif5 1 review from this member

 A great stay at The Willows, mainly for a break away from home, and to see the US AirForce planes coming and going.

Our second visit, and we will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 We booked for a night to have a look at the airplanes coming in and out. We thought the photos maybe a little enhanced but they really aren't. Incredible how close they are landing or taking off.

The platform for viewing at the end of the campground directly overlook the runway and is great for spotting jets on route to and from Lakenheath too.

Campsite was to be fair much nicer than website shows. Big pitches, very clean and tidy. Loos and showers are old but immaculate - not a cobweb to be seen. A couple of washing sinks and 2 showers plus loos.

We arrived and whilst owner wasn't in he had left a note with all information we needed.

This site really is worth a visit, not only for the aircraft it's also in a lovely area.

We will come back and 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Andrew Birkin 5 reviews from this member

 Really liked the site. Itís a must for plane spotters

Facilities were spotless and Lee is very friendly and canít do enough to help you out.

Mildenhall being just down to road as all the shopping facilities you might need for a relaxing stay.

Certainly one to be book marked for future visits 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Catface1 13 reviews from this member

 If you have a plane spotter in your life, stay a couple of nights here!

The photo of the plane over the campsite was not a rarity for advertising! There were lots taking off and landing.

There is a platform for viewing at the end of the campground where the plane enthusiasts gathered and did plane chatting.

NOTE: planes were coming late night and early morning, I would recommend earplugs at night!

If you use hook up, you may need a long lead. The facilities are entirely adequate, but not luxury, plenty of hot water. There is a security barrier.

The owner was helpful and friendly 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cashb1 1 review from this member

 Fantastic location if youíre in to aircraftís,

Nice clean toilets and shower cubicles

Iím looking forward to going back very soon,

We had high winds on our visit and one of our tents got damaged and the owner lee done all he could to rescue my daughters family belongings from the ruined tent.

Thank you for a great stay 
via mobile


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Willows Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Willows Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Willows Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mildenhall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3701 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement