Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Maesbach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Site Reviews

Maesbach Caravan And Camping Park
Horseshoe Valley
Ffarmers
Llanwrda
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA19 8EX
Tel: 01558 650650
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 28 static 20 tourer
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Catwoman8 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this lovely site for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility. We were the only tourer on site that physically arrived during our stay. There were 20+statics and about 8 tourers on site that it would appear had been there for the season. We only saw one couple in a tourer on the first night and there were a couple of occupied statics. Talk about a quiet stay.

Pretty, well placed site with good access and nice friendly owners. Facilities simple, well organised and spotless.

Referring back to other feedback left on here we had to purchase the green toilet liquid as it is eco friendly which was fine but have to say I'd recommend emptying your loo every other day as by day 3 ours smelt like rotten cabbage (that's just with liquid use)- sorry for the graphic detail but boy did it pong so it needs emptying more often. Never the less the bottle will last for a very long time so not a problem.

The site is very dark at night and you would need a torch to go to the shower block as the automatic light only comes on once you turn into the block area and there is no other lighting up on the site, this being said it meant that the nightsky was unspoilt by lights meaning it was wonderful for stargazing.

The local pub in the village about 15mins leisurly walk ' The Drovers Arms' was very quiet, brighly lit and not as inviting as we hoped so we had a drink there but didn't eat but drove to a pub 10mins away for a meal recommended to us by the owners of the local riding stables 'Cae Iago'in the village. It is in a village called Caio and the food was excellent and the staff super friendly. The stables use this pub for their pub ride if your interested.

This site is great if like me you want to be near to riding stables, want peace and quiet and are not fussed about loads of facilities. I'd say its a quality rather than quantity site and a hidden gem. We will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GeoffreyI 18 reviews from this member

The site is in a very pleasant area just adjacent to the village of Ffarmers approx. 6 Miles from Lampeter. However the site is predominantly residential caravans and seasonal pitches. On the weekend we were there we were the only tourers on site. This type of setup is not our normal type of set up, but it was an excellent site to view the Cambrian mountains and surrounding area, which is absolutely beautiful. We found it strange to be told that the blue chemical for the toilet disposal system was inappropriate and we should purchase their brand at 10. This is the first time we have encountered this problem. As a previous reviewer has said the amount of do's and don't signs in the shower/ Toilet area are slightly over the top.

If you do want to go for a meal the Drovers Arms in the village was excellent and not too pricey for an excellent al a carte meal.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tipitastic 3 reviews from this member

This is a no frills, but very good campsite in a beautiful, yet understated area. There is plenty of walking and things to do around here, yet not too touristy.

It was comfortable and quiet, with mainly statics with only a few tent pitches. This meant that as a camper, we were the only people using the facilities - so no shower queues.

We did try the pub in the village, but it wasn't that friendly I'm sorry to say, so we didn't return.

We went to a another pub in the next village, the Dolaucothi Arms, which was very nice.

I would definitely return here again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DIPS10 2 reviews from this member

We are nearing the end of our first full seasonal pitch at this site and will definitely be signing up again for next year (if they will have us back!)

The owners of the site could not be more helpful, they deal with all queries in a professional yet friendly manner and, in my humble opinion, go the extra mile to make sure that their customers are happy.

The small site is nicely laid out over two fields, both with a large square of grass in the middle for kids to kick a ball around etc. And vans around the perimeter.

The lower field is predominantly used for statics whilst the higher field is used for tourers and tents etc. Though there are a few statics along the one side.

Pitch sizes are very generous. We have room for our van, full size awning and car at the side with a storage box and plenty of space to the rear and to the front of the van.

The toilet / shower blocks are kept to a very high standard as is the wash up area.

There are no other facilities on site, no playgrounds or club house and this makes this a perfect venue in my mind as it means that the site is generally used by people who want a peaceful escape rather than a nightly knees up.

Children are made welcome, though because of the lack of facilities the site is not generally full of youngsters.

Dogs are welcome on a lead and there are lots of lovely walks around to give them their exercise.

There is a pub just down the road which serves excellent food as well as a local shop. Further afield, in Lampeter, there are a multitude of places to eat (lloyds fish bar being of a very high standard) as well as a co-op, sainsburys and an array of local shops to suit most needs.

There are plenty of National Trust properties within driving distance as well as beaches at Aberaeron & Newquay (around 1/2 hour drive away).

All in all I would recommend this site to anybody, particularly those who want a quiet retreat with stunning views and a relaxed environment.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 1RachDave 1 review from this member

This is a little gem of a site, it's peaceful in the most beautiful valley. Owners are very

Helpful and always have time for a chat.

The caravan site is well maintained, with very clean facilities and lovely hot showers. There's a lovely green in the middle of the site where our children can play safely. Dogs must be kept on a lead at all times, there are plenty of places off site to walk them.

The Drovers Pub in the village is about a 15 min

Walk, great food and very friendly. There's a lovely children's park in the village too.

There's so much to explore in the area, this site is a perfect base.

We are sited at Maesbach this season and will be returning as we've had such a fab time!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robbii 1 review from this member

I am quite surprised by the last review. We went in late July and found everything was fine. The toilets were clean and functional as were the showers.

Being at the top of the field there was a bit of a walk to the toilet block but no real problem for an able bodied person.

Yes, there are quite a few statics and static tourers but this made the toilets very quiet and the people staying on the site were all friendly.

I can't comment on dogs as we don't have one but our children played football, and golf (with an air-ball) with no problem.

The pub is a nice walk from the site and there are a few circular walks from the campsite. Red Kites & buzzards are flying over-head with nut-hatches and owls in the trees.

The owners were happy to have a chat and with National Trust properties and RSPB reserves near & perfect weather we had a good break

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davebiddleston 5 reviews from this member

They were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The site has improved access now with a helpful 'chipping' circuit to the top field. The drainage to must have been much improved as we stayed in very wet conditions, the ground dried quite well and we were certainly in the dampest part of the field.

The showers were hot and clean and the middle of the field was a huge area for children to play happily well in sight of parents and vans. Felt very secure and safe.

Very peaceful little site in beautiful surroundings. The Drover's Arms is an interesting little community owned pub and well worth a visit when there is more than one person running the entire place!

Plenty to do in the local area and the Gold mining and other National Trust properties were excellent. As were the fish and chips on the quay at Newquay (30 mins) overlooking the last of this Summer's sun.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robandangie 2 reviews from this member

We are seasonally sited at this site and have been on site since march. This site is a very peaceful well kept site catering for static caravans on a small scale, with seasonal touring pitches.

There are pitches for tents and visiting tourers/motor homes shower block small but kept very clean and checked often by the owners Graham and Kath.

This site is approx 15min walk from the drovers arms good food and welcoming, there are a number of walks around the site and well mapped out by the owners.

During our time at this site we have found graham and Kath to be very helpful and diligent in the running of this site.

Graham has attempted to rectify the drainage problems and constructed a new roadway around the camping and touring field. If you are looking for a peaceful site with very little traffic on the roads this is a perfect site.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tegdiw 3 reviews from this member

The sloping camping field was saturated apart from a small patch to the top right. I guess that the marsh reed in the camping field was a give away, but the owner said that they'd had a particularly wet winter.

The block is clean and tidy with lovely hot water. I do dislike the prolific use of instructive signs though.

In dry times the site would be a gem, it's a quiet and lovely area. The drainage needs sorting though.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1929 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019