Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ants Hill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Ants Hill Caravan Park Reviews

Ants Hill Caravan Park
Laugharne
Carmarthen
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA33 4QN
Tel: 01994 427293  or  07977110095
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fosbert 3 reviews from this member

This is a great site located on the outskirts of the lovely town of Laugharne. The facilities are new and spotlessly clean. There is nice clubhouse which is popular on the weekend we were staying. Food is also available from the clubhouse on Sat and Sun and whilst it's quite simple fare, it's both reasonably priced and tasty. The outdoor (heated) swimming pool was a real gem and our little boy loved it. There is a stunning circular walk from the site to the town following the coastal path and in places the views are remarkable. During this holiday we visited Wiseman's Bridge so that our son could cycle along the coastal path (via the tunnels) to the town of Saundersfoot. There is a great deal to do in the area and a great beach nearby at Pendine. All in all a lovely fun park which was spotlessly clean with friendly staff. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

A large site with a lot of seasonals and statics. The toilet facilities are very good and clean. The club was good on Friday and Saturday with a turn and bingo but did not open on Sunday at all the same with the swimming pool which looked lovely I think it was that the seasonals had all gone home. We did not see any staff on Sunday at all. There is a bus stop at the end of the lane and a very steep walk downhill to the village (no footpaths for quite away) but a beautiful pretty place, nice pubs, cafes, gift shops and grocers. Dillon Thomas had a boathouse there and is buried in the church yard. As it was Sunday there were no buses the taxi firm we got a quote from and we were relying on had only one car which had gone to Cardiff, but a very friendly pub manager at the Cross House gave us a lift home he was a godsend my husband could never have made it.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnytimesahead 15 reviews from this member

Recently spent a weekend at Antshill. On approach to the site there was no sign indicating its name, just as well we turned in to enquire as the road ahead got quite narrow, with little space to turn around! We had booked a few days before to be told only hard standing with HU available, which suited us. But the hard standing turned out to be what looked like a back car park! No views what so ever, a large hedge to the front and fence panels & back end of statics behind. Not an attractive start. The man showed us a short cut into near town of Laugharne through a hedge. ( which on looking for it turned out to be in a completely different field!) anyway, it turned out to be the nicest September weather & Laugharne town cast it's magic, a gem of a place.

Ant shill campsite is kept immaculate, the showers/toilet area are 1st class, the grass pitches for tourers look as if they are season pitchers. There was a little play park and clubhouse with entertainment that went on quite late on the Saturday night, we heard it plainly as we were directly behind the clubhouse.

The short walk from the site to the near town was down hill on a busy road, no paved area until you met houses. In town was a well stocked Spar shop, many Pubs and eating places. The walk to Dylan Thomas boathouse didn't disappoint. Spectacular area to visit with Pendine, Amroth and Saundersfoot within a 20 minute drive away. All in all would stay there again, but would have preferred the grass pitch to feel part of the place!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walker58 9 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights on a hardstanding with no view but the staff were very helpful. We couldn't secure our pull out awning into the hardstanding so they found us some bricks to hold it in place. Good swimming pool and even in the rain kids were using it! Clubhouse with entertainment but as that is not our thing only popped in for one drink early in the evening. Thought 25 was a bit steep for the hardstanding, but I guess if you used the pool and club it would have been better value. We went to see Llaugharne and Dylan Thomas stuff and weren't disappointed. Locals at the rugby club were very friendly and the chip shop next door sold the best corned beef rissoles I've ever had! Toilet and shower block immaculate.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Claire+Ant 2 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site and we had a lovely time. The site is well kept and the toilets/ showers are cleaned regularly and are modern. Staff were friendly and helpful.

There are a number of seasonal pitches on the site but everyone we met were friendly and welcoming. The children's park could be improved because it is quite small but our 4 year old daughter loved it just the same.

The swimming pool is lovely, divided into deep and shallow ends with seating around for sunbathing - water itself kept very clean with regular water testing. We had no problems with noise - a peaceful camp by day with some children playing late evening time.

Quiet overnight as well. We had such a nice time we were quite disappointed to leave, will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bradtourer 27 reviews from this member

Stayed at ants hill for a sunny weekend, the entrance via the lane was fairly tight to the caravan site,

On arrival I was greeted by the owner who was very polite, showed me to the hard stand pitch, I must admit I was slightly disappointed with the pitch, it basically looked like a car park that had been converted to 8 pitches with electric, also uneven,

That's as far as the complaints go cause the site was very nice,

Has a very nice outdoor heated pool for the kids, a small playground, patio area, football/basketball field, arcades, good entertainment with bingo,

Toilet and shower facilities were perfect, modern and clean,

Found the the weekend campers and season caravanners to be very friendly,

Laugharne is worth a visit only 20 min walk, also worth a drive to pendine (6 miles in car) which is worth a look which boasts a 7 mile golden stretch of beach,

I enjoyed my stay and I would use again

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: H5blh 3 reviews from this member

Lovely place.

Warm, friendly staff and excellent, clean shower block.

Club house too quiet, with no music or entertainment.

No bread, milk etc in shop just booze.

Location great, nice stroll down lane to town, but keep off the main road.

Make sure you eat in town before 9pm as your only option after this is a delivery from St Clears.

Swimming pool great for kids and small play area and amusements arcade.

Will def return though as site and staff very good.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz Rothwell 2 reviews from this member

The pictures on the web site are just as the site looks, but sadly the pitch we had was nothing like it. The pictures shown are of the seasonal pitches, weekly campers are huddled together in the middle!

The seasonal campers do lack consideration for other campers, making quite a lot of noise late and night and the children being allowed to run around late at night.

The site itself is very clean, as were the toilets and showers. The site has a nice swimming pool but very little else for my 10 year old twins to do!

The clubhouse had no entertainment even though it was the school holidays and the shop only sells alcohol and chocolate, not even milk or bread! I can't see myself visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 584 reviews from this member

One night stop over without pre-booking. We parked up on the hardstandings behind the club house. Site split into two - one site statics, the other side seasonals. Mid week but only 2 vans on the whole site appeared occupied. Club house, bar etc all closed which seemed strange for summer?

Toilet and shower block brand new and very clean. Town a 10-15 walk down hill - probably a fair bit more back up the hill.

Overall site looked clean and well kept - but a littiel soul-less with so many pitches taken by seasonals that are not in use.

20 for 1 night with electric hook up and free showers.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magill 9 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Ants Hill and we were quite impressed. We had asked for a hard standing with hook-up but a little disappointed as we had no view - rather tucked behind the clubhouse with trees sheltering the main camping field. Also discovered that in the evening this area became the meeting place for teenagers and did become loud and noisy even after ll.00pm. Maybe we should have opted for a grass pitch.

However, the site itself was half static vans and half seasonal vans with the odd tourer in the vicinity. The welcome was amazing and really friendly and we were shown all the facilities.

The toilets and showers were immaculate at all times and the clubhouse offered a fantastic choice of food at really good prices. We couldn't have Sunday lunch as the cook had just had operation but snacks were available. As it was a warm day they opened the swimming pool which looked very welcoming.

We would definitely go again and we had a very pleasant walk down a quiet lane(turn right on leaving site) into Laugharne(not down main road as there was no footpath and also very steep hill). Spent about four hours walking and going into the castle. Had an ice-cream and wandered around sitting on benches and watching the world going by.

There were a couple of eating places, plus a fish and chip shop,a pub, a spar shop and gift shops. Had a snack in the town and caught the 222(Carmarthen) bus back up to the campsite which is every two hours.

A very pleasant weekend.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2783 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019