Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site Reviews

Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site
Clements End
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 8LN
Tel: 01594 563117
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dssdjo 3 reviews from this member

 Just had to say how wonderful and patient is Bev who runs this site. We had never been to a small site before and together with the current situation (pandemic) we were very nervous.

Bev was excellent with directions and information and pleased to help. The site is lovely, peaceful and well kept.

Bev works very hard to keep it in top condition cleaning the facilities exceptionally regularly.

I agree with the reviews and the information given regarding this site it is accurate with nothing to add.

We must say that we were made most welcome and were extremely sorry that we could not stay the 15nts booked due to the lock down.

Just one observation the price will need to go up to make it viable. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Buddy115 1 review from this member

 This is one of those rare sites that you hope many people will not know about. Itís a little gem tucked away in the Forest of Dean. Itís small, for 10 spaces only but thatís the beauty of the site.

Access is fairly easy, as long as you go the way the site recommends not the way your satnav says.

Facilities are all there and are amazingly maintained by Bev. Pitches are spacious and well looked after. For the price you pay itís a hidden gem.

If you like walking thereís plenty of walks straight off of the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susan1 1 review from this member

 On arrival was met by Bev who made us feel very welcome, she was lovely and nothing was too much trouble,

Had a perfect quite spot right on the edge of the site facing the wood, the dogs loved it, wonderful wooded walks right on the doorstep.

Make sure to pack your walking boots there are many places to visit and hundreds of walks.

We had a lovely weeks stay and will definitely be back for the peace, quite and relaxing camp site of Hawthorne cottage. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ronni54 35 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. Very peaceful and attractive and the pitches are large and well spaced.

The facilities consist of Ladies and Gents toilet and one unisex shower. I used the facilities in my van but my husband and daughter both used the site facilities and said they were clean and fine for a site with only 10 pitches.

Bev works so hard to keep everything Covid secure and still manages to be friendly and helpful.

We will certainly be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Digital Doris 5 reviews from this member

 We have just visited this site for the second time what a little gem.

The toilet and shower facilities were kept very clean and hand sanitisers easily accessible we felt very safe on this site. We are cyclists and walkers and there was plenty of things for us to do in our 7 night stay.

Bev the lady who runs the site was very helpful, and nothing was to much trouble.

We would recommend this site and will definitely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KECMA 11 reviews from this member

 We found this to be a lovely little site at a reasonable price. The previous reviews for July sum up how we saw it. We had a very friendly greeting on arrival and given all the information that we needed.

We used our own van's facilities because of the present situation and had a very pleasant 2 nights stay.

We walked along the reasonably quiet road into Sling on the first afternoon and on both evenings we walked down the track by the site gate into the woodlands. We did one of the walks, shown on a map at the site, which went through the Forest to Lower Lydbrook and then drove into the town of Coleford and surrounding areas in the afternoon.

We enjoyed the break and will go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cbnewton 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, well maintained, toilets and shower spotlessly clean.

Bev very friendly and helpful. Site is ideal location for walking in the Wye valley and Forest of Dean.

Took 2 dogs with us and the woods adjacent to the campsite were lovely for a local walk.

Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peter1 1 review from this member

 Lovely site very clean and all amenities cleaned regularly

Plenty of space between units felt very safe.

Good info on local pubs and shops that were open. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kbjb41 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our one week stay at this quiet, rural site which is alongside part of the Forest of Dean from which you can enjoy walks in the forest without needing to drive at all.

There is a unisex shower and a male and female toilet all of which are kept clean and regularly maintained. A grey water and chemical toilet waste disposal point is adjacent to the toilet / shower block.

There is also a small hut for recycling as well as for local information. There is also satellite TV connectivity available to the pitches.

Bev the site manager is particularly helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dlbeac 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet peaceful site. Just right for chilling. Pleasant walks through the forest.

A lovely lady called Bev sorted us out. She was helpful and very friendly. Didn't go off site apart from walks with the dogs in the forest because of lockdown only recently being lifted.

Would definitely go back. 
via mobile


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coleford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December