Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site Reviews

Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site
Clements End
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 8LN
Tel: 01594 563117
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ina 25 reviews from this member

Stayed on this adult only site for 2 nights on the way back from Devon. Easy to find, easy to access. Pitch allocated, but our MH unfortunately couldn't get level, as the front part of the pitch had quite a slope on it, and the front wheels were on that bit. Luckily another couple arrived just after us, and their MH was smaller, their allocated pitch was much more level, so we agreed to swap. Result! Very quiet site, we found the walks on the other side of the road, which you access the site from, were better paths than the bit directly from the site. We walked to the steam railway station that way, unfortunately no train for 2 days! There is 1 shower and 1 male and 1 female WC;shower 20p for about 3 minutes, more than enough and very hot. All very basic, but clean. Not worth having to keep getting extra water, and cleaning your own shower for! We noticed a planning application on one lamppost for the demolishing of toilet block and the building of a new one, so looks like refurbishment is imminent. Very reasonably priced at 14 per night, inc 2 people and EHU.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richardandjo2010 6 reviews from this member

We just had a week here and we all had a fantastic time here. The site is small with just 10 pitches but there's plenty of space and the pitches are well set out and are all hard standing. The site has basic but very clean facilities. The site is well located with access to the forest from the site entrance. There are local shops in Coleford and Lydney which are both just a short drive away, and an excellent fish and chip shop in the next village at Bream. There is plenty to do and see around the area too. The prices are very reasonable too 14 per night for car caravan awning with electric, then 3 per night for extra people so 20 all in for us. Our only regret is we only had a week wish it was two.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lawtons 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Very dog friendly. Lovely and peaceful with lots of birdsong to be heard. Direct access to the forest for walks. Great dog friendly pub within walking distance, The Miners at Sling, the food was excellent! Will definitely return!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trebo 3 reviews from this member

Easy access to this site. Large pitches and friendly owners. Worth noting they have a self catering annexe too. Ideal for Monmouth ross-on-wye etc. The Coleford vintage car and bike show well worth a visit. Found a small garden centre a short walk from site following the sign for Little Drybrooke. All plants grown there. We had a wonderful relaxing time. The only thing it needs is washing up facilities. The showers and toilets are spotless.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jacasino 5 reviews from this member

Warm welcome and a lovely site in a great location, easy cycling (eBike) into Coleford & Lydney, this site is a real gem.

Sixteen amp hook ups and pre-installed satellite dishes, very roomy pitches and an easy going atmosphere.

Friendly, well kept and clean, quiet and relaxing, one of the best.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CunninghamP-L 10 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site. If like us you want peace and quiet and woodland walks, this is the site for you. There are 10 pitches well spaced out and all hard standing. TV is accessed with a hired digi box 5 for the week. The shower and toilets although basic are clean. The shower takes a 20p for about 3-4 minutes. Pubs are a short drive away and shops in nearby Coleford and Coalway. We had a lovely Sunday lunch at 'The Gamekeepers Inn' Five Acres, Berry Hill. Lovely food and reasonably priced. Being in the Forest of Dean there are plenty of walks and woodland straight from the campsite with fallow deer, wild boar etc. Saw deer but no boar sighted. Had a lovely walk at Lydney harbour with views up the Severn.

Would definitely return to this site

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site this is. Just 10 pitches all hard standing & all grass areas kept neat & tidy. Easy access down the short lane. John the owner is very helpful & will set up your TV with his free sat system. The toilet & shower facility is perfectly adequate, we never had to queue or wait. It is all kept clean & tidy. 20p was fine for a shower for me. For us the best part of this site was the peace & quiet that this beautiful site provides. All you could hear was bird song, consequently we slept very well - just so peaceful. We had wonderful weather so if was great to sit outside of the van until darkness, just listening to & watching the birds on the bird table next to our pitch number 8. We did take our bikes but found the whole area a little too hilly for us. Lots of lovely places to visit & we especially liked Chepstow & Ross on Wye. There is a good Tesco in Lydney about 4 miles away for food & fuel. All the locals we chatted to were very friendly. A great value site that we would definitely like to return to.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mazlow 1 review from this member

We found this to be a charming little site, with an excellent host, right on the edge of woodland, which the dog loved. Our greatest accolade: we would come again.

There was a basic shower and two toilets. Very clean. The shower cost 20p, but we could have washed, it lasted so long. Hook up and water tap was easily accessible, and for those that needed it, a tv dish with cable.

The Miners Arms in Sling gave us an excellent dinner at a reasonable price, with an early bird menu before 6. 30pm at a cheaper price.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 82 reviews from this member

Everything everyone has said is very true. A quaint little site with very clean if old facilities. One 20p enough for a decent hot shower. The setting is gorgeous and lots to see around. We went to Puzzlewood which was a great old wood and fun to explore. The chip shop in Bream was scrummy and The Miners did great food. Would visit again despite the 3 hour journey to get there. Lovely chap who runs it and the freeview box was well worth it to watch the GP.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iccy 3 reviews from this member

Little gem of a site in the forest of Dean. Toilet and showers are basic, but at 13. 50 a night with hook up and awning on hardstanding and satellite hook up for 5 a week, generous pitches.

Will be returning

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4682 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019