Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site Reviews

Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site
Clements End
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 8LN
Tel: 01594 563117
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maryea 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site.

Bev gave us a nice friendly welcome and was very helpful with local advice and directions to various places.

We will definitely return and stay for longer.

Highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs king 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with fabulous and very helpful owner who can't do enough for you. Clearly thinking how she can make it as good as possible for those that visit with out spoiling it

Lots to do from the site walks and bike rides and reasonable shops and the like not too far away either,

Great break in March weather and managed to keep occupied with plenty left to do next time

In terms of value and customer service wish I could have scored more 


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trucol 4 reviews from this member

 Just had three nights at this great campsite.

We arrived in the dark and Bev, the owner, was so helpful and couldn't do enough for us, holding our dog while we managed to get onto the pitch and fill up with water.

The site is lovely and so quiet, near a forest and with lovely walks from the site.

The toilets are spotless all day long if a little dated.

We will definitely go back for longer at this great site.

It is always good to have a really lovely site owner that does everything to make your stay the best. 


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Helena 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, well laid out.

Owner very personable and excellent knowledge of the area.

Got great fish n chips from Bream, 4 mins away.

The only downside for me is paying £1 per dog per night (I have 2). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Andysh 1 review from this member

 This was our first outing in our Motorhome and it didnít disappoint.

We liked Hawthorne Cottage so much we stayed an extra night.

Bev was helpful both before and during our stay.

Site was quiet, facilities clean and the wildlife was good to watch.

Great walks through the forest too which the dogs and ourselves loved- walked to Parkend and ate at the Woodman which was excellent.

We look forward to visiting Hawthorne Cottage again 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Renee4 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, Bev very friendly and helpful. Nice walks nearby for the dogs.

Highly recommend only 10 pitches nice hard standing.

Local pub had lovely food and you can take dogs in.

Site has toilets and shower, and WiFi, satellite boxes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dayfam 1 review from this member

 A very peaceful site set with easy access to Forest walks. We had a lovely welcome from Bev who we think is disguised as Super Women! She is always busy on site making sure everyone's needs are looked after.

Our pitch (8) was perfect with views over the valley. We did some very long walks exploring the Forest which our Springer loved.

Facilities are kept very clean and although only one shower on site (operated by 20p) it didn't appear to be a problem.

Bev is certainly the friendliness and most helpful host we have met in our two years of Motorhoming. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dolly3 3 reviews from this member

 Sometimes pictures on-line can be mis-leading, not in this case. Fantastic, peaceful campsite.

Bev has been the best host we have ever come across! From the minute we arrived, she could not be more helpful.

Would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone, bearing in mind it's not for people that require on site entertainment!

Plenty of activities nearby to indulge and many walks, etc.

Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jedijo 2 reviews from this member

 Ssssssssh donít tell everyone, will definitely be back, you can see why itís scored very highly,

Bev the manager does everything possible to make sure your stay is good,

I canít find anything to say that could improve, to me itís just right, thanks Bev 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TheMindDoctor 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. The pitches are all hardstanding and are generously spaced one from the next with large grass areas in between.

The facilities are basic nut immaculately kept - one loo for each gender and one shower for everyone - but I never found them engaged: most people seemed to use their own facilities.

The site is very well kept, and Bev the manager is welcoming and informative about the local area. Many of her guests seemed to be repeat customers, always a good sign.

The site is well located for access by foot or cycle into the Forest of Dean and is within a mile of two of pubs and shops.

I was also very impressed to see the price structure was per person rather than per pitch - important to a solo traveller.

Highly recommended. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hawthorne Cottage Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coleford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2627 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement