Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mellow Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Surrey > Farnham > Mellow Farm Campsite Reviews

Mellow Farm Campsite
Dockenfield
Farnham
Surrey   (Browse area)
GU10 4HH
Tel: 01428 717815
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LLDOROSE 1 review from this member

 Great open field for basic camping,

(Only 2 showers to be shared across 4 fields! 😩

Great for large parties (in our case 9 children/12 adults)

Fire logs sold at 5 per sack 😊

Overall great but service was a let down! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Larapicasso 1 review from this member

 Such a lovely place! We aren't much of campers so didn't really know what to expect but the owners were lovely people, and the surroundings are beautiful! Even able to go in the streams! Would highly recommend paying for the fire pit and wood makes the experience better! Would definitely recommend!

Thank you! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 12 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here 3 times now. (Another visit booked to. ) Mellow Farm is in a lovely rural location. It's a basic campsite camping in fields, no set pitches but that's part of the appeal. We've stayed in both Williams Field and Huntingford Meadow, both give lots of space with campers camping around the edges leaving lots of space in the middle for games and running around for the kids, (big and small). Toilets are mainly portaloos but they are kept clean and replaced regularly. Showers are a short walk and are clean (need 1 for about 6 mins). The river which runs through Williams Field and Huntingford meadow is lovely for paddling in. (Cold though but the kids didn't mind). Being able to have fires is part of the appeal, you can hire a firepit for the weekend and buy a large bag of wood for 5. There is a small playground in Williams field. The beauty of here for us is its only 25mins from home but in the middle of know where and feels like a real break away. A little gem. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aniven1 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a weekend with friends camping at Mellow Farm. We had 3 tents in total in Oxbow field for a taster to see how the children enjoyed camping without venturing too far should it all have gone wrong!

Thankfully, the children (5 x 3-9yrs) LOVED, exploring and playing games in the field and made friends with a child pitched close by.

Having the fire pit was great, kept us warm in the evening, with 'smores' for all and exceptional value with a bag of wood for 5!

The toilets, showers, washing up point & Chicken Shed were on the other side of the field to us but it didn't take long to get to everything.

There was absolutely no signal on our phones in the campsite but that was nice. Being with friends and family, and just enjoying time with the people you're with, rather than constantly checking phones, emails and social media. It was a nice break from all that!

To round the weekend off we stopped off at Alice Holt, which is just a 5min drive, on the way home to ensure everyone had sufficiently run around doing the trails and massive play ground the children loved it and adults will be going back to do Go Ape next time!

The only reason I gave a 9 for customer service was as I did the booking online it took them a while to respond, I think booking over the phone would have been better.

We will definitely be coming back to Mellow Farm, brilliant for a quick weekend away with the family! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sojournerexile 1 review from this member

 We stayed in Huntingford Meadow, there's plenty of space and we were fairly early so had our choice of spot. Unfortunately the port-a-loos were late being delivered and it turned out we were pitched right next to their 'usual spot'. Having said that the site wasn't busy and we didn't notice too much.

There is a metered shower across the road by the farmhouse which is basic but was clean. The meter has been changed and now takes 1 coins which gave plenty of time. Even though there was only 1 shower between about 20 of us that didn't seem to cause any queues.

James brought fire pits and wood round each evening, a bag easily lasted one evening though you'll need firelighters as there wasn't any kindling.

We really enjoyed our stay, we were on a trial run with our 18mo so only being able to stay 2 nights wasn't a problem. Would definitely come back again for a weekend escape with friends / the kids. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LRhodes 2 reviews from this member

 We've been to Mellow Farm 2 years in a row. We are going back next year. This is why:

Beautiful location. On a river which the children can jump and swim in. You can camp on the river bank. Loads of space for each pitch. Campfires allowed. You get a huge bag of wood for your fiver (much more than any other site I've been to). Always lots going on (someone had part of their wedding there this year, so you can imagine how pretty it is). People canoe on the river. Owner is straightforward, polite and delivers what you've asked for. Good value. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ticketyb00 5 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite and would definitely return for a short stay- it was clear that some campers were there for about a week though and were having a lovely time, especially children. The campsite is basic - children can play happily for hours in the surrounding fields and woods and seemed to enjoy the rope swings enormously. It feels deep in the countryside, though in fact it is 10 minutes to Farnham, which has good shopping and eateries. The owner was friendly and helpful and there are no marked pitches, which we liked. One real boon is that you can have a camp fire, which was terrific and the owner sells large bags of wood for 5 pounds. A bag lasted us two nights, we gave some to neighbours and we brought some home! However, for campers used to luxury, do be aware that the campsite is basic - camping au naturel almost. There are adequate clean toilets, but they are port-a-loos. There is a shower, but it wasn't terribly clean. I boiled the kettle and washed in the tent - no hardship actually. When we return we will visit the swimming pool in Guildford, - reputedly very good - and shower there! This does not in any way detract from our enjoyment of what is a very peaceful, pleasant and well located campsite - and there are very few in Surrey. Loved the babbling stream, playing pooh sticks, sitting round the fire and listening to woodpeckers in the morning. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairehickman 2 reviews from this member

 All in all, a lovely campsite, spread over a fairly vast, beautiful area. As previous reviews have stated, yes, it's basic, but that's great as far as my little party were concerned.

We were in Huntingford meadow, which we concluded was the more basic of the 2 (3?) but was right next to the river and the amazing river rope swings. We had 3 kids with us who would have stayed all day swinging over (and dropping into) the river, which at that point was fairly shallow and sandy underfoot, therefore being quite safe.

The facilities in our field were basic, but we were expecting that - 3 surprisingly clean portaloos, with loo roll, pump action water for handwashing and hand towels. Also 1 drinking water tap which sufficed.

There was a 'shower shed' down the road for 50p - didn't try it. It was OK but not massively tempting for us as we were only staying one night. It must be practically unavoidable for the muddy footprints to spoil the look of a shower. We peeped at the facilities at the front meadow next to the chicken shed and I must admit they looked more modern and clean, also with a washing up area.

I'm not sure why the 5 of us were in the 'party field' but a big drawback was having a large party of loud girls right next to us - singing and shouting until 2am - difficult when one is an insomniac as well as having young kids. It's understandable they wanted to have fun so maybe the owners should have put us in a quieter field.

We didn't get around to getting the harnesses for the assault course but we checked it out and it looked promising. The canoeing looked fun, but was clearly harrowing for a couple of kids who had found the course challenging.

We didn't check out local facilities - we were quite self sufficient and didn't want to venture back to civilisation thank you very much!

The owner was friendly and approachable - look out for man on tractor when you arrive as it's rather vague as to where you're supposed to go! The chicken shed was labelled clearly enough so we lurked about there and wondered about until we spotted him! The owners house is further down the same road on the right, assuming you've come from the A325.

Will definitely come back though and thoroughly recommend Mellow Farm - but pick a sunny weekend if you can! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SEL30 7 reviews from this member

 Arrived at this site quite late on a Sunday afternoon to find there was only one other tent there! We were a bit unsure about this at first as we were concerned that our kids would be bored, and we did ask to move our tent from oxbow to nearer the toilet block, but we needn't have worried - this turned out to be our best camping trip yet!

It was of course wonderfully peaceful and the kids loved the river and all the farm animals, plus seeing the hot air balloons which fly low overhead, so you can wave at the occupants!

But despite it's gorgeous rural location the site was 10 mins drive from Bordon which has a big Tescos, and also Alice holt forest which is wonderful for children and has a cafe and great wooden play area.

We also went to Guildford for the day as it was wet on Tuesday, which has a brilliant swimming baths, called the Spectrum, and we had dinner at jamies Italian. The family in the other tent also said the hotel near the campsite had good food and was within walking distance.

We thought the facilities were great at the site - the only minor thing was that we thought it would be good to provide a squeegee or mop to clean the floor as it gets muddy and grassy.

The owner could not have been more friendly or helpful - he comes round with any ordered items - logs for the fires, sausages or eggs, by tractor which of course our kids loved!

This is a wonderful site - apparently it is mainly for weekend camping and so can be busy then but if you can get in during the week it is a great experience if you want a quiet camping experience. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Surrey Yeoman 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from another 3 night stay at Mellow Farm. Just to update previous reviews, at 'Front Meadow' the site now has a nice new gent's toilet block (If you're reading this James, the new gents could do with a couple of shaving mirrors) and there's a nice new washing up point under cover, with hot and cold running water in both the gents and the washing up point ( I assume it's the same in the Ladies?).

The old gent's loo has been converted into another shower room so that's two separate shower rooms for Front Maeadow. Showers are now metered with a 50p slot machine which gives you about three and a half minutes of water, which is a bit tight timewise, but I suppose it encourages you to get on with the job in hand!

I'd recommend taking at least two fifty pences with you just in case you run out and are still soapy. There's another shower and loo by the farmers cottage opposite 'Huntingford Meadow, ' also on a 50p meter.

Still excellent value at 5. 00 per person per night. Campfires are still allowed, with a large firepit at the far end of Front Meadow and smaller, metal ringed, firepits dotted about in the other fields. 'Oxbow' which is an area within Front Meadow is ringed by trees and quite sheltered.

I've rated the site 9 out of 10 overall purely as it could do with another couple of showers and lacks the all important pub within easy walking distance. (9 out of 10 for child friendliness purely due to the presence of the river which means you need to keep an eye on littluns as the banks are quite steep. )

The large sloping field (The Hoppery) up by the farmer's cottage is, I understand, no longer used for camping, due to issues with the neighbours and the local council. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mellow Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mellow Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Mellow Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Farnham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Surrey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3270 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement