Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cedar Gables Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Wadhurst > Cedar Gables Camping Reviews

Cedar Gables Camping
Hastings Road
Flimwell
Wadhurst
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN5 7QA
Tel: 07764487968
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Floras 2 reviews from this member

 Due to the current climate, we were made aware of booking in process prior to arrival which was professional and handy.

On site facilities were great, clean toilets and washing area. With an excellent play area for children.

Wonderful area to explore and take children along, they did Go Ape, inflatables and windsurfing did wee kept busy. 👍

Down points are the extremely noisy A road just outside camp And site is on a hill, after an Extremely Bad first nights sleep as noise awful ( we thought if might be like white noise. Sadly NO ) And constantly rolling down wards, we kind of sorted the sleeping arrangements and just hoped as week went on we’ll all be so tired we’ll just sleep, and that did eventually happen.

Overall a great stay along with our friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Robcarg 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site on the Kent/East Sussex border. A short drive to Bewl Water.

Pitches are generously sized, and are in two adjacent fields separated by a fence. WC and shower facilities were very clean at all times of day. 50p for 5mins of hot water for shower, which was no hardship. Shower was modern and very powerful. Two WCs and showers per block.

Washing up sinks and chemical toilet disposal areas are there too. Due to Covid, there was no communal fire pit or campers lounge (with fridge/freezer) but that was fine. BBQs were there to borrow. People had fires in evening, looked fun. We were primarily there too try out our new tent, and to get some peace & quiet which we managed to do.

It is a sloping site, hence the 9 point score. Some pitches sloped more than others, middle of field seemed to be most slopey. We pitched at top of field which was sunny in morning, shady in afternoon/evening. That suited us fine because being by the trees it gave us some privacy. Also it was furthest from the A21 which gave some background noise but it didn't bother us, didn't lose any sleep.

30 mins drive from Hastings. We went to Vineyard Pub for dinner on Sat night which was lovely and 5 mins down road.

Owner Jay was very helpful. Did all the right things to combat Covid. We would stay again, thanks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lucy hibberd 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely clean cap site.

It was my first time caping with a toddler so was slightly apprehensive, however I needn't be.

Lovely well ran site, would highly recommended & we will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Igocamping 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a nice flat part of a field although it was right next to the A21 which was loud the whole night long, there are 2 more fields/pitching areas which are much further away from the road and generally quieter,

The campsite has nice facilities and washing up area with a kettle, and it has electric hook ups, playground, picnic tables. Also the campers lounge had a fridge freezer, phone charging area, and places to sit down. The toilets were clean and fairly new.

Very easy to find your way to the campsite. Apart from the noise of the road our stay was nice and we would come back again. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coaterj 2 reviews from this member

 Having not camped for a few years this was my second camping trip in a fortnight. The site was set back from the road although there was some traffic noise. That would be the only 'minor' point and to be honest it was not really a problem. The site was impressive. There was a 50p charge for the showers but the size and cleanliness meant that you could not begrudge this. The daily fees were less than comparable places and offered superb value for money. The toilets, washing up facilities and access to a kettle, fridge & freezer meant that a few of life's little luxury's could still be enjoyed. Staff also helpful and accommodating. Can't wait to go back next year, amazing set up ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mereside 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here 2 nights for visit to Rye. Hard-standings on side of track and not very easy and levellers needed for grass pitches. Much of the site in shade in the evening. Served its purpose to break the journey. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nichola Wright 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, we spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed it. Nice clean toilets and showers, you need 50 pence for each shower but they lasted longer than the 5 minutes as stated. There is s small playground for the children. Decent sized pitches and a track next to the campsite leading to Bewl Water. Would recommend this site and would stay there again if in the area. It is next to a busy road but it fades into the background and didn't bother us. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HydraGirl 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for a weekend to meet up with a relative. I had read the reviews prior to booking this campsite so was quite surprised about how much of a contrast it was to these.

The campsite was small and the pitch was suitable for our requirements. The site itself is on a slop so can pose certain logistical issues. The location is good and again met our requirements. The toilet/shower block did not meet my expectations at all. I had read reviews stating it was clean however I felt it needed some tender loving care. I am not saying they hadn't been cleaned but they were a lot to be desired. The sanitary unit needed a good clean with bleach. There was a sign up stating when the shower block had been inspected but there's a huge difference between cleaning and inspecting them. The cost of the shower was 50p for five minutes which I wouldn't have minded so much if the facilities had been good.

The dishwashing facilities were basic, a sink under a shelter with a kettle for hot water. On the website it also states there is a lounge. This is a shed with a few grubby sofas in.

The final issue was at 1058hrs a warden came round, presumably to everyone, saying something along the lines of there's no noise now. It had not even gone eleven, the time they state no noise, but as seen as this campsite is on the busy A21, main route from London to Hastings, its a bit hypocritical and was very parental. It was not like anyone on the campsite, all 7 tents, was causing a problem.

All of the downsides could have been overlooked but at £29 a night it was very expensive compared to other sites of a similar standard, and at that price feel begrudged paying 50p for the shower. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayneandkev 5 reviews from this member

 Just home from this site, we stayed two nights and got there at dusk on Friday, the owner came to the door and was helpful and showed us where our pitch was. (had a choice of two) then advised he would be back later to check everything was ok.

we were shocked to see how uneven the site is it rises from the bottom of campsite to the top, quite steeply, we were at the bottom behind the toilet block.

The site does have blocks to use to help level of a caravan but not many, so if the site is busy then there probably wont be any but I'm sure the owner will sort something out.

The site is well kept and small but spacious the road is very busy as it is the main road from London down to hastings, but after a time you get used to the noise or just forget about it. The toilet block is very clean but could be a bit limited on showers if busy. We did not use these as have a shower in the caravan,

We did not like the atmosphere when we got there from the other people on the site, these we would say are caravan and camping members who totally ignored us when they walked past. Very rude and we have never had that before. Not all cc members are old and grumpy we hope but the ones that are think the sun shines out of there ******.

Last negative is that on the exit the drive has a steep incline which made it a little harder to get off the site onto a fast busy main road,

All in all a lovely site with lovely owners in a lovely part of the world, , , worth a visit as central to a lot of places. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Betty000 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing nights stay here, I would highly recommend it. A really lovely, small, impressively run campsite in a great location that I know will become a regular fixture in our summer holiday calendar. It's so close to many places of interest, we visited Bewl Water, and spent a lot of time at Bedgebury which is a must for anyone with kids or a mountain bike, or both. Loved the extras on the site like an accessible fridge and freezer and power points for phone charging, and it had the best and cleanest showers I've come across on a campsite. Some noise from the road, but it didn't bother us or keep us awake, and it was refreshing to not be kept awake by large noisy groups. Our pitch was very level, but there were blocks available for anyone who needed them. The owners were very friendly and helpful. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cedar Gables Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cedar Gables Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cedar Gables Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1035 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement