Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Lion Inn Lakeside Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Golden Lion Inn Lakeside Camping
Stithians Lake
Menherion
Redruth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR16 6NW
Tel: 01209 860332
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 11
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vwroamer 2 reviews from this member

Very nice site with good (but expensive) food. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice walks along the lake and easy reach to popular tourist towns (narrow roads though). The whole place is let down by the facilities, only 2 toilets and 2 showers for around 20 pitches, they were outdated and not very clean. If the facilities were totally revamped and enlarged this would be a 5 star site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ds austin 1 review from this member

Wonderful spot. Good cafe at Water Sports centre next door for breakfasts, and food in pub is outstanding, (Gemekeeper Casserolle is a must ) a little pricey, but worth it. All flat, well kept pitches, lovely views across Stithian lake. 8/10 as showers/loos not really up to modern standards, though I've seen worse: they should re-house these and clean daily, and there is no one there out of pub hours (12-2) to give loo codes etc on a day-time arrival.

Excellent pub, beautiful location, wouldn't take much to get it a 10/10.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ElleT11 2 reviews from this member

No organisation for departures and arrivals. Had booked several pitches together and when we had arrived we found two of the pitches still occupied. One was a tent which was taken down for us to pitch our caravan. The other trailer tent remained in our parties pitch for another 3 nights luckily there was a spare pitch across the camp unoccupied! On our final day the next occupant turned up for our pitch while we were packing up at 9. 30. Wasn't given a deadline to arrive and when they had double checked their booking they didn't have a record of the booking!

We also noticed a couple of times the electric had been turned off between certain times during the night as the microwave and the fridge wasn't on, usually between 11ish and 2am, great no heating if you needed it or to use any water in your caravan not to mention anything possibly defrosting in the freezer!

The site is could do with better facilities, the waste/toilet disposal was blocked for the final 2 days we were there even though we had told staff at the pub that it was blocked -nothing was done to rectify it and people were still disposing of toilet waste even though it was blocked.

The location was a bit to be desired considering you have to walk past the restaurant windows with your toilet waste - a lovely site when you're having your evening meal and it wasn't even enclosed or screened and it would've been better if it wasn't just a hole in the ground into a cess tank.

The pub was ok but overpriced for the food when we had asked if there was any others in the area we were told not for miles, we found loads on our travels within minutes of the area needles to say we only ate once on the site!

The site didn't look if was regularly maintained as there was potholes on the entrance onto the field which made a very bumpy entrance/exit onto the pitches.

In total we won't be using this site again and I don't think the rest of our party would either.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

We got a great welcome when we arrived and a choice of pitches, the ground was wet due to recent very bad weather but the pitch was still in good condition.

The drinking water is well situated in the centre of this small very attractive site and the 2 toilets and 2 showers are close by attached to the pub.

The facilities are basic but they were clean when we were there and the showers were free, not push button and quite large, it would be nice if they were enclosed rather than opening straight to the outside but this is a very reasonably priced site, I would have liked a mop and bucket in the showers so I could have cleaned up after myself.

The pub is a real treat with great food (you get what you pay for) superb service and a very friendly atmosphere and a 50 yard walk home is always attractive.

Next to the site is a very large lake with walks all the way round and a stile from the back of the campsite to reach them. Shopping was easy as there is a large Asda just before you reach Falmouth a few miles away.

The weather while we were there was not at its best but the site is located about equidistant from the north and south coast which means you can often pick your weather, one day we found Falmouth to the south foggy but St Ives to the north bathed in sunshine.

The Golden Lion is about 50 mins easy drive from the Eden Project which we think is a 'must visit' place and it has shelters for cars with dogs and the food is fantastic so it is a super day out and very interesting.

We both liked Falmouth very much with its quayside area and good small shops and a drive to Pendennis Point gives you great views over this famous harbour. Due to the weather we did not visit any beaches but we took a ride to Helford and had a lovely walk beside the river, it is a very special place.

We both agreed that the Golden Lion was a great site for us and suited our needs as an older couple with a dog very well indeed and we hope to return there one day.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Palmer 9 reviews from this member

A small and friendly pub site with well maintained grounds.

There are fantastic walks around the lake and surrounding areas, which was nice for us and the dogs.

The pub food was good, though a little pricey, but hey, we were on holiday!

Contrary to one of the previous comments, there is a plate wash area (cold water only) next to the toilets, but could be hard to get to as the ride on mower was kept under the same shelter, so that is why it was probably missed!

The shower and toilet facilities did leave a lot to be desired, it looked as though they had been recently refurbished by a person with limited or no DIY knowledge, and they didn't look like they had been cleaned in a while.

If the toilets and showers were cleaned and refurbished properly, I would recommend this site. Until that happens I will be avoiding it, which is a real shame.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gary.fitton 20 reviews from this member

Just spent an enjoyable overnight stay at this site in our motorhome using the Sun's promotional 1. 00 voucher scheme.

Upgraded to electric H/U total cost 4. 50.

Excellent value for money!

Shower/toilet facilities are good.

Pub lovely and welcoming, Didn't eat there but menu looked comprehensive. Judging by how busy pub was food is obviously good.

Site is a little isolated if you have no other means of transport, although for many this is a bonus!

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we will use again.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Florin 1 review from this member

We spent a week at this camp site and thoroughly enjoyed it. The site has toilets and showers which were very clean and also has hook ups. The Pub food was delicious and plenty of it.

The only thing against the site is that the grass was a bit long and in the morning we ended up with wet feet when walking across the site. I think they should mow the grass more frequently.

The area is central for all places in West Cornwall and there is a general store in the village of Stithian if you don't want to go far, but Redruth is not far where there is a Tesco.

We would certainly stay there again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Angelcamp 4 reviews from this member

If you want a site away from the tourist trail this is perfect. Never too overcrowded. The lake is great with a water sports centre that you can hire wind surfer and dingys from. Apparently it is one of the windiest places in Cornwall. There is a nice walk that takes you around the lake. Good kids play ground by the water. A really relaxing place.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saffron 3 reviews from this member

This was the second time we have used this site and on both occasions Saturday nights were very noisy with loud disco music from off site. Having said that the rest of the time was very quite. Great walks around Stithians lake for us and the dogs. Owners very friendly and helpful.
Toilet and shower facilities could be a little better and updated. Very handy for Stithians Show Ground which is only 5 mins away.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trevange 1 review from this member

Very nice camp site if you are looking for a small and friendly site. A good location for exploring west Cornwall. Nice walks around the lake.

The facilities are limited to two toilets and two showers which was fine as the site was quiet when we visited. There are no washing up facilities so we had to fill a bowl in the shower and take back to the tent which would not be ideal if it was raining (lucky for us the weather was fine for the duration of our stay).

A freezer is available for use but was not working properly when we visited (we did report the fault but it was still not working properly when we left).

The pub and the restaurant were nice but a little expensive we did eat there one night, the food was very good.

On the whole it was very pleasant. We are planning on visiting again.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1572 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!