Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Lion Inn Lakeside Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Redruth > Golden Lion Inn Lakeside Camping > Reviews

Golden Lion Inn Lakeside Camping
Stithians Lake
Menherion
Redruth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR16 6NW
Tel: 01209 860332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 11
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DEANOROG 5 reviews from this member

 Booked for 8 nights, unfortunatly had to leave after 4 due to a family emergency.

Tried to contact the site to tell them we were leaving early but could not get hold of anyone, on way home finally got through to the pub and informed them and all we got was oh ok, the guy on the phone even held a separate conversation with someone else whilst we were talking to him.

Whilst we were not expecting a refund or anything a little sympathy, empathy and understanding wouldn't have gone amiss, but the chap just didn't seem interested at all.

Now, to the site,

Electric hookup is only 6amp, totally inadequate for caravaning today.

EVERY time we put the kettle on the fuse blew, and yes we do have a low amp camping kettle, it got so bad we had to turn EVERYTHING else off to boil the kettle.

We could not use the caravan heating at all and could only have one light on if we had the TV on.

The site offers free wifi, in the 5 days we were there the wifi was 'down' for the complete time and was not available.

The advertised showers and toilets were there but there were only two of each for the whole site and both were unisex, and whilst they were reasonably clean they were only average.

From the pitches to the toilets there were 3 security lights with PIR sensors but only 1 was actually working, so a torch is required during dark hours.

No drain to empty 'grey' water so had to empty into a belfast sink by the fresh water tap which then ran out the bottom and all over the grass.

Site is well out in the sticks so a car is required to get anywhere.

Very very basic site! 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moomaid 1 review from this member

 This site is perfectly situated if you're into water sports as stithians lake has many forms to offer.

Not ideal if in a big van without an extra car, as not much to do in the area. We left after 2 nights as had walked the lake twice and couldn't find more to do.

I went to use the new loos and showers as saw the reviews re the old ones were poor, it was surprising that newly built the tiles put in were deadly slippery, acknowledged by the site by putting a caution notice in, but doesn't stop them being lethal. Would recommend non slip tiles! I nearly went over and jarred my back. On the plus side, they are cleaned twice a day but this leaves the floor wet. The new improved shower/toilet area isn't great as has saloon doors that have gaps that you (male or female) can see right into the adjoining loos. There isn't a privacy door but just a shower curtain that doesn't shut fully so are on show, and a man walked into the ladies, if I could see him he could see me. Also with the shower curtain on the outside the shower showered your towels and clothes also.

On not enjoying this experience and feeling vulnerable I went to the old showers. The proprietors are aware of these not working well from previous reviews but have not fixed them.

The shower dribbles for a few minutes and when eventually fires up the water keeps going cold and dribbles again. But at least there was a locking door I guess.

We, not wanting to move the van, went to the pub for a meal but found it rather tasteless and the toad in the hole was burned. We didn't complain as were going back there the following eve. On the plus side the portions were a good size.

Also, the recycling is almost non existing other than glass as the bins say recycling and other rubbish. Nothing separated.

The location isn't the sites fault but the facilities could definitely do with looking at and improving substantially.

Also Stithians holds the cloud and was cold and windy when we were there whereas the coast some 4 miles away was hot and sunny. Quite a depressing place to be when weather like this. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Unfitcyclist 3 reviews from this member

 Great place to stay, for a few days, all necessary facilities are available and spotless.

The Golden Lion is a fantastic place which serves great food and offers excellent friendly service.

Would recommend it to anyone. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vwroamer 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice site with good (but expensive) food. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice walks along the lake and easy reach to popular tourist towns (narrow roads though). The whole place is let down by the facilities, only 2 toilets and 2 showers for around 20 pitches, they were outdated and not very clean. If the facilities were totally revamped and enlarged this would be a 5 star site. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ds austin 1 review from this member

 Wonderful spot. Good cafe at Water Sports centre next door for breakfasts, and food in pub is outstanding, (Gemekeeper Casserolle is a must ) a little pricey, but worth it. All flat, well kept pitches, lovely views across Stithian lake. 8/10 as showers/loos not really up to modern standards, though I've seen worse: they should re-house these and clean daily, and there is no one there out of pub hours (12-2) to give loo codes etc on a day-time arrival.

Excellent pub, beautiful location, wouldn't take much to get it a 10/10. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ElleT11 2 reviews from this member

 No organisation for departures and arrivals. Had booked several pitches together and when we had arrived we found two of the pitches still occupied. One was a tent which was taken down for us to pitch our caravan. The other trailer tent remained in our parties pitch for another 3 nights luckily there was a spare pitch across the camp unoccupied! On our final day the next occupant turned up for our pitch while we were packing up at 9. 30. Wasn't given a deadline to arrive and when they had double checked their booking they didn't have a record of the booking!

We also noticed a couple of times the electric had been turned off between certain times during the night as the microwave and the fridge wasn't on, usually between 11ish and 2am, great no heating if you needed it or to use any water in your caravan not to mention anything possibly defrosting in the freezer!

The site is could do with better facilities, the waste/toilet disposal was blocked for the final 2 days we were there even though we had told staff at the pub that it was blocked -nothing was done to rectify it and people were still disposing of toilet waste even though it was blocked.

The location was a bit to be desired considering you have to walk past the restaurant windows with your toilet waste - a lovely site when you're having your evening meal and it wasn't even enclosed or screened and it would've been better if it wasn't just a hole in the ground into a cess tank.

The pub was ok but overpriced for the food when we had asked if there was any others in the area we were told not for miles, we found loads on our travels within minutes of the area needles to say we only ate once on the site!

The site didn't look if was regularly maintained as there was potholes on the entrance onto the field which made a very bumpy entrance/exit onto the pitches.

In total we won't be using this site again and I don't think the rest of our party would either. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

 We got a great welcome when we arrived and a choice of pitches, the ground was wet due to recent very bad weather but the pitch was still in good condition.

The drinking water is well situated in the centre of this small very attractive site and the 2 toilets and 2 showers are close by attached to the pub.

The facilities are basic but they were clean when we were there and the showers were free, not push button and quite large, it would be nice if they were enclosed rather than opening straight to the outside but this is a very reasonably priced site, I would have liked a mop and bucket in the showers so I could have cleaned up after myself.

The pub is a real treat with great food (you get what you pay for) superb service and a very friendly atmosphere and a 50 yard walk home is always attractive.

Next to the site is a very large lake with walks all the way round and a stile from the back of the campsite to reach them. Shopping was easy as there is a large Asda just before you reach Falmouth a few miles away.

The weather while we were there was not at its best but the site is located about equidistant from the north and south coast which means you can often pick your weather, one day we found Falmouth to the south foggy but St Ives to the north bathed in sunshine.

The Golden Lion is about 50 mins easy drive from the Eden Project which we think is a 'must visit' place and it has shelters for cars with dogs and the food is fantastic so it is a super day out and very interesting.

We both liked Falmouth very much with its quayside area and good small shops and a drive to Pendennis Point gives you great views over this famous harbour. Due to the weather we did not visit any beaches but we took a ride to Helford and had a lovely walk beside the river, it is a very special place.

We both agreed that the Golden Lion was a great site for us and suited our needs as an older couple with a dog very well indeed and we hope to return there one day. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark Palmer 9 reviews from this member

 A small and friendly pub site with well maintained grounds.

There are fantastic walks around the lake and surrounding areas, which was nice for us and the dogs.

The pub food was good, though a little pricey, but hey, we were on holiday!

Contrary to one of the previous comments, there is a plate wash area (cold water only) next to the toilets, but could be hard to get to as the ride on mower was kept under the same shelter, so that is why it was probably missed!

The shower and toilet facilities did leave a lot to be desired, it looked as though they had been recently refurbished by a person with limited or no DIY knowledge, and they didn't look like they had been cleaned in a while.

If the toilets and showers were cleaned and refurbished properly, I would recommend this site. Until that happens I will be avoiding it, which is a real shame. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gary.fitton 20 reviews from this member

 Just spent an enjoyable overnight stay at this site in our motorhome using the Sun's promotional 1. 00 voucher scheme.

Upgraded to electric H/U total cost 4. 50.

Excellent value for money!

Shower/toilet facilities are good.

Pub lovely and welcoming, Didn't eat there but menu looked comprehensive. Judging by how busy pub was food is obviously good.

Site is a little isolated if you have no other means of transport, although for many this is a bonus!

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we will use again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Florin 1 review from this member

 We spent a week at this camp site and thoroughly enjoyed it. The site has toilets and showers which were very clean and also has hook ups. The Pub food was delicious and plenty of it.

The only thing against the site is that the grass was a bit long and in the morning we ended up with wet feet when walking across the site. I think they should mow the grass more frequently.

The area is central for all places in West Cornwall and there is a general store in the village of Stithian if you don't want to go far, but Redruth is not far where there is a Tesco.

We would certainly stay there again. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Lion Inn Lakeside Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Lion Inn Lakeside Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Golden Lion Inn Lakeside Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Redruth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement