Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping > Reviews

Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping
Porthcothan Bay
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LT
Tel: 01841 540829
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: 01/04/2024 to 05/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lukeledge 38 reviews from this member

 A pleasant site near the coast, all grass pitches which are a good size. Well sheltered with hedges and nice inland views. Newly refurbished site with new facilities which are good and a cafe/bar area which has excellent cask Tribute ale. There is a small petting zoo and playground on the site and it would be a great site for families with young children.

Beach is a 10 minute walk down the road with a short and steepish hill. There is a car park if you wanted to drive down. Nice beach with good surf and an excellent cafe/shop. The coast path starts from the beach and you can walk either north or south on that.

The Newquay to Padstow bus stops at the campsite entrance whic is really handy and is a good scenic.

The young couple who have taken the site on are very pleasant and keen to keep the experience good for guests. We were there when it was very quiet which suited us, it would be a different feeling site in the high season!

Unfortunately the Tredrea Inn which was in walking distance of the site has now closed and was the only eating place in walking distance, but the campsite owners may start doing food and there are food vans on the site in high season. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 26 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with fantastic facilities.

The owners are very welcoming and happy to help.

The pitches are brilliant.

The added bonus of animals you can feed is awesome.

I will certainly be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cw4ho5 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site for families with children - lots of animals, great playground, dog exercise area and a friendly, welcoming vibe.

Minimal lighting at night, so great for star gazing! Thumbs up for the brand new bathroom facilities, though no matter what time of day we used them they were never very clean, which is why the facilities only get 8/10.

Great idea having the 'Woof Wash' though, and another big thumbs up for the communal freezers!

Will definitely be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Julesy 1 review from this member

 My daughter and I were initially booked for 2 nights here but loved it so much we asked to extend and they made it possible!

Staff are lovely, offers of food evenings and entertainment are brilliant and the animals are fabulous especially for the kids!

Facilities are super new and great!

Will definitely come again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chelsea Chapman 1 review from this member

 We were absolutely blown away by this site. The staff upon arrival were very friendly, knowledgeable and made us feel very welcome. We had a large electric pitch which was very generous giving us plenty of room for a washing line and windbreak etc around the tent, we didn't we feel packed in and crowded like other sites. The toilets were very clean and brand new, there was an outdoor shower to wash off our wet suits and bodyboards and there was a separate dodgy shower too. The washing up area was clean and tidy and there was a laundrette on site which came in handy for our beach towels to be refreshed.

As soon as we arrived I took our children to find the play area which was amazing but the best thing was the animals! My children literally loved them, especially the ponies and rabbits and there was a great outdoor space next to the park for kids to run around and play.

The site is a short walk down a hill to the nearest beach which was beautiful. There is also a car park there too. There are other beaches surrounding the area to explore and Padstow is a few miles down the coastal road too so there was always lots to see and do.

There was live music some nights and food trucks on site most evenings. I was worried if it would be too noisy for my children trying to get to sleep but by 10pm the site was quiet and everyone was very respectful when walking back to their pitches.

I literally cannot fault MacDonalds Farm, the new owners have done a fantastic job and I think they have created a real gem of a place!

After a 6 hour drive to get there and surving a storm the 1st night we were a bit tired and disheartened but in the end we didn't want to leave. I would definitely recommend to anyone especially families but there is something for everyone. Cornwall is a beautiful place to go and visit anyway but this site was the cherry on the cake for us,

I'm just hoping we can get booked in for next year! Thank you Macdonalds Farm and congratulations on your fabulous service. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hollie Corrick 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, second time this year, great shower facilities and bar area, amazing playground for kids which they absolutely loved! Terry the manager is super helpful and friendly.

Will return next year for sure, will just get a pitch away from the cockerel! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hoggr20 1 review from this member

 Just back from a fabulous 10 days in Cornwall had the pleasure of staying in the best camp site we have ever stayed at. Staff are very friendly and the facilities are excellent.

The site is well maintained, toilet and washing facilities are extremely clean and hygienic. The site also has a lovely play area for children and some animals that keeled our little ones entertained.

All in all A great camp site, will definitely return. Also located with a great choice of beaches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karmacat 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean quiet site with a friendly welcome. Close to beautiful beaches.

On site facilities thoroughly cleaned and good signposting for CV in place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jetmclean 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a week in the August school holidays. This was only our second ever camping trip so don't really have much to compare it to.

Park staff were very friendly and the site and play area were kept clean and tidy. Pitch was a nice size plenty of space.

The shower and toilet facilities were a different story. Firstly I liked that you could access private toilet and shower rooms and there was never a queue, however the floors were always wet from previous showers so made it very awkward getting children showered with hardly anywhere to put clothes without them getting wet.

You didn't have to pay for showers but it was impossible to shower a child and it was a press button operation and the water went off after about30 seconds! Very awkward with children. No where to dry hands etc?

The park was fantastic for children and the fact it was free for the children who camped there was an added bonus.

Lots for children to do in the park.

Little on-site shop with a small selection of food drink and toys.

So a tale of 2 half's. If they sort out their facilities I would be very happy to go again.

Short drive to a lovely beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meandtheboys 2 reviews from this member

 We are big fans of Old Macdonalds Farm (the park side) and have said for ages that we would like to camp too. Well, we have 2 very pleased boys and a promise to go back in next summer too!

Lovely big pitches with plenty of room for our big tent, space to play and park the car. There we no queues for showers or loos, there was plenty of hand soap but a shortage of hand towels.

The farm is great fun for kids (big and small) and we were there from breakfast till bed time! We enjoyed a cooked breakfast in the cafe which was delicious.

A lovely touch are the power points outside the cafe for charging phones and free wifi. Helps the hours of watching children go a little quicker! We love this place and will be going back! 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4500 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement