Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping Reviews

Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping
Porthcothan Bay
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LT
Tel: 01841 540829
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: 01/04/2021 to 05/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karmacat 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean quiet site with a friendly welcome. Close to beautiful beaches.

On site facilities thoroughly cleaned and good signposting for CV in place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jetmclean 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a week in the August school holidays. This was only our second ever camping trip so don't really have much to compare it to.

Park staff were very friendly and the site and play area were kept clean and tidy. Pitch was a nice size plenty of space.

The shower and toilet facilities were a different story. Firstly I liked that you could access private toilet and shower rooms and there was never a queue, however the floors were always wet from previous showers so made it very awkward getting children showered with hardly anywhere to put clothes without them getting wet.

You didn't have to pay for showers but it was impossible to shower a child and it was a press button operation and the water went off after about30 seconds! Very awkward with children. No where to dry hands etc?

The park was fantastic for children and the fact it was free for the children who camped there was an added bonus.

Lots for children to do in the park.

Little on-site shop with a small selection of food drink and toys.

So a tale of 2 half's. If they sort out their facilities I would be very happy to go again.

Short drive to a lovely beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meandtheboys 2 reviews from this member

 We are big fans of Old Macdonalds Farm (the park side) and have said for ages that we would like to camp too. Well, we have 2 very pleased boys and a promise to go back in next summer too!

Lovely big pitches with plenty of room for our big tent, space to play and park the car. There we no queues for showers or loos, there was plenty of hand soap but a shortage of hand towels.

The farm is great fun for kids (big and small) and we were there from breakfast till bed time! We enjoyed a cooked breakfast in the cafe which was delicious.

A lovely touch are the power points outside the cafe for charging phones and free wifi. Helps the hours of watching children go a little quicker! We love this place and will be going back! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Guiness00 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 8 nights in September, first I'd like to ditto g. Wingers comments on b3274, absolute nightmare from north approach, very narrow & frightening hairpin bends, I was practically run off road not towing by what I assume was a local tradesman in a wagon on wrong side of road on his phone of all things, will need to t cut the branch marks out of vehicle but could have been so much worse.

South approach is a little better but even better are the wide back lanes but I strongly recommend you buy an os landranger map first 'you'll need one to make best of area anyway'. Best approach I used is b3274 north to padstow off a39 then 1st left down lanes, use os map to follow very wide lanes & avoid narrow ones, it's very easy.

Anyway this is one of many sites in area, at approx 1/2 mile walk/drive to beach probably not closest but other sites on seaward side of b3274 are down some seriously narrow lanes with blind Z bends, if caravan met caravan down these you'd need the army to get you out.

Site lovely & only two negatives to speak of.

1st, though site is competitively priced & they don't charge for awnings, the electric at 5 per night is by far the most I've paid anywhere even CCCS don't charge this & you wouldn't use this amount at home let alone in a van.

2nd, some soap in the toilets would be nice.

Toilets not 5* but more than ok, pitches mostly flat & very big, plenty of room, seems to have relaxed atmosphere, on site shop, tea room, animals & some other stuff for the kids if you have them.

Porthcothan beach just one of many super dog friendly beaches in area. Parking charges as mentioned apply at most.

Padstow is the most beautiful harbour town with a mix of quirky shops, pubs, restaurants, something for everyone.

This our first stay at old mac & padstow, we already love it here, will be back for sure next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G,Winger 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great week at this site, we were there with all the family, so had 3 pitches together, the ehu pitches were a great size.

We had car, caravan, awning and gazebo on our pitch, daughter had 10 berth tent, gazebo and car on theirs, son had 6 berth Montana and car.

As we had our own toilet in caravan we didn't have to use site toilets, and we showered late evening so no queuing,

Great site, brill for youngsters

A word of warning if you are towing a caravan, do not approach the site from the b3276 coast road from padstow through st merryn, its too narrow

Approach from lower down on the a39 on b3274 from wynnards pass roundabout, its much wider for towing.

Another strange practice at the nearby porthcothan beach (and others) is the car parking charges.

First hour is 60p, 2 hours is 2. 40 etc.

So a full day is 6. 20

So I just kept paying for one hour, and bobbing back, its only 100 yards or so, and the toilets are at the car park

Just a tip.

Stu 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Levoh 16 reviews from this member

 This site is in a good position with the beach, at Porthcothan, just a few minutes walk down a steep hill. Certainly good for the lungs on the walk back up to the site !

There is a bus which stops just outside the entrance for trips further afield.

On the downside, the pitches are just too close together and the toilet facilities are woefully inadequate for this size site. We visited at a busy time and found queues for the facilities many times early and late each day.

This is something which should be addressed as soon as possible to make a visit to this site a more pleasant experience for everybody. On the plus side it is absolute paradise for children with all the facilities for them. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carlareeceorton 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Old Macdonald's Farm as we have 2 children aged 6 and 4. The site is great for a young family as there are lots of animals, pony rides, go-karts and playgrounds for the children to enjoy during their stay (which is included in the camp fee)

The site is 15-20 min walk to Porthcothan beach which is lovely and clean however you do have a uphill walk on the road on the way back.

There is a car park opposite the beach which can get full very quickly so arrive early. The site is perfect for getting to Newquay and Padstow. Be prepared for the narrow twisty roads which our Sat-Nav took us down on several occasions during our travels! St Mirren is a short drive away which has a Spar shop, chip shop and a couple of pubs.

Our children had a lovely time and my daughter loved the resident animals which she could pet whenever she wanted and help feed in the mornings.

Sadly the weather wasn't great for the majority of our stay so we couldn't enjoy the lovely beaches Cornwall has to offer as much as we had planned. The wind can be very harsh on a tent here so a super strong windbreak is advisable. The on-site laundry room was a real help as the weather didn't allow us to get clothes dry.

The criticism we have is that you do share your showers and toilets with spiders but this is inevitable in an outdoor block. Some of the loos did not have soap in but there was a washing station outside the block (for people who needed to wash their hands after touching the animals) which always had a supply of soap.

We would definitely recommend this site to anyone due to it's location and good entertainment facilities for the children. We are missing our daily cuddles with Murphy the pony and Louis the farm dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welsh dubbers 1 review from this member

 Perfect! Beautiful site with very clean facilities and friendly owners. Our children (4 and 8) loved the farm, especially the horse rides and go-karts.

Fantastic value for money as no hidden charges - everything is free. Great location, beach within easy walking distance and lots of other local attractions.

We were unlucky with the weather but still loved our time there. Came home and booked next year immediately! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 1Dartmoor Camper 2 reviews from this member

 I found this site by accident in 2002. I can't number the times that we have stayed here since. My boys have had birthday camps on the site, I've camped with friends as well as just our family.

Over the years we have made friends with people who like us have returned year after year. Easter has been a must. We didn't manage it last year, but that was the first time in years.

Whilst the petting farm is intended for younger children our children have enjoyed it long after they would normally be expected to.

Porthcothan Bay is a lovely beach. It is a slightly tricky walk particularly with small children because there are no paths. There is a carpark at the beach.

The owners provide a great welcome. Our family photographs are peppered with John particularly with our boys on the train. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Issym 30 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site with plenty of space. We went off season so were able to choose our pitch. Although it doesn't appear it, the site is exposed to the wind. There are lots of little banks making separate areas, if these were planted up with bushes to give some shelter then I would give this site full marks.

We loved the shower rooms and the space, but like others could find this a problem if the site was busy. Yes, we shared the showers with a few spiders, but the actual toilets and basins were very clean.

The owners were very friendly and chatted to us while we were washing up, even expressing their concern and keeping us updated during the extreme weather we experienced.

I'm not sure if this is a normal service but my husband went to the shop to get a snack and came back to the tent with two very large, well filled bacon sandwiches!

The area is beautiful. We had to drive everywhere, although if the weather was better we could have walked off road to Porthcothan beach.

Very quiet and minimal light pollution so the night skies were spectacular. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Macdonalds Farm Touring & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement