Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skyburriowe Farm Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Skyburriowe Farm Holidays Reviews

Skyburriowe Farm Holidays
Garras
Nr Mullion
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 6LR
Tel: 01326 221646
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 247 reviews from this member

A very nice site with plenty of space and an open aspect, easy access, well drained ground. There had been a thunderstorm of epic proportions the night before we arrived, but you would not have known. Excellent customer service from the initial email onwards. Good facilities and we also liked the veg stall.

Easy to get to all points of interest locally and Sainsbury's at Helston is about 3 miles away, you will see it on the way to the site.

The price varies according to the time of year, £15 in September which is very good.

Didn't much like Helston town centre but if you like gift shops etc. Then suppose it's ok.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PandMRobinson 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this campsite and we loved it again. We particularly liked the frequently replenished fresh veg stall from nearby allotment and the superb local Mawgan Stores for fresh, local bread. Handy location near to Lizard's superb attractions all within a short driving distance - great walks along footpaths and the coastal path, beautiful beaches, gentle cycling and walking around the Loe. Delicious food to be had all over - especially The Ship Inn in Mawgan. Very friendly and relaxed welcome from Vivian and Brenda, very comfortable and sheltered pitch with clean toilets and showers (never had to wait in a queue!) and good facilities in the utility room with homemade cakes and biscuits on offer.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tamsyn 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a week at Skyburriowe and loved it. Site is immaculate with well kept flat pitches & field, very clean toilets and showers (push button - no extra cost) and surrounded by beautiful woodlands. Owners were friendly and helpful. There was plenty of space in the field for my children to play(6&8yrs). This site was quiet and peaceful and there was only maybe 8 other caravans / tents during the time we spent there so almost felt like out own private campsite. Great wifi. RNAS Culdrose air base is very near this campsite so added bonus for me and my children watching jets flying over most mornings, helicopters at dusk and planes practising take offs and landings. Church cove (used in Poldark) 5 minute drive away. This site is perfect is you want a quiet place to stay but still within reach of all the great beaches and places to visit.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ktqcumber 11 reviews from this member

Can't speak highly enough of this site. We had a sheltered flat pitch for our tent and lots of room for the children to run around and play. Toilet and shower block were spotless with lots of hot water. The owners Brenda and Vyvian are very friendly and approachable. If you want a quiet farm campsite you will find this one hard to beat.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich D 3 reviews from this member

We've been staying on this site every year for the last 5 years. We keep returning year on year as it offers such a relaxing environment. Vivian and Brenda are very friendly and keep the site maintained to a very high standard. The toilets and showers are kept very clean at all times. The showers are free, very powerful and hot whatever the time of day or night. They now have wifi, which is an added benefit to get the latest weather reports. I can't fault anything with this site, apart from a few days rain, we had another enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rjl87 1 review from this member

A really nice good value site that the owners take a great pride in. The site is mostly gently sloping with large spacious pitches. The owners are very helpful and flexible. It is all grass and as soon as someone leaves, the owner pops out and cuts the grass in a few seconds. This means that the whole place is kept looking at its best all the time. Well sheltered site with trees around it on three sides.

No specific children's play areas but loads of space to kick a ball around without hitting others pitches. Beyond the pitches, the ground slopes more significantly creating a space that is great for playing and throwing a ball or frisbee around.

The toilet and shower facilities are well kept and modern although the shower water pressure was quite variable. TV reception is ok on the top of the site and likely drops off a bit towards the bottom of the field.

7 mins drive to supermarkets and beaches. RNAS Culdrose has a viewing enclosure for watching the helicopters and planes if people in your party are keen on that kind of thing.

Mobile reception is possible on Vodafone, O2, EE and 3. Vodafone was worst with 2G only and desperately slow for smartphones but all the others had 3G (if a little patchy in some places) with EE and 3 getting speeds up to 12Mb/s.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Symbol301 1 review from this member

This is an excellent site on a working dairy farm. We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Skyburriowe and enjoyed every minute and every aspect of it. There were only a few other campers on site and we were informed that the site rarely gets totally full up even in the peak season.

There are three pitching areas, the largest and best, in our opinion, being a large gently sloping field with 30 plus very large pitches each with electric. The grass was well cut. With open aspects on all sides and only a few other outfits on site, it was easy to imagine we were wild camping in the middle of nowhere. There is no shortage of birds and other wild life – several foxes ventured out onto the field late evening and early one morning.

The sanitary facilities are excellent. Although the ‘new toilet block’ is now about 7 years old, it still looks like new. There are two large showers each for men and women along with ample sinks and WCs and a separate washing up room. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The owners and their helpers are all very friendly – the site has a pleasant relaxed atmosphere – and they maintain the site to a high standard. At a very reasonable price per night all in it is a bargain.

The town of Helston, and a large Sainsburys on the approach to it from the site, are reasonably close by, as are several villages, coves, beaches and places to eat.

If you are looking for a quiet 'no frills' site from which to explore the Lizard Peninsular and surrounding area – or even further afield - this site will make a perfect base.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Lobelia 2 reviews from this member

Just spent four days at this beautiful campsite. The site is about a quarter of a mile off the Helston to Lizard road. There are good beaches a short drive away, lovely coastal villages to visit. Fabulous walking area, good walks from the site and further afield in abundance. A good combination of coastal, estuary and wooded valley walks all within easy driving distance with good parking areas. There are lots of good geocaching walks nearby too.

There are three areas for camping, one is a 5 CC certified area with electric hook ups, on the right as you come into the farm area. The field is surrounded by trees but is a lovely sunny peaceful area.

The other two main parts of the site are situated to the left just after the farmhouse. The first area consists of 12 pitches of varying sizes all with electric hook ups, a mixture of level and slightly sloping with one pitch having some hard standing added this year which would particularly suit larger motorhomes. This area is sunny and surrounded by trees.

The toilet block is situated in this field, it's modern, with good clean showers toilets etc. A washing up room which also has a fridge for ice packs, tourist information leaflets, books for campers to borrow. There is also a clothes hand washing area and washing machine use advertised for £3 a time (ask at farmhouse).

The final camping area is spacious, slightly sloping with lovely views of the countryside around. This field has a more open feeling than the two others as the trees that line three sides of it are set lower down. Again in this field a hard standing area has been added this year for motorhomes. Whilst there is no playground on site there is plenty of room for children to run and play.

Supermarkets and shops available about 3 miles away in Helston. If you visit The Lizard make a stop to buy a pasty and rock bun at Mays Pasty Shop, I can guarantee you won't be disappointed they are delicious.

The whole site is well kept, grass always cut and neat and the owners are really friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site it's a gem.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mydadhasagt750 4 reviews from this member

Our first 10 day holiday at Skyburriowe campsite and we can honestly say what a Brilliant campsite it is, with large pitches, a new toilet block, immaculately clean showers, and even a 'Honesty' box for fresh produce. Quiet site with some lovely walks, close to some quaint Cornish villages, Beaches and the Coastal Path, the owners are very helpful and cant do enough for you. This is how campsites should be, cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Snifferg 14 reviews from this member

We spent 10 days at Skyburriowe Farm this August and had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to recommend it for a relaxed and peaceful holiday. The owners were very welcoming, showing us to our pitch and explaining all the amenities.

We stayed on the Caravan Club CL field which is grassy and level (the other main field is part level/sloping). All pitches have EHU in the CL field and there are taps and a chemical disposal point close to hand. The toilet block was excellent with free hot showers and always very clean and tidy. There are loads of paths and walks which our dog loved.

The site is ideally situated to explore mid and west Cornwall sufficiently off the busy Lizard road to get no noise or disturbance. There is no shop on-site although the owners do provide baskets of their produce for you to purchase. The town of Helston is only a few miles north of the site where there are ample facilities (Sainsbury’s, Tesco and Lidl are all within 5 miles of the site).

RNAS Culdrose is only a couple of miles away – while there is noise coming from the search and rescue helicopters (and occasional Hawk fighter jets) based there at times I would not class this as a bad point – all of us enjoyed watching these flying around and our children loved driving past the base looking at what was happening.

There are some great surfing beaches nearby – Poldhu Cove is only a few miles away from the site and Praa Sands on the way to Penzance was excellent. ‘Flambards’ theme park is about 2 miles from the site. Penzance and Falmouth are only ½ hrs drive for good days out and St Ives and Newquay are not too far away fro longer day-trips.

‘The Galleon’ Fish & Chips in Mullion are fantastic – highly recommended, as was the food at the ‘Old Inn’.

For the majority of our stay there was only us and another caravan on the CL field, while this meant it was lovely and quiet, I did feel sorry for the owners as I got the impression the bad weather had really affected the bookings and lots of people had been cancelled. This was a real shame as the 10 days we had were pretty good.

We had a great time and would not hesitate to return again.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4565 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019