Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennance Mill Farm Chalet And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Falmouth > Pennance Mill Farm Chalet And Camping Park Reviews

Pennance Mill Farm Chalet And Camping Park
Maenporth
Falmouth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR11 5HJ
Tel: 01326 317431
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rich Ta 5 reviews from this member

 We booked two night on a very wet weekend. The owners warned us that most pitches were waterlogged and the hardstanding was a bit like a car park. It was and that was OK, we had been warned. The next day we went out, returned at dusk to find no space on the hardstanding. I went to the house and found they owners had left their teenage daughter in charge. She advised us to see if any other pitch was dry enough to get on, , or we could have our money back which is not what you want at dusk. There were no pitches we could have got the van on. I returned to the house for a refund, but no-one would answer. I have repeatedly asked for and been promised a refund, which has not been sent. It is 6 weeks later, I give up.  


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Nettesteve1 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this caravan park during Aug. We stayed a family of 4 in the second Chalet in. The chalet had everything you need for a 2 week stay, but definitely needs some TLC. The sofas are literally falling apart although they place throws over them they are still very uncomfortable to sit on. The same for the beds unfortunately we were all up from around 6. 30am due to having bad backs. If the owners spent a bit of money Replacing these items the chalet would be excellent. It is in a good location only around a 5 min drive to the beach and centre of Falmouth. The owners put on some entertainment during the school holidays just little things like a kids disco, bingo and quizzes. It was a nice little end to the evening and gave the children the opportunity to mingle. The children also enjoyed the tractor rides in the morning. The camp site is pretty quite and although the owners were friendly I did find the gentleman quite abrupt at times. I didn't appreciate being told to make sure the chalet was clean when leaving. Now I'm sure they encounter guests that would leave the chalet in a dirty state I for one am not one of the, I actually cleaned the chalet before leaving anyway. I was expecting more of a 'hope you had a nice stay', we may see you again response on leaving. For them reasons I would not stay again. But I imagine if you are camping or touring it would be a lovely little site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peg1 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this again this summer for 2 weeks in August and will return in 2016. It continues to be a great family run site. The owner continues to invest which is a healthy sign for any business. The free showers have been improved by adding increased hot water storage to the main shower block and both small and large shower blocks were open.

Peg1 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cloudend 1 review from this member

 A lovely place to stay. Genuinely welcoming, and even though the site was quite full we never ha d to queue for a toilet/shower, and there was always hot water. The facilities were always clean. The owners work hard: family entertainments most evenings and well kept grounds. Although there is no campsite shop, there is a co-op convenience store within a mile, and we found it quite easy to make a small detour when leaving/travelling to the site for milk, newspapers, etc.

The private path to Maenporth beach is a real plus point: when our children were small they would not have wanted to venture further for a good sea-side experience. Though hilly, we used our bikes extensively to tour the area with plenty of good places within easy reach. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicolaF 1 review from this member

 We had such a great time, thank you so much. You have a perfect campsite and we loved all the extras (morning kids tractor rides, Farmers Olympics etc).

Beautiful special path to Maenporth beach, hot water at all times, no queues and very clean.

Children were able to ride their bikes around the site giving them a sense of freedom they don't get at home. Beautiful plants. Tranquil setting.

Owners and staff very friendly and provided evening entertainment either in the play area or their barn each evening. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DebyO 1 review from this member

 I stayed here and had a most comfortable and calm week in a very beautiful spot. The owners are the most kind and helpful people, who also obviously work very hard in keeping the place spotless, with everything in top notch order. The toilet/showers were always clean and every facility was available. The site was quiet and friendly surrounded by beautiful trees and lots of room. There are lots of places nearby to eat, visit and walk to. I had my dog and 2 cats with me who also really enjoyed staying there as it is safe and pet friendly. I will be going back! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mossyjm 2 reviews from this member

 Mixed feelings about this site. Owners friendly and helpful but facilities limited in number and really too basic for the 21st century and as compared to many other sites and price charged. Facilities not really sufficient for people there, over busy periods it seemed as many people as possible are crammed in. The brochure is rather better than the reality, the scenic views are only there from some areas. The hard standing area is very tatty with lots of residents who seem to work locally and have the additional stuff around to make their lives better but which impacts badly on the look of the site. Good access to beach and 4 buses daily to Falmouth, no shops or pubs in easy walking distance but café on beach, quiet at night. Not somewhere we'd go back to. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pete H 2 reviews from this member

 Would agree with some of the previous reviews - so clearly site has not been improved in the last two years though toilets and showers were reasonable. Parked on a hardstanding next to a 'permanent' 5th wheeler with various other caravans there for the long stay and/or in storage - this area was very unattractive and generally untidy. Could have moved to a grassy area but afraid of getting the van bogged in and really not prepared to pay £23. 00 per night (cash!) especially as we do not need to be hooked up so glad we were not booked and just stayed the one night and moved to the perfection of Merrose Farm Caravan Club site north of Falmouth at £17. 50 per night. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LadyCarol 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Pennance Mill farm for the third time, there's a pitch for everyone, vws, tents, caravans, on a well looked after site. The owners go out of there way to make sure you are in your right spot.

Loos and showers are regularly cleaned and are sufficient for the site. Family orientated, lots of good fun for the kids, eg, tractor rides, no bingo hall. But in the summer there's entertainment, dancing and film nights, just join in.

Walk through the wild wild wood to maenporth beach, peaceful with good icecreams and a bar on the other side.

Falmouth is busy with cafes, bars, galleries and museums, an interesting town. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 We had difficulty finding this site and couldn’t see any of the brown tourist signs showing the location of the site which were indicated on their website.

The toilet/shower block is modern and bright, with good dishwashing facilities. The showers are push button and are nice a hot with good pressure. My husband however, felt that the toilets were very stretched first thing in the morning (this wasn’t an issue with the ladies loos). There were some people living at the site and going to work early, and also a group of students were staying so this probably contributed to this situation with the men’s loos whilst we were there – as overall the site wasn’t busy at all. There were extra toilets but they were shut in the early season.

There are no shops nearby or an on site shop so you need to stock up before arrival. Also, they don’t take card payments, which is surprising considering the size of the site.

There is a private path (owned by the site) leading the beach at Maenporth – with security coded gates en-route. This is a much safer route to the coast than the road which is surprisingly busy.

There is also a bus stop near the site entrance – make sure you read the timetable thoroughly as we misread it and there wasn’t a bus back!

We did think this site was quite expensive for the time of year - £23 per night including electric, this was the most expensive site we stayed at on our holiday – we stayed here 3 nights. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pennance Mill Farm Chalet And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennance Mill Farm Chalet And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pennance Mill Farm Chalet And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Falmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement